Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Comrie > Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park Reviews

Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park
Comrie
Comrie
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH6 2JY
Tel: 01764 670411
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 44
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 15 Reviews
                6/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Craigsven 2 reviews from this member

 Nice wee site, set in woodland, short walk to Comrie. Very clean and tidy.

Felt very safe from a Covid point of view.

Good showers and toilets Would return 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gill Wilson 2 reviews from this member

 This site is ramshackle.

Facilities are tired and the chemical disposal point is disgraceful. Another campsite only interested in seasonal pitches and mobile homes.

The steps leading to the ladies and laundry are uneven and dangerous. Itís direct access to the A85, Comrie a ten minute walk, Loch Earn a fifteen minute drive.

£26 for a pitch and £3 for an awning-very expensive, twenty shillings would be more appropriate 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gwendy 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful exceptionally friendly manager/owner.

Will be back, ideal site for walking dogs or walking in to the village.

Disliked the weather, sunshine all the way please next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thedeerstalker 1 review from this member

 This used to be a fantastic site that we visited pretty much every year. Sadly, the previous owners son took over some years ago and this site has become less and less attractive by the year. The old toilet blocks need upgrading. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Butcherboy 1 review from this member

 This is a well run tranquil site. Yes there are rules that may appear strict but they are there to ensure everyone who stays has an enjoyable time.

Nestled in the woods, within walking distance of Comrie is this great little Gem of a site, blink and you miss it, its hidden in thick mature forest.

Good hard standing level pitches, with good walks around the sites, dog friendly. Very quiet you rarely bump into many people on site. Shower blocks are dated but clean tidy and fit for purpose. Owner is into re-cycling and lives on site.

2015 will be our third year on a seasonal pitch there. The owner has put up a satellite dish and piped water onto our pitch, what more could you want ?

Expect to see deer, hares, rabbits, pheasants, squirrels galore in this bellamy award winning site. Expect to meet nice people with time to talk, don't expect to see tents, rowdy and troublesome behaviour. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jobowden79 1 review from this member

 We are just back from a 3 night stay at this site and we enjoyed it as there is lots to do nearby and in Perth. We phoned the day before to see if they had a pitch for our folding camper over the weekend and they were happy to accommodate us.

We arrived just after 1pm but no-one was about, but about 10 minutes later, after ringing at the house as instructed by the signs but no answer, the owner/warden showed up.

We also didn't see anyone when we left so we just left the security card (used for the car barriers and the toilets - we only got 1 which was a bit annoying if me and my husband both needed the toilet at the same time!) it would have been good to see someone before we left or a handy card return box but not a big issue.

They weren't very busy, mainly seasonal caravans and statics and we were put in the bottom of the site away from the statics. It meant that the toilet block was up the hill (stairs close by though!) and the mens was further away still. We didn't find it a problem though.

The toilets were adequate, slightly dated but clean. Half the toilets, showers and wash cubicles were locked, saved cleaning I guess! so there was 2 toilets, 1 shower and 1 wash cubicle (with washbasin) open. They had a wee step for the little ones to reach the sinks which was handy! also had a hairdryer. No charge to use the showers and plenty hot water although it was a push button shower.

They had lots of recycling bins around the site. The playground was a bit too grown up (not very 'small child' friendly!) for our 2 small children, and it was in a dark, damp part of the woods just next to our pitch. Would be good to have the ground cleared and maybe updated, but they still enjoyed it! there is a village walk from the site to Comrie, it doesn't take long but the buggy wouldn't fit through the kissing gate so we had to go by road on the way back.

Comrie is a lovely little village, has lots of little deli/cafes and a lovely fish and chip shop on the corner! beware, its shut on Monday nights!

Overall we had a nice stay here and will go back but not very child friendly in term of play area! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Motorhomer 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one night, the friendly owner showed me to a huge hard standing pitch, Victor the VW looked tiny on it.

Plenty of walks for Daisy the dog, showers hot and clean, recycling. A nice natural feel to the site, not regimented. Friendly caravanners on the next pitch.

Overall a good stay, and I will return as the golf course at the other end of town was fantastic.

The walk through the woods to the village was very pleasant, but could be slippery underfoot in wet conditions.

The price was reasonable, although no single person discount, but hey, I slept like a log. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raptor11 1 review from this member

 One night stay. Found it difficult to actually get on to the site. Wardens not friendly at all. Good level pitch but unfortunately no views.

Toilet block needs upgrading. One security tag (to gain access to barriers and both sets of toilets) not nearly enough. Two would be ideal. (Take a deposit if necessary).

Thought the site fees were a bit pricey. Not good value for money.

Comrie is a lovely, friendly town. Nice places to eat. Really wonderful countryside and scenery.

We visit the town on a regular basis and really enjoy it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jo+h 8 reviews from this member

 I go to Comrie every year and have stayed at a few sites over the years, I will not go back to this one. I have a mixed opinion of it;

Good Points:

Hot clean showers

No through traffic

Leafy surroundings

Petanque court

Bad Points:

Owners dog barked for two hours solid the first night.

Our pitch was surrounded by empty seasonal vans = noone to speak to.

Playpark was rubbish, very tatty and run down, it was the only area for kids to play on. Could be made fantastic though

Owners unfriendly 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a long weekend and there's plenty left to do on other visits. We phoned to book just in case, and were glad: the barrier at the gate was down at 7 pm, and you'd have to be bold to ring the buzzer to gain entry without a booking. The Site Full sign was up but many of the pitches are let to seasonal caravans and most of these were unoccupied.

Good value for money, we thought. We were taken to our pitch, and everything was pointed out: very helpful owner. Each pitch is hard standing, and they're terraced in groups into what was once a well wooded hillside (birch, oak and Scots pine). The wooded knoll between the site and the main road is good at screening sight and sound of traffic, which does stop in the evening.

You get one key fob to operate the entrance barriers (needed for the security of the stored caravans?) and for the toilets (we had to co-ordinate our visits). Ladies toilet block is up a flight of very uneven steps, is spotlessly clean and freshly painted in jolly colours. Husband didn't comment on the Gents, which are on another part of the site.

The showers are hot and free, and the hairdryer is free too (unusually). There's a motorhome service point (drain, stand pipe, but no hose) well away from the CDP - it would have been more convenient to have them sited together, but that's a minor point. Bins emptied daily, much rubbish is recycled.

There is a small fenced Dog Walk. Our Spaniel enjoyed a walk in the extensive woods up behind the site, though there are deer in there so she got a couple of ticks.

Pleasant walk to Comrie through the woods, then a bit more dodgy on the busy road. The town merits half a day, don't miss the Cancer Charity shop - best of its kind, with a real buzz. There are other surprising shops - the veggie shop does its own fresh orange juice, there's a tartan weaver and a specialist baker and the De'il's Cauldron (waterfall) is absolutely amazing but take care with children or dogs. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Twenty Shilling Wood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Comrie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1948 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement