Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Meadows Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

South Meadows Caravan Park
South Road
Belford
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7DP
Tel: 01668 213326
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 19 reviews from this member

Nice stay. The site is very easy to access being on good roads about 1/4 mile from A1. Access is very easy and would take largest of units, all roads are tarmac and in excellent condition. We had fully serviced pitch in the new part of the site and the pitches were generously spaced and a good size. All services and facilities were top quality. Reception were very professional and happy to help.

Location is very good being in the village, pubs, shops and chippy all within an easy stroll. Only tried the Bluebell and all was good. Too many beaches to mention but just about every bit of coastline is worth a visit.

This is a family orientated site and was better for us once the little darlings had gone back to school after the bank holiday but in fairness the large play areas and a sports field are well away from the vans and it was a quiet site despite the number of large family groups.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 30 reviews from this member

We found this site by accident, having intended to stay at the farm shop next door, having to curtail our journey down the A1 in order to pitch up to await the passage of Storm Ali. We found a beautiful site, with large pitches and excellent facilities. After 3 hours the area suffered a power cut, which lasted until the next day. Wind was extreme and we could not walk out.

Luckily the wind had subsided next morning, when we travelled on.

The staff were very helpful and kept us informed as to the likely restoration of power.

We do intend to come back to this site, and spend some time there.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smandley 13 reviews from this member

South Meadows Caravan Park, lovely quiet site. We had 2 weeks at this site as a base for exploring the Northumberland coast/Scotland borders. We had a large level serviced pitch within the main site (inside barrier - £25 refundable deposit for fob) problems getting pegs in on the paving slabs for the awning though. Some of the pitches had the layout facing the wrong way, in that the front of your caravan would be facing the hedge rather than the roadway, ours wasnít like this. This was due to the paving slabs for the caravan and the stones for the awning the wrong way round.

Nice and clean toilet block Ė 2 on site but only used the main one next to reception. Husband found that there were no privacy cubicles to have a shave in the menís side, the ladies side did have privacy cubicles. Only downside I found was the hair dryer didnít have a mirror near it, so found it hard to see what I was doing as a glasses wearer. Was told by a member of staff it was going to be moved. This block had been refurbished earlier in the year.

Friendly staff who are happy to help site your caravan on your pitch if needed, we didnít require this. Lovely information guide given on arrival. Offer Wifi for a charge (daily or weekly rate) we had 3 or 4 G most of the time anyway, so didnít buy this.

Washing machine/tumble dryer on site (£4. 20 for a wash; £2:20 for the dryer) did use these as we were there for 2 weeks. Confectionery and soft drink vending machines on site too. Recycling facilities available. There was slight noise from the A1 but it wasnít intrusive.

There is a huge field for ball games and a lovely childrenís play area as you come onto the site. We didnít use either of these, but they always seemed busy.

3 pubs in the village of Belford (10 minute walk) tried them all Ė The Black Swan; The Blue Bell Hotel and the Salmon Inn. All had good/bad points, we checked their web sites for opening times. Belford also has a fish and chip shop, we didnít use this.

Shopping wise there is a small Co op in Belford; but for larger shops we used Asda and Morrisons in Berwick 16 miles away. There is no shop on site for anything you may have forgotten but there is a Go Outdoors in Berwick for your camping needs.

Found a gem of a beach just outside Berwick, Spittal Beach free parking, play area for the children.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonsey 01 5 reviews from this member

Just had a 3 night stay at this wonderful site. On arrival drove up to reception which we were met by very helpful and friendly staff. We were on the willows super pitch site which is outside the main complex ( no Barriers) very well spaced out pitches large enough for caravan and awning with car parked at the front all of which are on hard standing. The amenities were a bit of a trek from the super pitches but both the toilets and showers were absolutely spotlessly clean. There was works ongoing building a new amenities block near the super pitches which would b much better due to finish at the end of March. ! The site itself is very accessible being only 1 mile from the A1. You could not hear any road noise. A walk along the road is a very nice farm shop and a lovely fish and chip shop in Belford but only open thurs/fri/sat. The only negative would b kids and the footballs there was a massive playing field with goal posts but why do they want to play around the caravans there r no rules to say they r not aloud to which I think they should put in place. You donít want waking up on a morning listening to the thud of a ball. ! Apart from that itís a wonderful site. !

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Safirth 2 reviews from this member

Spring Bank Holiday weekend at this site was the worst time we've ever spent on a campsite site in 20 years of camping and caravanning, and we've stayed at lots!

The site itself, especially the caravan section is nice and the brand new toilet block is really lovely, other than there are already signs of damage caused (probably) by the people in the tent section.

The main problem with the tent area is that there were gangs of 20-30 adults grouping together every evening drinking, playing loud music, shouting and screaming at each other from about 7pm until midnight, it was worse than being at a football match. We were at the opposite end of the field, so I hate to think what it must have been like for the poor people camping nearby! We daren't go to the toilet blocks at night because these people blocked all the walk-ways and it felt very intimidating having to walk through them, so we had to go the long way around to get to the loos, sadly.

Worse still was that we were up from 1pm until 5pm on Friday night listening to the couple behind us balling at each other. Both were clearly very drunk and were screaming at the top of their heads. The mother was shouting to the children that was going to hurt their father and he in turn was yelling that he'd get the children taken away from her, so then the kids all started crying and pleading for them to stop as well. Us asking them to stop proved useless too, they just came out with abusive language. It was exactly the same the following two nights, but thankfully they were quiet after 1pm.

There is a lovely big field and a separate play area for the kids, but from late afternoon until after 11pm, the tent area was overrun with unsupervised kids shouting and screeching and running wild, chasing behind the tents, pulling pegs out (which were hard to get in in the first place!), squeezing between the hedges from one section of the pitches to another, it was awful. No parents to be seen, they were all busy drinking with their buddies, and when we asked the children to stop going behind the tent all we got was abuse. Sadly, it made them do it all the more once we'd closed our tent up for the night and they were goading us from outside.

Every morning there was rubbish at the top end of the site (caused by the gangs of adults drinking all night), so it must be upsetting for the owners of the site, but I do think that they should have more presence, either patrolling the site or have someone permanently on site that you can go to. All they leave is a mobile number for use in emergencies and I doubt they'd be too pleased about getting a phone call about noise at 3am every day! Someone permanently on site would have heard the noise and could have done something about it before it all got out of hand.

Of the lesser problems, as I mentioned, we had a real problem getting tent pegs in, as the ground was full of stones, making it almost impossible to peg out without having expensive unbendable pegs.

Another (small) grumble is that the owners leave all the grass cuttings down when they're mowing rather than collect them, so you are constantly dragging grass into the tent. It was even worse when we packed up to leave this morning, as the cuttings were stuck all over the ground sheet - not good!

The site is located off the busy A1 and getting across it to travel south was a bit scary - you take your life in your own hands there!

All in all, the site is nice, it's the people using the site that's the trouble. We have never been on a site that was anything like this, and certainly won't be going there again. You shouldn't feel intimidated on any campsite, but we certainly did here; our weekend there was a total disaster.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

What a lovely site beautifully laid out and immaculate, The fully serviced pitches are very well spaced and in a good location but outside the gate that is shut at night. Beware that the hard-core under the gravel is very large stone and it is nigh on impossible to get pegs in for your awning. The showers are good and clean but my wife said she would have liked a stool or similar. The site is very well placed for the area and easy to get to from the A1 just a mile away, we could not hear any traffic at night. We saw some of the coastal sites whilst on our travels and overall we think we picked the best spot to stay. The local farm shop is good but does not stay open late and some produce will not be available by 4 o clock. The village just up the road has local pubs and a paper shop and co-op so you are well served. Be careful pulling out of the junction to go straight on into the village it is hard to see traffic coming from the right. Overall a very, very good site

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil scott 1 review from this member

Booked here with friends for two nights. Tent pitches really large was impressed. Didn't realise how large site was until we went for walk. Nice play park for children. Lovely clean facilities. Never saw any staff the whole time we were there. I would say the only problem was there should be more blocks of toilets dotted around site as it's long walk to the only block they have from some pitches!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveb50 10 reviews from this member

South Meadows is a medium sized family oriented campsite for tourers, tents, motor homes and there is also statics on site too. This is our second visit to this site. It is very well managed, immaculately kept hard standing super pitches and grass normal pitches all with EHU. Tarmac roads encircle the camping areas.

Arriving just before a bank holiday weekend the campsite was pretty much full, however the toilet block was always immaculate and regularly cleaned. Although having five shower cubicles for the men and five for the ladies I did not have to wait.

Only a couple of minutes from the A1 traffic noise can barely be heard, and despite the size of the site it is very peaceful.

There is a laundry room and vending machines.

A good sized children's playground sits next to a very large playing field with goalposts at one end. This huge field can be used for football, frisbee, kite flying etc or just walking the dog.

Nearby there is a co-op about 10 mins walk away and chip shop opposite in the village centre. There is also a couple of pubs here too. Next door is a 'farm shop' with a good range of top end produce with top end prices to match. They also serve meals at lunchtime/afternoons and make their own bread. Well worth a look at.

This campsite is well placed to serve as a base for discovering the surrounding countryside. I would recommend a visit to Bamburgh and an afternoon tea at the Copper Kettle tea rooms about 10 mins by car. Drive through Bamburgh towards Seahouses where you can park for free at the side of the road and walk through the sand dunes onto a beautiful clean beach (dog friendly). Continue into Seahouses and attempt to park the car in one of two car parks that get very busy, and go on one of the boat tours to the Farne Islands. I have used Serenity tours three times and enjoyed it every time.

Further afield is Holy Island, about 30 mins drive, check the causeway times before you go though, and Edinburgh or Newcastle is approx 1 hour 10 mins away.

Food wise I would recommend the Apple Core at Lucker, about 5 mins drive away for pizza, pasta etc and are child friendly. The White Swan Inn at Warrenford, about 5 mins drive away also has good food, generally for the more mature clientele although they are kid friendly here too.

There has been negative comments about the campsite on a previous review about the expansion of the campsite. Whilst it is true that it does seem that the site is being expanded for camping, as of the end of May 2017 it is by no means finished, so there is a possibility that another toilet block may be being built to service the 'front' of the site; this should by no means put you off staying on this site.

I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CBDR 5 reviews from this member

This is a very good site with good sized pitches and very clean toilet block facilities. It is close to bus routes that go along the coast to various places which is very handy. Local village pubs good for food and dog friendly. Great playground for the grandchildren, plus dog walking and a large playing field. Would definitely use again if visiting that area.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomer 100 1 review from this member

Nicely laid out and kept site. One area hardstanding with full service facilities, which was good for the money. 2 other grassed areas Another area with semi permanent caravans, and another with statics. This is obviously a rapidly expanding site, with what looked like more grass pitches being built. In full operation I guess would hold at least 150+ ?? units. My only concern is the toilet facilities. Clean, warm (but not hot) water to 6 washbasins, (one with no plug), all in a line with no privacy, with 5 male and 5 female showers. I can see this becoming a real scrum for the facilities if and when site is busy. So overall good. , but facilities really could do with updating and increasing possibly, especially as far end of site to toilet block quite a little walk

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019