Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tytandderwen Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tytandderwen Caravan Park Reviews

Tytandderwen Caravan Park
Llangynog Road
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7EP
Tel: 01678 520273
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slittle 1 review from this member

Just back from a few days here, have visited this site many times. The staff are lovely and friendly, the views are amazing, the only problem we have found are the toilets are not kept clean, the smell of urine in both ladies and gents is overwhelming. Will certainly return as its a nice quiet site but hopefully the toilets will be a lot cleaner

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site a few times but it seems to be going downhill. The owner seems more preoccupied with money than maintenance. There is 1 old guy who seems to have to do everything on the entire site. On this occasion Rubbish piled up with the bins overflowing for a few days. After rain we had raw sewerage coming from disabled toilet drains, The toilets are in a poor state with broken seats and gents has a permanent smell of excrement. Plus side Showers are warm, washing up and laundry is acceptable and grass I kept short. Their is a safe children's play area although we have found it becoming popular with with the same sort of camper who seemed to take over shell island and caused us to stop visiting it. There have been problems with our children being bullied and when approached the site owner it was suggested if we don't like it go elsewhere. After the problems we have had this time we wont be going back there again. Its has the potential to be a great site once again if the owner focused on what matters.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: YGermain 4 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite for a 2 week holiday because of its situation and also the excellent reviews. The site is large and open. Excellent pitches and fantastic views. Although this was the end of July the site was very quiet.

The play area was visible from nearly all pitches and the children can play safely on the large wooden climbing frames, swings and slide. There was enough room also for cycling around so all children were very happy. The laundry facilities were reasonably priced timers on the machines helped greatly so you did not have to keep going back to check, it was very dark though as the light did not work at any time. We were met by two members of site staff and they were friendly and helpful. From then on if you needed something you had to find them and it was only 3 or 4 days into the holiday that a map was put up so that new visitors could find a member of staff. Before that it was other campers who had to inform them of were to go to find help or sign in etc.

This is a brilliant and very relaxed campsite and any noisy campers were spoken to so mostly quiet after 10pm. The only criticism I have was the toilet blocks, both men and ladies both looked as if they needed a good clean and although toilet roll was replenished there did not seem to be much evidence of any cleaning over the two weeks we were there. So although a good campsite the toilets and showers let it down

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lunar mark 1 review from this member

We have stayed here 4 times over the last 12 months and think it is a great site to stay on for a long weekend. Situated outside Bala it is a fair old walk into the town so a car or taxi (if you can get one !)is needed.

On site facilities are good, toilet and showers are fine and it has a small children's play area to keep the kids quiet.

One good point is that because the site is down a long road, you don't get people wandering about, so I feel the kids are quite safe to explore the site.

Next to the site is a small stream which is nice, so overall a nice peaceful retreat for a few days!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bmc58 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Tytandderwen, and it will not be our last!

On our arrival we were met by a very friendly and helpful member of the team at Tytandderwen. We got the caravan sited and awning erected and started our very enjoyable stay at “The House Under The Tree’s”.

The site is well proportioned and you have very easy access to water and electric. The site has some of the most stunning views that I have ever come across. No matter where you are pitched, you will have stunning views.

The facilities are excellent and are well maintained and very clean.

If you want any information on where to go or where to buy your shopping and local produce from, ask either, Robert, Kevin or Brian (who was very helpful considering he had just come out of hospital!). While no one shop or service was favoured, we were directed to what offered the best for our needs! Very impartial!

Our boys, who are 2 and 6, had endless hours of fun in the play area that was situated in the main camping field. It was safe and very child friendly and allowed the children to play together.

For us dog owners out there, there was a fantastic dog walking area that takes you along the banks of the river dee, with benches along its banks so you can take in the beautiful views. But remember to clean up after your dog as some owners didn’t.

You can go fishing in the river, but I have no idea how you you did this as I didn’t do fishing. Ask the staff and they will put you right.

I cannot recommend Tytandderwen highly enough. I know you will enjoy your stay there, we did!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cracker91 1 review from this member

Have just returned from visiting this site and the area of Bala for the first time. The site is lovely, very scenic and has a park in the middle of the field for the kids to play on. Lots of kids when we were there and lots of dogs (which is great for us). The Lancashire Newfoundland Dog Team were holding a meet there but were all very friendly and all camped together in one side of the field. We enjoyed watching them, and all of the dog owners were very responsible.

The showers were free and nice and warm. The toilets had a leak whilst we were there which didn't smell particularly pleasant, but later on in the day this had been cleaned up. I would say that they are probably standard for a campsite.

The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of walks, however having the motorhome we were a bit disappointed that the nearest shop was in the town of Bala which would be at least a 45 minute walk (at least) along a very narrow road with no footpath. We found this a bit isolating, but this is just our preference.

A nice site, very quiet at night, and all people there were very responsible and respectful to others.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Popsut001 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site. Would highly recommend.

The owners were lovely and suggested some lovely cheap days out for us.

The was a park in the middle of the field and you pitch your tent round the edge of the field facing towards the park, which I thought was brill for us as we could see the kids on the park. Caravans and tourers were on the opposite side.

The showers and toilets were ok, cleaned every morning although could of done with another in the evening. In one of the cubicles there was big sink which I found was big enough for bathing the kids in (aged 2 and 3). There was a play room which could of done with a really good clean and a few more toys but the older kids liked it as there was a tv. Washing up facilities were good.

This campsite was only a 5 min drive into Bala and there was lots to do nearby.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JACQSZOO 6 reviews from this member

Wouldn't have been my first choice but it was Bank Holiday weekend and I hadn't booked anywhere.

Gentleman on reception was very friendly and confirmed they had plenty of space and had a choice of three fields to pitch my small 3 man tent. I choose the front field, which I later discovered had been booked for a rally by the Land rovers owners club! Felt a bit uncomfortable but they said as long as I didn't mind then neither did they so I stayed put. Although other posters have said they found this site reasonable, at £15 for a small 3 man tent with just me and my son I thought it was very expensive.

Showers and toilets weren't particularly clean but as we were only staying one night it wasn't too much of an issue.

Scenery was absolutely stunning and certainly an area we will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigblackdogs 1 review from this member

We have been visiting this site for many years and it has never let us down. Great facilities and very good staff and best of all it is very dog friendly. We are looking forward to this Easter which will the first of a few this year.

We will also be using it in august when Lancashire rescue bears hold their newfoundland dog water test on lake Bala.

The dogs also love to swim in the river on site which is lovely and clean and the path down to the river is well maintained as is the site itself with flower pots and baskets adding to the summer scenery.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ste+em 4 reviews from this member

Went to this site for the first time this weekend, having been recommended. On arrival the staff were very helpful. Good pitch size, nice park area and lots of space to play ball games.
Showers fairly clean, nice and hot, toilets again fairly clean, but found the light sensors in toilet not set long enough
Surrounding area very nice, beautiful views would go back

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


97 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019