Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Callander Woods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Callander > Callander Woods Holiday Park Reviews

Callander Woods Holiday Park
Stirling Road
Callander
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK17 8LE
Tel: 01250 878123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: William scott 18 reviews from this member

A well run site set in quiet woodland setting

Site well run and laid out

Toilets were well kept by hard working staff

Drinking water and drains at you pitch good dog walk at bottom of site

Small fenced off children play area sand pit swings ect

Town centre not far from site well stocked cooperative store with small car park at rear of shop large car park at bottom of town with good walks around river side plenty summer seats for rest and relaxation and to eat your home made pies from the butcher top class

Plenty for the walker and cyclist around the area famous for the old Royalty they say

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gadgie1 8 reviews from this member

The old reviews are clearly out of date.

The WC/shower facilities have recently been refurbished to a superb standard and kept very well maintained.

The site is wonderfully maintained and location is excellent. We liked being apart from the statics and having lots of space.

We do not give ratings for being child friendly.

We will definitely be returning soon !
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: R Abbitt 8 reviews from this member

A nicely laid-out site with good views and lots of space and mature trees. However, in October, the toilet and shower block was extremely cold, with woefully inadequate heating.

This wasn't helped by there not being a proper closing door for the block as a whole, meaning that cold winds blew through its central corridor. Ok, it's October, it's end of the season, but if a site is still open, the facilities should be warm enough to be useable.

I would give it a high rating in summer, when this wouldn't matter so much, but as we visited in October, my rating is lower.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lydia H 1 review from this member

A lovely site, very well maintained, excellent showers and toilet facilities and a handy dog walking area. Good play area for children too. The lady on reception was very helpful.

An easy 10-15 minute walk into Callander. Definitely a recommended site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1Bob 1 review from this member

A beautiful, quiet and well maintained site situated 1mile from the delightful town of Callander. Plenty of hard standing pitches which we were allowed to choose where we wanted to go. The shower block was was spotlessly clean and staff very helpful.

A recommendation would be to go on a boat trip on Loch Katrine, the scenery is wonderful. Callander is a lovely town to spend an afternoon whether shopping, having a meal, a drink in a pub or a picnic by the lake in the park.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

As with all of my previous reviews, I will write this from the view of a full time carer for my wheelchair dependent husband.

This is a site we visited many years ago, in the days when MS had not done it's deed with my husband's mobility, so it was interesting to visit again, in a different situation. My first question, on registering was: 'Are there disabled facilities?' The reply was; 'There is a loo but only a tiny handbasin' - those the size of a postage stamp and totally useless to people who have problems with hand movements. The cubicle itself is far too small anyway for a wheelchair/occupant + carer. Also a drop down baby changing mat is in there - do mothers REALLY want to change their little darlings in a poky little cubicle when they have their own 'little home' on site?

The lady who checked me in was understanding towards my annoyance regarding lack of shower for disabled visitors, through personal experience of her own, and offered to make a sign for us so we could temporarily close the ladies' shower block as there are two hand held showers in there. And plenty floor space for a 'chair. We took her up on her offer. The site itself is very well maintained and all pitches are self serviced - I love having a tap and waste water disposal, right outside of our 'van door! Unfortunately some pitches are hardstanding, surfaced with the dreaded gravel, so we opted for grass. Now I learnt that the site had had problems with drainage and we realised, very quickly, that our pitch was becoming waterlogged, after a bout of heavy rain.

We chose to 'shower' my husband, in the afternoon, when the site was quiet. The ladies' shower room would be ideal as a wetroom. Certainly there are showers in there and also a big sink, doubling as a babies bath - all fine, but why is there another handbasin, purely for washing hair in?! What a waste of space!

Callander is only a mile away and a footpath passes by the site, straight into the town. No problem getting there, if you like walking and pushing a 'chair. The town offers various coffee shops - some wheelchair friendly, others not but we found a nice little place with tables and chairs outside. Some shops have steps so don't expect to get a 'chair into every establishment. On the whole we liked this site and would certainly return but PLEASE, would the owners cash in on the wasted space in that shower block and give disabled people the chance to have a proper shower!

PS: We did get off our pitch, with very little problem but it was still very waterlogged, even after a couple of days sunshine.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glenpat32 4 reviews from this member

This is a spacious site, only an hour's tow from Glasgow, and has good facilities and a great children's playpark. The site roads are great for kids on bicycles and there is a small wooded area for dog walking off lead. Toilets and showers are clean and well tended. We were told that we had to put our nosewheel on a 3' x 6' long red marker when we arrived - not sure why that is as the pitches are positively spacious ( and It is probably easier to land a F15 hornet on an aircraft carrier) however we did our best, missed it by 5 inches, and nobody complained - other caravans were equally questionably parked.

While we love the premium pitches for grey waste and water connections, once pitched we were so far away from the grey waste drain ( with no gradient) that we just ended up using out wastemaster. The site is full of mature trees - we made the mistake of choosing a pitch under one of them which ( in autumn) meant that there was a constant click, click, click of buds and leaves hitting the caravan roof throughout the evening.

The site has excellent coverage wifi at a reasonable price but we found it awkward to use with our ipad. Tv reception is good, but make sure you're pointing towards Stirling ( fewer channels) than west (100's of channels). The latter had the stronger signal but for some reason kept pixellating. The former ( signal strength was 'poor' on our antennae) gave near perfect reception, although fewer channels. I'm no tv expert and not sure why that would be! The site shop is spacious but they don't carry provisions of any kind ( other than ice cream) - there is however a filling station and Spar shop just a few minutes walk along the main road.

There's free fishing on the river Teith at one end of the site however the water levels were low during our stay and only fly fishing would have been possible ( watch our for overhead power lines). We were pitched at the east side of the site, backing on to a road outside the site boundary that we think went to some farms - there were a number of noisy, very fast, motorbikes ( without silencers) breaking the tranquillity along this and other roads in the vicinity.

Callander is a delightful town approximately 20mins brisk stroll to the west. We took our dogs on a really lovely, easy, flat walk to the impressive Bracklin falls.

All in all a really pleasant long weekend stay, we were most impressed with the spacious, fully serviced, pitches and the mature grounds with well kept grass and good site roads. On our leaving day we had the option of paying £2. 50 or £5. 00 more to stay until either 3pm or 5pm respectively. We feel the site would benefit from a site shop with some basic provisions and we thought our stay was reasonably expensive but we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisp86 4 reviews from this member

Well, a not good start to this one I am afraid. If you have any kind of VW transporter / caravelle / other van based camper please, read on.

We arrived late on on a Friday evening to book a pitch, and were told 'You can't stay here your camper is not factory built'. (We have a very tidy VW T4 that was professionally converted) 'We are not insured to accept them'

Following a discussion about insurance, and build specification we were (begrudgingly) allowed onto the site. - With hindsight having found out there was another campsite only a few miles down the road I probably would have taken my money elsewhere.

The site itself is nice and quiet, with a mixture of hardstanding and grass pitches, some of which will take a bit of effort to get your van level. The toilets and showerblock were clean and pleasant, unfortunately the washing up facilities were pretty mucky and covered in cobwebs.

The site is very child friendly and well located for exploring, however the experience on arrival left a bad taste in the mouth.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave-29 1 review from this member

First up, I am new to the caravanning scene. A relative decided to buy a van and has given us use of it when not in use, so with a young family2+4 decided to take up the offer.

This was our first ever trip and had checked various sites online decided on the Gart for a 2 night stay to see if it suited us.

We booked up over the phone and were told we could check in at 2pm, we arrived about 12. 30(early I know), but checked in at reception with no problems. We were booked in for a hard standing pitch, after speaking to the lady at reception, and telling her that this was indeed our first trip, she gave us a map of the site, highlighted the hard standing pitches, and offered help if we had any problems setting up. (which we didn't need to take up).

Now for the site itself.

Absolutely immaculate grounds, shower block, toilets and sink area were spotless. Kids play park was very tidy and undercover which was a godsend when it started raining.

Free fishing available on the river at the back of the site is also a major plus point(unfortunately due to constant pouring rain we were unable to enjoy this pleasure). The wardens were round daily emptying the numerous bins located round the site. There is a designated dog walk, which we didn't use, but seen on a walk round the site.

There is plenty of shops and places to eat within a 5 min drive or 20 min walk(depending on age and mobility).

All in all, we as a family loved our time here and would definitely recommend it. Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet and peaceful site. This would be an ideal base for fishermen, hill walkers and sightseers alike. We will certainly be back as we have caught the bug.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldoscott 19 reviews from this member

This was our first caravan trip, so we chose this park due to the location.

It is a lovely site with nice clean facilities.

The check in process was quick and easy and the site is well laid out.

There is a nice dog walking area and a great place for keen fishermen.

There was plenty room in each pitch.

My only complaint was that the shower block was really cold but to be fair the weather was unusually cold for the time of year.

We would highly recommend this site and we will go back.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019