Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chesterfield Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Berwickshire > Cockburnspath > Chesterfield Country Park Reviews

Chesterfield Country Park
The Neuk
Cockburnspath
Berwickshire   (Browse area)
TD13 5YH
Tel: 01368 830433
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03 To 31/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Buster123456 1 review from this member

Brilliant well run site. New owner Frank, nothing ever a problem, plus all his staff very welcoming. This site beats them all with lovely scenery. Just so relaxing and very dog friendly with a lovely dog walk along the stream. If you want a lovely peaceful break or holiday this is the one with some lovely caravans, which we viewed and bought. We love it here. It's like our home. Thankyou to everyone involved xxx

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickeydoodlebug 5 reviews from this member

A quiet and tidy site with a warm welcome from Steve on reception. We took the last hard standing which was on a corner and quite awkward to site our very small caravan. The grass pitches looked easier but were even further away from the chemical waste point which was near reception up a hill. The heated facilities were clean and tidy but very dated. The ladies had loads of loos and basins in the main room and four shower cubicles in an inner room. However only two showers worked properly and one of those had no door lock. The male block did have 6 showers but only one was working properly and they had no doors only curtains which flew around when the east wind blew! The laundry/dishwashing room was well equipped, clean and tidy. The Post Office cum shop in Cockburnspath village was friendly and well stocked but there is an Asda, on the A1 on the outskirts of Dunbar.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pccs4 1 review from this member

Just back from a 7 night stay and cant fault this site, a very peacefull site on which to unwind, and child friendly as with previous comments toilet block dated but clean warm and fully stocked with plenty of hot water. We meet with some of the resident static owners who where very friendly and helpfull. There is a small shop down in the local village or the nearest supermarket is 8 miles away at dunbar. All in all this site was perfect for our needs, cant wait to go back if you want peace and quiet to unwind you wont be disappointed

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D Martin 2 reviews from this member

We have just come home from 4 nights camping on this site and have a lot of praise for it. Very friendly staff asking if all was ok every morning when we booked another night.

We needed to ditch the tent pegs for our 6' nails to get into the very firm ground, but our elevated platform pitch surrounded by hedges and a bank was just perfect. A view of a scenic hillside greeting us every morning.

The toilet block is dated but has ample basins, toilets and showers, I was usually the only one in there around 9am or 10pm. ! Even in the warm weather the block is heated and was welcome after a late evening shower. There was plenty of hot water throughout and a hair drier giving about 5 minutes for 20p that I once used after a late shower.

A quiet site that appeared to be used by campers passing through, only becoming our neighbours for a night. 8. 5 miles up th A1 is Dunbar and we went there each day where full town facilities are found, along with a lovely beach, harbour and John Muir walk through the pines.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Currycampers 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here to meet my husband and son at the end of the Southern Upland Way, which finishes in Cockburnspath. Steve was friendly and very helpful and kindly allowed our son to pitch a small tent for free - we have donated what would have been the pitch cost to the charity they were walking for. Site is peaceful, friendly and relaxing with beautiful surroundings and close to the A1 so perfect for stop overs en route to Cairngorms etc, or for a relaxing longer holiday away from it all. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coll2381 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights camping with electric, it was fantastic place, nice surroundings and peaceful. Steve was fantastic too very polite and helpful nothing was too much trouble for him.

Amenities very basic but that's all we look for but they are very clean looked after.

Its in great location for day trips etc. Lovely place there upgrading the park and I'm hoping in the future to own a caravan here, but at the moment ill have to settle for camping at the end of the month.

My dog loved it especially the little dog walk with the burn going past it, and the cows that came down to fence in the park you get a sense of tranquil about the whole place very relaxing. Everyone very friendly.

But seriously you should visit its lovely

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blueexpo97 23 reviews from this member

This site has great location very easily accessible off of the A1. It is rural without having to negotiate any tight country lanes. The site is picturesque surrounded by hills although all of the touring pitches are quite flat and spacious. We noticed that there currently is only one field for tourers as the other field is for seasonals. There is also a small tent field. The rest of the site is given over to statics but it doesn't look like big faceless holiday park, there is a nice small site feel and a warm welcome from the site Manager who was very friendly and helpful. There are a couple of water points conveniently placed but OH found the chemical disposal hut to be lacking and basic resulting in him getting splashed. The toilets blocks are old fashioned but some of the cleanest I've seen. Really spotless. The site has a small but pretty dog walk along the bottom of the site by a small river. We recommend it for emergency dog walks or a very tiny dog as dogs can't go off the lead.

We found the beach at Torness just a 10minute drive a much better option. If you do find yourself in the middle of an East Coast har. Don't turn to the TV for entertainment. There is no signal -we couldn't even even get Radio 1 (thankfully).

All in all the site was very relaxing and well maintained would maybe improved by having some basic supplies at reception as the nearest supermarket was 8 miles away in Dunbar. The location of the Chesterfield was just great and there are loads of places to visit in the area from Edinburgh to. Berwick and all points in between. We will go back

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 25 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights in a tent with EHU.

Booking was easy. I emailed using the form on their website on the night before and got an email back the next morning with booking confirmed just hours in advance.

Arrived at about 8pm. Site owner/manager came to reception and gave the necessary info about facilities. Very laid back. No door codes etc. Note that the site has a barrier at the entrance which goes down when the reception closes at about 6pm. So if you arrive late you'll need to find Craig so that you can gain admission. The barrier is released using a special card. Craig will issue you with one, but have the £20 deposit ready.

The site is on various levels within a valley setting. The hills are fairly steep sided so you get some nice views of the hillsides from all areas of the site. Sheep and cows roam these hills freely. The site is quiet. No traffic noise at all. The only sound comes from the occasional sheep or cow passing by.

Tents and tourers needing electric are pitched in a large flat grassy area in the middle of the lower site. There's space for about 12-15 pitches. Pitch sizes are generous and clearly laid out. At each end are bins and a water point. The far end is near the children's play park. The near end as you arrive is nearer the showers, toilets, laundry and dishwashing.

A stream runs alongside be site and also forms the dog walk. It's about 150m in length and the clean stream water is accessible. Some owners had fouled. A dog waste bin along the route might help to reduce offending.

Plenty of hot water in the dishwashing room and in the gents. There were about 5-6 showers. I could only get two to produce hot water. Even then the showers were weak in pressure. Toilet block is dated, although it was cleaned regularly.

Site was not busy despite being a good weather weekend in mid June. We were the only tent dwellers. Just a few tourers. Even many of the statics weren't visited. I think the facilities might only get busy at bank holiday weekends and during school holidays.

Out and about, there are good beaches along the coast, the nearest being at Pease Bay, around 10 minutes drive away. The nearest supermarket is at Dunbar, an Asda, about 20 minutes drive north.

We will definitely return. Peaceful and laid back.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

This is primarily a static caravan country retreat but we were in a touring caravan and were made welcome. (keep us sweet till our lottery win.)

There were also tents in the flat, grassy area. It was a lovely, peaceful, relaxed atmosphere.

The rural setting was lovely and the touring area well kept. The kids play park had been upgraded since our last visit and was excellent. Sand pit, wooden play structures, swings, slide, trees, open spaces. A great meeting place for the children.

There is a short dog walk along by a lovely stream. This was very useful and pleasant.

Showers were clean and the whole block was very warm.

The coastline is within a short driving distance. Coldingham, Pease Bay, Dunbar and Belhaven Bay have nice beaches. Leisure pool in Dunbar.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme young 1 review from this member

We stayed a single Saturday night only booking on the morning of our stay. Craig at the site was welcoming and helpful. The site was good, we had a very large area for our tent (6m x 3x), with plenty of room for the car and for the kids to play.

The location is peaceful and has good scenery, despite only being a couple of miles from the A1.

We would stay again and we'd recommend the site to anyone.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019