Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth > Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park > Reviews

Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park
Ynyslas
Borth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY24 5LB
Tel: 01654 710232
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Huweva 1 review from this member

 So clean and well designed. I just had a one man tent for one night but the placement overlooked the beautiful Dyfi Estuary.

Friendly co-campers.

Will return with family and stay longer. Thanks Sue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cole21 1 review from this member

 Shower facilities brilliant and clean. Clean and tidy site, not over crowded at all. Spectacular views.

The only downside was the mosquitos in the evening which were unbareable but obviously this is mother nature and not the sites fault 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hughes2020 1 review from this member

 The campsite was lovely and clean, however the grass was overgrown. The children had to shower in cold showers after a day at the beach, there was dead ants in the ladies bathroom by the sink. It is really out of the way so unless you have a car there isn't a lot you can do.

We arrived and there was nobody at reception we had no idea where to go our taxi ended up driving round for 20 mins tryign to find the campsite - taxi also cost us 35 pound from both train station.

We usually pay 25 pound per night aat other campsites and atleast you get hot water, I don't think it was worth the £42 per night we paid. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Derekcbr 83 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site in 2015 and gave it a 10. As I said it has a great situation and the facilities are excellent. Having extolled the virtues in my last review I am now going to focus on the few downsides.

There are just a few designated pitches you just plonk yourselves anywhere and most tend to near the water and EHU stations. I can see this being a problem if the site is busy.

There, thatís the downside so together with my 2015 review, you can make your own minds up about this site. Havenít changed my view.

An excellent site and the Golf at Borth is great! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dharmadoo 7 reviews from this member

 We were looking for somewhere to stay near to Ynyslas beach and caravan touring parks were hard to find in this area, they all seemed to be static holiday parks. I found this site via an online search and despite there being no recent reviews posted online we took the chance and decided to stay anyway, as it was only for 2 nights and 1 day after all

I sent a message via the website and after receiving no response in 2 days I called and spoke to a lady who pretty much just said 'no need to book, just show up', I questioned this advice as it was a weekend in August after all, but she was adamant. There was no obvious reception area or host but after we had been there a while a young man appeared and told us that we should have booked and there may not be room for us, luckily there were 2 grass pitches left with water and electric hook-up facilities.

Sadly a few of the vans and tents without water had been using the tap on our pitch and the grass was quite muddly and water-logged.

The touring site is a field at the back of a large static site and takes both tents and caravans/motorhomes. The views across one side were amazing, you could see out across the Dyffi estuary to Aberdovey. It seemed really well kept and the shower/toilet block looked pretty much brand new and well lit etc. I say 'seemed' well kept, we never actually used these facilities for reasons which will become clear shortly.

We'd arrived after work at around 7pm on Friday so after a quick set-up we drove straight off to Borth to enjoy fish and chips on the seafront. We had a lovely time with our dogs walking along the beach and then watched the sunset from a little bar right on the beach. We returned to the site just as it was going dark (around 9pm) only to find that TWO families had pitched their tents right next to us and squeezed into a tiny area. There were essentially 3 generations of 1 family staying in these 2 tents along with their 2 dogs and their transit van, all merely inches from our caravan. They had placed their chairs in a circle right outside our caravan door so I had to ask them to please move them so that we could open our door, This was met with hard stares and a reluctance to comply. Then their 2 dogs came bounding over face to face with our on-lead dogs. I have to say that their dogs were not badly behaved or aggressive ( which is more than can be said of the owners) but there is a a rule that dogs must be kept on the lead, not all dogs are friendly and this can cause a lot of stress for the owners of dogs that are not so friendly if another dog is loose and runs right up to the non-friendly dog. So I had to then ask them to please grab hold of their dogs. This was met with even more reluctance, silence and no attempt was made to control their dogs.

We retreated to our van, not feeling like we wanted to sit outside with them and enjoy the rest of what had been a pleasant evening. They had well and truly invaded any personal space that we had and we and spent the night listening to them arguing between themselves, one grandparent did nothing but scream at the grandchildren all the time and constantly tell them off. They were still setting up their tents and cooking until gone 11pm. All of this was right outside our van so they may as well have been inside with us, it was that noisy. At 2am (yes 2am) they were still partying, shouting, drinking.

After very little sleep we woke to a lovely sunny morning and decided to eat breakfast sat outside our van as we usually do on a nice day. We opened the door and were choked by the fumes from their transit van that had the engine running away for no apparent reason. I politely asked if they could please switch the engine off as it was inches from our chairs and our van and we wanted to sit outside. I can safely say that world war 3 set off at this point and without going into all the details I set off to find the young man that appeared to be the site host and explained to him what had happened. Quite where he had been all night and why he hadn't put a stop to the noise at 2am I have no idea. He seemed to have no authority and certainly wasn't the type of character who knew how to deal with such a situation and so the argument just escalated beyond all control with him just standing there listening to it all. It resulted in both my husband and I being both verbally and then physically threatened by the unwanted guests from hell next door. Needless to say repacked up and left before we'd even eaten breakfast.

I wouldn't return and can't recommend it I'm afraid as we had such a bad experience. I realize that everyone can have a bad experience and this is not the reason that I can't recommend the site. Its' because there was no control, no boundaries, no quiet time was enforced, the on-lead dog rule wasn't enforced, the host (if you can call him that) wasn't up to the job and not of strong enough character to control any unruly guests and resolve any issues. These people should never have been permitted to set up their tents and park their van within inches of our caravan, let alone pitch up when it was dark and then make noise for the next 2 hours setting up and cooking followed by partying until gone 2am. This is what ruins the experience for everyone else who abides by rules and know how to exist in polite society. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davyboy1959 1 review from this member

 What a treat - lovely clean site brand new toilet block, best I have ever seen.

The view is fabulous. £17pn great value.

Will be back. 10/10. Stayed here for 3 days wanted to stay longer. 5 minutes to the sandy beach- the dog loved it. Overall fantastic. TV point, your own water tap and hookup which is 16amp and night light. Showers are free. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Derekcbr 83 reviews from this member

 My unit is a pennine pathfinder. I agree whole heartedly with Muffandbud. This site has great facilities, clean and up-to-date toilet and showers which are free. Great views over the Dyfi estuary and the hills behind. On arrival, pick your own spot, set up and look for Chris. He does have his mobile phone number up on the reception office window and he is very friendly and helpful.

£17 is great value for this site with EHU, good disposal facilities but Borth is not really anything special. We were there for the golf. Great links course (oldest in Wales!) and highly recommended for you golfers out there. Would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MuffandBud 2 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed on Ty Mawr for 4 nights, the campsite is easily accessible from the main road along a short private drive. The site for tourers and tents is adjacent to a static site under the same management. Each pitch has plenty of room and seviced by EHU, Mains water and TV aerial point, there are several seasonal pitches around the outer aspects of the field.

The views of the Dovey estuary are splendid with the mountains providing a beautiful backdrop.

We found the campsite to be a perfect retreat and we felt very rested after our break there. It is situated approx one to two miles outside Borth and Ynyslas, being approx 12 miles from Machynlleth. Borth is sadly somewhat run down but is well worth a visit for a scenic walk along the sea front, several nature parks are within easy travelling we were disapointed that Ynys Hir does not accept dogs or have any facility for them to be Kennelled whilst people visited the site, what do you do on hot days when you cannot leave the dogs in the car, perhaps the RSPB can review this.

The shower and toilet block is second to none, in fact several of the people from the static park were seen to use them, this could be a problem in the busy times!

Chris the site manager can usually be found somewhere either on the tourer field or the static field, he is very customer friendly and eager to help and advise. The reception etc is rarely staffed as new users to the site we would have gained from an info pack, it was just a matter of finding a pitch and getting on with it, we saw Chris the following morning.

We will return and will gladly recommend the site to friends, it is the perfect place for relaxation and chilling out 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lou68 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, quiet with beautiful views across the estuary and of the sea.

Excellent value for money at £17 per night over the bank holiday weekend for a caravan, awning, electric and water.

Lots of work appears to have been done on the touring area with new electric/water hook up points with low level lighting.

Brand new toilet/shower block is lovely and has a room for dish washing if required.

Tourers/camping are on a totally separate field to the statics and it felt very open and spacious.

Had a great time and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonitoni 2 reviews from this member

 The site was ok but not much to write home about. Value for money, hmmm I think not.

Below has said it all. Staff were not friendly and its a site I would not return to.

They had a touring area and also an area for seasonal caravans.

I have been to a lot nicer places so will give this a miss in the future.

I guess my outlook would have been different if they had provided plenty of hot water. They did keep the shower area clean 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ty Mawr Holiday Home Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Borth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement