Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Barlochan Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Barlochan Caravan Park Reviews

Barlochan Caravan Park
Palnackie
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 1PF
Tel: 01556 600256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkyJ1 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the fifth August bank holiday on the trot. Still find it a great little site. Wardens are lovely people, nice to see the new showers in the toilet block. Fantastic power & free. The pool was cold this year which was a shame because the kids didn't want to go in much & the games room isn't one really. Maybe time to reinvest some money back into the site. It will be worth it I'm sure. See you next year Steve & Ann. Thank you both

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanwg 1 review from this member

Just back from yet another fantastic stay at this excellent site. Layout and landscaping provides a sense of homeliness and escapism second to none, and the outdoor pool is superb. Facilities within toilet and shower block are first class and always kept to a very high standard. Tent pitches are a combination of standard and electric hook-up and are generally of a large size, and well kept and drained, a definite bonus when it is wet. The wardens Ann and Stephen are extremely friendly and cannot do enough to help, nothing is too much trouble. The Site itself is in a lovely secluded area but only a few minutes walk from Palnackie village which has a shop and local pub. Dalbeattie is only a short car drive away (5mins) with supermarkets and food shops. Scotland's food town Castle Douglas is also only 15 mins by car and well worth a visit to sample local delicacies. All in all this is an excellent, friendly site, a real gem. Cannot wait to return for another relaxing visit.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doddfi 1 review from this member

Excellent site. The grounds are well kept. Good size pitches. The toilet and shower block is very clean. There is an outdoor swimming pool which is excellent and there is a nice sunbathing area. Local towns are within a few miles of the site. This is a quiet site but it is the ideal place to chill out. It has been 4 years since the last visit till last week and we will certainly return back. Wardens very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flickyleg 1 review from this member

Visited for a week recently and weather was nice enough to go in the outdoor pool.

Site is very nice, quiet, clean, in a good setting and is not far from village of dalbeatie (by car) which has food shops/pub/park etc. Palnackie village (by foot) had a pub (wasn't open) and a cafe which was nice food.

Showers and toilets are clean and pitches are good. The grounds seem will looked after and there are wardens on site.

Was surprised by high price for drying facilities (some of which didn't work whilst we were there), the shop is only open for a few hours each day and isn't well stocked.

Worth mentioning that the payphone on the site was also out of order, and there is no mobile phone reception on O2, not good if you need phone in an emergency.

Childrens playground is a bit lacking, and the small room next to the wardens house is very dated. It had a dartboard, pool table, air hocky table, tv and a small collection of books.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scott+jane 1 review from this member

We spent 3 Days at the site with 2 Kids, aged 13 and 8. On arrival we had one of those rare, very hot sunny days. So, after pitching the Tent, had to try the Pool.

The Pool was lovely and surprisingly uncrowded. The water temperature was perfect and we all enjoyed a long swim. We stayed at a pitch with electric hook-up overlooking the Pool. The pitches are terraced and should cater for most large Family Tents, although quite close together.

Indeed the Site itself is quite compact, so the Kids could have the run of the place and seldom be outwith sight(apart from the Playpark area, which is quite isolated)

This is a Quiet site with not a great deal to keep you occupied but as a base for seeing this part of the Country we would recommend it and if the Sun shines you could have a pleasant time lounging around the Pool

Nearby eaterie The Willow Tree does great food and the Pub has a Beer Garden. It has been mentioned in previous reviews but that Damned Peacock does like the sound of it's own voice, 3, 4, 5am. So bring ear plugs if you want to have any sleep.

Staff very Friendly and helpful and all in all a very pleasant stay.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gw-b 1 review from this member

Beautiful location with many pluses outdoor pool was a hit our daughter as was the mini golf (just need the grass a little shorter for this activity) she loved the peacock and the games room for a change in the evening.

Toilets and showers plentiful kept clean and tidy laundry facilities excellent. Problems for us was the play park was out of sight so couldn't just relax by our tent while our daughter played and peacocks wake up early which isn't too great if like me you are a light sleeper.

Staff were busy all the time and were helpful. There is a pub / restaurant within walking distance although we didn't use it.

We visited Sandyhills beach which is lovley for children to just play and explore. Also Cream of Galloway was lovely with excellent helpful staff children will love it. First time in Dumfries and Galloway for us and we are already planning a return visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuartandjulie 8 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site, we stayed here for a weekend in June and then kids have never stopped bugging us to go back, so we spent a week here in August.

Toilet/Showers are fantastic, cleaned and re-stocked on a regular basis. Shower cubicles are of ample size to get washed / shaved etc. And the shower temperature was easily controlled.

The wardens (Anne and Steven) were great, very friendly and helpful.

Outdoor swimming pool was a big hit with everyone, was always warm enough to swim in.

The electric pitches are a good size, plenty of space for Trailer Tent, gazebo, windbreaks and car with space to spare if needed.

There is plenty to do in the area as well. Castle Douglas only about 15 mins away, Dalbeattie about 5 mins drive. We bought a Historic Scotland Explorer Pass which once paid (34 for family) gave you free access to 9 castles or abbeys in the area, well worth it, the kids thoroughly enjoyed it.

The only bad point is the Peacock which could get extremely noisy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Traceygill 5 reviews from this member

The tent pitches are at the bottom of the site and are clearly defined by gravelled car parking bay either side of them. You don't feel over looked by the caravans due the the terracing and way the site is landscaped but the tent pitches did feel a bit packed in. Our tent is 7.2m long and we just fitted in and we had one of the smaller tents.

The heated out door pool went down a hit with the kids, but anyone under the age of 15yrs had to be accompanied by an adult as there was no lifeguard, but there was nice sitting area around the pool. There was a games room with everything costing 50p to use but nowhere to get change once the shop was shut and the wardens had put notes up that they wouldn't give change out with shop hrs(the times it opened was a bit random).

The toilets were modern with 4 toilets and 4 shower, but to be honest weren't the cleanest. They did get quite dirty and the shower trays could have been doing with a good scrub, the dish washing sinks were under cover next to a fridge/freezer, but they were full of out of date food & drink and did smell a bit so we never used them

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobwill26 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for nine nights.

Plus : fantastic size pitches, flat, sheltered, and large. We have a vango diablo 900 xp with large canopy windbreak and car. Loo's and showers were fantastic and clean, you didn't press a button every few seconds for the shower, when it was on it was on for as long as you wanted. Site was always clean and quiet. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful, other campers were friendly.

Bad points : The damned peacock woke me up at 5.10 am four times. The games/tv room was lacking a little. The shop was open when we were asleep or out and could have been bigger. Annoying beep every 4 seconds from 10 pm until morning (seemed to be when the games/tv room was closed for the night). The water was so hot it was possible to scald. The play area was small and the putting area was very steep, no good for ball sports. It was also out of sight of the site and next to the drive in and the passing main road. The football area was tiny.

All in all we loved the site, one or two little things could have been better but nothing that stopped us staying for nine nights. A good all round site. Wasn't the best but far from the worst. I will recommend this site to friends who are looking for a quiet site but who spend most of the day out and about.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Recycled_disciple 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site at the end of July for 8 nights with my wife and two girls aged 10 and 3. As we hadn't been to the area before, we chose the campsite partly on the strength of reviews and Gillespie Leisure's website. Overall, we had a great holiday - we loved the site, there was plenty to do without travelling too far and the weather was kind to us.

We were looking for a campsite that was fairly small and quiet but with good facilities and Barlochan lived up to expectations. In particular, having a 3-year old, the site felt very secure. It is in a very quiet area, well back from the main road. The tents and tourers area is quite small, only 20 pitches, and adjacent to the amenity block, pool and games room and surrounded by trees which provide a bit of additional shelter. Nearly all the pitches are on level terraced areas and well-drained - withstood some substantial downpours during our visit. Toilets and showers are immaculate and free. The heated outdoor pool is small but just right for small children, the only downside being that all children have to be supervised by parents - not the fault of the wardens, who as mentioned elsewhere were very helpful. There are other sites bettered suited to those wanting lots of activities, but we appreciated the peacefulness of the place.

There is a decent pub 5 minutes walk away in Palnackie, most amenities can be found in Dalbeattie, should mention very friendly Church that meets in the town hall. Some nice walks in the area, along the coast at Kippford and Sandyhills, or climb up Screel hill off A711 1 mile south of the campsite.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3354 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019