Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nethercraig Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Blairgowrie > Nethercraig Holiday Park Reviews

Nethercraig Holiday Park
By Alyth
Blairgowrie
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH11 8HN
Tel: 01575 560204
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 15/02/2021 to 15/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluesjnr 4 reviews from this member

 They say that you get what you pay for and this site, whilst quite expensive, delivers value on a lot of fronts, but not all.

We were greeted by a friendly male who made us very welcome and went over the site plan with us and explained what amenities were available and rules regarding the dog. This was welcome as we did not receive a handout of the type one gets at every other site showing the layout and location of waste disposal areas etc.

The site itself is gorgeous and has been well explained in other reviews here. It was spotless and beautifully maintained throughout. The 20 acre area set aside for a woodland walk is quite simply the best dog walk I've come across on my travels and people seem to keep the standards up by ensuring they pick up after their pets.

I had a small issue with the chemical disposal and felt that it could have been cleaner (there was bits of toilet paper all around it). You had to lift a lid to access the drain and there was no way to hose down said lid unless you brought your own hose and who does? This is unsanitary.

The toilet blocks have come in for a bit of criticism and I'm afraid to say all of it is warranted. They are getting old and need some investment and improvement. The gents was very clean but Mrs Bluesjnr reported that the ladies was needing a wipe down and spruce up on the two or three times she used it which belied the claim that they are checked regularly.

The shop will arrange rolls and papers if you require them and a few other essentials are available but I wouldn't rely on it as, understandably, they don't carry a huge amount of stock.

You should not let the few negative comments I've made put you off giving this site a visit; it really is a great, quiet getaway at the doorstep to the wonderful Angus Glens and all they have to offer. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gibstir 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent three nights on this peaceful and beautifully kept site. Perfect for relaxing and re charging the batteries.

As said previously the pitches are generous affording a reasonable degree of privacy. The owners are very friendly and helpful providing ideas for days out and information on nearby walks suitable for all abilities.

There are rules for the park, much as anywhere else except perhaps not being able to put towels or washing on an airer outside your unit?

The facilities on the park were spotless at all times. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hartcaravan 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first time on this site with our new caravan and was'nt disappointed. Came here during the Easter weekend and we got a pitch no problem. A lovely site, very clean and also very quiet and very spacious between outfits. The shower and toilet block very clean although had to keep pushing the button for the shower but not to much of a problem. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The only downside is the access to the site, not the best of road especially if another caravan is coming the opposite direction, there is passing laybys but reversing a caravan is not easy so really just take your time and keep a look out. The only other thing is in the toilet block you listen to radio 1 but overall a lovely peaceful site and we will be back sometime in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbie65 28 reviews from this member

 We visited Nethercraig for our first caravan outing of the season. Hubby was also pretty keen to try out our new inflatable Vango Varkala awning! Site is very secluded, situated in between Alyth and Glenisla. The approach road to the park entrance is along a narrow, single track road, with numerous passing places. Entrance to the park is via barriers opened with a security key.

The park is very well maintained, with one side dedicated to lovely statics and lodges, the other the touring and 'pods'. Pitches are very spacious with each pitch having its own ehu.

Site was really quiet, there were a couple of other tourers and some pitches occupied by seasonal tourers.

Fantastic nature walk to one side of the site, all pretty much enclosed (one or two gaps in the fence) but just great for dogs as they can be walked off lead. Lovely views to the Angus glens. Lots of little paths to explore, our dogs loved it.

2 little play parks, one really basic one next to the touring pitches (couple of swings, a wee seesaw), slightly bigger one nearer the entrance, like a small adventure play area. A wee bit of a walk away is a large field with football goal posts.

Pitches are well drained, gravel based hardstanding. There is a wee shop on site, but you would need to drive to get anywhere else. Alyth has a good range of shops, takeaways, etc, and it's worth visiting Peel Farm a couple of miles away too.

EHU was very inconsistent. We ran our George Foreman grill no bother, but our kettle tripped the electric twice, and we had to get the guy from the site to come and reset it.

Toilet block is what lets this site down, IMO. I know that not everyone is bothered by the block if they use the facilities in their van, but we very rarely do and a good toilet block is important to us. Block is extremely clean but was freezing (stone/tiled flooring), and shower cubicles were TINY barely room to turn round, and you are trying to get dry whilst standing on the wet floor. A wee seat in the cubicle but when this is down this just serves to make the cube even more cramped. Only two showers in each of the ladies/gents blocks. Didn't use dishwashing area but would imagine it would be as clean as the rest. Shame as really this is the only thing letting this lovely site down.

Owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

Lovely site, great for dogs, not much for older kids, clean, well kept, spacious, let down by a dated and cold (but very clean) toilet/shower block. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annyvials 7 reviews from this member

 We booked this site at very short notice (literally an hour prior to arriving) and we couldn't have been luckier. The site is absolutely beautiful, lovely and quiet with the biggest pitches I've ever seen. We could have done with a longer electric cable, the pitches were so big! The owners were lovely and told us lots about where to go and what to see.

The toilet and shower block were lovely and clean and the radio plays as you use the facilities. Dishwashing facilities are in the same block and water points are dotted around not far away.

There is a lovely walk round the perimeter of the park, worthwhile going and if you have a dog, it's brilliant. You can go off the track and down quite a steep bank to the river which is worth seeing just make sure you have walking boots or sturdy shoes.

The park is sooooo quiet at night and very peaceful. We only stayed one night as we were en route elswhere and didn't visit the surrounding area but we will definitely be back for a longer stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Calinyx 22 reviews from this member

 This is a cracking site and, for us, a real gem of a find.

A beautifully kept, well laid out site with more than enough room per pitch. The touring side had plenty of choice for personal preference. Great play areas for the children, including set well away from the caravans, a field with goal posts for a kick about without causing issue to any of the residents.

There is also a really well laid out wooded walk with plenty of bins and seats for a breather and a to admire the views across to the Sidlaw hills.

The owners were friendly and were on hand with a great deal of local knowledge [including choices of walks and eateries].

This really peaceful site will definitely rate as one of our favorites and we will be returning again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DGJT 1 review from this member

 Visited this site along with family members, also in a twin axle tourer. Chris & May, the wardens, couldn't have been more welcoming locating us next to one another. Although the roads round the tourer area area are a little tight for big outfits the actual pitches easily accommodated our caravan, awning and Kuga. Good hardstanding with a good EHU. Grey waste and fresh water is never far away.

The tourer area is beautiful with mature trees and plants all over. There is also a small children's play area in this section but there is an even bigger and newer one near the entrance so kids are well looked after. The grass is well kept and didn't appear too wet despite the weather in Scotland this year.

The toilet block, although a little old was very clean, infact it was the first thing our 7 & 11 year olds commented on.

The new reception and security keyed barriers are always a welcome addition. The little shop was stocked with the bare essentials but fresh rolls & papers etc could be ordered daily.

The static and Lodge area was also well kept and looked like a fairly new addition as the plant and greenery were in their early stages but again the area was immaculate. All respect to the owners.

There is a magnificent woodland walk around the park which Chris has kept cut and tidy. You definitely can't get lost and its great for hide and seek.

Alyth is only a few miles away where there is a great chippy and fantastic Chinese on the same side of the road. The Linn falls are worth a walk and you definitely need to visit Peel farm. The coffee is great and the cakes are so big and wonderful you'd swear they are genetically modified.

Strathmore Golf centre serves a great meal and you also get a discount if you mention where you are staying. It is worth booking to avoid disappointment. This is between Aylth and Blairgowrie.

Overall a great long weekend in a beautiful park. Quiet and calming but a great base if you want to get hectic and use it as a wind down afterwards.

Definitely be back and highly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a short stay at this lovely site. We were greeted by the very friendly owners and directed to our pitch which, compared to a lot of sites nowadays, was very spacious. There is also a static area which appeared very spacious as well.

The toilet block was always spotless but could do with being modernised. The showers had very little room for changing, but always plenty of hot water. Although there were heaters they were never on while we were there and the toilet block was very cold. Maybe they had been switched off for the 'summer' !

There is a lovely walk from the site which took about 20 minutes. Grass has been cut, plenty of bins and some picnic tables so it would be a nice walk and picnic area in nice weather.

The site is about 4 miles from Alyth so if it's a quiet, relaxing time you are after this is perfect. There are also a few golf courses nearby which serve food.

Perhaps a bit remote for a lot of people but wouldn't put us off from returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: K0612 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a wonderful stay in Nethercraig. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom luxury lodges. It was beautiful: modern, clean and fully equipped.

The site is so well maintained and has a lovely walk on site.

We visited the linn waterfall, went to peel farm nearby for walks and lunch. Walked round black water reservoir. Visited glamis castle, Kirriemuir and Blairgowrie.

We had a lovely Chinese from alyth the nearest village.

Would highly recommend for families, walkers, or anyone wanted a relaxing break.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoshaz10 2 reviews from this member

 Peaceful campsite in a lovely setting. Shower blocks and laundry kept very clean. Janis and John the wardens at the time are the best, very friendly.

Playpark for small children. Spacious pitches with EHU.

Small shop on site for basic necessities. 5 minute drive in to Alyth where there is a small spar and a scotmid. Would NOT recommend any of the takeaway establishments in Alyth!

Strathearn golf centre 10 minutes away is good for a meal.

Tesco and filling station in Blairgowrie about 15 minutes drive.

Very near the angus glenns for keen hill walkers.

Site taken over and May the new warden is very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Nethercraig Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nethercraig Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Nethercraig Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blairgowrie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement