Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
London Road
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 9QY
Tel: 0843 3092804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 15th February - 15th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 12 Reviews
                6/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonboy30 2 reviews from this member

On arrival was given site map and told where to go with a map and info pack, and told to pitch up where you like, which was hard to navigate through all the trade vans that filled up the touring park. , pitch was hard standing with an ok section for awning, close hook up and water points. Security seemed to let people and caravans on and off during early hours which is a bit strange, so disturbing us all. Only one toilet block which was the worst I have seen, very dirty with leaking toilets, we complained about them and nothing really happened. The showers were impossible to use, couldn't really get in the cubicle and the showers just sprayed over the top. The pool and kids park were great for the kids, which really helped, the food in the restaurant was a bit of a joke a lot of money for nothing, the staff in the bar was friendly and helpful.

This could be a lovely site, but unfortunately I won't be visiting again and would think twice about using park resorts if this is anything to go by.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wobbler24 6 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here while visiting family in the area and we were very disappointed with the facilities on this site. The welcome from staff was quick and we were given a park map and brochure with information on it. There is major construction work undergoing which we were not informed of either at time of booking or arrival. The toilet/shower block has to be the worse I have ever been subjected to. The toilets were not very clean and the shower cubicles were so small it was hard to get into it. The shower heads also sprayed the water everywhere but in the right direction. In order to avoid this we tried to go for a swim to use the showers in that area. The pool closed at 4. 45pm (despite it being high season!) so we missed it the first night. The next day we tried again. Sadly the showers in that area were very poor and the lockers did not work. Staff advised that as they are rented lockers they could not help me. The bins were continually overflowing and when they did get emptied they left some of the rubbish bags at the side of them. The site is not very near the front but there is a local bus stop at the entrance to the park. There is also a large supermarket about 5 minutes walk which is open 24hours.

Not a site I would return to or recommend to anyone to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokes11 13 reviews from this member

Your typical park resort site loads to do, good size indoor/outdoor pool with huge slide, good size park for the kids bar/show bar is a good size with a large amusement centre attached on the side, a good size shop on site but not the cheapest but nobody would be surprised there. !There's a huge tescos opposite for the bigger stuff, don't expect to walk into town or the beach from here as its a good 5-10 mins in a car, all in all a good site. UNTIL the poor second class tourers nicely laid out but nobody to show you to you pitch no wardens and the smallest showers I've ever seen, not to be too crude but in the mens two toilets, one broken the whole stay and never looked at leaving one, one toilet for 50 odd pitches, disgusting I thought, it seems to me that whist being a good site they don't want tourers there at all and it shows. Sorry park resorts but this was awful. And us along with other people in touring caravans wont be returning. !

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ch1ll1s 3 reviews from this member

Very good site, read some mixed reviews on here, but heres mine, all touring pitches are hard standing ( not very level ), toilets and showers were a good standard, good park shop had everything I needed. Restaurant was fine food ok ( standard for big sites ), swimming pool was cold in the mornings but warmed up later on, play ground was good ( had a very good slide, I had too make sure it was safe ! ), club house was ok, music level was not too loud, and finished early to my surprise, so no boom boom boom when trying to sleep, all pitches had electric, out water tap didn't work but only had to go 10yards, will use again

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barbie Girl 10 reviews from this member

We stayed for a short Halloween break. The site was clean with hard standing for the caravan and grass for the awning. Water tap seemed to be for 2 pitches so very close. The grey waste disposal appeared to be in the same place as the chemical toilet emptying point. Well I couldn't find anywhere else. This meant you had to lift the waste water high to empty it. This was very difficult. The showers were clean however not many showers 3 male and 3 female, my OH tells me 1 of the showers in the gents had no door between shower and lobby so towels got wet, also lock on 1 toilet missing and several times toilets not flushed by previous person (both male and female toilet) not the staffs fault and Unfortunately something I have encountered more in recent times. Plenty of hot water in shower however cubicles were ridiculously tiny with hardly any room to move our dry yourself after. Good size shop on site but massive tesco on the doorstep. All staff we met were very pleasant and friendly. Food was nice and not over expensive but drinks in the bar as per the norm were expensive. Nice indoor pool, entertainment seemed popular. Clacton sea front close by and nice pier and beach for sunny days.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

We stayed at Highfield Grange in our touring caravan from the 17th May for 4 night`s, we only paid £38 for the whole stay which was very cheap.

The touring pitcher are all hard standing and laid out well,

Each electric hook up supports 4 sockets as well as a water tape, so you donít need to travel far for your water.

To empty your waste water, which is in the toilet block you have to lift your container up to empty it, it would be easier if there was a ramp to wheel your waste container to empty it.

The shower and toilet block is port-a-cabin type, and could do with refurbishing. But was functional, with plenty of hot water

The shower cubicles are the smallest I have come across, with very little space to move around in.

The club was a good size, and there were plenty of seats but in school holiday I imagine it would get packed.

The swimming pool looked nice though we never went in the water.

We did eat in the bar once, One afternoon I had a Shepardís pie (£5-50) I thought my meal was small, my wife had fish and chips (£7-00) the size of her dinner was a good size.

In the week they do 2 meals for £10, £11, and £12.

The site is around a 5 minute drive from Clacton town/sea front

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Tom85 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in one of the static caravans - Treetops 11 - a 'bronze' caravan.

The resort is really good. The play area was in good order and has plenty of equipment. The swimming pools are quite basic, but nice enough. The clubhouse is great, and the evening entertainment was enjoyed by all of us, with something for all age groups. If I have one criticism, the drinks are expensive.

The caravan itself was average. It was warm and dry, but unfortunately very clean. We did complain about the cleanliness of the van, and somebody came over and did their best, but it was still a bit grotty. Had we stayed for more than a weekend we would have asked to be moved. Our van was a bronze one, maybe the more expensive vans are a better standard.

Clacton itself is a great day out for the little ones, and doesn't feel like a tired seaside resort!

The site is a 5 minute walk from a Tesco supermarket, but you will need to drive to the beach (about 10 minutes).

Overall we liked the resort, and will probably visit again, but in our tourer this time rather than in the static!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paullong 29 reviews from this member

Definitely a site we wonít be using again. Awful toilets with excrement around the cubicles every day and never cleaned up. Toilet paper all over the place and never cleaned up. Tourers were definitely seen as 2nd class or even 3rd class compared with their main business of trying to sell statics to people. The club house was over-packed with no spare seating areas unless you turn up at 5pm and the entertainment wasnít even worth going to see. As far as the area goes Ė itís stuck in a time warp and needs some major development. The only positive was the air show at Clacton that we hadnít expected and had the pleasant surprise of being able to watch.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clorryb 5 reviews from this member

All pitches Hard standing with a grass area for awning. Pitches are a good size. The toilets need updating and need cleaning more regularly.

Entertainment is brilliant and kids (and adults) will enjoy.

Swimming pool was a bit cold for me and my kids but husband managed to get in!

Staff friendly but they could do with having a bit more common sense.

A very large supermarket is just across the road which is extremely handy. There is also a well known pizza and chicken fast food there too. If you are a family looking for a bit of fun and entertainment I would recommend Highfield but would also warn you about the toilets and showers.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AdrianCoe 5 reviews from this member

First I should say that we only paid £18 for 2 nights, admittedly out of season, but still very cheap. The park was also just about to close for the season so I guess you can expect things to be a bit 'worn'at this time of year. The pitches were hardstanding (concrete) for the caravan, mud where the awning would go and grass for the car. My wife reckoned the ladies toilet block was clean. The gents block however was in a bit of a state of disrepair. The gents consisted of 2 cubicles, three showers and a few urinals. In high season you might want to trek up to the clubhouse and use the facilities there. Only the indoor pool was open when we were there. There was a shallow kids pool and a slightly bigger general pool - neither were terribly big but you can sit right next to the pool and watch the kids if you don't want to swim yourself. There were 4 changing rooms and some lockers and there were 2 life guards on duty. The water in the pools was very cold - apparently they were having problems with the heating. The evening entertainment was the usual Park Resorts stuff, however the kids always seem to enjoy it no matter what. The electric for the entire middle bank of pitches went on the first night, which gave me a great chance to discover that everything in the caravan worked correctly off gas and 12V! To give the park credit, they got maintenance out within the hour, who in turn got an electrician out within another hour and the electric was fixed. The staff were all pleasant. The touring area appears to have a large number of seasonal vans.

I find that Walton is better for a day-trip than Clacton. The pier has the usual entertainment and there are some reasonable shops. We initially went to park in the large car-park/coach park at the northern end of Walton which would have cost us £5.50 for over 3 hours but then parked on the road on the seafront for free.

If you want a cheap stay near Clacton you could find worse than Highfield Grange.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019