Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grondre Vale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Clunderwen > Grondre Vale Holiday Park > Reviews

Grondre Vale Holiday Park
Clunderwen
Clunderwen
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA66 7HD
Tel: 08009551122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Strawberry115 1 review from this member

 We stayed in a static Gold 4 berth caravan for 7 nights. Caravan was really clean and tidy and well equipped. We were impressed that there were 2 toilets and the shower was really good for a caravan one.

We didn't go to the entertainment other than to have a look on our night of arrival and we didn't use the pool. We really used the site as a base to look at everything around in the area - Gold mine trip, steam railway, boat trip from Tenby to see seals, beach at Tenby and Stackpole, and various coastal walks. We tended to eat at/near Carmarthen at Harvester, Toby and different pubs.

We had a problem with a blocked washbasin on the night we arrived and this was quickly sorted by the site handyman who was cheerful and quickly dealt with it.

Enjoyed our stay here and would use again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan Jason 3 reviews from this member

 This site is good but with a bit more investment from the owners could be great.

The staff are a big plus point here. Always happy to help and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are a credit to the site. The touring field is sloping and all grass. No hardstandings. Which in April with all its showers proved decidedly muddy unfortunately. Whilst they canít help the weather, level hardstandings would be a great addition to the site. The clubhouse is old and in need of updating. Reasonably priced meals and drinks here though and again, great staff.

Toilet and shower facilities adequate. Could do with updating again. We had cold showers on a number of occasions and no hot water to wash the dishes.

Grondre has great potential but just lacks in reinvestment. There are signs of some new works there but it needs more to pull it up to date. Having said that, their prices are reasonable, so maybe I am being slightly harsh and expecting too much for the money.

Overall, a good site and worth a look. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campfish 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for our first time for two nights in August. 1 adult, 2 kids. Great value at £18 per night plus they did charge £3 per night for a car. Checked in at reception by a pleasant lady. Was showed to our pitch by following a member of staff on a quad. I was surprised by the size of the camping field which was pretty large with plenty of space even with it being the summer holidays and glorious weather. Pitch we were on was flat, some parts of the field was gently sloping.

There are plenty of toilets and showers which were always clean although there was no handwashing soap in the Dispenser for the time we were there. Showers were free to use.

The great thing about this site is that it is cheaper per night than most basic sites yet you have the bonus of an outdoor pool, an arcade, a playground, mini golf, entertainment and a bar serving food. The kids enjoyed the heated pool. It is only suitable for children rather than people wanting a proper swim. As it was a busy time of year they operated a band system to ensure people had use of the pool. The mini golf is next to the pool and was £1. 50 per person. The playground kept the kids amused for 20 minutes here and there. Not huge but a welcome addition.

There is various entertainment such as kids club for an hour every night. Also bingo and the usual singers, disco, etc but we unfortunately didn't go to so I can't comment. I did use the bar which is very well priced for a holiday park and staff were good. We also had a meal at lunch time. Impressed with the prices and the food was very good quality. Kids meals were £4. 50. Cheeseburger and chips only £4. 75. Cod and chips was £7. 95.

I only really saw the shop as I checked in at reception which was basically part of the shop. It seemed to have the basics. Narbeth is apparently quite close. We did stop at a spar and nisa garage on the road to cardigan. Must have been no more than 10 minutes away. Both not cheap but had most of what you'd want. There must be a cheap supermarket somewhere not too far away but had no time to investigate.

On our visit people observed the 10 o clock quiet time at night. I was never disturbed by noise at night and was quiet in the early morning too. Check out time was 10am according to the leaflet. I don't know if that applies more to static residents or not. We were packed up after 10 with no worries from any staff. We also stayed to use the pool.

All in all I was more than impressed with this site. If you want a cheap site with things to keep the kids happy for a few hours if needed then I recommend this site. It is centrally located to explore the north and south coast and everything in between. Will be back for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PostieKev 9 reviews from this member

 Good site, clean tidy. Nice bar, beautiful food. Warm swimming pool and nice little park. The touring field is on a slight slope but blocks available if needed. The site is middle of nowhere but fantastic for exploring Pembrokeshire, 5minute drive to a little village Narbeth, few shops pubs/restaurant and supermarket. Tenby 20min drive, 30mins to Pembroke. Very cheap £18 per night in August. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jankers 1 review from this member

 This was my second visit to this site and it was as good as the first. There are plenty of toilets/showers and they are all kept clean. Dogs are allowed on site and I was pleasantly surprised that 99% of dog owners cleaned up after their dogs. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food in the club house was lovely and the service was very good. I only had one concern and that was at 8. 30 every night there is bingo, nothing wrong with bingo at all, however, everybody is told to hush by the regulars and the children in our party became upset by it. Surely there is no need for bingo every night of the week during the children's school holidays?? There was a large room to the side of the clubhouse that would be perfect to hold the bingo. It would have been a win win. For this I felt it fair to knock a few points off the Child friendliness rating. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tezzamamma 1 review from this member

 Was a fantastic and well equipped camp site. Unlike many the tent area wasn't a second thought. Nice slightly sloped field ideal for tents with close-by toilet block (choice of blocks).

Lovely little park, ideal for under 8's. The small arcade would cater for older children well but mine didn't need it.

Pool looked nice and clean but we didn't stay long enough to use it.

Impressed by friendly staff and cleanliness of the whole site.

First visit but won't be our last. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Daisy May 1 1 review from this member

 Came home from Grondre 2 weeks ago after staying for a week. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment and would highly recommend it. So much so I am considering buying a caravan there. I only live 90 minutes away and have visited West Wales regularly but this was the first time I have ever holidayed in the area and it was the perfect base to use to travel further afield and see places I have never gone to before. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue1234567 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at many caravan sites and have rarely stayed on such a poor touring site. The pitches were small and so packed in that we felt like we were on a caravan storage facility. There were very few drinking or waste water points and the toilet / shower facilities were inadequate both in number and quality. Despite supposed security many people were making a lot of noise until the early hours and one night we finally got some peace at 4. 30am. Very few people respected pitch boudaries and one man even gutted and descaled his fish at the local water point. Many of the machines in the amusement area were out of order all week, as were one of the three washing machines. On the plus side, there was a nice children's play area and the pool was very warm (although I would describe it more as a children's pool as it was too shallow for any swimming). Food in the club / take out was also good and reasonably priced. Entertainment was good (if a bit loud). Others in our party hired static vans and these were in much nicer surroundings although both needed a good clean before use. The location of the site is great, close to Narbeth and in beautiful countryside. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martyn66 4 reviews from this member

 I visited this site with my wife and grandson for 2 nights. First impression was not impressive but we thought we would give it time. We were given a choice of two areas to pitch by a helpful gentleman. We pitched halfway up the hill to be closer to the toilet blocks for my 4 year old grandson. The pitches were not marked out but it was apparent that the units were close together. The shower blocks were clean and cleaned regular but being portacabin type were very compact and inadequate for the amount of people on site. I have to say in all fairness that we usually go out of peak season so it was an eye opener for us to queue to use the toilet.

The swimming pool was very well used by the campers but again a little small for the amount of people on site. The play park was lovely and our little camper loved it. Although we did not use the shop which was situated in reception, it looked to be stocked with the basics but shops are quite a drive from her so go well stocked up.

Our biggest bugbare was the noise at night and the fact that ballgames were allowed by the units. This was not policed at all. I know people go on holiday to enjoy themselves but it felt on the first night that we were at Glastonbury. I have to say though this is not just restricted to this site it seems to be coming a trend unfortunately.

So if you want a relaxing peaceful holiday avoid this site like the plague at peak season. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PHILLIPSFAMILY 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed 2 nights here and found the site and showers/toilets spotless. The club (£2. 90 a pint) is clean and makes nice meals burger and chips about £4. 50. The outdoor pool was nice and warm, me and my family had plenty of fun in it. A lot of places to visit within 15miles tenby / saundelsfoot nice walk round haverfordwest town and only a 20 min drive to carmarthen. Staff are friendly and I have been to 8 or 9 different sites and this is the best all round. Can't wait until next visit really enjoyed thanks 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grondre Vale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Grondre Vale Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grondre Vale Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grondre Vale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clunderwen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement