Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Peak Gateway

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Peak Gateway Reviews

Peak Gateway
Moor Lane
Osmaston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1NA
Tel: 01335 344643
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 06/03/2021 to 04/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 125 Reviews
                7/10 from 125 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Nadine 1 review from this member

 We had 3 pitches, 2 in tents with hook up and and a Motorhome. The campsite were extremely helpful to make sure we were all together. The lady that checked us in was also friendly and helpful.

We used the Outside Inn for food and drinks on our first night. Food was good and well priced, as well as the drinks.

Bar and waitress both friendly and helpful.

Toilet & shower facilities were fine, could maybe do with a bit of an upgrade. There’s only one sink in toilets and a tiny mirror for getting ready in the mornings.

There’s only 2 showers, which wasn’t a problem for us as the campsite was quiet. Would be more of an issue if the campsite was busy.

All in all we had a good time, and will return for a weekend trip next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sher 2 reviews from this member

 Views fabulous

Site scruffy lots of greenery sprouting through hard standing

Showers excellent

Pub not open on a Saturday night !

Great selection of confectionery in shop but little else

Over priced 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melpa 5 reviews from this member

 Having just spent a lovely 4 night trip at this campsite, I thought I would leave a review while it is fresh in my mind. We stayed in a tent with ehu, in a group of 6 families.

Firstly, let me say this is a large site mainly geared towards statics. It also has a large amount of seasonal caravans pitched. The tent section is in one corner of the site and although this could be seen as a negative, I felt this made it feel more secluded and exclusive.

Some parts of the tent area has lovely views and it is well laid out with nice generous pitches. There aren't many ehu pitches though and I feel they would benefit from extending the amount of ehu pitches they offer.

The toilet block that is closest to the tent field is 'ok'. It is clean and functional, but it is definitely nothing to write home about. If the tent area was full it would be wildly inadequate with only 3 showers available to either sex and 1 inside the female toilet area.

are two sinks for washing up and the water is so hot it takes a layer of skin off, there are also no plugs provided, so make sure you take a washing bowl with you. Next to the sinks are a muddy boot wash tap and a freezer for ice blocks. As I say, everything works and everything is clean, but it isn't great.

The site has an on site pub which is open in peak season, albeit very limited opening hours. We visited in August and it was open on Tuesday and Thursday 7pm-9. 30pm. The pub itself was fine. It had a nice variety of drinks and had 2 indoor area to sit or an outdoor area, next to the play area. In one of the inside areas there is a pool table, football table and a dart board, along with lots of comfy sofa in both areas. We had a great time in here on both occasions it was open, as did our kids.

The kids loved the play area and spent every day playing on it. The ages of the group of kids ranged from 5-11, with the majority being 8&9. We all felt perfectly happy for the kids to roam the site and take themselves to the park and back on their own.

The site felt very safe. We all went on the walk through the woods to the bunkers, which was nice for a quick walk, but I think we all expected a bit more to it? I'm not sure if we missed something, but there were 3 bunkers, full of rubbish just along the path through the small woods.

We weren't impressed enough to bother going a 2nd time and our kids were all a bit young to let them go alone, however, I am guessing that older kids/teens would enjoy hanging out in the woods/bunkers to get a bit of independence from the parents.

There is also a small shop in the reception area that has a nice variety of sweets and necessities, if needed. There is also a camping shop, but non of us ventured in there so I can't comment on it.

Outside the site, there is an Aldi a 5 minute drive away, which was an absolute godsend. Next to the Aldi is a Travelodge and a lovely Marstons pub. We went out for a meal at the pub on our last night and the food was amazing.

The pub were also very good accommodating us, as we didn't think to book and 13 of us turned up. They found us tables and our food was served accurately and quickly. The town of Ashbourne is a bit like going back in time with cobbled streets and olde style buildings that the shops are housed in.

There are useful shops like Boots, an M&S, a Subway etc but the majority of the town is antique shops, charity shops and pubs. It is a lovely little town and definitely worth a visit.

Overall we had an excellent stay and found the site to be well kept and the staff helpful and polite. We are planning to use this site again next year for our annual meet as we all found it to be so pleasant. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Marie21 1 review from this member

 Disappointing!

I had high hopes for this site considering I paid £133 for 3 nights!

Unfortunately, it was a let down.

There were two Toilet and shower blocks however one was closed meaning we had to walk quite a long way to the nearest. I spoke to reception who assured me that they would be open later today, they were not and clearly had no intention of. They had been closed for a long time and looked very shabby

Despite being charged £9 for my dog, he was not allowed in the on site pub. We therefore could not access this facility.

There were lots of taps however none had hoses attached. For the price we paid I would have expected small touches like this.

The walk to Ashbourne was not for the faint hearted! A very long way, over fields, very fast busy road & down steep banks.

The grounds were in need of some tlc and a good grass cut

I wouldn't say this site was good value for money 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 26 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay for 3 nights over New Year. The site has some positive points which are;

Good location

Friendly helpful staff

Onsite bar

However there are some negative points as well:

Extremely expensive for what you get £40 a night!

Only toilets and showers behind reception were open - a good 5 min walk from touring area

Most of the facilities were not available - playground, games room, cafe, sports facilities ( families had booked this site because of those facilities. )

Most importantly, there appear to be problems with the electric supply on site, a number of people were experiencing problems whilst we were there. The problems we experienced resulted in us leaving a day early and no refund was offered. When we arrived home all our electrics worked perfectly.

We got the impression that this site is mainly for statics and seasonals even though the touring area is quite large the facilities for them are poor. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dsh001 1 review from this member

 Good location. Cannot hear dual carriage way, which was a surprise to me! Discount chicken shop on the nearby ind est is worth a visit.

The site itself is secure, good dog walk with poo bins, reception very polite, although all queries have to wait till one certain person is around

The no noise policy isn't adhered to, dog left in caravan near us (which is against site rules) barking non-stop well past 11. 30pm. This happened every night. This is due to no wardens patrolling the site to enforce the no noise policy.

People speaking as loud in awnings as they would in their own home at gone midnight (again, due to no wardens checking) Don't mind upto a certain time as people are away / on holiday, and after a few drinks sound increases and you lose track of time! But just a polite 'keep the noise down' from on site staff would address most of these issues

Last weekend was bad (bank hol) weekend, folk leaving bar at around 11. 30pm and making a load of noise walking round the campsite for the next hour or so.

Other half witnessed cleaner cleaning round toilet seat with same cloth then used to wipe doors and door handles.

On site bar is reasonably priced and food good. Great milkshakes for the kids. Although entertainment is very Phoenix Nights

The site isn't cheap, and for the price I expected more. Especially wardens / on site checks

Wouldn't return

If in the area again, I would definitely prefer Newhaven or try Rivendale 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toppsy 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a weekend at gateway. This is a very nice site with large size flat pitches. There is a nice pub on site. Plenty of facilities for children. Only downside distance from caravans to shower block. All dustbins overflowing by sunday morning. £30 per night 2 adults and dog is far to pricey 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foggy5512 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very well maintained. Camping grass clean and tidy and good sized pitches. Small shop but lacking in camping basics eg gas cartridges, bread etc. Really enjoyed our stay on site but because we went the week before the school hols start (21 July) most of the facilities were closed or not available. Bar didn't open until the Thursday evening and the cafe was also closed the whole time. Doesn't mention on the website that the grass buggies and archery are only available on Saturdays which was disappointing. I don't mind paying peak prices (which are quite high) but do expect peak facilities. Showers block behind reception was clean and well maintained but the showers were far too hot and they can't be adjusted. Had a fire only to be told off on the last night because they weren't allowed - not what I was told when I rang up 3 times to check. Camping field toilets poor - 3 out of 4 cubicles had no locks and no soap at the sinks. We did notice signatures for cleaning appearing but no cleaning or maintenance done. There are only 2 washing up sinks for the entire field of campers which meant massive queues when busy. Reasonable play area for the kids but very hemmed in and enclosed. Campers seem a bit neglected but not when night-time checks are being done! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil16 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Peak Gateway.

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and was a favourite of ours, however it was 2 years since our last visit and now feel the place has lost its appeal a little.

The ehu pitch was plenty big enough but the grass was in desperate need of cutting, we pitched up on the thurs night, my Wife was at work the next morning only to find the shower block all locked up at 6. 30am.

They have a lovely bar area which was closed on the sat night just to accommodate a kids disco in the function room, but what if you have no children and just want a quiet drink?

There were a party of 9 tents all with children playing games from 8am till 10pm, very loud music and singing until 10. 30 pm, site rules state noise to be kept to a minimum after 9pm were where the wardens?

The shower block is good with good powerful showers but is too far from the tent field.

Although there was only me and my wife camping up until now for the past 21 years we have had children with us we also like a drink but there must be consideration for fellow campers and its up to the owners to make sure rules are adhered to, this was a relaxing quiet family campsite it appears now not to be so.

At £30 a night for me the wife and small dog I feel there are better campsites with more value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mollysmob 2 reviews from this member

 We needed a site in this area in order to meet up with friends and this one seemed to fit the bill. Fundamentally however I have to agree with many other reviewers; this site is simply overpriced. Most of the site is given over to statics and seasonals, with the touring pitch we had slotted into a crowded area at the far end of the site. Although the site had plenty of facilities many of the finer details seemed to have been missed, with strange policies in place such as closing most of the loos at night. Although it was the Easter weekend much of the site felt as though it had only just reopened after a long 'hibernation'.

Ashbourne is a lovely Town, well worth a visit, but we will use a different site next time we come this way. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Peak Gateway child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Peak Gateway?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Peak Gateway dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December