Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Newlands
Culloden Moor
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV2 5EF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 87
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 One night stopover on a Saturday, site busy with just a few empty pitches. All pitches are a good size but many very unlevel.

Facilities were spotlessly clean and well looked after, as was the site itself.

We pitched at the back of site and were not troubled by any road noise.

Super dog walk up through the trees.

We thought overpriced at £33 but site nearer the city was £43 so it's not too bad for the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mickeymoocow 7 reviews from this member

 Nice site not too busy.

All facilities were spotlessly clean.

I asked for a pitch near to toilet block as I was travelling with my 91 year old mother and was not disappointed with the pitch.

Some road noise in the morning but not to intrusive.

Had a nice 5 night stay and I will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 37 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip here since 2012, this time without the kids (yay!). A lovely warm welcome on arrival, but please note, they do enforce the 1pm rule.

The site has all the usual club facilities, including TV hook up. The shower block was always spotlessly clean. There were lots of lambs in the next field, it was nice to wake each morning and hear them.

Inverness is only 5 miles away for those who want a bit of retail therapy, parking is incredibly cheap. The castle is currently closed, you'll need to check the website for opening. Visit the indoor market, it's amazing.

Culloden battlefield is just over a mile from the site, with an excellent visitor centre telling the story of the campaign and battle. Although we had to smile when the guide described Derby as just north of London, being the only Brits in that particular group, no-one else noticed.

And, of course, no visit to the area is complete without a a trip to Loch Ness. Stunning scenery doesn't do it justice. It's simply beautiful.

A fantastic site, just a pity it's so far from home. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Booked site for proximity to the Battlefield and as mid week offer was £23 per night - bargain.

Typical CAMC- as previous reviews everything as expected.

No arrival before 1pm appears very strictly enforced and signs show will be asked to leave and come back if early -although there is a carpark plus room for several units in the arrivals area.

Despite good price surprised site very quiet, very few on site.

Woodland walks perfect for dog walkers (dry when we stayed).

Site on main road so need to drive or use the bus to get anywhere. Inverness well worth a day out but we moved to visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 219 reviews from this member

 Not particularly well signed from any distance, so we explored the nearby township en route. The only site on our fortnight trip where I could pay on arrival; AND they charged the lower VAT rate. We could choose our own spot (which seems increasingly rare).

Impressed by the massive pitch - room for car, caravan, awning, plus a generous mown grass area between pitches, so the site felt relaxed and roomy. Levellers essential. No particular views from our pitch, but the adjacent farm provided interest with collies and unusual sheep. Facilities closed for cleaning at 10:00, which felt a bit early, but they were spotless. Fob for the security barrier.

After so much rain, the access into the forestry from the site for the dog walk was deep mud but there's another gate onto a dry vehicle track just along the road.

We're familiar with the Culloden Moor battle site, so we didn't visit. Instead, we enjoyed going to Cawdor castle & Gardens (no dogs), and played their quirky 9-hole golf course in the afternoon. If you want beaches (and cricket! and more golf) head to Nairn, where the town seems disconnected from the coast but parking is free.

Next time, I'd like a closer look at the beautiful railway viaduct nearby, with 29 arches it's the longest in Scotland.

As non CAMC members, it was about £40 pn, hence a short stay only. But if we ever join, we'd be happy to come back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly large club site, situated in easy reach of Culloden Battlefield and Inverness. Further afield, it is a good base for Black Isle, the Cairngorms and Loch Ness.

Facilities are excellent and the site is really well maintained. Site wardens are very friendly and helpful.

Excellent base for this part of the Highlands. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roband 1 review from this member

 Great site, facilities really clean. Great welcome and information pack. Wardens very friendly and helpful.

Very quiet area with a bit of a walk to the nearest pub. No shops close by. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Georgerhys17 3 reviews from this member

 Customer facilities consisted of showers, toilets, waste disposal the full works, however due to a blockage in the drainage system the showers and toilets were off. Not an issue though as we have a shower and toilet in our tourer.

The camp sits beside a farm and a massive conservation area allowing you to walk your dogs through the forest. All pitches are gravel with connecting TV arial, electric hookup and space either side for awning & vehicle.

The lady gent on the site couldnít be nice enough. As we were new to the caravan club, they gave us a full explanation of the site and handed us a welcome pack which detailed close tourist attractions and commended a local restaurant and bar.

Cost was £52. 00 for the two nights for me & my partner and our 3 dogs. Relatively cheap considering the beautiful stunning views of mountains and valleys and sleeping in the clouds!

The Culloden Moor Inn was a great nearby restaurant, we were starving so ordered a started & main however the starters came out the size of mains and mains came out the size of two mains - we had to take the rest away with us as the food was delightful.

The site is next to the Culloden Battlefield and castle which provides another great walk and detailed history of Scotlandís past.

Unfortunately we couldnít rate the facilities as not available but no detriment to the site as blockages happen all the time. Would 100% stay there again :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamdan 4 reviews from this member

 Our first trip in a rented motor home so we were not sure what to expect.

We were very lucky and all the campsites were excellent.

So would highly recommend Culloden Moore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 45 reviews from this member

 Culloden moor is a large, slightly sloping site with a road that snakes round it. It is popular with those starting / finishing the NC500. Pitches are of a good size and well spaced. Most slope just enough to need levelling blocks, but there are some fairly flat ones.

The single facilities block is of typical CAMC style and quality, but looks maybe a bit small for the size of site. There are a number of service points and two chemical disposal points, but all of these feel can inconveniently placed for areas of the site.

Unlike some other places, hand sanitisers seemed to be largely absent, or perhaps not obvious. Use of the toiler/shower block was limited to 3 people by the use of a wrist band, so some queues are inevitable.

Exit from the site is along the proverbial 'Long and winding road' and from there it is a short drive to the Culloden battlefield site. In the other direction and a bit further is Cawdor castle. If you like, you can take the No. 2 bus from near the site to either and to Inverness. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Culloden Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement