Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendwr Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Hendwr Caravan Park Reviews

Hendwr Caravan Park
Tyddyn Hendwr
Llandrillo
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 0SN
Tel: 01490 440210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luby lou 40 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site but be prepared to bend a few tent pegs as site by river very stony.

Campsite kept very clean with very hot water in shower and toilets.

Shop open 9-10 in the morning and 5-6 in the evening. Ice packs frozen for you at reception.

River runs through the tent fields with safe paddling for children.

Very nice area with lots to see and do. Don't miss Chirk Castle and Rug Chapel both outstanding sites.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jinxster 2 reviews from this member

This is an honest and frank review. We stayed for 6nights.

Plus points

Good location

Lovely child friendly (very shallow) stream running through site

On site shop

Reasonably priced (we had an electric hook up)

Friendly and helpful owners

Each tent pitch had own water tap

Negatives

The shower blocks were not always cleaned on a daily basis - recommend gents take own toilet roll and wear shower shoes eg flip flops or crocs

Not much room between tents - we could hear the man in the next tent snoring!

Parking is limited on the tent pitches, a static caravan for sale takes up a lot of space right next to the tent field.

Owners of static caravans were unfriendly - it was obvious they don't want tent pitches on the site

Children from tourers and static vans were left unsupervised around the site with one child urinating in the stream and others playing on the roadway with total disregard for cars

Tent pitches were quite gravelly - my partner bent several pegs when trying to peg our guy ropes in.

Corwen only has one food shop and it is quite expensive for the basic essentials. The nearest supermarket is in Ruthin 20 ish miles away.

There doesn't seem to be any rules, e. G. A camper was playing quite loud music late into the night - not an issue for us but for those with children it might be.

Midges and insects - take insect repellent, I was bitten to pieces!

Oh and the crows waking you up at 5. 30am was a pain, but earplugs bought in b and m in Ruthin sorted it out!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Polly_1 2 reviews from this member

£15 per night + £3 for electric hook up and £5 per stay for Wifi this site is a Lovely relaxing site with a long tree lined drive up to it with free range roaming sheep to the drive. The site has a little shop for all your necessities and treats and the owners are very pleasant. We spent 2 nights here end of June 2013, their is only 1 small camping field as the rest of the site is mainly static caravans. Electric hookup and your own water tap for each plot. The camping field is next to the River Dee which is like a small running Brook or stream. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of running water and the dawn chorus. This is a site that is for people who want a quiet relaxing no frills break, not much for the family to do but we went for the relaxing break and the scenery, the scenery is amazing.

The only down side we could find was the pitching field itself. The field appears to be built on a gravel base underneath the initial turf which made it extremely difficult to get tent pegs in more than a couple of inches to be honest, we spent ages fishing each peg around to get it in the ground, which if the weathers nice wouldn't be too bad but if the weathers not so great and you want to get your tent up quickly in the wind and rain then this proves very off putting. Hence on the Sunday of us leaving we had to pack up our tent a lot earlier than planned as the very windy night had dislodged most of our tent pegs and our tent was collapsing in the wind. It usually takes us approx 30 mins to put our tent up but due to the gravel type base it took us well over an hour, But if the weathers nice and your prepared to persevere with the very poor ground base then this is a little gem of a relaxing site.

I have given this site 8/10 for ground base problems when pitching only all other aspects were very nice.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michellerbrts 2 reviews from this member

Booked this site last minute with my family, easy to find, but once on site there was no sign for reception and we ended up in a field at the bottom and had to turn around with a caravan! Which we found we were not the only people to do this! There are no children's facilities here but there is a stream that runs through that the kids enjoyed as you could catch fish. The toilet block leaved a lot to be desired, trickles of water from the showers, difficult to control the temperature. The staff were great. If your a dog lover this is the place for you, I unfortunately am not. The pitch was a good size. There are a lot of caravans that must stay there all year round, that are rather old, dirty and the grass is overgrown all around them, which makes it look untidy! I feel this camp site may have its priorities wrong! This campsite has the potential to be a gold mine, it's set in the most beautiful location, but just doesn't hit the spot

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billymuffin48 1 review from this member

Nice friendly welcome when we arrived, escorted to our pitch by lovely man, wow what a pitch right next to beautiful shallow stream approx 10ft wide, fresh water available next to pitch, the site is beautiful with lovely views, showers blocks are fine, yes I've had better but these were great, plenty hot water, clean, and always available never a q even in the half term break which to me is peak time, Bala with its Great Lake, steam train, pubs, fresh bakery, sailing, take always, and so much more only 8 miles away. This to me was a gem of a site, with small children it felt very safe and they were kept busy with the large open areas to play, I have read other reviews but would say when camping you are out in the country and you need to remember this, I loved this place with the wonderful sound of the water passing by.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saxonheidi 1 review from this member

Don't normally comment on the www unless something or someone is exceptional good or bad. I stayed at Hendwr in Sept 2012 In a tent with my dog Saxon. It ticked all the boxes. The site has beautiful views and is at one with nature. Just imagine sitting in your tent with a view of the hills listening to a chatty wood pigeon while the stream flows gently past, then later on listening to the owls. (Just one bit of advice if pitched in a tent near the stream be prepared for a couple of visits in the night to the fab loo's. )

The shower blocks are excellent. They have a heater in to warm the block up while you shower and the water soooo hot Yeh. Just perfect for the wet, damp summer we've had. Every where was clean and well kept. The previous person mentioning about the water tasting bad, I never found that at all nor did I smell anything in the toilet block. But fair do's if it was the week after it might have something to do with the rain. I also felt safe which is very important travelling on my own.

They have a good little shop with everything you would need plus a lot of information for places to visit the time open was a bit short but I'm sure if you needed anything they would come up for it. Saxon would like to Thankyou for all the attention he got and made so welcome which really meant a lot to me When you arrive you say hello to the camp staff but when you leave you say goodbye to friends. A must visit at least once for total escapism.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fernman 18 reviews from this member

While there is no doubting the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, and the general cleanliness of the site, there are a few reasons why Hendwr would not be my first choice again in the general area.

As can be seen from their website it is mainly a large mobile homes park (I hope that's the right word, they are like static caravans but much larger).

The campsite area is a long strip down one side of the above, separated from it by a stream. Short stay tourers and motorhomes have a choice of numbered pitches along the stream bank, where there is a view of mobile homes along the far bank while seasonal tourers are cheek by jowl in an unbroken line all the way along the outer side. Very few of these were occupied during my stay. So it's not the most picturesque spot in my opinion.

Further down the site there is a tapering field with pitches for tents, and here the view is more attractive, if you ignore an initial bank of solar panels to one side, but it is quite open with no shelter from winds.

While there was no additional charge for the showers, which were excellent with adjustable temperature and non-fixed heads, there was a strong chemical smell in the second toilet block (I didn't get to use the main one) that I found quite offputting, and it was the same in the dishwashing room in the same building.

Hopefully not down to the owners' but the drinking water from the taps on the site tasted absolutely foul, it was the most strongly treated water I have ever encountered.

Finally, the entrance to the site is right on a bend on the B4401, resulting in an extremely limited view of anything coming as you pull out, particularly from the right. Fortunately the road is far from busy.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveyMole 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a couple of days camping at Hendwr. I must admit I was slightly put off by the previous reviews regarding the showers and toilets, but was delighted to find that they have been recently refurbished.

The results are good: two blocks with new floors, sinks, toilets and showers. The one nearest the camping area was clean and the showers were powerful, each within its own changing cubicle with a mirror etc.

The camping area was in a great position, next to a stream, just a field away from the river.

The whole site looked good for dogs (I didn't have mine with me): there's an additional large field where most people exercised theirs.

nly downpoint was the very limited shop opening hours, but that wasn't really an issue for me.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1st upton scouts 1 review from this member

Another great stay, the scouts love it here they keep wanting to go back. They really enjoy the stream and the access to the river is good, we did a lot of Kayaking.

We stay on the field as we have a large group. The scouts can set up footie and other large games without having to worry.

We like the showers lovely hot water, much better than tha makeshift ones under the tree.

John and Debbie always help us with any thing we need they are very friendly and accommodating especially with the tuck shop.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site is midway between the villages of Cynwyd and Llandrillo. There is a long lane down between the trees which opens out at reception.

A large well kept static park one side and separate touring and camping fields. On the touring field there are approx 20-25 seasonal vans and plenty of room for a further 10-15 tourers. Only 3 hardstandings and the ground is fairly boggy.

Sadly agree with previous comments the showers / toilets are very poor. There are 3 blocks, all old but its the cleanliness aspect. Although we saw the cleaners go in - its didn't look much different after.

In the toilet cubicles the floor is mopped in the centre and 3-4 weeks of grime and cobwebs remains round the edges. The showers ran cold and the lack of soap in toilets is really something they could address in minutes.

Having said all this the owners were lovely people, very friendly and helpful.

It would appear they work on a take it as you find it basis which is a shame as with a bit of cleaning this could be an excellent site. At £18 per night they need to make this better value for money.

On a positive note the owner recommended we ate in the Berwyn restaurant in Llandrillo - absolutely superb food, serve and atmosphere would really recommend.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019