Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanarth > Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Oakford
Llanarth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA47 0RN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 48
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Agree with previous reviews - a gem of a site. Really well kept, good sized pitches, lovely area and excellent wardens.

The only downside would be walks from the campsite, as previously mentioned the walking is on lanes, one quiet stretch for 10 - 15 minute loop from camp - the rest are quite busy narrow lanes with fast traffic.

The site is a fair way out from the coast, probably 20-30 minute drive so if you want to look around the area its driving or cycling. For a quiet weekend its the perfect site.

With 45 pitches we were surprised that only 8 units on site when we stayed - the price had gone up to £25. 10 that night ready for Easter the following weekend - sad too see such a lovely site nearly empty but would think price and location don't really work for many.

We reduced a planned stay of 3 nights to 1 night due to price, plenty of commercial sites in area offering £20 for similar facilities.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

A clean well kept site, just what you expect from a Caravan Club Site. But it's a little bit sterile and out of the way. Walking on the lanes is dangerous, there are no dog walking areas and children are not catered for. If you are an couple without children wanting peace and isolation then probably a good site. Not good for Motorhomes due to the narrow lanes and difficulty parking in the local towns. There are no facilities within walking distance.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 75 reviews from this member

Can only concur with the previous review describing this site as a gem.

Wonderful location in beautiful countryside, yet close to the coastal attractions of the area.

It's a really quiet site, made more so for our visit during a 3 day 'window' in the weather.

The recent heavy rains had meant the closure of the grass pitches, which suited us fine, as it meant even better views of the glorious sunsets.

The wardens were friendly and although we'd arrived early, the lady interrupted her cleaning duties to book us in. And talking of cleaning, the place was absolutely spotless.

There was a tiny hiccup one morning when the water heater had broken down, but this was attended to with impressive speed.

We cycled 70 miles during our 3 day stay, but be warned about following the locally signed routes -

It's mighty hilly round these parts!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

This is an absolute gem of site if you want perfect peace, its situated not far from the coast but on a very quiet lane just of the main A487 Cardigan to Aberystwyth trunk road.

The nearest village with a shop and pub is Llanarth

And the nearest supermarket is in Aberaeron some 6 miles from site.

There is a new Shower / Toilet block which is resembles a log cabin and has lovely warm showers and the whole site is kept to a very high standard which is a credit to the C. C wardens who worked tirelessly to maintain the flower beds and keep the grass well trimmed.

The reception also sells basics such as milk, bread, eggs, cold drinks, and crisps and sweets for the kids and there is good information hut.

TV is also surprisingly good with all freeview channels easily received considering the site is surrounded by tree's.

We really enjoyed this site and will definitely return in 2012

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moggssue 16 reviews from this member

We arrived 'on spec' whilst on a touring holiday of this part of the welsh coast. The owners couldn't have been nicer, showing us the few empty pitches they had and allowing us to chose between them. They also went out of their way to show us a fantastic walk, through the fields down to the coast and then along to New Quay.

On the way we saw lots of dolphins and various types of birds and had a fantastic walk. A friendly word of warning though, this type of walk isn't for those with limited fitness and at times you find yourself on a bit of a cliff edge so I'd be wary with children.

There are some good eatiers in New Quay and a friendly, reasonably priced, taxi service back to the site.

The facilities were all you would expect from a CC site, and more, very clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maryann h 7 reviews from this member

This camp site is brilliant and kept immaculate with really good toilets and showers. As a family with 2 kids (ages 7 & 12) we mainly used this site as a base to explore the area.

There is loads to do we visited the towns of cardigan, aberystwyth new quay and aberernon for supermarkets they are mostly costcutters aberywtwyth has morrisons and co-op and cardigan has tesco.

For attractions we visited chocolate farm(visit early to make most of visit), silver lead mine (we loved here £20 for family of 4) fantasy farm park(fun as you get to feed lambs which is a great experience a wee bit pricey compared to others £30 for family of 4 but still have to pay for other things if you want to do them).

Had a day out at swansea where we went to waterpark and kids paid to do surfing which they said was brilliant the woman instructor was fab. Made a day of it here as we also seen the indoor market / quadrant shopping centre and then went to cinema as both these things are right across the road from waterpark.

We went out twice in the boat at new quay once on the 2 hour dolphin spotting one where we seen 2 dolphins jump out of the water in sequence and the second on the dolphin survey boat where we were really close to the dolphins both boats were absolutely brilliant.

Kids also crab fished at new quay with the cheap crab line and bucket and raw bacon and caught 5 crabs and 3 fish before putting them back. Also went to poppit beach couple of times which is a great beach. Both new quay and aberystywth(on pier) have amusements and 2p machines for kids Also did the venecular railway at aberystywth and the steam train that takes you to devils bridge.

All in all really great area made perfect by a really great camp site have given it overall 10/10 but given child friendliness 8/10 because we didn't really play here but its not a site for ball games etc there is a small play area on the site but as previously said we don't use the sites like that anyway so wasn't an issue for us.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Randam1 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! such beautiful flowers.

We booked this site at short notice, via the caravan club, but online it was fully booked, so I thought I'd give the wardens a call. Yes they'd had a cancellation and they could fit us in. Wonderful a weekend of walking ahead!

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and were met by two of the friendliest wardens we have ever met. We had a choice of pitches. And chose the hard standing.

I bough an OS map at the on site shop and managed to avoid buying cakes. But bucked at the sight of ice cream!

Once set up we explored the site. A smaller site than we have visited before, but everything was there.

The shower block was just lovely. 4 showers newly refurbished each with a plastic stool, so you could sit down in the shower if you wanted!

Fully heated with hairdryers free to use.

The road around the site is fully tarmacked, and I noticed other caravanners using bicycles and motorised scooters with ease. A

There is a lovely circular walk that can be taken just around the picturesque village of Oakford. Just long enough to walk off a meal. Or give the dog an outing. Relatively flat too.

We found the site perfectly located for a good trek to the coastal path. ( about an hour on foot) and walked along the coastal path to New Quay. A fair number of Geocaches in the area too. If you are a keen treasure hunter!

We undertook a Dylan Thomas themed trail. Finding that we were too tired to walk all the way back we took a taxi back to the site which was about 10 miles away. Which only cost us £8 on a Sunday!. Very reasonable. With the local taxi driver knowing exactly where the site was. Just as well we couldn't have directed him!

The next day we walked down through the woods following the river to Aberaeron. ( about 5 mlies). After mooching around the town. We took the bus back this time. Again the bus driver was very helpful and knew exactly where to drop us off for a short 1. 5mile trek back to the site.

We told the wardens all about our adventures. And despite probably hearing our stories many times before from other caravanners seemed genuinely interested and were sooo very lovely.

We really loved this site and will go back, and will recommend it to everyone!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S.mckenna 3 reviews from this member

Me and my partner have just spent a few nights on this site, from the minute we arrived we knew it was going to be a enjoyable stay.

The staff here were polite and more than helpful, the site is tidy, clean and well thought out compared to some we have been to. We were placed on a new level hardstanding and didn. T even need to use our levels, which is a rare event sometimes.

The toilet block is probably one of the cleanest we, ve seen, and the showers superb, constant hot water, and powerful. The site sits, about 1. 5mls off the main stretch through Aberaeron, in countryside and is an ideal base for travelling up or down the coast.

The small villages boast some traditional pubs, cafes and gift shops, which add to this stunning area of wales.

We would recommend this site to all, and we will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeberry071 11 reviews from this member

This Caravan Club site is a few miles from the nearest towns and the nearest shop is 2 miles away, but this is what one expects in a rural location. Unusually, there is no dog walk on this site, but the dog owners were using the very quiet, adjacent B-road to exercise/toilet their dogs.

This site is made extra special by the hard working and dedicated wardens. This may be a bit of a cliché, but apart from maintaining a very well kept site with spotless facilities, they spent time helping us to choose a pitch, and when my motor mover failed, the warden rushed to get his tractor to move me onto the pitch – nice people.

The highlight of our holiday was the Ceredigion coastal path: it spans about 60 miles, is really well maintained and signposted and connects many unspoilt beaches and coves. Don’t let the 60 miles put you off however, one of the most beautiful walks was just 40 minutes long, and one part even had wheelchair access.

The views are stunning and you can expect to see seals and dolphins at certain times of the year. We also recommend: sunsets from Aberaeron, the honey farm, boat trips around the coast and Llanerchaeron House and gardens.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Massa 11 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site several times and it has always been one of our favourites, we weren't disappointed this time either, a new toilet block has been built since our last visit, it has been well planned with everything in the right places and kept in a very immaculate condition by the hard working wardens who seem to go the extra mile to keep the whole site in a pristine state,we have never seen the site looking so well in all our previous visits,
it is ideal location for cycling with plenty of low traffic lanes, the nearest shop and post office is at the garage in nearby Llwyncelyn a 10 minutes cycle ride away, a butcher and fishmonger visit the site, the butcher sells excellent home cured bacon,
We left after our stay at 11-15 am, and we had to reverse in a narrow part of the lane to make way for a caravan arriving early at the site, although the club states very clearly that there should be no arrivals before noon some inconsiderate people still chose to ignore this ruling.
All in all an excellent stay at an excellent site, and we shall be back asap.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019