Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes > Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays) Reviews

Thorpe Park Holiday Centre (haven Holidays)
Humberston
Cleethorpes
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN35 0PW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 86 Reviews
                8/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Macarw 17 reviews from this member

Site very easy to find and touring area well signposted. It was an easy wide approach with the caravan on the back.

The pitches were well spaced out and level. We booked a euro pitch and were told we could choose our pitch, we chose an end one which was a large fully serviced pitch with a car parking space to the side (some spaces had the car parked in front of the caravans), it was a hard standing, space for awning and a big area that we could fence off with windbreaks to keep the dog enclosed.

It had a bank behind which meant we were sheltered from the wind and benefited from sunshine most of the day - out of the wind it was a baking hot sun trap. (pitch 20).

We needed to get an extra length of water pipe to take advantage of the piped water as ours didn't reach. Our friends were on pitch 93 with their campervan, and that was also a pitch on the end and it was huge, they had loads of space.

The pitch opposite ours wasn't so good though, there wasn't much space for an awning as there were trees overhanging the edge of the pitch, and once an awning was up there was no extra space. The people using it first had a small porch awning, and the next ones didn't use an awning, and because of the trees they didn't get as much sun as we did on our pitch so choose your pitch wisely!

The touring wardens were very friendly and chatty, and were very accommodating when we asked for an extension on the day we were due to leave, charging us only an extra £3 to stay till 4pm. It cost us £35 a night for 2 adults 2 children and a dog (although this was a discounted price)

The site was flat with roads around most of the pitches - great for children to ride bikes and scooters, and for the ice-cream van that did the rounds each day! There was also a little play park with swings and a slide that the youngest member of our group loved.

The toilet block had a covered washing up area outside, and had a code to get in. There were a few blocks dotted around the touring area.

The one we used was very clean, the cleaners were in and out checking on them and cleaning frequently, although the block was old fashioned and didn't smell very fresh (problems with the drains I believe), Unfortunately there were some guests that found it entertaining to block all the plugs and drains up with tissue paper, and throw clumps on the ceiling, but it was swiftly cleaned up. There was only one private sink.

The shower cubicles were push button showers. They did have a separate area with a seat to change with plenty of hooks for clothes, but when you put the shower on even with the curtain closed it sprayed water all over the floor of the dry area. - my shoes got rather wet - thankfully just Crocs so not an issue! After my shower I collected my things and moved to an unused shower cubicle with a dry floor to get changed.

The touring pitches are situated in a good area close to the beach and the shop, and a short walk from the main complex. However coming back in the dark there were a few dark areas where the street lights were not working, so we needed our torches.

There were the usual Haven facilities and entertainment, a restaurant and bar, small fairground' climbing wall, crazy golf, and a golf course and family pitch and putt and fishing at the other end of the site. The swimming pool was lovely and bright, it looked like it had had a recent makeover, but it was busy, and our boys complained that the changing rooms were very wet underfoot.

The outdoor slides and splashzone were not open with it being early in the season.

For our dog there were plenty of dog bins here and there, and she was allowed to play off her lead on the beach which she loved. However she did run onto the marshy land around the beach and jumped in the standing water which was very smelly!

There was a designated dog walk at the other end of the site near the golf course, but it was alongside a channel of more standing water which didn't look very clean so as she's attracted to water we didn't dare let her off her lead there!

The site is in a good area, you can walk to the little train which takes you into Cleethorpes, or walk or cycle along the wide concrete prom if you are feeling energetic. A few mins drive from the site is a cinema, large soft play, KFC. McDonalds, Subway, bowling, a lovely park with a lake and a small zoo. We went to the all you can eat Oriental restaurant nearby which was good value for money, and the food was lovely, and the kids enjoyed the bottomless ice-creams complete with sprinkles and sauce!

All in all we had a good time and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ddeveritt 7 reviews from this member

After staying at Reighton Sands and primrose valley this is by far the best park. Big pitches clean and well kept. The food was hot and well presented although not much choice of places to eat.

Clean and laid back good security and already booked twice for next year. The other two parks should take a leaf out of Thorpe parks book.

I have given 8 out of 10 value for money as I got a late deal but very expensive if you can't get a deal.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krismcewan 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here just after Easter and the weather wasn't the best. It was cold and damp so you couldn't get the 'best' from the site. It wasn't overly muddy but our awning was a bit water logged from about 14 hours of constant rain. Not the site fault however there was flooding all over the county not just the site, just unfortunate climax of a wet winter. Now the weather is out the way I can give an honest review.

The euro pitches are great. With a paved area for the van and the car and a gravel area for the awning. Spaced well apart and each have their own services including TV connections. Site has a lot of pitches and lighting is reasonably good. Maintenance need to replace a few bulbs on the electric pillars here and there.

Toilets were clean and well proportioned, showers were spacious with place for your clothes to sit as opposed to hang. 3 issues 1 had. 1 the Auto soap dispenser was temperamental it kind of worked sometimes not the other. Just meant I had to use the soap and sink at the shower area. No great inconvenience. 2. Hand dryer was also temperamental and when worked it was useless. 3. The windows were all 'jammed open' and when temperatures dropped to 3c at night it was a cold trip to the loo.

Location is brill. Touring area is next to the mini market, 5 min walk to the complex. Its within walking distance of Cleethorpes, plenty going on around the area and the park has a good list of entertainments.

There is the touring area reception (portacabin) manned during the day and a 'guard' on the barriers in the evenings. Regular patrols of security in vans keeps you feeling safe.

I have stayed at a number of Haven parks over the years and this is one of the good ones

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

Getting to site is easy when towing, all good roads. Good directions to touring reception. We were given a choice of pitches. We chose one near the toilets. Reasonable size pitches but most are under trees. We had water and drainage. You need long water hoses for some sites. Free hourly fun train good for kids and to take you to entertainments if you are long way off. Toilets are usual Haven standard, dated, dirty and neglected.

We were here for a week (beside the toilets) and never saw a cleaner? Same dirty marks on floor all week. No toilet brushes? Toilet roll ran out after day 3? Entertainment good especially for young children. Food, drink and spar shop a bit pricy but plenty good options off site.

Carverys and a buffet Chinese close. Tesco, Lidl about 4 miles. Beach is a few minutes walk but sea is along way off. Indoor swimming pools and play areas good. There are additional payable things, see their website. Outdoor pools and slides understandably closed for winter would be good in summer.

Summary. If you can put up with neglected toilets this is a good site for family's with young children. Marked facilities down for toilets and customer service for being called 'mate' at bar. Child friendliness given nine for prices of extras.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

Really liked this site (the good weather did help). The touring area had a certain continental feel about it, as it was set within the trees (although it is a matter of luck as to whether you get a sunny or a shady spot).

There's a short link path, in the corner, that leads to a car park and then to the beach or entertainment centre. Its not easy to spot so worth asking as its a good short cut for both. Both are also really close to the touring bit as well which made a refreshing change from some sites.

There's a good cycle ride in to Cleethorpes either via the sea front or the road (both have cycle lanes and is approx. 2 miles. Depending on which bit you go to).

The washing up, shower and toilet block weren't necessarily the greatest but perfectly functional.

There's a good carvery pub just outside of the entrance to the site too

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just stayed at Thorpe park for two weeks, Even so this was not our first time on a Haven site it was our first time at this site.

This is a very very large site, Its the largest site Haven own and despite its size its a very clean and a well cared for site with very friendly staff.

On the touring field the pitches are large enough for our 23. 7ft caravan plus awning along with car along with space to sit outside and cook, if you like a lay-in then don`t pick a spot behind the spar shop as they get big lorry`s delivering all day long from early morning.

The kids play park next to the touring check in hut is one of the worse I have ever seen to say that this is such a big park the play area is the smallest I have seen.

The toilet/shower block is kept clean and the water is always very hot, but they are a bit outdated. The washing up area just outside the toilet block is fine (only used it to clean the BBQ stuff) if I was to find fault with it, it could only be that fact that it could do with a small bin there but that's only a small thing.

The swimming pools are amazing and the slides a added bonus.

Entertainment needs updating, We watched the same shows that we have been watching in other Haven sites for the passed two years (One thing you do Haven for is the entertainment and you don`t want to keep seeing the same things each year.

There are plenty of Places to eat on camp(selling really nice food) but if you want to leave site then find yourself the pear tree, Amazing pub selling amazing food at amazing prices, we went there twice during our stay.

There is not really much else to say about this place it really is a nice clean camp (apart from the family who turned up on plot 44 the day before we left with a boxer dog, They thought it was ok to let the dog walk around on its own off lead and poo on the empty plot next door, I did report them but not sure what was done about it).

Anyone who is thinking about going to this site then I'm sure you will have a wonderful time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Esmeralda 31 reviews from this member

Visited here for three nights mainly to meet up with family and spend time with our two little granddaughters. What a lovely holiday park, we were very surprised to see how neat and tidy everywhere was, clean and well kept.

A bonus for us was the short level footpath to the beach which was also a lovely surprise and perfect for sand castles and fun!

The swimming pool was next on my list to try, also a positive experience, water was warm and plenty of choices of where to swim. All in all we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loopytriplelll 27 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Thorpe Park.

This was our first outing in our tourer since having a 3 year break. We bought the caravan last October and it went straight into storage.

We have never stayed at Thorpe Park before and didn't know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The park is very easy to find as it is one of only about 3 camp sites in Cleethorpes.

Upon arrival we found the touring reception as the park is well signposted, Check in was very easy and we were told to choose our own pitch, there were plenty on offer as the touring section is quite large, We chose pitch 71 close to the shower block and touring reception. We were on a grass pitch which was a bit soggy due to the weather being a bit rubbish.

The pitches are large and very well spaced out. Our caravan is 23 ft and we had an awning. There was plenty of space for both as well as parking at the other side of the caravan.

The drinking water tap was a bit wobbly and took some aiming to fill the aquarolls without getting soaked, but I managed it ok.

The shower block was clean and warm, the showers are the usual push button for 30 seconds of water type. The water from the shower is not controllable and is very hot to the point of being uncomfortable, I wouldn't have put my 6 year old son under it.

Pot washing facilities are under cover and have large sinks. Take your own wash bowl or plug though.

Elsan waste point is in the same block and is as clean as you would expect. There is a 10 Pound deposit for a shower block key.

The touring site is a 5 minute walk onto the Humberston beach, which is made up of Dunes and a boggy area as well as the sand. I went on at 8 am every morning apart from one with the dog and it was a great place to be, other dog walkers, No dog mess in sight so credit to the beach users with dogs for cleaning up after their dogs. Dogs are not allowed on Cleethorpes main beach and not many other places in Cleethorpes.

The tide was out at 8-9 am and when we went back on at 1pm it was only just a bit further in.

The Funworks entertainment block is a short walk from the touring site and is the same as any Haven site. Walk through the arcades to get to restaurant and entertainment, drag money out of you before you sit down to eat or watch the shows.

The carousel bar served nice food at fair prices. We didn't use Papa Johns pizza place this visit but usually enjoy them.

The entertainment was average, and in fairness the staff work hard for little pay, it seems the same standard no matter where you go, you get one singer that is ok but thinks that theyre better, one singer who is ok but doesn't show much interest, a dancer who cant keep to time and one that is clearly wasted on a holiday park, It keeps the kids entertained and lets the parents sit and have a drink so it's not all bad.

The swimming pool is a good size but the water is freezing cold and you only just warm up whilst you are in it. The locks on the changing room cubicles are terrible and you are forever getting folk pushing the door and they come open, these really do need attention.

Staff on the park were friendly and helpful wherever you were.

Eating out off the park, travel about a mile down the road (follow signs for Mablethorpe) to the Pear Tree, they do a 2 for 1 meal offer and the food is fantastic.

We only had a short stay here and the weather was a mixed bag, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in future maybe for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

Just home after a three day stay with our two year old granddaughter. Weather apart, this was one of our best trips ever. Booked a serviced euro pitch and was given a choice of the remaining pitches. First pitch chosen proved to be too muddy and wet. A look around and a more suitable pitch was found.

The site is typical Haven fare, and with our granddaughter with us absolutely perfect. The staff were all cheerful, helpful and a credit to Haven. Entertainment for children is first rate and the facilities as good as anywhere we have stayed previously.

As stated in earlier reviews, the Spar shop is expensive, and the cost of the additional sport/recreational sessions would soon mount up. The cost of our three nights was £37. 50 so one of the comments that smaller sites are cheaper would seem to be debatable.

Toilets are clean with ample hot water but useless tissue style toilet paper. A family room with bath ( no plug ) proved invaluable for a two year old with an aversion to showers.

A dog friendly beach is a short walk away, and we never experienced any noise other than a lovely dawn chorus from the many different birds on site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sykes65 7 reviews from this member

Had a fantastic week here at the end of May (Spring Bank week). I booked this site with some trepidation, as I am not a big fan of commercial sites with club houses etc. However this site has changed my mind. The reception for touring pitches was well sign posted and therefore easy to find. We had a very friendly welcome and everything relevant (water, showers etc. ) were pointed out to us. The site was full as this is the busiest week/weekend of the year but never had to queue for a shower or the toilets. The shower blocks were always clean, if there was any mess this was always cleaned up by the time I next visited the shower/toilet block. We pre booked some activities for my daughter and her friend (both aged 14) before we arrived and I would recommend doing this as they get booked up very quickly. They did go swimming a lot and never got turned away so when they had no activity booked they were swimming instead. There is a lovely pedestrianised area that is between the site and the beach, this has 2 lanes (1 for pedestrians and one for cyclists, this takes you all the way in to Cleethorpes itself. Friday and Saturday nights can be a bit noisy due to the bar being open later on these nights but the rest of the week there was no noise after dark. Although Haven are dearer than the smaller sites I would recommend them to families as we never once heard the girls complaining they were bored, which is a first on our holidays.

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019