Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanarth > Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Oakford
Llanarth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA47 0RN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 48
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oswestry Ed 29 reviews from this member

 A small well managed quiet site, ideal for exploring Newquay and Aberaeron. Some stiff hills for cycling.

All facilities very clean.

It is good to see a site not resembling a golf course with lots of sections of long grass to encourage wild flowers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 101 reviews from this member

 We arrived during first week of opening after Covid lockdown. Efficient check-in.

Toilet block closed due to Welsh Covid rules but had to give a rating so gave neutral 5.

Good location for visiting Cardigan, New Quay and Aberaeron. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 Arrived a bit early but friendly warden booked us in OK. Following very wet weather, we weren't surprised to find the site very quiet, so plenty of choice of hardstanding pitches. A few families on site but all well behaved.

For us it is a great location for cycling up into the hills on quiet (but steep) lanes, giving excellent views for miles around.

The facilities are still adequate and nothing to complain of.

Fine for a nice relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 694 reviews from this member

 Agree with previous reviews - a gem of a site. Really well kept, good sized pitches, lovely area and excellent wardens.

The only downside would be walks from the campsite, as previously mentioned the walking is on lanes, one quiet stretch for 10 - 15 minute loop from camp - the rest are quite busy narrow lanes with fast traffic.

The site is a fair way out from the coast, probably 20-30 minute drive so if you want to look around the area its driving or cycling. For a quiet weekend its the perfect site.

With 45 pitches we were surprised that only 8 units on site when we stayed - the price had gone up to 25. 10 that night ready for Easter the following weekend - sad too see such a lovely site nearly empty but would think price and location don't really work for many.

We reduced a planned stay of 3 nights to 1 night due to price, plenty of commercial sites in area offering 20 for similar facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

 A clean well kept site, just what you expect from a Caravan Club Site. But it's a little bit sterile and out of the way. Walking on the lanes is dangerous, there are no dog walking areas and children are not catered for.

If you are an couple without children wanting peace and isolation then probably a good site. Not good for Motorhomes due to the narrow lanes and difficulty parking in the local towns.

There are no facilities within walking distance. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 Can only concur with the previous review describing this site as a gem.

Wonderful location in beautiful countryside, yet close to the coastal attractions of the area.

It's a really quiet site, made more so for our visit during a 3 day 'window' in the weather.

The recent heavy rains had meant the closure of the grass pitches, which suited us fine, as it meant even better views of the glorious sunsets.

The wardens were friendly and although we'd arrived early, the lady interrupted her cleaning duties to book us in. And talking of cleaning, the place was absolutely spotless.

There was a tiny hiccup one morning when the water heater had broken down, but this was attended to with impressive speed.

We cycled 70 miles during our 3 day stay, but be warned about following the locally signed routes -

It's mighty hilly round these parts! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil and lena 51 reviews from this member

 This is an absolute gem of site if you want perfect peace, its situated not far from the coast but on a very quiet lane just of the main A487 Cardigan to Aberystwyth trunk road.

The nearest village with a shop and pub is Llanarth

And the nearest supermarket is in Aberaeron some 6 miles from site.

There is a new Shower / Toilet block which is resembles a log cabin and has lovely warm showers and the whole site is kept to a very high standard which is a credit to the C. C wardens who worked tirelessly to maintain the flower beds and keep the grass well trimmed.

The reception also sells basics such as milk, bread, eggs, cold drinks, and crisps and sweets for the kids and there is good information hut.

TV is also surprisingly good with all freeview channels easily received considering the site is surrounded by tree's.

We really enjoyed this site and will definitely return in 2012 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Moggssue 25 reviews from this member

 We arrived 'on spec' whilst on a touring holiday of this part of the welsh coast. The owners couldn't have been nicer, showing us the few empty pitches they had and allowing us to chose between them. They also went out of their way to show us a fantastic walk, through the fields down to the coast and then along to New Quay.

On the way we saw lots of dolphins and various types of birds and had a fantastic walk. A friendly word of warning though, this type of walk isn't for those with limited fitness and at times you find yourself on a bit of a cliff edge so I'd be wary with children.

There are some good eatiers in New Quay and a friendly, reasonably priced, taxi service back to the site.

The facilities were all you would expect from a CC site, and more, very clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maryann h 7 reviews from this member

 This camp site is brilliant and kept immaculate with really good toilets and showers. As a family with 2 kids (ages 7 & 12) we mainly used this site as a base to explore the area.

There is loads to do we visited the towns of cardigan, aberystwyth new quay and aberernon for supermarkets they are mostly costcutters aberywtwyth has morrisons and co-op and cardigan has tesco.

For attractions we visited chocolate farm(visit early to make most of visit), silver lead mine (we loved here 20 for family of 4) fantasy farm park(fun as you get to feed lambs which is a great experience a wee bit pricey compared to others 30 for family of 4 but still have to pay for other things if you want to do them).

Had a day out at swansea where we went to waterpark and kids paid to do surfing which they said was brilliant the woman instructor was fab. Made a day of it here as we also seen the indoor market / quadrant shopping centre and then went to cinema as both these things are right across the road from waterpark.

We went out twice in the boat at new quay once on the 2 hour dolphin spotting one where we seen 2 dolphins jump out of the water in sequence and the second on the dolphin survey boat where we were really close to the dolphins both boats were absolutely brilliant.

Kids also crab fished at new quay with the cheap crab line and bucket and raw bacon and caught 5 crabs and 3 fish before putting them back. Also went to poppit beach couple of times which is a great beach. Both new quay and aberystywth(on pier) have amusements and 2p machines for kids Also did the venecular railway at aberystywth and the steam train that takes you to devils bridge.

All in all really great area made perfect by a really great camp site have given it overall 10/10 but given child friendliness 8/10 because we didn't really play here but its not a site for ball games etc there is a small play area on the site but as previously said we don't use the sites like that anyway so wasn't an issue for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Randam1 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! such beautiful flowers.

We booked this site at short notice, via the caravan club, but online it was fully booked, so I thought I'd give the wardens a call. Yes they'd had a cancellation and they could fit us in. Wonderful a weekend of walking ahead!

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and were met by two of the friendliest wardens we have ever met. We had a choice of pitches. And chose the hard standing.

I bough an OS map at the on site shop and managed to avoid buying cakes. But bucked at the sight of ice cream!

Once set up we explored the site. A smaller site than we have visited before, but everything was there.

The shower block was just lovely. 4 showers newly refurbished each with a plastic stool, so you could sit down in the shower if you wanted!

Fully heated with hairdryers free to use.

The road around the site is fully tarmacked, and I noticed other caravanners using bicycles and motorised scooters with ease. A

There is a lovely circular walk that can be taken just around the picturesque village of Oakford. Just long enough to walk off a meal. Or give the dog an outing. Relatively flat too.

We found the site perfectly located for a good trek to the coastal path. ( about an hour on foot) and walked along the coastal path to New Quay. A fair number of Geocaches in the area too. If you are a keen treasure hunter!

We undertook a Dylan Thomas themed trail. Finding that we were too tired to walk all the way back we took a taxi back to the site which was about 10 miles away. Which only cost us 8 on a Sunday!. Very reasonable. With the local taxi driver knowing exactly where the site was. Just as well we couldn't have directed him!

The next day we walked down through the woods following the river to Aberaeron. ( about 5 mlies). After mooching around the town. We took the bus back this time. Again the bus driver was very helpful and knew exactly where to drop us off for a short 1. 5mile trek back to the site.

We told the wardens all about our adventures. And despite probably hearing our stories many times before from other caravanners seemed genuinely interested and were sooo very lovely.

We really loved this site and will go back, and will recommend it to everyone! 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shawsmead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanarth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement