Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Causeway Coast Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Ballycastle > Causeway Coast Holiday Park Reviews

Causeway Coast Holiday Park
21 Clare Road
Ballycastle
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT54 6DB
Tel: 02820 762550
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JULIE BLACK 1 review from this member

 What can I say. On arrival I was greeted with a very friendly girl and I felt straight at home.

Pitches are great all with your own firepit. Great facilities showers and toilets where spotless. Wigwams all around great atmosphere.

Play park and games room for kids and wood blocks sold at office for fire pit x

Soz I've no pictures but it rained so much and blew a Gail my 10 year old just wanted to go home the next morning so we packed up but I will def love to go back here again in better weather xxx Julie Black 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rabsnlinn 6 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic time here. Site well laid out.

Facilities clean and warm.

Play area a little small for the number of children playing there.

Kids loved it here we stayed an extra night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcclean 1 review from this member

 Pros

-Great location 10mins walk from Ballycastle harbour / seafront.

-Staff were friendly.

-Pitch was clean and free from rubbish.

-Toilet block clean.

-Large play park for kids.

-Able to pick my own pitch.

Cons

-Site was grass pitch and ground was very soft, site was also on a slope.

-A lot of noise close to the park, although it stopped at quiet time.

-No water supply at pitch.

-No drain at pitch or close-by

-A bit expensive compared to other sites which had concrete hard standing, water and drain for the same rate.

-Paid extra for dog.

Overall a good site and no reason not to stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nedsram 21 reviews from this member

 We had hoped to stay near the giant's causeway, but this seemed to be the nearest site with space available. On the map it looked great, as the site backs on to the sea. However overall it was disappointing.

There is no access to the shore from the site, which is entirely enclosed by a high fence. Touring pitches are all grass, which would not have been a wonderful idea as it had poured down for hours and there was standing water on the pitches.

So we opted for one of the vacant static pitches. This had water, but the fitting was for a static and we could not attach our hose to it. Also the pitch had a marked slope, too much for our levelling blocks to eliminate.

It was a long way from the toilet block, but as others have said, this was in a disgusting condition and we were unwilling to use it.

The whole site had a run down look to it. In fact the only positive thing we can say about it is that there is a bar which serves food until about 8 pm.

Easily the worst of the six sites we visited during our tour of Ireland. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kimbo300 1 review from this member

 2 adults with 3 children. We stayed in an apartment.

Rooms. Great size with duvets and pillows bins and mirrors and great lighting and heaters. Could however be cleaner. Hairs in bed. Lights came on through the night on their own.

Bathroom. Good size with shower and heater however no soaps paper towels or toilet roll.

Kitchen. Good size with fridge and micro however no handtowels soap tea towels or wash cloths/scourer.

Living room. Great size with 2 sofa beds and dining table however could be cleaner. Hair, makeup brushes and hankies down arm of sofa and also some carpet staining however newly painted with new curtains. The tv however was too small and echoed in the room also place too high up the wall for comfortable viewing and only had 8 channels.

The apartment doors also had a lot to answer for. The front door and bedroom doors where old style which to my knowledge are now prohibited under health and safety reg. Doors should be slow closing. The apartment doors banged hard behind catching fingers and heels which is not great for children and we encountered two injuries during the week.

Overall the apartment wasn't great value. At almost 350 we could have went abroad!. The pool was open one out of our 5 days. The laundry room was a disaster. 2 machines and 2 tumblers on a 28 acre site accommodating 100s of guests was very inadequate and I found guests removing our paid wash mid cycle to use for themselves!

Not a great site for children under 12 and I would recommend watertop farm site up the road.

I would also suggest the swimming passes to be included in apartment bills as 12 per day for a cold pool which was meant to be heated is a bit of a cheek! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ashleyt 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful area with stunning scenery.

We were very fortunate to stay whilst the Lammas fair was on as this was a good day out. The problem we had was the standard of service from the site itself.

Really did spoil it for us when we entered our stunning large caravan to find it unclean with huge stains all over the bedroom and living area carpets. It is a shame that this could have been resolved with a good scrubb!

We asked for a brush and were told they would send a cleaner and I told the manager we only want a brush to sweep the floor after meals etc and to keep the caravan generally clean and tidy. He still refused to give us one and insisted a cleaner would come round at 4. 30. We are still waiting!

Also we phoned before we left for the holiday and asked if we needed to bring towels/tea towels and were told no they will all be provided. They were not!. The swimming pool was only open now and then and there was no shop or laundry available during the week of our stay. Very inconvenient.

The staff seemed unhappy to be working there. Also it did seem that most people who were there had booked up to stay just over the Lammas fair as once this had gone the site soon became deserted.

All in all a fabulous area to visit but we would definitely recommend you chose a different site to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scottchuk 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here during the great summer weather, enjoyed the fantastic views and the most beautiful beach.

The park itself was definitely the low point of our visit, though. The toilet/shower facilities are inadequate for a site of this size, there is insufficient water pressure to run the amount of showers.

The park seems to host many full time residents and their children, who run unchecked well past sunset. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wkender 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed in the non-electric pitches for tents over the weekend.

This particular pitch was a long way from the toilet and shower block.

The ladies and gents toilets and showers were, in very bad repair and not cleaned regularly. Black Mould in the showers - and I really can't describe the horrors that myself or my partner saw in the toilets! The showers took 5 mins to warm up, and on the Friday night there was no toilet paper.

The dish washing facilities are in the ladies toilets, which means you can't really share the cleaning duties!

As the block was so far away from our pitch - we actually drove down to the block when we had to do dishes - it was too far to carry a stack of pots and pans and associated plates, glasses and cups!

Its basically in a bad state of repair. I won't be staying at this site again, until they improve their facilities! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljm18706 15 reviews from this member

 Causeway Coast Holiday Park or Silvercliffs as it is more commonly known is a good enough site to visit. Like a lot of mainly static parks the place has suffered in the current economic climate with plenty of empty hardstands around the place. This is to be expected!

The toilet and shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water for the free showers.

The park itself is well maintained with friendly staff. With 4 young children the pool is great especially on rainy days.

Pitch sizes were on the small side if you were putting up an awning but plenty of choice to suit your needs.

Town center was a 10 minute walk away and the views are fantastic.

If the site owners were to invest some money into making it into more of a tourer/motorhome park and move away from the statics I feel that the place could develop into a fantastic park.

Beautiful part of the north coast and we will return again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grapes1851 6 reviews from this member

 This was an unplanned visit after let-down at a nearby site. Touring pitches rather cleverly arranged on roundabouts, with central hook-ups.

Wonderful views. Despite other comments, kids were obviously enjoying the play area. Ballycastle certainly has a nice Cellar-bar restaurant on the Diamond, does a good early bird offer (5-7) excellent food and service. There is an lovely play-area/park on the sea-front. Very disappointed we could not fit in the Rathlin Ferry trip, as no easy parking for MotorHome after leaving Silvercliffs. Ballycastle is certainly to be recommended for its multiple Public Toilets !

Toilet/Shower Block on site adequate, but part of a larger, semi-derelict, building. Ladies loos were in very poor condition. Minor drawback was the signage from town centre, which changes from proper Caravan/Camping sign to just a Fun-pool sign. Reception staff seemed to think it was obvious, but it certainly isn't. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Causeway Coast Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Causeway Coast Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Causeway Coast Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ballycastle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December