Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park Reviews

Waldegraves Holiday & Leisure Park
Mersea Island
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO5 8SE
Tel: 01206 382898
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 115 Reviews
                7/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 day break before the bank holiday starts. Good points, large spacious site nicely kept we had a good sized serviced pitch with hardstanding down by the lakes, restaurant serves good sized meals our breakfast was huge, toilets/showers clean.

Downside is that it is very expensive 30 pn + 2 pn for our little dog, they charge extra if you put an awning up, their fishing rules are over the top

Unfortunately a hurricane hit us so we were unable to get out and about around the local area so unable to comment about the locality, I don't think that we would return to this site in the future as its not really good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 30 reviews from this member

There are both positives and negatives about this site.

To start with the positives, it is spacious, you can very easily walk to a nice beach and a pleasant beachside dune walk, the very ample loos and showers are cleaned at least twice a day and the water is hot, the swimming pool is very good and well sized, there is a well stocked supermarket on site. The electric connection and water tap at our pitch worked well, although the site has warnings about tripping the electric connection if you have too many things attached.

But there are quite a few negatives too. It is very expensive. Also, the daily cost of wifi is the highest I've ever seen and although you can get 2 hours free wifi in the bar and restaurant you need to be inside those facilities to receive it, it doesn't even work at the tables on their outside terrace. The large children's' playground didn't have anything really suitable for our 4-year old grandson, even though he is adventurous, and I don't like the fact that they have a Bouncy Castle in the playground for which they charge 2 for 10 minutes.

My major concern is the safety of their traffic management system. Even to access the loos and showers you have to cross a road and a parking place. To walk from the sites to the central area (pool, shop and restaurant, playground), you have to walk a couple of hundred yards along a road with no pavement which also serves as the main access road to all the pitches. Despite notices, many drivers don't drive slowly and we didn't feel very safe whenever we walked. Pedestrian ways should be separated from roadways!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adihazel 2 reviews from this member

We came to Waldegraves for 10 days. Out 14 year old daughter cut her foot on shell at the beach and was very impressed with the first aiders who assisted with her injury. The site was very clean I have never seen so many staff litter picking.

Toilet and showers were cleaned regularly. Would have been helpful to have a toilet in the shower block and also a mop to use after use.

Dogs are allowed on the site but was disappointed that there was not provision for them in the restaurant and also could not even order food and eat outside. Had to go into West Mersea to the Fox Inn which allowed dogs inside and outside and did serve lovely food.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ausra 1 review from this member

Great camping facilities, enjoyed a drink by the pool, lots of things to do for my children, lovely food in the restaurant. Did not visit the shop as we have already bought everything for the weekend. Will come again

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara32 1 review from this member

Stayed here for weekend on a touring pitch.

The Park is lovely and clean, really well looked after, Pitch was great could not work out the electric but one staff member came and sorted it for us.

During the weekend we visited the entertainments venue which was ideal for our Grandchildren.

We will be back very soon and bring lots of our family and friends with us.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rebecc 1 review from this member

We booked this site at the last minute. We opted for a super pitch which was excellent. The grounds all beautifully kept. The pitches were all of a good size.

Really friendly and helpful staff in every part of the park.

The on site shop was extremely well stocked with more than the average on site shop.

We have also stayed in a static at this site, cant fault it, it has become our favourite site to go to.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from Weekend at Waldegraves, which was totally packed, and not yet full summer holidays.

Pool layout very good, plenty of loungers, but it seemed like a lot of Germans on site since most had towels on but no people.

Clubhouse good value, Drinks and entertainment.

Running water to each pitch, but no grey waste.

Facilities were OK, clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot plenty of hot water but :-Issues of concern,

1. Why do sites insist on you paying twice for a piece of field. You pay for a pitch, then pay again if you want an awning on the same pitch, what is the justification?

2. No 6 metre space rule here, tents behind were within 6 foot, and this seemed to be typical along the field. If one had gone up, then we all would have gone.

3. Many security guards, but none bothered to stop the loud groups still singing and shouting till 2:00 in the morning.

4. The barrier between 'babies' paddling pool' and main pool has discolored over time such that the Life guard at middle of pool cannot see into the babies pool. I did mention this to the Life Guard who said he had raised this many times with management but nothing had happened. Seems the material they got to clean the barrier was wrong one and did not work, moral, get a cleaner that does work.

5. 30 a night sounds not so bad, but then you pay for Awnings, Dogs, more than 4 people, and and and, so when you total up this is quite expensive, and if you are not a family to use the Clubhouse a lot to stay on a field, albeit it with running water

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome0 Rating:
Reviewer: Heachamveggie 2 reviews from this member

This was one of our worst motorhome experiences. Arrived on a Friday lunchtime - site was nice and quiet. By teatime it was horrendous. Hundreds of tents, crates of beer, tattoos, bald heads, vests, people with attitude. Over the next 2 days most of the occupants never ventured off site. Most never left their pitch. Noise went on till early hours of each morning. Idiots throwing frisbee at m'home on purpose both days. Toilets & showers ok but preferred own facilities - didn't want to catch anything! By Sunday lunchtime peace had returned to the site. Chemical waste disposal point was appalling. On the Monday morning we were awoken by noise and smelly bonfire from the industrial site next door. Thankfully we left that Monday morning never to return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjc1803 14 reviews from this member

My second visit to waldegraves this year, but this time in a tent and adults only. We were based on field one, lovely pitch with enough space to enjoy the outdoors and have a bar b q. We did not feel on top of our neighbours.

The booking facility was easy and a warm welcome. The site is centrally located to appreciate and enjoy Mersea. It was a carnival weekend so Mersea was busy. On site, toilets and showers which are dated and very basic. No curtains exist between the showers and changing area no more. But they did the job. Washing up facilities are under cover but it was luck of the draw for hot water. A shop on site was well stocked or if you fancy a trip into town then you have a co-op and tesco express. The swimming pool was nice and warm. Although minimal seating was available despite their new extended green area. We did not use the clubhouse, restaurant during this stay.

Security was good on site, wiith a security guard walking the site throughout the night, an aspect I had not realised previously.

Had a fantastic weekend away, very relaxed and enjoyable. Waldegraves is what it is, you can't flower it up, a basic site, where enjoyable times can be had, especially if you can get a good pitch. Very tempting for the future, but the best pitches do seem to be the non electric fields as you have plenty of space.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Djdigitald 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending a week here in our FC and had a great time. Facilities were OK, toilets, showers etc. Were fine and no problems. The swimming pool was great for the kids and was heated which was also good. We took our 3 dogs so we spent a lot of time walking around the site and it was clean and well maintained. The 11 o'clock noise curfew was mostly stuck to and the noise during the rest of the day was not bad at all. If you like your fishing, the fishing lakes were well stocked and they had some mighty big carp in them! EHU and water on each pitch was ok.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019