Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Netherdale Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > Netherdale Camping Site Reviews

Netherdale Camping Site
Sidcot
Winscombe
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS25 1NH
Tel: 01934 843007
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Soniawood6565 1 review from this member

 Site on main a38 so easy to get to various places of interests.

Vernon site owner very friendly on arrival

Stayed here with my young children over the years glad to see it's still same people opinionated over toilet block and shower, may be little old looking from outside but superior cleanliness in toilet and shower

Excellent value for money

Will certainly be staying again and every campsite can be boggy in rain but it's all fun of camping and caravanning, can't control British weather

Also added bonus a brewers farye pub next door in walking distance 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for a few nights with the family to break up a long journey to Cornwall and to see the surrounding area. The site is very handy for Cheddar Gorge and not too far from Bristol by car (SS Great Britain is well worth a visit, especially on a wet day).

The site is on quite a slope and we elected to pitch nearer the top of the site, away from the road. We just managed to get the caravan level, but I'm not sue I can claim the same for the awning. From where we were the road noise was barely noticeable, but maybe that was due to the rain battering off the caravan. Whilst we were there it rained, and it rained, and it rained. The grass did get rather squelchy, even under the awning, but despite this there was no real sign of running or standing water on the pitches (at least on the top half of the site) despite the deluge.

As for the toilet block, well I know some people love fancy, modern, all-singing all-dancing toilet blocks. So do I at times, but I also don't want every site I visit to be a clone of the last one, and the toilet block here could best be described as 'quirky'. It was clean, provided enough facilities but is probably a bit dated. I kind of liked it though.

The rest of the site is OK if fairly basic. Our youngest didn't use the play park, but that was due to the weather. Be careful entering and exiting the site with a caravan on tow as it is tight. The owner was friendly when we were checking in, which was the only time we really needed to talk to her.

It's certainly a site I'd consider using again as it's further from the M5 than most of the alternatives in the area, but still close enough to be used as a stop-over. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Site Owner

 As a helpful update for potential customers reading reviews from 2005 and before, it should be explained that the main Amenities Block was revamped with a complete new outer roof and new interior ceilings, all interior doors were replaced with new, the walls were re-plastered and redecorated and door frames and other woodwork repainted. The Block is always carefully checked for the start of each new season, thoroughly cleaned and redecorated where needed. It is regularly checked throughout each day by the owners and personally cleaned by one of the owners in preference to hiring someone else to do it. We are often complimented on how pleasant and clean these facilities are. All hot water for showers, basins and washing up is free, some of the earlier reviewers visited when some of it wasn’t. One of the early reviewers mentioned that we temporarily closed a couple of showers to repair some tiling. This unfortunately occurred over a peak Bank Holiday, but happened without warning and we decided it was safer to repair the small area than risk a bigger problem. We have increased the number of electric hook-ups by 50%.

We do say, on our website and in printed material, that we are conveniently situated on the A38 road, midway between Bristol and Bridgwater. Most long distance traffic uses the motorway, some miles away across the valley, but local traffic is swollen in the summer period by holidaymakers visiting the area! We have (very) mature trees and hedgerow along our A38 boundary and have thickened this up in recent years. Some people are more susceptible to traffic noise than others and this has proved a very personal thing… Two of our nearby ‘competitors’ are bounded not only by the A38 but also the M5 and a railway line. They are always packed! I’m afraid there is no real answer to this one. At least Netherdale itself is tranquil!

Reviewer ‘Donnismonk’ (May 2010) claims that “there is no real door to the whole block”. The blocks have a total of five entrances, each has a proper external door. These are pulled together during the final check of the day at around 10. 30 pm and each user during the day has the option of leaving them open or closed. When Netherdale is closed for the winter each of these doors is locked for security purposes. The doors are either yellow, white or beige, depending on the block - we believe they are easily visible!

We felt sympathy for the August 2008 visitor who stayed when “the weather was terrible” - however, I’ve never actually seen rivers of water running through any tents; although in prolonged torrential rain the ground can get soggy. We are well drained, which is a plus point. I was also intrigued by her having to hold onto saucepans on her stove… I’ve tried simulating this but couldn’t replicate it on any sloping areas. Looks like the family deserves a discount if they’re brave enough to visit us again!

Some reviewers commented on the need to walk up a slope to the Amenities Block and that it was further from the tent area than some of the touring caravan areas. Currently my doctor is trying really hard to encourage me to walk as it is excellent exercise - and the best walking is uphill. He wasn’t impressed when I pointed out that for every ‘up’ there is a ‘down’, so surely this cancelled the other out…? The planning authority are really to blame - they told us where we could build!

When last accurately checked, our rate of return custom was comfortably over 60% and several visitors have been with us for thirty to (over) forty years. We are small, clean, perhaps basic, but we try to provide an honest, value for money experience… and the family has been doing this (over three generations) since 1933. We really appreciate constructive comments. The best way to have them acted upon is to share them with us personally. Maybe coping with my sense of humour is the biggest thing visitors have to worry about…

We trust these comments will assist users of this website. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Finsterfinn 2 reviews from this member

 Nice little site not crowded. Plenty of toilets, 2 showers each for male and female. Very clean plenty of free hot water. Completely safe for children as there is a hedge all the way round and only one way in and out. There are two swings and a swinging seesaw and a climbing frame as well as a large area for football etc

We took our 5 and 7 year old and two greyhounds, it cost £12 plus £1 for each child dogs are free. Cheddar is only about 10mins drive Brean, Berrow and Weston are only a short drive although I would give Weston a miss as parking was a bit of a nightmare due to the The revamping of the sea front.

Only down site is the A38 through the night. On the thurs night there was a constant stream of motorbikes as there was a bike rally in cheddar.

We had brilliant weather for a bank holiday spent most of it on the beach had a really enjoyable time but we were glad to get back to our own bed for some quiet sleep. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donnismonk 1 review from this member

 The site itself is quite small and taken up mostly by static caravans but quite pleasant.

Owners were very nice and cheerful and happy whenever you went to them for something. On site there is nothing but a really small area for children to play and the shower block housing the toilets, 2 showers and sinks as well as a place to wash your cutlery etc. Really quite small and not at all modern but clean. If the morning is chilly you will feel it having a shower as there no real door to the whole block.

Pets are ok to stay as long as on a lead and there is a very small village just up the road selling essentials.

One major problem with this site is that its actually located on a main A road from which the traffic does not stop day or night. This is a nightmare especially if your a light sleeper staying in a tent.

We did have guests over to visit for a few hours one afternoon and though we best check with owner. He said no problem then charged us £5!

Have to say that not the greatest camp site I've ever stayed in but not the worst either. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RKirby 3 reviews from this member

 Site is quiet and reasonably well located for North Somerset attractions; however, there is very little flat on site and access roads and manoeuvring on site is rather tight if you have a large combination.

There is a small play area for children that was well received and a large grassed area put aside for playing where vehicles are excluded from although some of the other residents seemed less keen on this.

Facilities are basic but clean and functional. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHowellfamily 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a week. Lots in the local area to see and do. The road noise was terrible, during the day and night we had to talk in raised voices to hear each other.

The tents were the furthest away from the toilets and showers up a slope. They were okay and generally clean. I had to hold saucepans on the stove because of the slope when cooking.

The weather was terrible and we often had rivers running through the tent! There wasn't much space for the kids to play and the playground was only for younger children. It wasn't horrendous but not great either 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoJo79 2 reviews from this member

 Nice enough site with adequate facilities although the lack of shelving in the shower rooms was slightly frustrating. The hot water in the pot washing area was hot but took ages to fill your bowl, so it was easier to boil a kettle in the caravan and wash the pots in there. The park was basic but there was enough grass area to play football or cricket. The owners seemed ok and helpful.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliamaddocks 1 review from this member

 Owners pleasant enough on site and incredibly polite on the phone.   However one thing was neglected to be mentioned either on the website or on the phone:

This site is located on the A38 - motorway alternative route.

The tent allocated area is separated from the road by a sparse hedge and the flatest space is next to the hedge.   The traffic is relentless and runs all night long.
 
The owners will take freezer packs into the freezer, and request (20p) payment on collection.   The toilets are clean and the site well kept.   Showers minimal, and space to put things down are lacking.  
 
Play area minimal, but safe and the children enjoyed it.  


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Eccles1946 6 reviews from this member

 Sounds good on website but the facilities were awful. Most hot water had to be paid for and the toilet/ shower facilities left a lot to be desired. Some showers were out of action as tiles had fallen off and in the height of the season that didn't seem acceptable. Also the static owners seem to have to use the facilities so not sufficient WC's or showers. Shower and WC blocks really are in need of refurbishment. Dogs allowed but the rules state that you must put dog on lead before opening the door which is rather difficult when you are on the outside and the dog is on the inside! However unlike the previous reviewer we did find the site peaceful and convenient for visiting Cheddar, Weston etc. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Netherdale Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Netherdale Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Netherdale Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement