Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mellington Hall Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Montgomery > Mellington Hall Caravan Park Reviews

Mellington Hall Caravan Park
Mellington
Churchstoke
Montgomery
Powys   (Browse area)
SY15 6HX
Tel: 01588 620011
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

Fabulous place to stay, lovely gardens, ponds and walks in the woods.

Staff amazing.

Mellington Hall is lovely the bar and meals served really value for money.

We will be back, that's for certain.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Campbrooks 4 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. This is what a great site looks like. The wardens are two of the best we have ever met, so helpful and really do look like they love it.

Beautiful surroundings with lovely little pathways, great dog walk. Lovely pools full of fish and great to see the ducklings enjoying a swim. Facilities were great, very powerful hot showers all very clean.

Went to the hall for Sunday lunch which was nice even got our own dining room.

Great on a cold day to sit by the log fire.

Small park for the kids.

Great value at 25 a night.

Pitch had own water tap and can plug into tv point.

No road noise as site well off main road down very long drive way.

Thanks for having us we will be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kingpilot 2 reviews from this member

Super location, great woodland walks plus offas dyke,

Food and bar in the hall itself. nice outside seating,

Great facilities,

Our pitch was ideal for us and dogs,

Park managers were super friendly and helpful as was the hotel staff,

Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DamsonTR6 1 review from this member

We camped at Mellington Hall with a number of friends - all with classic Triumph TR sports cars. We couldn't have been made more welcome. The staff were excellent and Paul was very helpful whilst I was arranging the weekend.

The weather was not kind to us and when we abandoned our planned barbecue and withdrew to the bar in the Hall, the staff were most accommodating and set a table for us with little notice. The food by the way was excellent.

The facilities are very clean and tidy and the grounds well kept. The views over Corndon and Roundton Hills are superb. This is great countryside and we were able to run our cars out to Lakes Vyrnwy and Bala and to Clun, Knighton & Presteigne. There is a slope to the camping fields but it was possible to work round it.

Even though we're locals, we will be back!

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marijao 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite - away from it all site but close to Churchstoke, Bishops Castle & Montgomery.

The site amenities are excellent and the scentre surrounding the site superb.

The Hall itself has excellent bar & restaurant (food definitely recommended) and you can take dogs into bar area

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rctb 1 review from this member

Fantastic surroundings, very well kept grounds with good staff always willing to help. We love the area and the hall is great for a drink and meal. Loo block a bit far away but we find it not to much of a problem.

We have stopped here quite a few times and the only problem I have with the site is lack of implementing the rules on noise.

For some reason there's always some one talking into the early hours, or a tele on. I think a reminder should be sent out to keep quiet after 10pm

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DP68 4 reviews from this member

This was our virgin touring caravan trip. I was really nervous about setting up but as soon as we arrived one of the park staff were there to help out, it really put our mind at rest.

The staff were super friendly and helpful as were the other campers on site.

The facilities were kept very clean and tidy and the park itself was immaculate, the scenery beautiful too. We had a fantastic 1st weekend and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 19 reviews from this member

The Hall and surrounding grounds are mostly fine but some areas are in need of some TLC. The facilities for the touring site are located on the static site which isn't good if it's raining.

The facilities are advertised as immaculate which in the 70's they may well have been. In our opinion they need a total refurb (to include sanitary bins in the ladies toilets) and moving the block to the touring site.

The refuse bins are also situated by the main hall which is another 'trek' past the facilities block, again not good if it's raining. We particularly chose this site as my husband likes to fish, and again as advertised they offer course fishing. The lake ( more like a pond) is in a poor state to fish and wouldn't appear to be stocked well either although it does have ornamental koi carp.

If you are touring as we were there are a limited amount of pitches available. The majority are taken by those who leave their caravans on site all year so basically tourers are left with what everyone else doesn't want. The charges for a nights stay are the same all year round, no low, mid or high season charge.

We were a little disappointed with this site and would only return if changes were made. There are other nice sites with modern up to date facilities to visit at a cheaper nightly rate than this site charges. It's very much geared up for static caravans and people who like to leave their touring caravan on site all year, incidentally none of whom we saw used the facilities provided either.

Too far to walk/not up to standard perhaps? If you don't fit in either of these two categories it's probably not for you at the moment but could be excellent with a few appropriate changes?

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to review our Park.

The shower block facilities are located on the edge of the touring park which are spotlessly clean and we have a central point for all refuse. Our pool is well stocked and we have many happy customers who use this for fishing. We also have many happy touring park customers and as you mentioned many stay with us 12 months of the year as they enjoy the park and surroundings so much. The so called "unwanted plots" are there for our "store and camp customers" of which we have many. Our manager / groundsman couldn't have been more helpful when you stayed with us. We have a sanitary bin in the ladies toilet.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Donaldduck 1 review from this member

We have been using Mellington for over 20 years, the site looks better than ever and is very well kept - on the surface. Unfortunately our last visit uncovered a number of things that are letting the site and it's users down.

In many ways it can't be beaten, pitches are well kept, spaced and the site is very pleasant indeed. The grounds look beautiful - however mown grass was dumped randomly just out of sight, it is not everywhere but this smells and looks unsightly if you venture away from the main areas for a stroll or you are unlucky enough to have your pitch nearby.

There was a HUGE stack of old timber and general rubbish too that has been built up behind the walled garden that is very unsightly and very dangerous for children too. Whilst talking of children, the site is not as welcoming for them as it was, especially those a little older, this is a real shame as it is a superb site for kids to play and explore.

Not all older people want them out of sight so it's a shame some moan when kids are just playing and enjoying themselves - as we all have done, we actually enjoy watching and listening to them. We did try shower/toilet block too, the showers are powerful with plenty of hot water but need a serious refurb, the ceilings are grubby, tiles are actually missing in some of the showers and there was no mop for people to clean floors for the next user.

It is such a shame as this site could easily be superb with a small investment, better cleaning and a little investment to spruce up the toilet/shower block. It does make you think they just want retired people and statics only which would be a waste of such a beautiful site.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to review our Park.

Unfortunately due to the bereavement of a member of staff, the tiles in the mens toilets have been overlooked. This has now been rectified and are spotlessly clean. With regards to the pile of rubbish, behind the walled in garden, this area of the park is out of bounds to the public and should not have been entered especially with children that's why it is situated where it is. Obviously with the amount of grounds we have here, we need somewhere to put rubbish/grass cuttings etc for sorting. Children at Mellington are more than welcome and we have a play area especially for their use. We do not just cater for "retired customers" as we have many younger and happy customers here too.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjhynan 4 reviews from this member

Stayed in august bank holiday, the site here is lovely with just a very small camp field for minimal tents/trailers. The groundsmen are always friendly and helpful.

I think there is confusion over prices though as having tried to book for Easter this year the trailer tent in a field for 2 adults and a 2 year old with electric went up to the same price as for a hardstanding 2 adults 2 kids with sat tv connection, taps etc but they couldn't explain why so needless to say after 9 years I will not be returning.

Very disappointed and sad!

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019