Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newlands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Newlands Holiday Park Reviews

Newlands Holiday Park
Charmouth
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RB
Tel: 01297 560259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 09/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 2 nights in early September.

A clear case of the whole not adding up to the sum of all the parts! And yet it could be a gem with some minor adjustments

The welcome in reception was, at best, diffident but compensated by the very jovial and helpful couple who showed us to our pitch

Location - close to Charmouth but halfway up the hill. Back off the road but as some have already commented subject to noise from the A35

The hard standing pitches are relatively small but those at the top of the field offer good views.

The facilities are clean and plentiful but some showers share a drain so your feet get 'washed' by your neighbour's 'run-off'

There's a swimming pool for which a charge is made

Others have already commented on the bar/restaurant and I share the view that prices are on the high side. That would have been acceptable if the food was value for money. I tried the steak and ale pie which even the accompanying gravy did little to moisten. My wife's pasta dish sat on the 'pass' for almost 15 minutes before being served with the result that it had congealed before reaching the table

Charmouth is one of our favourite destinations but over the years we have yet to find a campsite in the neighbourhood that does it justice 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, 10 min walk into charmouth, we would advise if you want to go to Lyme Regis to use the park and ride.

2 pools one indoor one outdoor, you havd to pay to use indoor pool but outdoor is free, children under 15 have to be accompanied by adult no matter how competent a swimmer they are, (ridiculous rule) bar and restaurant nice but food pricey for a family, lots of activities/clubs for children,

staff friendly apart from elderly lifeguard who has a big problem with anyone wanting to have fun,

we will be going back here next year 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jperry2982 4 reviews from this member

 Our last night here at newland holiday park. The weather wasn't kind to us when we arrived 7 night's ago. There are 3 families including us in our party. We have 2 caravans and a trailer tent.

Our pitches on the red field area. They were thick of mud and as the area is tiered and not very big pitches it felt a little scary as the A frame has to face outward on the edge of a dip. Good job we only have a small caravan. The site itself is ok but the bar is expensive at £4/4. 50 a pint. And the meals are a bit expensive. (Especially if you come from the Midlands upwards).

It's a shame the take away chippy only opens fri/sat/sun. Their prices were more reasonable and very nice food. The showers/toilets are clean and roomy. The site is in a good place to use base to visit the beautiful Jurassic coastal towns.

It's also quite a drive to the nearest supermarket. (But our neighbours had a home delivery from Sainsbury right to their caravan door). 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IzzieB 9 reviews from this member

 Disappointed that our booked pitch number was not available however nice chap showed us to an alternative full hook up pitch which was ok.

Tidy, well maintained park with friendly staff. Pitches on the small side and the full hook up we pitched on required our caravan to go in front first so grateful for motor mover. Clean, large showers with plenty of hot water. 10 min walk from Charmouth beach/town which was great.

Negatives would be the consistent road noise from the A35 which at times drowned out the seagulls. The pool was lovely and warm however the jacuzzi was not operating during our stay and the changing room is tiny with only one shower in both the ladies and gents. The outdoor pool was not open.

The takeaway was not open and sign on the door directs you to order your takeaway from the Restaurant, however only Restaurant menu available so be prepared to pay Restaurant prices for your takeaway, signage should definitely be clearer.

Children enjoyed the play park and swimming. Bit restricted for the dog with no access to the Restaurant or outside balcony area permitted. Not a site we will be returning too. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snotzke 2 reviews from this member

 We were here as a family of 7 in August. We got to choose our own pitch in the blue field, and got really lucky, I think. We were close to the playground (brilliant for the children) and close enough to the facilities (clean and tidy with plenty of hot water).

The children spent a lot of time in the outside pool and on the slide (which wasn't open all the time). We only used the inside pool once, when the weather was absolutely awful, as you have to pay 2 pounds for a swim. Luckily, one of our children was old enough to accompany the others to the soft play area, as it gets very noisy in there at times!

The little shop was well-stocked with things we'd forgotten to get from Tescos (Axmouth). There's a good shop for camping equipment just down the road from the site. We bought great meat for the bbq in the butchers in Charmouth.

It was a nice walk down to the beach, where we took part in a guided fossil walk (on offer at the tourist information centre at the beach) and enjoyed the duck-racing. There are some lovely cliff-top walks from the campsite. It's a beautiful area.

If we were coming to the area, we'd stay here again, as we had a lovely holiday here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site, reception staff were friendly and helpful we were shown to out pitch and told which way to face, this made it difficult for our grey water waste but we were told they would lift the man hole cover when we left.

Toilet block clean and warm with plenty of hot water.

The site was clean and tidy well looked after.

That's the good bits now for the not so good,

There are a lot of seasonal pitches we felt that some people didn't have any respect for fellow site users, we were given a list of rules when we arrived why they bother because they don't enforce them, no balls games only in designated area, children where playing ball on the empty pitch next to use, no dogs off lead, we actually had a dog try to get into our motorhome, we had to walk the site to find who it belonged to.

The entertainment area, the food was O. K. The restaurant was tired looking although they say they have just had a re-fit.

We left this site early and we will not return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bushnell 1 review from this member

 The location is great for Charmouth Beach (10-15 minutes walk away) which is great for fossil hunting. Also within easy reach of Lyme Regis and the Southwest coast path.

The site itself seems well maintained - quite hilly but the pitches are reasonably flat. Not sure whether we just got unlucky, but the ground was very stony, and after several bent pegs we ended up buying a few hard ground pegs from the shop.

The facilities (showers, toilets, washing up areas etc. ) were all OK. The shop OK- a reasonable range although it was difficult to buy things to cook for a complete evening meal. There is a small supermarket in the village though.

Didn't make much use of the clubhouse or swimming pool this time, but the kids (8 and 10) spent lots of time in the playground, which has a good range of equipment. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

 We classed Newlands as a nearly site.

The Loos were Nearly nice.

The Club was Nearly big enough.

The pitches were nearly the right size.

The Beach was Nearly an easy walk away.

The Staff were Nearly good.

For example, the toilet block was a good size and we never had a problem with hot water. But the condensation in there was dreadful there was not a dry surface to be found which isn’t helpful when trying to sort yourself out after the shower. Also some of the doors had such a big gap in them with the door shut, that you were waiting for eyes to appear at the door.

The drainage in the showers could have been better too. The showers shared a drain, often showers do, but they tend to have a gully not just have the dirty water from the person next door washing over your feet.

The Club was good and had reasonable bar prices, but it is too small if the site is full, we ended up in the corner of the conservatory bit and couldn't see the entertainment that was happening.

We were on one of the higher tiers and although that gave us a great view over the village the pitches were not quite big enough, they were wide enough but not deep enough. There was a very small unit pitched next to us and if it wasn’t I doubt I would have been able to get my car out as there was not enough room to drive past the back of the units.

The Beach is Brilliant, lots of facilities and an easy place to spend the day. There are a couple of car parks, a café, a fossil shop, a beach type shop and a little trinket shop. But if you want to take stuff to the beach you will need to drive there as it is a bit too far to walk carrying much.

The Staff were nearly good, as in some were great others seemed a bit miserable.

So, would we go back…. Not sure, If they could sort out some of these little points I would, but without it I feel it is a bit expensive. But so close. Nearly Newlands. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pecker 20 reviews from this member

 Disapointed

If you arrive after the ones on the outside of your row have you will struggle to get your van in to position. All pitches are set into the hillside and you have to drive along the pitch row to get to your pitch which if the others are in is tricky as your car is pointing downhill when you unhitch. Our van at the rear was almost resting on the grass before we even put our cornersteadies down.

Toilets were clean but showers always seemed to lack hot water.

The play area was on the other side of the site but it was spacious and kids enjoyed it.

The view from our pitch was lovely and the road noise was not a huge issue. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site. We stayed three nights. Easy access off the A35. Warm welcome and shown to our pitch. The pitch was almost flat and spacious. We were sited very close to the road, which didn't disturb us during the night but we did find it noisy when sitting outside our motorhome.

The views from our pitch were fabulous across the Dorset countryside. The facilities were beautiful and plentiful. The whole site was immaculate. There is a convenience shop on site, we didn't use it, a cafe and indoor swimming pool.

We didn't use either of these, but other visitors told us how much they had enjoyed them. There are also fishing lakes at the bottom of the site. The site is close to Charmouth, walkable, and Lyme Regis. Plenty to do and see in Lyme Regis.

Would certainly visit again, but ask for a pitch away from the road! WiFi charges were very high! 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newlands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Newlands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newlands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newlands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement