Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes > Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays) > Reviews

Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays)
Humberston
Cleethorpes
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN35 0PW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Check in was a ships container, so could have been made more welcoming. But didn't put us off. We were told to choose our own pitch and come back and tell them the number. Not a problem.

We found a nice pitch very close to the Ablutions which was nice as we are usually miles away, these were basic but fairly clean.

As we were only there for 2 nights was ok. Walked into Cleethorpes its a long walk but isn't lit so chose to get a Taxi back. But would be ok during the summer. Had a lovely meal in Fez very reasonable with good service.

Had a drink in the show bar before bed.

Security did a drive round. And we had a quiet night. We had a swim in the morning pool was quiet.

However on our return a large group of tents had arrived. They were so noisy and the kids played football all around people's tents.

We had good entertainment in the evening with a Franki Vali tribute act. However we arrived back at our tent to kids running riot shouting swearing

This went on till about 2 in the morning. We never saw security that night.

We will not be returning.

Which is a shame as its close to the beach.

But if they are not going to enforce rules it makes it an unpleasant stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dragon56 28 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Thorpe park.

We were well impressed with the touring area and the location to the promenade and beach.

Great dog walking and the promenade was great for a cycle into Cleethorpes.

Huge hard standing euro style pitch and warm clean shower block.

Friendly staff and we will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clive Parrott1 1 review from this member

 Poor toilet block, no lock on loo door, no mirrow in men's, shower head ridiculously high, soaks you with cold water when you turn it on & the changing area, as the curtain is too short.

Litter around the camp site. No reception, so no toilet code on arrival.

Disappointing to say the leased.

A kind Security Guard did help to get our welcome pack. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed on touring site first pitch I was warned by person parked in next door pitch about pigeons roosting in tree and how he got bird po all over his caravan and awning and had moved to another pitch.

So moved to another pitch but as I was setting up noticed an ant nest on that pitch so moved again this time we found a decent pitch not under any trees or near any ants nests.

Due to torrential rain a lot of the pitches got flooded but luckily our pitch was not one of them.

The toilets and showers were kept reasonable clean but for some reason some people seemed to preferred to wipe their backsides on the toilet seats.

One problem I had while I was here was the ground staff came round and strimmed the grass around the caravans and I could hear stuff hitting my caravan which as far as I am concerned is not on complained to the groundsman and he just said he had been told got to get it done, so complained to the office and was told the touring site warden had be informed but I was here for 14 days and have never seen the warden anywhere around the touring site. I will not be returning to this site as there are a lot better Haven sites out there.

And security during the day is a joke no guard on the gate and security gate left open all day. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 Site very easy to find and touring area well signposted. It was an easy wide approach with the caravan on the back.

The pitches were well spaced out and level. We booked a euro pitch and were told we could choose our pitch, we chose an end one which was a large fully serviced pitch with a car parking space to the side (some spaces had the car parked in front of the caravans), it was a hard standing, space for awning and a big area that we could fence off with windbreaks to keep the dog enclosed.

It had a bank behind which meant we were sheltered from the wind and benefited from sunshine most of the day - out of the wind it was a baking hot sun trap. (pitch 20).

We needed to get an extra length of water pipe to take advantage of the piped water as ours didn't reach. Our friends were on pitch 93 with their campervan, and that was also a pitch on the end and it was huge, they had loads of space.

The pitch opposite ours wasn't so good though, there wasn't much space for an awning as there were trees overhanging the edge of the pitch, and once an awning was up there was no extra space. The people using it first had a small porch awning, and the next ones didn't use an awning, and because of the trees they didn't get as much sun as we did on our pitch so choose your pitch wisely!

The touring wardens were very friendly and chatty, and were very accommodating when we asked for an extension on the day we were due to leave, charging us only an extra 3 to stay till 4pm. It cost us 35 a night for 2 adults 2 children and a dog (although this was a discounted price)

The site was flat with roads around most of the pitches - great for children to ride bikes and scooters, and for the ice-cream van that did the rounds each day! There was also a little play park with swings and a slide that the youngest member of our group loved.

The toilet block had a covered washing up area outside, and had a code to get in. There were a few blocks dotted around the touring area.

The one we used was very clean, the cleaners were in and out checking on them and cleaning frequently, although the block was old fashioned and didn't smell very fresh (problems with the drains I believe), Unfortunately there were some guests that found it entertaining to block all the plugs and drains up with tissue paper, and throw clumps on the ceiling, but it was swiftly cleaned up. There was only one private sink.

The shower cubicles were push button showers. They did have a separate area with a seat to change with plenty of hooks for clothes, but when you put the shower on even with the curtain closed it sprayed water all over the floor of the dry area. - my shoes got rather wet - thankfully just Crocs so not an issue! After my shower I collected my things and moved to an unused shower cubicle with a dry floor to get changed.

The touring pitches are situated in a good area close to the beach and the shop, and a short walk from the main complex. However coming back in the dark there were a few dark areas where the street lights were not working, so we needed our torches.

There were the usual Haven facilities and entertainment, a restaurant and bar, small fairground' climbing wall, crazy golf, and a golf course and family pitch and putt and fishing at the other end of the site. The swimming pool was lovely and bright, it looked like it had had a recent makeover, but it was busy, and our boys complained that the changing rooms were very wet underfoot.

The outdoor slides and splashzone were not open with it being early in the season.

For our dog there were plenty of dog bins here and there, and she was allowed to play off her lead on the beach which she loved. However she did run onto the marshy land around the beach and jumped in the standing water which was very smelly!

There was a designated dog walk at the other end of the site near the golf course, but it was alongside a channel of more standing water which didn't look very clean so as she's attracted to water we didn't dare let her off her lead there!

The site is in a good area, you can walk to the little train which takes you into Cleethorpes, or walk or cycle along the wide concrete prom if you are feeling energetic. A few mins drive from the site is a cinema, large soft play, KFC. McDonalds, Subway, bowling, a lovely park with a lake and a small zoo. We went to the all you can eat Oriental restaurant nearby which was good value for money, and the food was lovely, and the kids enjoyed the bottomless ice-creams complete with sprinkles and sauce!

All in all we had a good time and would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ddeveritt 11 reviews from this member

 After staying at Reighton Sands and primrose valley this is by far the best park. Big pitches clean and well kept. The food was hot and well presented although not much choice of places to eat.

Clean and laid back good security and already booked twice for next year. The other two parks should take a leaf out of Thorpe parks book.

I have given 8 out of 10 value for money as I got a late deal but very expensive if you can't get a deal. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krismcewan 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just after Easter and the weather wasn't the best. It was cold and damp so you couldn't get the 'best' from the site. It wasn't overly muddy but our awning was a bit water logged from about 14 hours of constant rain. Not the site fault however there was flooding all over the county not just the site, just unfortunate climax of a wet winter. Now the weather is out the way I can give an honest review.

The euro pitches are great. With a paved area for the van and the car and a gravel area for the awning. Spaced well apart and each have their own services including TV connections. Site has a lot of pitches and lighting is reasonably good. Maintenance need to replace a few bulbs on the electric pillars here and there.

Toilets were clean and well proportioned, showers were spacious with place for your clothes to sit as opposed to hang. 3 issues 1 had. 1 the Auto soap dispenser was temperamental it kind of worked sometimes not the other. Just meant I had to use the soap and sink at the shower area. No great inconvenience. 2. Hand dryer was also temperamental and when worked it was useless. 3. The windows were all 'jammed open' and when temperatures dropped to 3c at night it was a cold trip to the loo.

Location is brill. Touring area is next to the mini market, 5 min walk to the complex. Its within walking distance of Cleethorpes, plenty going on around the area and the park has a good list of entertainments.

There is the touring area reception (portacabin) manned during the day and a 'guard' on the barriers in the evenings. Regular patrols of security in vans keeps you feeling safe.

I have stayed at a number of Haven parks over the years and this is one of the good ones 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 54 reviews from this member

 Getting to site is easy when towing, all good roads. Good directions to touring reception. We were given a choice of pitches. We chose one near the toilets. Reasonable size pitches but most are under trees. We had water and drainage. You need long water hoses for some sites. Free hourly fun train good for kids and to take you to entertainments if you are long way off. Toilets are usual Haven standard, dated, dirty and neglected.

We were here for a week (beside the toilets) and never saw a cleaner? Same dirty marks on floor all week. No toilet brushes? Toilet roll ran out after day 3? Entertainment good especially for young children. Food, drink and spar shop a bit pricy but plenty good options off site.

Carverys and a buffet Chinese close. Tesco, Lidl about 4 miles. Beach is a few minutes walk but sea is along way off. Indoor swimming pools and play areas good. There are additional payable things, see their website. Outdoor pools and slides understandably closed for winter would be good in summer.

Summary. If you can put up with neglected toilets this is a good site for family's with young children. Marked facilities down for toilets and customer service for being called 'mate' at bar. Child friendliness given nine for prices of extras. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

 Really liked this site (the good weather did help). The touring area had a certain continental feel about it, as it was set within the trees (although it is a matter of luck as to whether you get a sunny or a shady spot).

There's a short link path, in the corner, that leads to a car park and then to the beach or entertainment centre. Its not easy to spot so worth asking as its a good short cut for both. Both are also really close to the touring bit as well which made a refreshing change from some sites.

There's a good cycle ride in to Cleethorpes either via the sea front or the road (both have cycle lanes and is approx. 2 miles. Depending on which bit you go to).

The washing up, shower and toilet block weren't necessarily the greatest but perfectly functional.

There's a good carvery pub just outside of the entrance to the site too 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at Thorpe park for two weeks, Even so this was not our first time on a Haven site it was our first time at this site.

This is a very very large site, Its the largest site Haven own and despite its size its a very clean and a well cared for site with very friendly staff.

On the touring field the pitches are large enough for our 23. 7ft caravan plus awning along with car along with space to sit outside and cook, if you like a lay-in then don`t pick a spot behind the spar shop as they get big lorry`s delivering all day long from early morning.

The kids play park next to the touring check in hut is one of the worse I have ever seen to say that this is such a big park the play area is the smallest I have seen.

The toilet/shower block is kept clean and the water is always very hot, but they are a bit outdated. The washing up area just outside the toilet block is fine (only used it to clean the BBQ stuff) if I was to find fault with it, it could only be that fact that it could do with a small bin there but that's only a small thing.

The swimming pools are amazing and the slides a added bonus.

Entertainment needs updating, We watched the same shows that we have been watching in other Haven sites for the passed two years (One thing you do Haven for is the entertainment and you don`t want to keep seeing the same things each year.

There are plenty of Places to eat on camp(selling really nice food) but if you want to leave site then find yourself the pear tree, Amazing pub selling amazing food at amazing prices, we went there twice during our stay.

There is not really much else to say about this place it really is a nice clean camp (apart from the family who turned up on plot 44 the day before we left with a boxer dog, They thought it was ok to let the dog walk around on its own off lead and poo on the empty plot next door, I did report them but not sure what was done about it).

Anyone who is thinking about going to this site then I'm sure you will have a wonderful time. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cleethorpes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3688 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement