Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ythan Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon > Ythan Valley Campsite > Reviews

Ythan Valley Campsite
Smithfield
Ythanbank
Ellon
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB41 7TH
Tel: 01358 761400
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jmmgr1 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet setting and very helpful owner.

Very clean and eco friendly.

Most enjoyable break with town of Ellon nearby for provisions.

Beautiful walking area along the river Ythan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JAW50 2 reviews from this member

 Nice small site. Meadow camping area with hideaway pitches in the grass /wildflower area.

Facilities are good and clean but no hot water, so have to boil water to wash and wash up.

Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to try the porridge, as it wasn't offered whilst we were staying there.

One downside, lots of do's and don't notices which seemed a bit over the top. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Freshair1 20 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site (while I was there) with clean facilities. Good hot shower but no hot water in sinks or outside washing up area.

Owner very pleasant and helpful.

Not far from the facilities of Ellon & nice river walk to the Formartine & Buchan cycle trail.

Would stay again if visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CLM13 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite which I would be very happy to recommend to anyone looking for a site in the area.

It's very small, essentially in a meadow behind the owner's house, but she only takes a small number of campers so you would never feel crowded.

There is a flat lawn type area then behind that the "hideaway" pitches, we had one of those, they were surrounded by tall grasses and trees and so we're quite a pretty bucolic spot and afforded some privacy.

The setting is very nice: you are surrounded by fields with no other buildings or roads in sight, just a footpath on the other side of the burn that runs along the bottom of the site. There are some curious cows in the next door field who come to drink in the burn, I quite enjoyed watching them.

There's nothing in walking distance but the town of Ellon is a five minute drive and has everything you would need.

The facilities are very basic because it is so small, there aren't any indoor facilities, fridges, power points etc. There is an outdoor roofed cold water washing up station and a "wash house" which contains two toilets and a shower. Please note this is unisex and the toilets are cubicles. It is super clean and the owner seems very organised. I liked the thought that had gone into keeping everything as environmentally friendly as possible.

It is a very peaceful place and ideal for "getting away from it all", I'd be happy to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Millar 1 review from this member

 Had the pleasure of finding this hidden gem. Spotlessly clean site and faculties. Libby was very warm and welcoming.

Loved the fact that there is limited bookings meaning you are not crammed next to anyone else. No one likes to hear the snoring or conversations from other fellow campers!

Well spaced out and you get a wheelbarrow to cart your gear to your desired spot (literally 30 seconds from your car)

If your after a nice peaceful stay in a spotless and beautiful site then book to avoid disappointment

10/10 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sslo52 1 review from this member

 It's like wild camping with tap water and a toilet,

Would definitely recommend.

We had the place to ourselves the first night and only one other person the other two nights 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minnie 1 review from this member

 We stayed on one of the 2 hideaway pitches, the views were stunning. It was lovely to find a small campsite, it was peaceful, perfect for what we wanted. We were able to use the stream to keep fridge items cool.

The toilets were very clean. There is a choice of 2 showers, we used the indoor one which again was very clean and lovely and warm.

Due to current Covid-19 restrictions, certain things weren't available but this made no difference to our stay at all.

I can honestly say the campsite is perfect and we would definitely stay there again without any hesitation. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LesD 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed 5 nights on the campsite and had a very nice time. It feels more like camping on the side lawn of the house than a campsite. The lawn area is small and will fit about 6 tents max. There are 2-3 other spots in the field that are secluded if you want to pay more for a private pitch. The ground is level and a bit stony but ordinary pegs worked fine. The site is in a quiet and sheltered location with fields on 3 sides. Cattle were in 1 field. Nice countryside views apart from the wind turbines - a personal dislike of mine.

Facilities: the Wash House is very well built and looked after. Fresh flowers, very clean and even a little shop on a shelf. Lots of nice personal touches. It is unisex, with 2 WCs, 2 wash hand basins cold water only and 1 electric shower. There were only 4 other people on site so it worked okay for us. Outside is an under cover washing up sink and drainer, again cold water only.

A novelty is the 'bush shower'. I won't spoil it by explaining but on a warm day it would be great fun. On cool evenings, there is a chimenea to use and toast a marshmallow or two.

Access is via a small track from the house. It has large tree roots across it. If you don't have a 4x4 or high ground clearance car I would advise looking at it before driving across. A fully laden car will easily ground. Park by the house and use the wheelbarrow to get your stuff to the lawn.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable. They have made up laminated sheets of some short walks from the site and have a box of up to date leaflets to borrow. They can provide eggs, homemade bread and even cooked foods.

A few miles away is the town of Ellon with local shops, bars and restaurants and supermarkets.

A good campsite for peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Floreda 1 review from this member

 This is a smashing site if you like peace and quiet. Toilets and shower are clean and tidy with little homely touches. There is no play area but there is plenty to explore. The site sits in the middle of castle country with added distilleries. A short drive will also take you to the east coast where you can go for walks along sandy beaches. I will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SandJBavister 2 reviews from this member

 This beautiful campsite is idyllic. We were privileged to have it all to ourselves just ahead of the bank holiday weekend.

Both the host and hostess were so friendly and welcoming. We couldn't have asked for anymore. It was an absolutely freezing night and they brought out logs to us so we could light the woodburner and keep warm. So caring and attentive as hosts.

The washroom is amazing, such a wonderful idea. Cannot believe I had a shower in a 'real' shower whilst camping. Only a shame it wasn't warm enough to have enjoyed the new bush shower.

Fantastic little home from home touches all over the campsite.

In the morning, knowing we were off on our bikes again we were brought leaflets for things to stop off and do along the way. Aswell as sharing local knowledge and just having a chit chat really. We stayed most of the morning, we were exhausted from the previous days cycling, and we did not feel as though we were a bother at all.

The little ducks kept is company for the morning as we enjoyed the sunshine and piece and quiet. Idyllic spot and fantastic campsite. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area! 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ythan Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ythan Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ythan Valley Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ellon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2765 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement