Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newlands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Newlands Holiday Park > Reviews

Newlands Holiday Park
Charmouth
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RB
Tel: 01297 560259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 07/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 93 Reviews
                8/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julied 1 review from this member

 The site is well laid out.

Facilities were clean and well maintained. Shop on site was well stocked.

All staff were friendly and helpful.

Had a lovely Sunday dinner in the restaurant but on the last night 4 options of the menu were not available. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pwaterton 8 reviews from this member

 Well kept site in an ideal location for exploring Charmouth both by car and walking.

We had a fully serviced pitch which was ideal. Bus stop directly outside the site.

The site has a restaurant and bar which we found ideal and we used it quite often

Will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Debora 1 review from this member

 Newlands was a family friendly, large but not overcrowded site. Lots of grassy space for kids to play.

Well maintained shower, toilet & laundry facilities, small arcade for kids, fantastic food in the restaurant & lovely pools with sauna & hot tub.

Easy to find off main road, 15 min walk to Charmouth beach we’ll worth a visit, similar walk & 12 min bus ride to Lyme Regis.

We had a superb short break here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jls123 3 reviews from this member

 We came before the school holidays so nice & quiet & lots of space in our camping field. Used either of the 2 shower/toilet rooms close to our pitch which were clean & tidy.

Very good location, walking to pubs, little shops, beach, etc easy. Could hear traffic noise sometimes but no problem for us.

Had breakfast in restaurant a couple of times and a meal, all ok.

So good site for us, would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 2 nights in early September.

A clear case of the whole not adding up to the sum of all the parts! And yet it could be a gem with some minor adjustments

The welcome in reception was, at best, diffident but compensated by the very jovial and helpful couple who showed us to our pitch

Location - close to Charmouth but halfway up the hill. Back off the road but as some have already commented subject to noise from the A35

The hard standing pitches are relatively small but those at the top of the field offer good views.

The facilities are clean and plentiful but some showers share a drain so your feet get 'washed' by your neighbour's 'run-off'

There's a swimming pool for which a charge is made

Others have already commented on the bar/restaurant and I share the view that prices are on the high side. That would have been acceptable if the food was value for money. I tried the steak and ale pie which even the accompanying gravy did little to moisten. My wife's pasta dish sat on the 'pass' for almost 15 minutes before being served with the result that it had congealed before reaching the table

Charmouth is one of our favourite destinations but over the years we have yet to find a campsite in the neighbourhood that does it justice 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, 10 min walk into charmouth, we would advise if you want to go to Lyme Regis to use the park and ride.

2 pools one indoor one outdoor, you havd to pay to use indoor pool but outdoor is free, children under 15 have to be accompanied by adult no matter how competent a swimmer they are, (ridiculous rule) bar and restaurant nice but food pricey for a family, lots of activities/clubs for children,

staff friendly apart from elderly lifeguard who has a big problem with anyone wanting to have fun,

we will be going back here next year 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jperry2982 4 reviews from this member

 Our last night here at newland holiday park. The weather wasn't kind to us when we arrived 7 night's ago. There are 3 families including us in our party. We have 2 caravans and a trailer tent.

Our pitches on the red field area. They were thick of mud and as the area is tiered and not very big pitches it felt a little scary as the A frame has to face outward on the edge of a dip. Good job we only have a small caravan. The site itself is ok but the bar is expensive at £4/4. 50 a pint. And the meals are a bit expensive. (Especially if you come from the Midlands upwards).

It's a shame the take away chippy only opens fri/sat/sun. Their prices were more reasonable and very nice food. The showers/toilets are clean and roomy. The site is in a good place to use base to visit the beautiful Jurassic coastal towns.

It's also quite a drive to the nearest supermarket. (But our neighbours had a home delivery from Sainsbury right to their caravan door). 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IzzieB 9 reviews from this member

 Disappointed that our booked pitch number was not available however nice chap showed us to an alternative full hook up pitch which was ok.

Tidy, well maintained park with friendly staff. Pitches on the small side and the full hook up we pitched on required our caravan to go in front first so grateful for motor mover. Clean, large showers with plenty of hot water. 10 min walk from Charmouth beach/town which was great.

Negatives would be the consistent road noise from the A35 which at times drowned out the seagulls. The pool was lovely and warm however the jacuzzi was not operating during our stay and the changing room is tiny with only one shower in both the ladies and gents. The outdoor pool was not open.

The takeaway was not open and sign on the door directs you to order your takeaway from the Restaurant, however only Restaurant menu available so be prepared to pay Restaurant prices for your takeaway, signage should definitely be clearer.

Children enjoyed the play park and swimming. Bit restricted for the dog with no access to the Restaurant or outside balcony area permitted. Not a site we will be returning too. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snotzke 2 reviews from this member

 We were here as a family of 7 in August. We got to choose our own pitch in the blue field, and got really lucky, I think. We were close to the playground (brilliant for the children) and close enough to the facilities (clean and tidy with plenty of hot water).

The children spent a lot of time in the outside pool and on the slide (which wasn't open all the time). We only used the inside pool once, when the weather was absolutely awful, as you have to pay 2 pounds for a swim. Luckily, one of our children was old enough to accompany the others to the soft play area, as it gets very noisy in there at times!

The little shop was well-stocked with things we'd forgotten to get from Tescos (Axmouth). There's a good shop for camping equipment just down the road from the site. We bought great meat for the bbq in the butchers in Charmouth.

It was a nice walk down to the beach, where we took part in a guided fossil walk (on offer at the tourist information centre at the beach) and enjoyed the duck-racing. There are some lovely cliff-top walks from the campsite. It's a beautiful area.

If we were coming to the area, we'd stay here again, as we had a lovely holiday here. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site, reception staff were friendly and helpful we were shown to out pitch and told which way to face, this made it difficult for our grey water waste but we were told they would lift the man hole cover when we left.

Toilet block clean and warm with plenty of hot water.

The site was clean and tidy well looked after.

That's the good bits now for the not so good,

There are a lot of seasonal pitches we felt that some people didn't have any respect for fellow site users, we were given a list of rules when we arrived why they bother because they don't enforce them, no balls games only in designated area, children where playing ball on the empty pitch next to use, no dogs off lead, we actually had a dog try to get into our motorhome, we had to walk the site to find who it belonged to.

The entertainment area, the food was O. K. The restaurant was tired looking although they say they have just had a re-fit.

We left this site early and we will not return. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Newlands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Newlands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newlands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newlands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement