Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Callander Woods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Callander > Callander Woods Holiday Park Reviews

Callander Woods Holiday Park
Stirling Road
Callander
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK17 8LE
Tel: 01250 878123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: 1st March - 5th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: S Risk 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. The park itself is kept beautiful.

The toilet block is spotless. The staff are lovely and the pitches are very reasonably priced.

It's a pleasant 30 minutes walk into town where there are numerous shops, pubs ( most of which are dog friendly) and lots of good food to be had.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gambolia 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived around 2 o'clock and were directed to a fully serviced plot. Loads of room for the van which is a 6 berth motor home.

The toilet block is really good and couldn't fault it. The shop although very clean and tidy didn't stock much other than tins of soup and dog food. Later found out it is the first year they were open all the year round so they weren't sure how it would go.

The town is only a mile away so easily walkable. Some tent pitches with more to come EHU available. Ground is fairly flat and we will be going back.

Also had an undercover play park. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Euro330 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, well maintained and clean modern shower/toilet blocks.

Callander is a short walk away or alternatively a regular bus service stops right at the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martyn Storer 1 review from this member

 Choice of grass or hardstanding, very open aspect, lots of grassy spaces. One side of site gets sun well into evening.

Very friendly welcome from office staff.

Facilities were modern and spotless-our only grumble was the push button shower-cutting out so quickly.

20 minute walk into Callander, nice town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: William scott 21 reviews from this member

 A well run site set in quiet woodland setting

Site well run and laid out

Toilets were well kept by hard working staff

Drinking water and drains at you pitch good dog walk at bottom of site

Small fenced off children play area sand pit swings ect

Town centre not far from site well stocked cooperative store with small car park at rear of shop large car park at bottom of town with good walks around river side plenty summer seats for rest and relaxation and to eat your home made pies from the butcher top class

Plenty for the walker and cyclist around the area famous for the old Royalty they say 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaspermel 1 review from this member

 Weíve stayed at this site for several years but this visit was our last.

I was aware last year the new owners had a pitch allocation policy so you can no longer chose any empty pitch to suit you. So when booking this year I specifically requested we be pitched in a certain area of the site which we know to be generally quieter and away from the childrenís playing area, as we have a dog who hates cycles and tends to bark at them. Our request was completely ignored and we were placed facing the main play area, even though there were empty pitches all over.

The entry system had changed which was not explained to us and the key fob wouldnít let us through the gate we were facing. I went back to reception as I thought our key fob wasnít working, And found the receptionistís attitude dismissive at best.

When arriving after a 7 hour drive and in pouring rain, I was hoping for a friendlier reception than the one we received.

The site was noisy until well past 11 at night, partly due to a large group of campers in tents with an event shelter up between them nearby (the site never accepted tents before).

Extra water taps close to the pitches had all been removed or were being used by people as a continuous feed who clearly didnít want to pay the extra for a proper super pitch, and so had all the waste bins which used to be across the site. The bin compound at the entrance was a mess with glass bottles all over the ground and no clear recycling facilities.

On leaving I was asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I advised the noise at night had tarnished our experience and was told I should have come to find the warden at the time - sorry but at gone 11pm when Iím in my pyjamas Iím not about to head out and get the warden, surely they should be checking on these things themselves?

Obviously the new owners have new ideas, but we much preferred this site how it used to be. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gadgie1 8 reviews from this member

 The old reviews are clearly out of date.

The WC/shower facilities have recently been refurbished to a superb standard and kept very well maintained.

The site is wonderfully maintained and location is excellent. We liked being apart from the statics and having lots of space.

We do not give ratings for being child friendly.

We will definitely be returning soon ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R Abbitt 8 reviews from this member

 A nicely laid-out site with good views and lots of space and mature trees. However, in October, the toilet and shower block was extremely cold, with woefully inadequate heating.

This wasn't helped by there not being a proper closing door for the block as a whole, meaning that cold winds blew through its central corridor. Ok, it's October, it's end of the season, but if a site is still open, the facilities should be warm enough to be useable.

I would give it a high rating in summer, when this wouldn't matter so much, but as we visited in October, my rating is lower. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lydia H 1 review from this member

 A lovely site, very well maintained, excellent showers and toilet facilities and a handy dog walking area. Good play area for children too. The lady on reception was very helpful.

An easy 10-15 minute walk into Callander. Definitely a recommended site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 1Bob 1 review from this member

 A beautiful, quiet and well maintained site situated 1mile from the delightful town of Callander. Plenty of hard standing pitches which we were allowed to choose where we wanted to go. The shower block was was spotlessly clean and staff very helpful.

A recommendation would be to go on a boat trip on Loch Katrine, the scenery is wonderful. Callander is a lovely town to spend an afternoon whether shopping, having a meal, a drink in a pub or a picnic by the lake in the park. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Callander Woods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Callander Woods Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Callander Woods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Callander      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement