Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
London Road
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 9QY
Tel: 0843 3092804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 15/02/2021 to 15/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JustineWheal 1 review from this member

 We came here for the 1st time as a family of 7 (2 adults 5 children aged 4- 10)

We paid an extra £130 for a caravan upgrade as I wanted a veranda with outdoor seating. I was also swayed by the washer/dryer. To be honest I wish I hadn't bothered. Yes it was nice having a washing machine but there is a laundrette on site. As for the veranda it was filthy. I had to clean the gate myself.

The veranda was so narrow that you couldn't open the doors and have the table and four chairs out and you definitely couldn't open the double doors with the small standard garden table and chairs set up. The caravan itself appeared ok on arrival, seemed clean enough. But considering they were supposed to up standards due to covid I wasn't impressed, I cleaned myself when we got there.

The table and four chairs inside were extremely wobbly and unsafe. The kitchen was well equipped but the scissors were rusty and disgusting with food particles inbetween the blades and the plastic handle, the cutlery had to be re washed, the fridge froze our ham and some other bits and the entire back had thick ice but hey least it was cold lol.

The park was full of gangs of 8-17 year olds kids throwing stones down the slide, not a parent insight. Empty beer bottles down the slide and not a nice place to be a lot of the time, we found early morning the best time to go.

The security was more worried about my children taking their bottles of water/juice to the family movie club than sorting other issues out. At the family cinema club there is meant to be popcorn sold but there wasn't any when I asked the man said they only sell icecream. Icecream was £3 a cone or a tiny bowl. My girls wanted to do pottery painting but it was full.

They did do mask making and enjoyed it, the two hosts running the club were very nice. We could only use the outdoor pool due to government restrictions but that was only in 45 min sessions and was only allowed one session per day, some people didn't get to swim as was booked up so guess we were lucky. My children loved the water slide, shame we couldn't go swimming more than 3 times.

The site is in a good location with a large tesco, KFC and pizza hut within 5 minute walk and there was a lovely country park opposite with picnic benches and and adventure trails to be found. Clacton beach was about a 10 min drive and greeted by beautiful sandy beaches, we spent 2 wonderful days at the seaside, weather was perfect. We had a nice time, just a shame about the chavs and teenage/kid gangs with no parents or security to sort them out, it ruined the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 This could be a very nice site, its clean has a nice clubhouse etc, bus stop outside entrance to clacton, tesco KFC etc 5 mins walk.

But the big let down was the fact that it was half full with travellers who are staying for months at a time and they are also parking their vehicles and vans on the vacant pitches, we had to drive round 3 times before we were able to find a suitable pitch.

The travellers are hanging their wet washing all over the fences and have used tent guy ropes which they have tied where ever they can to dry their washing.

We were not told this in the reception when we booked in, we were just told to find any pitch we liked.

A nice park ruined, so for that reason I would not return, in fact we left a day early. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jonboy30 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival was given site map and told where to go with a map and info pack, and told to pitch up where you like, which was hard to navigate through all the trade vans that filled up the touring park. ,

pitch was hard standing with an ok section for awning, close hook up and water points. Security seemed to let people and caravans on and off during early hours which is a bit strange, so disturbing us all.

Only one toilet block which was the worst I have seen, very dirty with leaking toilets, we complained about them and nothing really happened.

The showers were impossible to use, couldn't really get in the cubicle and the showers just sprayed over the top.

The pool and kids park were great for the kids, which really helped, the food in the restaurant was a bit of a joke a lot of money for nothing, the staff in the bar was friendly and helpful.

This could be a lovely site, but unfortunately I won't be visiting again and would think twice about using park resorts if this is anything to go by. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wobbler24 6 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here while visiting family in the area and we were very disappointed with the facilities on this site. The welcome from staff was quick and we were given a park map and brochure with information on it.

There is major construction work undergoing which we were not informed of either at time of booking or arrival. The toilet/shower block has to be the worse I have ever been subjected to.

The toilets were not very clean and the shower cubicles were so small it was hard to get into it. The shower heads also sprayed the water everywhere but in the right direction. In order to avoid this we tried to go for a swim to use the showers in that area.

The pool closed at 4. 45pm (despite it being high season!) so we missed it the first night. The next day we tried again. Sadly the showers in that area were very poor and the lockers did not work. Staff advised that as they are rented lockers they could not help me.

The bins were continually overflowing and when they did get emptied they left some of the rubbish bags at the side of them. The site is not very near the front but there is a local bus stop at the entrance to the park. There is also a large supermarket about 5 minutes walk which is open 24hours.

Not a site I would return to or recommend to anyone to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stokes11 15 reviews from this member

 Your typical park resort site loads to do, good size indoor/outdoor pool with huge slide, good size park for the kids bar/show bar is a good size with a large amusement centre attached on the side, a good size shop on site but not the cheapest but nobody would be surprised there. !

There's a huge tescos opposite for the bigger stuff, don't expect to walk into town or the beach from here as its a good 5-10 mins in a car, all in all a good site.

UNTIL the poor second class tourers nicely laid out but nobody to show you to you pitch no wardens and the smallest showers I've ever seen, not to be too crude but in the mens two toilets, one broken the whole stay and never looked at leaving one, one toilet for 50 odd pitches, disgusting I thought, it seems to me that whist being a good site they don't want tourers there at all and it shows.

Sorry park resorts but this was awful. And us along with other people in touring caravans wont be returning. ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ch1ll1s 3 reviews from this member

 Very good site, read some mixed reviews on here, but heres mine, all touring pitches are hard standing ( not very level ), toilets and showers were a good standard, good park shop had everything I needed.

Restaurant was fine food ok ( standard for big sites ), swimming pool was cold in the mornings but warmed up later on, play ground was good ( had a very good slide, I had too make sure it was safe ! ), club house was ok, music level was not too loud, and finished early to my surprise, so no boom boom boom when trying to sleep,

all pitches had electric, out water tap didn't work but only had to go 10yards, will use again 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbie Girl 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a short Halloween break. The site was clean with hard standing for the caravan and grass for the awning. Water tap seemed to be for 2 pitches so very close. The grey waste disposal appeared to be in the same place as the chemical toilet emptying point.

Well I couldn't find anywhere else. This meant you had to lift the waste water high to empty it. This was very difficult. The showers were clean however not many showers 3 male and 3 female, my OH tells me 1 of the showers in the gents had no door between shower and lobby so towels got wet, also lock on 1 toilet missing and several times toilets not flushed by previous person (both male and female toilet) not the staffs fault and Unfortunately something I have encountered more in recent times.

Plenty of hot water in shower however cubicles were ridiculously tiny with hardly any room to move our dry yourself after. Good size shop on site but massive tesco on the doorstep.

All staff we met were very pleasant and friendly. Food was nice and not over expensive but drinks in the bar as per the norm were expensive. Nice indoor pool, entertainment seemed popular.

Clacton sea front close by and nice pier and beach for sunny days. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Highfield Grange in our touring caravan from the 17th May for 4 night`s, we only paid £38 for the whole stay which was very cheap.

The touring pitcher are all hard standing and laid out well,

Each electric hook up supports 4 sockets as well as a water tape, so you donít need to travel far for your water.

To empty your waste water, which is in the toilet block you have to lift your container up to empty it, it would be easier if there was a ramp to wheel your waste container to empty it.

The shower and toilet block is port-a-cabin type, and could do with refurbishing. But was functional, with plenty of hot water

The shower cubicles are the smallest I have come across, with very little space to move around in.

The club was a good size, and there were plenty of seats but in school holiday I imagine it would get packed.

The swimming pool looked nice though we never went in the water.

We did eat in the bar once, One afternoon I had a Shepardís pie (£5-50) I thought my meal was small, my wife had fish and chips (£7-00) the size of her dinner was a good size.

In the week they do 2 meals for £10, £11, and £12.

The site is around a 5 minute drive from Clacton town/sea front 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tom85 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in one of the static caravans - Treetops 11 - a 'bronze' caravan.

The resort is really good. The play area was in good order and has plenty of equipment. The swimming pools are quite basic, but nice enough. The clubhouse is great, and the evening entertainment was enjoyed by all of us, with something for all age groups. If I have one criticism, the drinks are expensive.

The caravan itself was average. It was warm and dry, but unfortunately very clean. We did complain about the cleanliness of the van, and somebody came over and did their best, but it was still a bit grotty. Had we stayed for more than a weekend we would have asked to be moved. Our van was a bronze one, maybe the more expensive vans are a better standard.

Clacton itself is a great day out for the little ones, and doesn't feel like a tired seaside resort!

The site is a 5 minute walk from a Tesco supermarket, but you will need to drive to the beach (about 10 minutes).

Overall we liked the resort, and will probably visit again, but in our tourer this time rather than in the static! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paullong 30 reviews from this member

 Definitely a site we wonít be using again. Awful toilets with excrement around the cubicles every day and never cleaned up. Toilet paper all over the place and never cleaned up. Tourers were definitely seen as 2nd class or even 3rd class compared with their main business of trying to sell statics to people. The club house was over-packed with no spare seating areas unless you turn up at 5pm and the entertainment wasnít even worth going to see. As far as the area goes Ė itís stuck in a time warp and needs some major development. The only positive was the air show at Clacton that we hadnít expected and had the pleasant surprise of being able to watch. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highfield Grange Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clacton On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5084 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement