Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Briarfields Motel & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Briarfields Motel & Touring Park > Reviews

Briarfields Motel & Touring Park
Gloucester Road
B4063
Off Cheltenham Road
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL51 0SS
Tel: 01242 235324
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 72
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 223 Reviews
                9/10 from 223 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  223 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 22 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DylanOES 28 reviews from this member

 A great site, well located (except for a bit of traffic noise from the A40 !) - between GCHQ and Gloucester Airport (go there for the Aviator bar restaurant overlooking the runways - interesting and good food & drink).

The reception is always open during usual business hours, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A very efficient numberplate recognition system for auto-opening in and out barriers, and for extra security there is a 2. 3m height limit barrier in place at night.

The centrally located facilities block has everything required and is kept clean and well maintained - showers hot and powerful. 


Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sueper 15 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Briarfields many times and it never fails to impress.

The facilities are excellent, always clean and warm.

The pitches are spacious and well managed.

There is a laundry with washing machine and tumble dryer and also a book swap.

The access to both Cheltenham and Gloucester is really handy. We always use the buses as the stops are just outside the site.

We also love having a meal at The Aviator pub at Staverton airport, which isn't too far (we like to walk there and back).

Asda is very close by, too, for fuel and shopping. Also close by is a Harvester.

There is a bit of traffic noise but you soon get used to it.

We certainly will keep coming back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caravancrackers 7 reviews from this member

 We booked Briarfields as it was close to Gloucester where our youngest daughter now lives. A number of reviews refer to the road noise and sound of light aircraft overhead. Yes, it is close to the A40 and M5 and Gloucestershire Airport. But you can see this when you look at the map of where the site is. If you want to only hear the sound of birdsong all day, then this isnít the site for you! But for us, the road and aircraft noise wasnít intrusive at all.

Being close to the M5/A40 meant that it we were in easy reach of Gloucester and Cheltenham as well as the Cotswolds and surrounding area. There is a bus stop right outside the site too where we could easily catch the bus into Cheltenham or Gloucester. So for us, for what we wanted/ needed it was perfect. The actual site was quiet.

The shower/toilet block was modern and pristine with plenty of hot water. The site is tidy and well kept.

The staff were lovely, polite, helpful and friendly.

If/when we take our caravan down that way again we will definitely look to book Briarfields again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Springer47 6 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant and friendly site that offers good size plots.

It is located near out of town shopping that includes a supermarket for normal holiday stock.

Across the road to the site a bus goes into Cheltenham and there are a variety of local dog walking areas. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robert Johnston 10 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit this year and really can't praise the site and the staff enough.

I notice a few reviews criticise the noise but it really isn't that bad, we've been to far noisier sites.

Having a fairly large motorhome we look for sites that have close bus/train connections and here the bus stop is right outside the gate.

Gloucester airport is a 5 minute bus ride and the museum there is really well worth a visit.

Being a retired pilot, and being tempted by the light aircraft on approach to the airport, I managed to secure an hour in a 57 year old Piper Super Cub.

Can't wait to go back.

Gloucester is well worth the 25 minute bus ride as there is lots to see. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CEW3A 31 reviews from this member

 Our pitch was opposite the facilities block, which was convenient, but curiously the EHU point for our pitch was not shared with the next pitch (as is usual) but 2 pitches further away! Our EHU cable was therefore not long enough & we had to borrow an extension EHU from reception, to which ours plugged into & then to the EHU point.

The toilets & showers had been refurbished since our last visit in June 2022 Ė very clean and smart! However I did notice that the first time in the showers that the cubicle I had chosen didnít have anywhere to put my toiletries, other than on the floor. When I checked the other cubicles afterwards, they all had storage racks. However the missing rack had reappeared by the next day!

Towards the end of our stay, I noticed that the inside handle to the ladiesí toilets was coming off Ė two screws missing - but this was repaired a day or so later.

There is supposed to be a 10mph speed limit and a one-way system around the site, but unfortunately we witnessed several vehicles flouting this, clearly exceeding 10mph (despite a couple of speed bumps) and going the wrong way round. (Some campervans may have been going to the emptying point, but we saw cars also going the wrong way. )

Because of its location, close to the A40 and Gloucestershire Airport, the site is noisy; being nearer the roadside this time, we noticed the traffic noise at night, including sirens, but thatís not something the owners can really do anything about. Most of the time, it didnít bother us, and I quite enjoyed seeing the planes come over and we even went to the Busy Bees Cafť next to the airport to watch the planes Ė even saw a biplane!

It is a lovely site, all in all, and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay, despite having some rainy days & the bonus was about 4kg of blackberries which we managed to collect in the local area! 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cheshire roamers 1 review from this member

 We spent 2 nights here with friends on our way down to visit family in Cornwall.

Our friend had her leg in plaster and they were allocated a pitch across from the facilities block which was enormously helpfully.

The facilities and site were spotlessly clean, lovely and quiet as it's an adults only site, a little noise during the day from the road but as its such a brilliant location for the motorway it's not a surprise, it's quiet at night. The lady on reception was very helpful.

The site is just a short walk from an eatery and there are bus stops (wheelchair friendly too) right outside the gate.

We would definitely use again and recommend too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Albas 6 reviews from this member

 I was reminded that it was 6 years since I last stayed here and if anything as a site it has got even better.

The pluses are, it is immaculate, well maintained with facilities as good as any.

The reception staff are friendly and efficient. The pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room on each.

The 94 bus route right outside is an absolute godsend to enjoy the delights of both Gloucester and Cheltenham.

The only downside is something the site owners canít do much about and that is the traffic noise.

Being surrounded by the A40 and very busy sideroads means traffic noise through the night.

However any problems from that were more than made up for by having the Avro Lancaster on a fly past to Staverton Airport come low and right overhead as it circled the base. I will remember that for a long while. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fred k 2 reviews from this member

 Superb location

Very friendly staff

Really enjoyed our visit

Will return.

Bus routes at the site entrance provided access to Cheltenham Gloucester and beyond. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert Johnston 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Short walk to shopping centre, and a 5 minute bus ride to Gloucester Airport where there is a free to visit aircraft museum.

Guy on reception was very pleasant and humorous, and the toilets were immaculate.

The only criticism (although minor) was that our pitch had a very forward slope which prevented us from levelling our motorhome properly.

Will certainly return. 


Previous     223 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Briarfields Motel & Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Briarfields Motel & Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Briarfields Motel & Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement