Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Quarry Walk Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Quarry Walk Park
Coppice Lane
Freehay
Alton Towers
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 1RQ
Tel: 01538 723412
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 73 Reviews
                6/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkey1967 9 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site, chosen purely for its closeness to Alton Towers. Staff at site & via email / booking we're polite, efficient & helpful & happily discussed options of family days out etc.

I tried to book electric hook up, but this was apparently unavailable, which meant we were a bit of a trek from toilets etc, but no real problems, although a porta loo & possibly electric & wider reaching wifi would be good in the further away fields?!

In comparison to other sites I've used with similar facilities, this was a little higher priced, but not too bad.

The shop was open daily & sold all the basics plus leaflets available on 'what to do'.

Not far from town, shops & pubs.

Some of our neighbours were a little noisy after the 11pm cut off, but that can happen anywhere.

All in all, a nice little site & ideal for Alton Towers, as mentioned, more toilets etc, would be good, but we will return 👍👍👍👍

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Selly7 3 reviews from this member

Very dissapointed. Had read the amazing reviews and had to review this honestly. Previous reviews must be for tent field 1 which has power and is next to shower/toilet block. We were pitched in field 6 which is a rough track drive to the toilet block ( apologies to next campers in our field as our 4 year old did not make it to the toilet block in the middle of the night ( 5 minute walk with no light) playground is great but also a long distance from site. Toilets are prefab and are unisex which terrified my 7 year old girl as a ' strange man was there'. Showers were very weak. Campsite was exceptionally quiet only 2 other tents, we could have been pitched next to shower block I can think the only reason was the no electric hook up so I felt like a second class citizen. It was poor value for money at 25 euro for pitch with no electricity. Sorry but we won't be back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dinsey 1 review from this member

Camped out at this site just after the Easter holidays. Needed a place close to alton towers as my annual merlin passes were due to expire.

Got there early, was 1 other tent there, very quiet. Nice lady at reception let me unload even though check in time was 12pm.

Site was large, with EHU. Didn't need to speak to management until we left. If needed to they were very approachable.

We were on the pitch next to reception so easy access to toilets and washing facilities.

Bearing in mind we were the only ones using them, clean. Modern facility not dated and old.

Weather was fine for first day, 15 min drive to alton towers so spent most of day there.

Close asda and morrisons in Cheadle. Would go there again if was visiting Alton towers.

As the last review on here was in 2013, felt obliged to leave one as we had a pleasant time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gedknock 1 review from this member

We stayed at Quarry Walk as a family camping for 3 nights at the end of July, the objective being a base to visit nearby Alton Towers. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who gave us a brief introduction to the site and directed us to our pitch. We stayed in field 6, which was nice and flat, surrounded by trees giving a real camping experience.

The site itself was clean and well maintained (the toilet/shower block was spotless whenever we used it!) and the play facilities were excellent for our two young children.

We did visit Alton Towers during our stay (10 mins away) but on reflection would have been equally as happy exploring the site more, as there are plenty of walks in the immediate vicinity plus the interesting landscape on the site itself. We also were fortunate enough to meet another family who were staying in the log cabins which were outstanding, with decor and facilities which would compete with the likes of center parcs etc.

Only points to bear in mind are that there are some cliff edges so don't let small children go unattended and the ground requires sturdy pegs but that is to be expected staying in a quarry! We will definitely be returning as we all enjoyed it, thanks Ged

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainie 3 reviews from this member

Loved this site, stayed for a week to make the most of our Merlin Passes at Alton towers. We had EH so were in the front field extremely near to very clean toilets and shower block, our pitch had wood bark all over it which was uncomfortable on our feet and also because we had a built in ground sheet was worried it was going to rip it.

Great play park for the kids, as my boy was almost 10 was able to go to on his own but had he been much younger would have been worried about him going on his own.

Paid for a weeks worth of wifi which was a bit hit and miss whether it worked.

All in all though a good time, and would e use again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dalycamping 4 reviews from this member

We moved to this campsite to be near Alton Towers, having not read any reviews as the site we had originally chosen was too far away and not suitable for campervans really. I am surprised by these negative reviews as we had a brilliant time here.

We were on pitch 14 which was near the shower block and near the playground. The play area is really good and full of adventure play equipment/ assault course style for kids. The showers took a long time for the hot water to come through and as with many campsite (we find anyway) the hot and cold are the wrong way round.

The 10 deposit for the key fob worked well for us and we were told barrier opening times at check in. The roads leading to the campsite are narrow but are fine if you go at a slow speed.

I would not hesitate to go back here. It was close to Alton Towers but the pitch was quite pricey.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Onthevergeof 5 reviews from this member

Not that bad guys! We stayed here 2 adults, 4 children 23-25 March 2012. Barrier key 10 first impressions were good, receptionist even gave us a courtesy call beforehand. Not too helpful on local information when we asked though.

Had no phone service on, 3, 02 or vodaphone but the park is very secluded, with your own secluded space, lots of trees and wildlife which we found great!

Washing up facilities quite basic but adequate. Toilets were 3 toilets / 3 showers each male and female, cleaned everyday and spotless. Shaver points, free hairdryer and electrical sockets.

Small shop on site. But opening times was hit and miss. Tried the fish and chip shop in Tean -best fish we've tasted (our opinion!).

Local walks around park and beyond was nice and quiet, road down to pub and local shop (30 minutes). The Queens Head staff were very friendly. Served meals here but didn't sample.

BEST children park we've found since touring so far, and there's a hidden rope swing (just need to look!).

Plenty of rubbish bins, although not recycling as far as we could see.

Didn't want to go any further so can't comment on local attractions.

For a weekend, you must visit.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: G+PS 3 reviews from this member

When we arrived at the site we were impressed with the security barrier into the site. Checking in process was easy and efficient and the lady who checked us in was helpful.

However when we arrived at our pitch on field 7, we realised that it was a long walk from the toilet block and the field was enclosed with woodland. There were approximately 10 pitches on the field most of which were taken mostly by families with children ranging from 1 or 2, to mid/late teens.

Later exploration found a path directly from the end of the field to the toilet and shower block but this was quite steep up hill, unlit, would be slippery when wet and was enclosed with woodland on either side. I would not have felt safe walking up this in the dark, let alone letting children walk up it in the middle of the night. It was a 3-4 minute (timed, not exaggerated) walk from our tent to the toilets.

The toilet block consisted of 4 toilet cubicles, 3 showers and a pot wash area. These are situated in a portacabin. They are shared male and female, and again, I would not feel happy with children sharing toilet areas with opposite sex teenagers / adults. Although the block was obviously thoroughly cleaned every day, the smell was dreadful and when we left at 11am people were still queuing for the showers.

Consequently we left after one night, did not receive a refund for the further 3 nights we had booked and would never return to this site again, or recommend it.

Good point is that it's approximately 15 minutes from Alton Towers but we found the 20/25 minute drive from Forestside Farm where we moved to perfectly acceptable.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

A site with almost a captive audience for Alton Towers.

Once you are here you are reluctant to leave due to the close proximity of the adventure park and the fact that there are no refunds.

The lady on reception needs customer training as when we booked in there were a number of campers making complaints.

The camp site is quite large where shared facilities are used in porta-cabins. The cabins were a bit smelly and there was no sign of cleansing work being carried out.

The walls had holes in them, mbut the worst of all the toilets did not flush!

The pitches were rocky no matter where you pitch, but we got around it by laying on our extra air bed.

This site has the potential to be a real winner and make someone a fortune. It is a shame it's not the current owners.

Like the other reviews I would not return, unless it was under new ownership.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycanvas 9 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 5 night stay.

The location of the site is very good and close to Alton Towers, which a lot of people were staying on the site for. We were on field one the pitch was the worse I have ever stayed on in over 40 years of camping, more soil then grass and its full of rocks and the pitches are far to small. We had to clean up litter from the pitch before we could set up camp.

There are two showers/loos/wash up areas on the site. Near reception, they smell terrible and the locks on the doors are very hard to open. Wash up area is ok and there is sockets that you can use.

Other area near log cabins, showers are a lot better, wash up area no good as no light at night and all pots slide as its just wood as a drainer.

The litter on the site is not good.

Be aware there are a lot of pot holes on the site road.

On the first morning we wanted to be away at 8am. Alton Towers calling, could not get off site as the barrier was locked and not unlocked until 8. 30 am. When I went back to the site in the evening I went to check the times of the barrier and not even a sorry from staff.

Cheadle is a short drive and good place to stock up on food.

We as a family will not return to this site.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019