Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Peak Gateway

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Peak Gateway
Moor Lane
Osmaston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1NA
Tel: 01335 344643
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 16th March To 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 123 Reviews
                7/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melpa 5 reviews from this member

Having just spent a lovely 4 night trip at this campsite, I thought I would leave a review while it is fresh in my mind. We stayed in a tent with ehu, in a group of 6 families.

Firstly, let me say this is a large site mainly geared towards statics. It also has a large amount of seasonal caravans pitched. The tent section is in one corner of the site and although this could be seen as a negative, I felt this made it feel more secluded and exclusive. Some parts of the tent area has lovely views and it is well laid out with nice generous pitches. There aren't many ehu pitches though and I feel they would benefit from extending the amount of ehu pitches they offer. The toilet block that is closest to the tent field is 'ok'. It is clean and functional, but it is definitely nothing to write home about. If the tent area was full it would be wildly inadequate with only 3 showers available to either sex and 1 inside the female toilet area. There are two sinks for washing up and the water is so hot it takes a layer of skin off, there are also no plugs provided, so make sure you take a washing bowl with you. Next to the sinks are a muddy boot wash tap and a freezer for ice blocks. As I say, everything works and everything is clean, but it isn't great.

The site has an on site pub which is open in peak season, albeit very limited opening hours. We visited in August and it was open on Tuesday and Thursday 7pm-9. 30pm. The pub itself was fine. It had a nice variety of drinks and had 2 indoor area to sit or an outdoor area, next to the play area. In one of the inside areas there is a pool table, football table and a dart board, along with lots of comfy sofa in both areas. We had a great time in here on both occasions it was open, as did our kids.

The kids loved the play area and spent every day playing on it. The ages of the group of kids ranged from 5-11, with the majority being 8&9. We all felt perfectly happy for the kids to roam the site and take themselves to the park and back on their own. The site felt very safe. We all went on the walk through the woods to the bunkers, which was nice for a quick walk, but I think we all expected a bit more to it? I'm not sure if we missed something, but there were 3 bunkers, full of rubbish just along the path through the small woods. We weren't impressed enough to bother going a 2nd time and our kids were all a bit young to let them go alone, however, I am guessing that older kids/teens would enjoy hanging out in the woods/bunkers to get a bit of independence from the parents.

There is also a small shop in the reception area that has a nice variety of sweets and necessities, if needed. There is also a camping shop, but non of us ventured in there so I can't comment on it.

Outside the site, there is an Aldi a 5 minute drive away, which was an absolute godsend. Next to the Aldi is a Travelodge and a lovely Marstons pub. We went out for a meal at the pub on our last night and the food was amazing. The pub were also very good accommodating us, as we didn't think to book and 13 of us turned up. They found us tables and our food was served accurately and quickly. The town of Ashbourne is a bit like going back in time with cobbled streets and olde style buildings that the shops are housed in. There are useful shops like Boots, an M&S, a Subway etc but the majority of the town is antique shops, charity shops and pubs. It is a lovely little town and definitely worth a visit.

Overall we had an excellent stay and found the site to be well kept and the staff helpful and polite. We are planning to use this site again next year for our annual meet as we all found it to be so pleasant.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marie21 1 review from this member

Disappointing!

I had high hopes for this site considering I paid 133 for 3 nights!

Unfortunately, it was a let down.

There were two Toilet and shower blocks however one was closed meaning we had to walk quite a long way to the nearest. I spoke to reception who assured me that they would be open later today, they were not and clearly had no intention of. They had been closed for a long time and looked very shabby

Despite being charged 9 for my dog, he was not allowed in the on site pub. We therefore could not access this facility.

There were lots of taps however none had hoses attached. For the price we paid I would have expected small touches like this.

The walk to Ashbourne was not for the faint hearted! A very long way, over fields, very fast busy road & down steep banks.

The grounds were in need of some tlc and a good grass cut

I wouldn't say this site was good value for money

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 24 reviews from this member

We booked to stay for 3 nights over New Year. The site has some positive points which are;

Good location

Friendly helpful staff

Onsite bar

However there are some negative points as well:

Extremely expensive for what you get 40 a night!

Only toilets and showers behind reception were open - a good 5 min walk from touring area

Most of the facilities were not available - playground, games room, cafe, sports facilities ( families had booked this site because of those facilities. )

Most importantly, there appear to be problems with the electric supply on site, a number of people were experiencing problems whilst we were there. The problems we experienced resulted in us leaving a day early and no refund was offered. When we arrived home all our electrics worked perfectly.

We got the impression that this site is mainly for statics and seasonals even though the touring area is quite large the facilities for them are poor.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dsh001 1 review from this member

Good location. Cannot hear dual carriage way, which was a surprise to me! Discount chicken shop on the nearby ind est is worth a visit.

The site itself is secure, good dog walk with poo bins, reception very polite, although all queries have to wait till one certain person is around

The no noise policy isn't adhered to, dog left in caravan near us (which is against site rules) barking non-stop well past 11. 30pm. This happened every night. This is due to no wardens patrolling the site to enforce the no noise policy.

People speaking as loud in awnings as they would in their own home at gone midnight (again, due to no wardens checking) Don't mind upto a certain time as people are away / on holiday, and after a few drinks sound increases and you lose track of time! But just a polite 'keep the noise down' from on site staff would address most of these issues

Last weekend was bad (bank hol) weekend, folk leaving bar at around 11. 30pm and making a load of noise walking round the campsite for the next hour or so.

Other half witnessed cleaner cleaning round toilet seat with same cloth then used to wipe doors and door handles.

On site bar is reasonably priced and food good. Great milkshakes for the kids. Although entertainment is very Phoenix Nights

The site isn't cheap, and for the price I expected more. Especially wardens / on site checks

Wouldn't return

If in the area again, I would definitely prefer Newhaven or try Rivendale

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toppsy 1 review from this member

Just come back from a weekend at gateway. This is a very nice site with large size flat pitches. There is a nice pub on site. Plenty of facilities for children. Only downside distance from caravans to shower block. All dustbins overflowing by sunday morning. 30 per night 2 adults and dog is far to pricey

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foggy5512 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, very well maintained. Camping grass clean and tidy and good sized pitches. Small shop but lacking in camping basics eg gas cartridges, bread etc. Really enjoyed our stay on site but because we went the week before the school hols start (21 July) most of the facilities were closed or not available. Bar didn't open until the Thursday evening and the cafe was also closed the whole time. Doesn't mention on the website that the grass buggies and archery are only available on Saturdays which was disappointing. I don't mind paying peak prices (which are quite high) but do expect peak facilities. Showers block behind reception was clean and well maintained but the showers were far too hot and they can't be adjusted. Had a fire only to be told off on the last night because they weren't allowed - not what I was told when I rang up 3 times to check. Camping field toilets poor - 3 out of 4 cubicles had no locks and no soap at the sinks. We did notice signatures for cleaning appearing but no cleaning or maintenance done. There are only 2 washing up sinks for the entire field of campers which meant massive queues when busy. Reasonable play area for the kids but very hemmed in and enclosed. Campers seem a bit neglected but not when night-time checks are being done!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil16 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend at Peak Gateway.

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and was a favourite of ours, however it was 2 years since our last visit and now feel the place has lost its appeal a little.

The ehu pitch was plenty big enough but the grass was in desperate need of cutting, we pitched up on the thurs night, my Wife was at work the next morning only to find the shower block all locked up at 6. 30am.

They have a lovely bar area which was closed on the sat night just to accommodate a kids disco in the function room, but what if you have no children and just want a quiet drink?

There were a party of 9 tents all with children playing games from 8am till 10pm, very loud music and singing until 10. 30 pm, site rules state noise to be kept to a minimum after 9pm were where the wardens?

The shower block is good with good powerful showers but is too far from the tent field.

Although there was only me and my wife camping up until now for the past 21 years we have had children with us we also like a drink but there must be consideration for fellow campers and its up to the owners to make sure rules are adhered to, this was a relaxing quiet family campsite it appears now not to be so.

At 30 a night for me the wife and small dog I feel there are better campsites with more value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mollysmob 2 reviews from this member

We needed a site in this area in order to meet up with friends and this one seemed to fit the bill. Fundamentally however I have to agree with many other reviewers; this site is simply overpriced. Most of the site is given over to statics and seasonals, with the touring pitch we had slotted into a crowded area at the far end of the site. Although the site had plenty of facilities many of the finer details seemed to have been missed, with strange policies in place such as closing most of the loos at night. Although it was the Easter weekend much of the site felt as though it had only just reopened after a long 'hibernation'.

Ashbourne is a lovely Town, well worth a visit, but we will use a different site next time we come this way.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pablo1308 13 reviews from this member

My wife and I recently stayed at Peak Gateway to enjoy our new Motorhome. We had a lovely weekend and the staff on the site couldn't do enough for us, we had initially only planned a single night but extended our stay to 2 nights. The helpful young lady on reception allowed us to change pitch as our initial pitch was not level and we had no levelling ramps (would suggest a must). The facilities were always spotless and we couldn't fault them all weekend.

There is an on site pub 'The Outside Inn', we did not try this, but it look very clean and tidy. There are loads of things for children such as an outside play area and arcade, luckily as we are old there were no children around to spoil our peace.

It is a lovely walk down into Ashbourne, we walked via the road and there are paths almost all the way. There is a foot path over the fields but it was a bit too wet and muddy when we were there.

When we stayed there was a discounted rate of 15 per night (including Electric) this was good value, however for us the usual price 27 per night is more than we like to pay.

Overall a great site for location and out of season we found it really suited our needs.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DamianL 3 reviews from this member

My partner and I visited Peak Gateway for our second ever, and first trip without the children. We stayed for 4 nights on a 4 for 3 nights offer so it was a good price.

Upon arriving, we were given a swipe card for the entry/exit barriers and given a map to our pitch, we drove down to the pitch which whilst it is fairly sized, the pitches aren't marked brilliantly so be careful to pitch where you're supposed to.

The site has A LOT of statics/holiday cabins but they are set away from the tent field and no bother to anybody. The main tent field is split in to 4 sections, around half pitches have EHU (We opted to not have EHU). On the edge of the tent fields there is wooden cabin which has male and female toilets in which were immaculately clean at all times. It also has a covered patio area which has two washing up sinks on it, the fresh drinking water tap and a freezer for ice packs.

There is a small shop on site which has basic essentials and some camping equipment, all reasonably priced. They have a breakfast cafe and tea room on site which we didn't use and also a pub/bar/restaurant which was reasonably priced and the staff were friendly.

Shower facilities are closed at 10pm-6am but are free and clean. You cannot control the temperature and they were a little too hot for my liking but nothing too bad.

There is a small arcade on site with couple of pool tables, air hockey, dance machine and a few arcade machines. Good fun and reasonably priced.

They have a children's playground on site which seemed like the kids playing on it enjoyed.

They also have some tennis courts which you can hire use of but we didn't do this so have no idea on prices.

Nearby (5-10 minute drive/30 minute walk) is the town of Ashbourne which is a lovely little town, a few pubs/restaurants/chip shops and some nice little shops as well as a Sainsbury's for anything you may have forgotten.

In summary, Peak Gateway is a nice site. It is a sort of leisure club but feels like a quiet little camp site once you are on it. We would return again if we wanted a quick local break.

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019