Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park Reviews

Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park
Mersea Island
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO5 8SE
Tel: 01206 382898
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 120 Reviews
                7/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: RobbieRedcote 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last weekend (4th Sept) and COVID planning in the restaurant, bar and shop well exercised, in general and the staff were trying to ensure customers adhered, but on the Sunday control was lost in the bar when a group of lads (20 - 25), with their dads on the next table, were just manic, one even seemed to have wet himself and was keen to pull his mates faces into his lap.

Bar staff were efficient though in serving to table as required.

Restaurant staff were efficient and food was promptly served at good prices.

Blaming COVID, (what will be blamed for inefficiencies when COVID is beat) seems a new rule introduced that tourers not allowed onto site until 3:00, even though their pitches were empty.

Understand this was not implemented from July 4th but a "New Management" directive last 2 weeks.

By 1:30 there were 12 units parked down the road and eventually at 2:05 the reception staff relented and took the sensible decision to let people onto their pitches. Crass earlier management directive clearly.

Toilets and showers were very clean and regularly cleaned. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tonyt6 1 review from this member

 We had a really good time, very clean site and a very good price.

The kid were either fishing playing golf or playing football.

The restaurant done lovely food,

We loved it here and will be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MR GCD WALKER 1 review from this member

 Massive site well presented on arrival.

Lots of issues on site cars speed about above the speed limit for site.

Green quad bike being driven about possibly staff/ owners young girl on it one day.

Speed boat in waste water disposal site (public area) engine running with props spinning flat out as owners spray water over it.

Young lad 13/14 driving a white 4x4 music pounding out.

Massive kick off in field behind fishing ponds at 1am, car reving and being driven by drunk person. Security eventually arrived after 15mins.

Too busy for what I am used to so won't return EVER.

16th to 18th July 2020 hell not relaxing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carola 1 review from this member

 Excellent gold rated caravan, only let down was the amount of room down the side of the beds if your slightly disabled like me.

Plenty of facilities on site and the fishing was excellent had nine carp all in the high teens to twenty pounds.

Be aware though not much to do near by if you like visiting houses or castles at least a hour away.

But I would still give it 8 stars. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 day break before the bank holiday starts. Good points, large spacious site nicely kept we had a good sized serviced pitch with hardstanding down by the lakes, restaurant serves good sized meals our breakfast was huge, toilets/showers clean.

Downside is that it is very expensive 30 pn + 2 pn for our little dog, they charge extra if you put an awning up, their fishing rules are over the top

Unfortunately a hurricane hit us so we were unable to get out and about around the local area so unable to comment about the locality, I don't think that we would return to this site in the future as its not really good value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Damaca 49 reviews from this member

 There are both positives and negatives about this site.

To start with the positives, it is spacious, you can very easily walk to a nice beach and a pleasant beachside dune walk, the very ample loos and showers are cleaned at least twice a day and the water is hot, the swimming pool is very good and well sized, there is a well stocked supermarket on site. The electric connection and water tap at our pitch worked well, although the site has warnings about tripping the electric connection if you have too many things attached.

But there are quite a few negatives too. It is very expensive. Also, the daily cost of wifi is the highest I've ever seen and although you can get 2 hours free wifi in the bar and restaurant you need to be inside those facilities to receive it, it doesn't even work at the tables on their outside terrace. The large children's' playground didn't have anything really suitable for our 4-year old grandson, even though he is adventurous, and I don't like the fact that they have a Bouncy Castle in the playground for which they charge 2 for 10 minutes.

My major concern is the safety of their traffic management system. Even to access the loos and showers you have to cross a road and a parking place. To walk from the sites to the central area (pool, shop and restaurant, playground), you have to walk a couple of hundred yards along a road with no pavement which also serves as the main access road to all the pitches. Despite notices, many drivers don't drive slowly and we didn't feel very safe whenever we walked. Pedestrian ways should be separated from roadways! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adihazel 2 reviews from this member

 We came to Waldegraves for 10 days. Out 14 year old daughter cut her foot on shell at the beach and was very impressed with the first aiders who assisted with her injury. The site was very clean I have never seen so many staff litter picking.

Toilet and showers were cleaned regularly. Would have been helpful to have a toilet in the shower block and also a mop to use after use.

Dogs are allowed on the site but was disappointed that there was not provision for them in the restaurant and also could not even order food and eat outside. Had to go into West Mersea to the Fox Inn which allowed dogs inside and outside and did serve lovely food. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ausra 1 review from this member

 Great camping facilities, enjoyed a drink by the pool, lots of things to do for my children, lovely food in the restaurant. Did not visit the shop as we have already bought everything for the weekend. Will come again 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbara32 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for weekend on a touring pitch.

The Park is lovely and clean, really well looked after, Pitch was great could not work out the electric but one staff member came and sorted it for us.

During the weekend we visited the entertainments venue which was ideal for our Grandchildren.

We will be back very soon and bring lots of our family and friends with us. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rebecc 1 review from this member

 We booked this site at the last minute. We opted for a super pitch which was excellent. The grounds all beautifully kept. The pitches were all of a good size.

Really friendly and helpful staff in every part of the park.

The on site shop was extremely well stocked with more than the average on site shop.

We have also stayed in a static at this site, cant fault it, it has become our favourite site to go to. 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement