Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Briarfields Motel & Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Briarfields Motel & Touring Park
Gloucester Road (b4063)
Off Cheltenham Road
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL51 0SS
Tel: 01242 235324
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 72 Hardstanding, 5 Fully Serviced, 7 Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 164 Reviews
                9/10 from 164 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  164 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 20 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. Having read previous reviews I have to say it was everything that I expected.

Firstly it is noisy! The aircraft noise didnít bother us in the slightest ( we work at an airport so I guess it was second nature to us). The road noise is constant but really shouldnít put you off.

What I like about this site is the transport links to Cheltenham and Gloucester. Us Motorhome users like to leave the Motorhome where it is and the buses to Cheltenham and Gloucester are so convenient. There is a Harvester pub within walking distance which again is a plus for not having to move the vehicle.

The reception we had was second to none. A very friendly and informative check-in! The shower and toilet blocks were clean although closing between 11. 30 and 1300 seemed a bit inconvenient! Yes, we could use our own facilities however having paid for the facilities we do tend to use them and save our own water supply.

Iím not sure if we would return to this camp site as we do tend to like the more remote and quieter ones however, it is very convenient for visiting Cheltenham and Gloucester.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Morag the motorhome 1 review from this member

Great site with very helpful and welcoming hosts. Situated near both Cheltenham and Gloucester which are easily reached by a great bus service which passes by the site. Lovely immaculate shower block. This was our 2nd visit in a month and we will definitely be back. Would highly recommend this site. Although the site is near main roads we did not find it an issue.
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

We stayed at the site fir two nights. The site and it's facilities are very good with level pitches on hard standing. Transport from the site is first class you can go anywhere from just outside the site. Now I must try to look at the site objectively and there is unfortunately one big drawback to an otherwise nice site. There are two main roads running either side of the site, this is not a tranquil site. The site is also very adjacent to Arle Court Roundabout which is a junction with five different main roads going into it.

Traffic noise is constant, with a constant hum of traffic/ tyre noise all day and all night long. At times more individual traffic/ airport noise will be heard above that. At 2. 30am there were still high powered cars and motorbikes tearing up the main roads either side of the site. It will not matter where you are pitched up on the site there will be a noisy road there. Look on google earth and see for yourself, you can then make your own mind up.

This site is/ was advertised in the 'Tranquil Sites Guide' but no way should it be in that publication. It's a pity because as I said the site has a lot going for it, everything else is absolutely first class and spot on, but two nights there was enough for me with all the noise. If you want peace and quiet, and plan to stay for any length of time, this site is not for you. If you want first class facilities, easy transport links, and a good Asda, then it probably would be a great site for you.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 14 reviews from this member

Perfect as a journey breaker.

Stayed here for one night on our way from Cornwall to Wales. Close to M5. Pub, shops and take-aways nearby.

Bus stop outside to Cheltenham and Gloucester.

This is a very tidy site and very busy when we were there. The pitches seemed close together.

Perfectly good site which as we only stopped overnight we did not get a proper feel for. We are booked in again for a longer stay in November.

Quite a bit of traffic and aircraft noise.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 32 reviews from this member

We have just spent four nights at Briafields and this is a site I cant fault. The staff were very informative and helpful with a minor problem with our Motorhome.

The pitches were level with hard standing and a grassed area. There is a motorhome service point and two chemical disposable points

The location is well served with a regular bus service into Cheltenham and Gloucster outside the gate. There is a large supermarket within walking distance.

The facilities were clean and tidy with nice showers. Always plenty of hot water and a bench in each cubical to sit on whilst changing.

Some other site users complained about the road noise, there is an ambulance and fire station near by. Also a local airport. This didn't bother us because we choose this site for the attraction in the local area and were not on site during the day. It was quiet at night.

Yes we will return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chesterfieldcampers 3 reviews from this member

I was camping in my tent while my wife stayed in the motel. The reason? I was camping with our new puppy for the first time (his not mine) and dogs are not allowed in the motel. The site is excellent. It is easy to find. Yes there is noise from the road and from light aircraft but neither were a problem for me. We parked at Reception and service was both friendly and efficient. You knew that this was a well run site. I pitched near to a hook up and a large hedge. I was near the toilet block. The pitch was level and the toilet block was excellent. Spotless with fresh flowers, music and plenty of urinals, toilets and showers. We looked round the rest of the site and it is an example to all- including the green features. We were able to take the dog on a nearby dog walk and there are plenty of places like ASDA to eat and stock up. We will return.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mafield01 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site with approx 75 pitches All are hard standings with grass in between. The facilities are exceptionally clean with nice hot showers. I shall return without any reservations to this site. Plenty to do around the area too

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 43 reviews from this member

This site is ideally placed between Gloucester and Cheltenham and there is an excellent and frequent bus service in both directions. We, too, experienced some traffic and aircraft noise but it is not obtrusive and we were there to visit both cities not to seek peace and quiet. That being said the pitches were a bit short and quite close together. There is very little privacy if your neighbours have a unit AND a car. The staff were very helpful and informative. The facilities were warm but might struggle when Summer comes. At £18 per night we were more than happy with our stay.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doris43 5 reviews from this member

Have just returned home after spending a lovely Christmas and New year at Briarfields, where we received a VERY warm welcome on arrival.

It was our first visit and weíll definitely be returning and have already recommended Briarfields to fellow caravanners.

The site is well maintained with easy access and is very secure with barriers.

The showers and toilets were very clean, nice and warm and had the local radio station playing (which was really lovely, enabling me to shower and sing along with George Michael !)

Yes there is some road and light aircraft noise but this didnít cause us any problems (and iím a light sleeper !)

Thereís a very good bus service to Cheltenham and Gloucester from outside the site entrance and a Harvester across the road

- a GREAT site if you want leave the car behind.

Doris & Jon

Reading, Berkshire

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here overnight on our way from Southport to Devon. Although there was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't my cup of tea.

The lady on reception was charming. No problems with the staff at all.

I thought the pitches were quite tight. The access road through the site is quite narrow and car parking is at the front of your pitch alongside the edge of the road. We have a tiny van and we found manoeuvring onto the pitch quite challenging (resorting to push and shove at the end).

Although the road noise wasn't overwhelming it was noticeable and did affect my sleep. At one point in the middle of the night (4am or so) there was so much traffic going past I wondered if there was a shift change at GCHQ. Funnily enough, I didn't mind the aircraft noise at all & it was interesting to see the odd private jet fly overhead.

The toilet block was clean with good showers but there was a problem with the toilets, none of them had a powerful flush and some of them took several minutes to refill the cisterns. When you combine that with caravanners only using their own facilities for 'liquid deposits' it meant the toilets tended not to be clean when you went to use them. Also, to leave them in an acceptable state was quite difficult. Not the most pleasant experience.

My husband wasn't too keen on the arrangement whereby the grey waste was disposed of at the CDP.

We were meeting friends for an evening meal (The Gloucester Old Spot about 10 minutes drive away - fantastic food, recommended in the Michelin Guide) so we can't comment on local facilities but we were given a map that showed local supermarkets etc were very close.

All in all, I would stay there again if I needed a stopover in the locality but it isn't a site I would particularly seek out.

Previous     164 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!