Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Old Down Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Old Down Touring Park
Old Down House
Emborough
Radstock
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA3 4SA
Tel: 01761 232355
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 50 Reviews
                7/10 from 50 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GIZZIWIZ 2 reviews from this member

Had another visit here, just for the weekend on my way back to London. Gorgeous sunny weekend, lots more units on the site this time, with about 10 tents, Families with children enjoying the well manicured lawns. Several Dutch and German visitors all happy with park and facilities. On a sad note, one of the essential site team is no longer there, Smudge the site Moggy met with a fatal accident on the road outside the camp.

Also, on my last visit, I was happy with food offered in the pub opposite, I think they must have a different chef now, because it was awful. At least Colin and Mavis can offer BBQ rental for a tiny fee.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twizz 1 review from this member

Just arrived back from a weekend at Old Down with a group of friends. Despite the rainy weather (overnight both nights) had an excellent stay here. Lovely little site with flat ground. Friendly welcome from Mavis and Colin who manage the site and the cat Smudge:-). Shower/toilet block very clean with hot water and electric showers. Outside covered washing up area. Electric hook up available if required. They will also supply concrete slabs so if you want a BBQ you can set one up on the slabs. Reasonable price too. Old Down Inn across the road serves lovely food and real ales. We took the bus into Wells, approx 15 minutes ride - cost 7:00 return but we got day pass tickets which are also 7:00 for the day so if you wanted to travel further on the bus you could. Overall a very nice stay and we will be returning at some stage.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

There are ups and downs to this site. The welcome from both Richard and the cat Smudge was great. The site is level with a few lodges and a few long term caravans dotted about the level grass pitch. Sadly no amount of cleaning is going to do the showers any good - they need a good re-vamp because when we stayed all the showers were very dirty with ground in mould and dirt. Some effort had been made in the ladies to re-paint the doors but they really need to go further than that for 20 a night. The pub across the road is a bit odd - its a large building with the smallest bar imaginable with a poor sad parrot in a dirty cage by the front door. The barmaid wears blue surgical gloves and the tiny bar had been taken over by children. We had one drink and left and didn't return for our planned evening meal. Traffic noise may bother some visitors but at least being near to the road means the bus stops right outside.

With a little TLC this site could be a winner, but despite the helpful and pleasant staff I'm afraid we wouldn't return until it had been cleaned up.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GIZZIWIZ 2 reviews from this member

Recently stayed on this site for 3 weeks while researching for a new book. Had never stayed in a caravan before, so arrived on the site at 5pm towing a 4 berth caravan I`d bought off ebay 5 hours earlier. Greeted by an exceptionally friendly couple who showed me to a `hardstanding` pitch. While I looked on in bewilderment, they wound down legs, balanced my van with a level, hooked me up to a Gas bottle [I never had 1], connected me to mains electric, using special cable [I never had 1] Supplied a Water butt and connected it up [I never had 1] bought me a step to get in the caravan. Then the really charming lady showed me how to arrange the beds inside, I would never had found them all. It was about 6. 30 pm by now, so I wandered just across the road to the local for a pint of Cider and some food. Really recommend `The Olde Down Inn` excellent food and very friendly atmosphere. On my return to the site, the wonderful couple on site had been back to my `van` lit the gas heater and turned on the lights for me. Everyday either Colin or Mavis inquired after my well being, Did I need anything ?, Was there any problems ? etc This was regularly throughout my stay. I cant recommend this site enough, the grounds and surroundings are kept immaculate, The Shower and Toilet are kept clean, at least twice a day Colin & Mavis are busy with their mops. There is a little traffic noise from a nearby road but went unnoticed after a couple of days. Shop facilities on site were adequate, and a local Co-op is only minutes away. I intend dedicate a chapter of my book solely to my stay at Olde Down Touring Site, I really enjoyed my stay and thank the staff there wholeheartedly, and thoroughly recommend a visit if you are ever in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rodders162 5 reviews from this member

Well this was our second visit to the site and as last time the site and amenities were well looked after, clean and tidy, there were only 3 tent units on the site during our stay so plenty of room.

There was a noticeable increase in traffic noise from when we last stayed, even though we had pitched right across the other side of the field this kept us awake for a few nights as did the barking dogs from the house, also it would have been nice for someone to be available on our arrival and after some time waiting and telephoning the site with no reply a gent let us through the gate so we could pitch. It was 2 days before the on site office /shop opened for a brief time, so we could settle the bill and they had no booking paperwork for us so a little disappointed as we had booked 8 week before overall a nice area to stay good base for touring around.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rustyncrusty 3 reviews from this member

As a previous post says you have to phone a mobile if you want anything, including access at the gate when you arrive. The shop doesn't have much not even milk. We did complain about the showers (there were two but only one working) which were not only dirty, but need total refurbishment. The lady on the mobile told us that no-one had time to clean them that day (Sunday!) However we spoke to the manager on arriving home and have been offered a free nights stay.

As said the pub opposite is very good and the location is good if you are heading south-west.

It's an ok site as sites go, pity about the showers.

Management response: Old Down Touring Park has new management for 2013.

Our shower/toilet blocks are modern and well maintained. They are cleaned daily and on a regular basis. Old Down Touring Park provide hot water any time of the day. The shower rooms are lit by energy saving bulbs, but do light up quite quickly. There is a step in shower tray in addition to a good space to change and dry yourself.

We do have small shop combined with reception that now has regular opening hours. Stock is limited to demand. However, if there is anything you require during your time with us we would happily take an order and provide this for you.

We are keen that everyone who chooses to stay with us here at, Old Down Touring Park has a happy and peaceful time.

We are very much looking forward to the season.

Site Management

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Niagethin 2 reviews from this member

Myself my husband and 2 children (6 and 3) stayed here for 3 nights with friends

firstly I would say the weather was not on our side and ground quite boggy,

everyone was very friendly and whilst shop was never actually open if you ring the mobile number available they were more than happy to come over within a minute or two.

My only complaint would be the toilet facilities not at anytime did they appear to be clean, there were dead daddy longlegs on the windowsill for the entire 3 days and overall just grubby and not well maintained.

The shower cubicles were very small and the lights took so long to light up the cubical that you had finished before it got light (which is just as well when you looked at the dead spiders etc in there)

Management response: Old Down Touring Park has new management for 2013.

Our shower/toilet blocks are modern and well maintained. They are cleaned daily and on a regular basis. Old Down Touring Park provide hot water any time of the day. The shower rooms are lit by energy saving bulbs, but do light up quite quickly. There is a step in shower tray in addition to a good space to change and dry yourself.

We do have small shop combined with reception that now has regular opening hours. Stock is limited to demand. However, if there is anything you require during your time with us we would happily take an order and provide this for you.

We are keen that everyone who chooses to stay with us here at, Old Down Touring Park has a happy and peaceful time.

We are very much looking forward to the season.

Site Management

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IJKKLM 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay over the Jubilee weekend and wow - what a wet one!

First impressions are good, a lush green site comprises a central field with access loop road and mature trees around the perimeter with the pitches inside the loop, leaving a large open grassy area in the middle. There are coded access gates which give security without making access awkward for us.

Pitches are 'informal' leaving plenty of space for our large ten. We had no ground problems despite a large amount of rain and virtually the whole site looks flat. There is a bit of road noise, as previously mentioned, but this was obscured by the noise of rain on canvas and morning birdsong.

Wash and shower facilities are, functional and regularly cleaned.

The real plus here is the location: its within easy reach of a wide range of really great places to visit including Bath, Bristol, Wells and Cheddar to name a few.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leonsmith 11 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it was reasonably close to Longleat safari park.

It's a small site but very nicely kept. Beautiful green cut grass which is always a bonus in a tent. We'd booked 2 EHU pitches next to each other and were shown to them by the owner (Sue) who was very helpful, even providing photocopies of walk and cycle routes when asked.

She commented that they'd had a lot of rain the day before but there was little evidence on the site, so it must drain well. People tended to camp round the edge of the field leaving a nice area in the middle for the kids to play - we ended up playing a large game of rounders with a few of the families which demonstrates how friendly it all feels.

I should say that all the games were packed up in good time and in the evening the site was nice and quiet.

The facilities were good and kept clean.

The site has a keycoded entry gate so felt secure too.

The site is a bit close to a fairly main road which was a bit noisy in the morning is about the only downside. The BT Fon internet access wasn't available from our side of the field either and 3G coverage is scarce so forget using your Smartphone!

The Old Down Inn across the road is a lovely local pub serving some really excellent quality food in very large portions - well worth a visit!

We weren't there for cycling (this time!) but did notice that there are plenty of excellent cycle routes in that area, so would probably be a good base for that.

Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beesue 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from Old Down and I have to say that the site is picture postcard lovely, immaculately kept grass and flower beds, however we did think it was very strange that they had asked for the full site fee in advance, not something we had ever come across before.

We arrived and pitched our tent and then we noticed probably why they asked for money up front, the traffic noise from the busy road was really bad! Plus we were on the flightpath fro Bristol Airport.

Neither of these things were anything the site could have done anything about but I was very surprised that it hadn't been mentioned before. I am quite sure many have turned up, turned round and gone elsewhere!

The loo blocks were adequate, but with only two showers in the ladies and no 'private' wash booths, perhaps that could be upgraded and may be difficult at busy times.

The rain came down like nothing else this weekend and sadly most of the field was under about an inch of water, paddling to the loo was mucky to say the least!

The site managers did all they could to help out and put cones over the worst rutted, muddy bits but I'm afraid Old downs is not going to be on our list of favourites for future trips.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019