Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lochranza Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Lochranza Campsite Reviews

Lochranza Campsite
Lochranza
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8HL
Tel: 01770 830273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 21st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Alison hall 1 review from this member

The wonderful surroundings of Lochranzer, the warmth of the hosts on site, from the great local hotel in the village and locals alike, great break.

Clean and friendly site, walks and views you canít get enough of. Lovely break

Would go back and will advise everyone to stop off and join in.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

We were torn between 2 campsites during our stay on Arran but decided to book Lochranza for the majority of the nights we were on the island. We were so glad we did! Communications were very good during the booking process and it was easy to pay the deposit via debit card during booking. I also emailed a couple of times checking when the balance was due to be paid as I couldn't see via their website, and also if the balance could be paid on a debit card on arrival (it could).

Our welcome was very good and we were given a quick tour of facilities and advised about water points, Wi-Fi access etc. Our pitch was alongside the burn (the burn was behind us and fenced) and on grass with EHU and we had plenty of room for our driveaway awning. Views were amazing as we were surrounded by high hills and the golf course to our right.

The shower block was well maintained and clean and quite modern. I noticed the shower curtains had been changed on at least one occasion. The water was also nice and not (although not too hot). The only minor issue was the temperature to the dishwashing sinks which sometimes only ran lukewarm.

You can walk around the perimeter of the golf course adjoining the site down to the shore and you will almost always see the red deer and stags and they also come very close to people. The deer also come onto the campsite and close to tents and other units. So lovely.

The Stags Pavilion restaurant is literally just outside the campsite gates and is highly recommended. But book early as they get fully booked very quickly. The distillery is also just to the left of the campsite and a 5 minute or so stroll. We had a tour and tasting but it's free to visit their cafe (which is a very good one), shop and visitor centre.

The camp site reception has a few food items including Arran Ice Cream in their freezer (yummy) and all the staff were very friendly, chatty and welcoming and would often open the main gate for us when entering and exiting the site in our T5.

We really enjoyed our stay at Lochranza and wouldn't hesitate to return and stay at Lochranza campsite if we return to Arran. Thanks for a lovely stay.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Wei 1 review from this member

Booked a last minute visit to Arran and booked a week at Lochranza Campsite.

From the booking in to our reluctant leaving, we were so impressed with everything that is on offer. The facilities, staff and the views. I suspect the owner even arranged for the golden eagle to make a fly by too.

Highly recommended with so much to do nearby and around the isle.

No hesitation in recommending Arran and this campsite as a must do destination.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil173010 5 reviews from this member

We've been coming here for a number of years and it surprises us that it gets better every time. Since our last visit the information room and laundry have been upgraded, there's now a covered cooking area and the addition of an extra putting green and pitch and put course.

The owners Nigel and Kathy are still the most helpful owners we've ever met and they know pretty much all you'd need to know about the island and the locale in general.

The showers and toilets are spotless and there is always hot water. None of us had to wait for a shower.

Add to this the most stunning scenery with lots of great walks, the distillery just across the road - it doesn't get any better than this!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mcdowell 11 reviews from this member

We stayed for Four nights, and thoroughly enjoyed, the staff were very cheery and welcoming.

The site was very busy, but quite at the same time, facilities are clean and well looked after, wifi available in a room next to reception called base camp, we tried for a TV signal but at the pitch we were on no luck, not that that was a problem, another plus was no phone signal, so our fast life just slowed down.

The bus service is very good, it ties in with the ferry, we used it every day and certainly got our money's worth with the day rider ticket at only £5. 70pp, this was by far for us the best way to see to see the island, another must buy is the island own make midge repellent, which amongst other items can be purchased in reception.

All in all a very good experience and another island ticked off our list,

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night in a motorhome, very friendly warden showed us to our pitch and told us everything we needed to know. Toilet and shower block very clean and plenty of hot water.

We walked down to the village (if you could call it that) and visited the castle which was small but good and then walked back going across the golf course to see the deer, there was some very impressive stags there so I imagine this years rut will be good!

We were lucky enough to be eating in the Stags Pavillion ( I had booked a table before we came on holiday) and can recommend, the food was amazing.

Peaceful at night but very dark so take a good torch if your be using the facilities in the night or you might just bump into a deer

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

First impressions - fab. Met at the gate by two lovely wardens and although we weren't booked they had us booked in and on a pitch in minutes. The new reception / base camp block is excellent and matches the facilities block.

Showers were good and hot, water pressure good - only slight niggle is water runs to drains between showers so always feels like someone elses dirty water running into your cubicle. Even though weather bad, site very wet and muddy the loos and showers were kept really clean at all times.

The weather was dreadful, high winds and heavy rain. Wardens advising everyone regarding this and to consider awnings etc - they really were brilliant in helping everyone.

It's a lovely walk from the site down to the castle, we ventured there and then back up to Arran Distillery - fabulous cafe there serving meals, cakes and drinks - really worth a visit.

We have visited this site before and would say they have made a lot of improvements, would not hesitate to visit again and recommend to others.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Roadrunnerrobbo 3 reviews from this member

We spent 6 nights here at the end of April, despite only intending to stay for 3, as the site was excellent, the scenery magnificent, the weather incredibly good, the walking superb and the wardens very pleasant.

This was our first visit to Arran and we would definitely return, if only to stay at this site. We were blessed with dry sunny weather, albeit rather windy and cold for most of our stay, so we walked a lot including a climb to the summit of Goatfell and the awesome Cock of Arran circuit, which can be done straight from the site.

Admittedly, for April, temperatures were very low but we found the site was in a bit of a wind tunnel. The pot wash area was in a very draughty spot so wind chill made the washing up even more of a chore than usual.

4 shower cubicles didn't seem enough for the size of the site but we never had to queue so, maybe, it's not a problem.

We can't comment on the wet ground because we arrived during a dry spell.

We can't comment on the midges because we didn't see any. But, that's what we expected in April.

The free Wifi, DVDs to borrow f. O. C, the lounge and the microwave were unexpected bonuses, as was the free putting which we didn't use.

At £27 a night, we thought it was a tad expensive so were, therefore, a little miffed at having to pay £4 to use the washing machine. But, this is to be expected where there is no competition - as far as we know, it's the only site for miles. During a 5 week tour of Arran, Scotland and the Lakes we paid an average of £20. 89 a night for an electric hook up pitch, and an average of £2. 25 to use an on site launderette. Having said that, we didn't put up the awning at all of the other sites and the facilities at Lochranza were spotlessly clean and a pleasure to use. Sometimes you really do get what you pay for. The fee can't have bothered us that much because we stayed for 6 nights.

We didn't visit the distillery or eat out because we are dog owners. We did have a drink at the outrageously expensive hotel (£5. 55 for a pint of beer and half a pint of soda and lime) so we didn't bother to have a meal or go back.

However, Arran is kind to the motorist - we didn't pay car park once during our 9 days on the island. So, it's swings and roundabouts.

We saw red deer, a red squirrel and a golden eagle whilst staying here, as well as a male black redstart in the village. Arran is a perfect location if you like birdwatching, with fabulous sea birds such as black guillemot and eider.

In summary, we would definitely recommend this site and would consider a detour to it if we were ever near Arran, for the views and the customer service.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

This is my favourite site and location ever! We were greeted very warmly by Carol and Alan and shown to a lovely pitch overlooking the golf course. This site has everything you could possibly desire. The location is simply stunning and the site is surrounded by hills on 3 sides. Immaculate showers and toilets, a superb laundry room with an extremely handy ironing board and iron.

The base camp common room is comfortable and has lots of local information about the area and bus and ferry timetables. It was the attention to detail and thought which impressed me so much.

There is a lovely walk from the site around the shore and up the cliff path with stunning views over to Bute. We saw grey seals basking on the rocks. From dusk until dawn the red deer graze on the golf course and were only feet away from our van. Saw so many young stags - they were fun to watch. In the morning the golf course is cleared of any deer mess. Wifi is good at the base camp and sometimes stretched as far as our van.

TV signal was non existent but that wasn't a problem. Phone signal was good. The Stag's Pavilion Restaurant next to the site was also superb. We booked 3 weeks before to make sure we got in as they are fully booked every evening. The Lochranza Hotel is nothing special but you can walk or get the bus to another pub in Catacol. The bus service on Arran is excellent and takes you all around the island. I could go on forever about this site and Arran.

I am only sorry that we were only there for 3 days however we will definitely return. Lochranza is a charming fishing village. Thank you to Carol, Alan, Nigel and Kathy we will return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 32 reviews from this member

Site has amazing views. Free wifi at the base camp and a small pay per wash laundry facility.

The site calls itself a quiet site. However we were woken every morning at 6am by campers talking and constantly slamming car doors whilst packing up. We were even treated to a motorbike running for five minutes after the owner had set the alarm off.

The price (£32) a night was pretty steep especially when we were had our daily early alarm call.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3171 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019