Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pen Y Garth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Pen Y Garth Caravan Park Reviews

Pen Y Garth Caravan Park
Rhos Y Gwaliau
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7ES
Tel: 01678 520485
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Statics For Sale Only
Open: Statics For Sale Only

Be the first to leave a review

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

This park has been taken over, and now no longer accepts any touring pitches, for caravans or tents. Holiday caravans for sale only.

Date of Visit: May 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merlot_millie 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful laidback site overlooking Bala - you get some great views. We've been four times now and it's varied each time - often along with the weather! We've found that if you want a quieter night go in the field that's the same side as the shower blocks.

Because the campsite is quite a walk out of town people hunker down for the night around the tents so sometimes it does get noisy, depends on who you've got around you. In the field across the road from the house some of the top pitches are difficult to get to in large vehicles although you should only have to go up if it's a busy bank holiday or if you want quiet.

The showers can be variable in heat/power so when we went it was a good idea to time your visit carefully for when it wasn't busy.

The people running it are friendly and happy to talk when they're around and recommend some of the local shops. The locals in the town are nice when you get talking to them - we was got a lift up the hill with a farmer in his tracktor but I think that was a one off.

Bala lake is good for sports or just sitting chilling - if it gets too cold there's a little cafe that does nice straight-forward meals and hot/cold drinks. They also do ices as well. Bala gathers it's fair share of bikers too so there's often some nice machines to look at. And leather clad men too.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gingerjo 4 reviews from this member

WE have just returned from 8 nights at this site. We arrived on a very busy whitsun Saturday and were told to pitch anywhere. We pitched close to the toilets so the children didn't have to worry plus it was the best place we could see.We had a flat pitch, but some in the overflow field were sloping.There were plenty of hook-ups. I had rung in advance and paid 10 deposit. The site fee was 16.50 a night which although was fairly dear, I thought we had a few facilities to compensate. However, there was NO ice block freezing service as the freezer had been stolen!The games room was dreadful and no way were my kids going in it!The laundrette had 2 machines and 2 driers, one of each were working and not a lot of use. There is a very small obstacle course for the kids, but once the weekenders had gone we had the whole field to our selves, so loads of room to play ball games etc. The toilets and showers were clean in the ladies, but my son said the men's were hairy! The water was hot.Lovely views over Bala and some lovely wildlife was seen and heard. Lambs in the next field kept the kids enthralled as did the owls, chaffinches and robins.It is about a mile and a half to walk into Bala itself, which does have a very good selection of shops, supermarkets etc.The following weekend brought the noisy crowds back again and we still had kids running around our tent at 11pm which we were not happy with, particularly as they were pitched at the bottom of the field. Maybe we are just unreasonable, who knows.That said we did have a great time and some good weather

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elaine+Rob 2 reviews from this member

We phoned first and asked if we could book a hard standing pitch with electric for a caravan with 2 Adults and 1 Child, the price 15.00 per night, pay when we arrive. Great, or so we thought. Arrived Friday lunch time No Hard Standing Pitches at all on the whole site.they don't have any! Not what we where told on phone. And the price.17.95, bit of a difference but we just paid.

Having been before in a tent four years ago the place was much better maintained and clean then, what a shame toilets where filthy and where not cleaned until 3 days later when we were going home. Got washed in caravan as we felt we needed another shower when we got out of the camp showers.

The bins where over flowing and there were bags of rubbish dumped on the floor The shop was no longer available and the Kids Games Room was a tip bear bottles in the bin and the Games were broken.

For the price of this site we could have got better else where, and we will be going else where in future.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janjamie 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Bank Holiday weekend - booked over the phone but didn't pay until I got there. A lovely site - very pretty and no strict guidelines. The site has tents, statics, tourers and log cabins - we didn't have to rush to leave and had a great time. There is a shower block and toilets and dish washing facilities - all a bit dated but ok. They said they were planning to put log cabins on the tent area next year so go soon if you want to go. Only charged 10.95 per night and we have a Vango Diablo 900. Highly recommend

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Evie squeezy 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site will good clean toilets. Camping fields have lots of slopes and 1 is a walk across the road to the toilet block.We had a great first night small groups of adults sitting and having a quiet drink.
The Saturday night was a different matter 2 large groups arrived who had a competion to see who could play the loudest music from their cars. I know the campsite can't vet who is going but they can go around at night to make sure everyone is following the rules. I would go back again and just hope this was a I off.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Akame 2 reviews from this member

This was our first family camping trip. Rang up to book but was told to just turn up - plenty of space. Arrived and paid and asked where to pitch - anywhere, so we did and think we pitched in a touring spot.

Nice location with good views down the valley. Very laid back staff. Free ice-pack freezing.

On-site shop was non-existent. The Toilet and shower block floors were permanently wet and dirty, therefore very slippy especially for my young daughter.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay but think that was more to do with the camping itself. It could have been so much better if my little girl did not fear the toilet block so much...

Reviewer: Tricky_bolton 4 reviews from this member

May 2005
Visited on bank holiday weekend. Made very welcome by owners. We were camping so had a lot of space - 3 fields for camping alone. Apart from the Thunderstorm and awful lightening on the saturday night it was an excellent weekend.

Toilets & showers very clean, site also has a kitchen! There was no pressure to leave on sunday at a specific time. Good time had by all.

Reviewer:  B EVANS

JULY 5 2003
Very clean site - made welcome by the owners. Would recommend to friends. Will be going back again if in the area.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019