Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Crickhowell > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
New Road
Crickhowell
Powys   (Browse area)
NP8 1AY
Tel: 01873 810397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Linda Sweeney 1 review from this member

 The site is beautifully kept and Covid Guidelines are clearly stated upon arrival.

The shower block was spotless. The scenery around the site is stunning a d it is a very short walk into the town with exceptional individual shops and pubs.

Paul who runs the site makes visitors very welcome and is a mine of local information. I would say He is the beat I have come a ross cor making you feel welcome and valued guests.

Definitely will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sprozzer 1 review from this member

 A lovely site located within easy walking distance of Crickhowell’s pubs/shops etc.

The toilet and shower block was amongst some of the best we’ve seen - very clean and taking social distancing seriously.

Paul the Warden was very friendly and helpful, greeting us on arrival and telling us everything we needed to know. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobmc 1 review from this member

 Have just come back from a relaxing week at the Riverside Caravan Park, Crickhowell. What a brilliant site, the Covid 19 regulations are being adhered to, the number of showers and loos have been restricted, but we didn't have a problem, we felt very safe. Alex and Paul were so welcoming, and accommodating.

The pitches are great they are all on grass, and the views are spectacular. The town of Crickhowell is lovely and about a 10 minute walk away (it's a bit up hill but not too bad)it's full of small independent shops, there's a hotel (The Bear) there are 2 pubs in the High street, the Dragon and the Brittannia, there are a Chinese takeaway and a Fish and chip shop, if you cross the river there is the Vine Tree and a short walk away is the Horseshoe Inn where we spent a very pleasant couple of hours.

The countryside around is incredible, there are plenty of places to walk the river and the canal are beautiful,

It's a lovely place, we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Katy Sworn 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite! Such a lovely location which is perfect for exploring the east Brecon Beacons.

The warden was so welcoming and friendly without being intrusive, nothing was too much trouble.

Facilities very clean and tidy.

Really quiet campsite perfect for relaxing and exploring.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet base perfect for walking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 Every now and then you come across a little gem of a site and this is certainly a little gem.

From the friendly welcome and details of the site and local town we knew we would be enjoying the site.

Paul the manager is on the go from early morning till late evening but makes you aware he is available anytime and always seems to have time for a chat.

The showers and toilets are superb and spotless. Grass and surroundings were well cared for.

Information on local walks and the town are available in the reception.

TV reception on our aerial was limited to the basic channels although I didn't bother trying very hard.

Mobile reception (Virgin) was fine.

Town of Crickhowell a short walk away with some interesting shops, as is the canal. Bridge End pub just outside was ideal for a drink and we enjoyed a very nice meal there also.

I can highly recommend this site and it's staff. We left feeling we had had a real break. Thank you for your efforts Paul and Alex the owner.

We will be back soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vanlife 13 reviews from this member

 A very well maintained site with spotless facilities and very handy for the town and surrounding countryside. Paul (the warden) is friendly and helpful.

Pitch size is decent but when the site is full it can feel a bit more hemmed in. One row of vans faces into another across the grass (there's no hard standing) with some trees dotted about.

We would avoid busy summer weekends as we like more feeling of space. There are statics in a row and quite a lot of seasonals so the reference to 25 pitches is misleading - there are a lot more customers on site than that might suggest but it's all well kept and plenty of showers/WC's.

There are views from the site of the town rooftops and nearby hills. It's only a few mins walk uphill to the High Street where there's a good choice of places to eat and drink. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Podengo 2 reviews from this member

 This is probably the best site we have stayed at. Paul the manager was an absolute star and could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

The pitches are large (ours was 12m x 12m) and level and all have wonderful views of the surrounding hills.

The heated sanitary block was refurbished 3 seasons ago but still looks brand new. It was always spotless as it is checked every couple of hours and the showers were hot and powerful.

The location of the site is perfect. Next door is a large park alongside the River Usk where dogs can run free. The riverside walk goes for miles and is stunning.

There are numerous other walks direct from the site. Reception has printed sheets (free of charge) with details of the walks but the one up to Table Mountain is a must!

The Bridge End Inn is only about 80 yards from the site entrance and has great ale!

The town is only a 5 minute walk up the hill where you will find some brilliant shops and more pubs and restaurants.

We were sad to leave this lovely spot and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lin297 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent Location, few minutes walk from Crickhowell.

Excellent toilet and shower facilities with huge shower rooms and underfloor heating.

Only slight negative was the small pitches which didn't bother us as we were out most of the time. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 35 reviews from this member

 I can only reiterate what others have said. This is a fantastic little site, so wellmaintained like the family owners really care about it. What a change it was from the Haven site at Tenby (extortionate price) to come to such clean showers and toilets where I could enjoy a shower in this lovely luxury block and all for £22 a night.

So nice not to have greedy owners ( I will review Haven at Tenby later after I have given them chance to respond to my complaint!).

Crickhowell is a lovely little town. Enjoyed sitting outside the old historic Bridge pub (17th Century) overlooking the river. When we got there the weather was so good on Bank Holiday Monday there were lots of people swimming in the river and sat on the grassy banks. It was an easy walk up into the village.

We did the canal walk which was very pleasant 3. 75 miles long.

We ate out each night : The Bridge (lovely fish pie) then Red Indigo (top of the hill to the Shell garage then turn left) and also The Bear (dates back to 1432) which is a fascinating building and good food. It was packed out there.

We did a walk up to the Table Mountain but turned back after an hour and quarter as it was raining so much. We saw a sign towards the top that pointed to Table Mountain but I don't think that was the right way actually.

I think we should have taken the steps to the right so make some enquiries before you set off. We visited Hay on Wye which didn't take long to get there -less than 40 minutes.

Nice town famous for its book shops and some antique shops. We couldn't see the river and asked where it was and if there was a café by it and was told no but there was a little café there.

We didn't have long there so maybe there was more to see but I was disappointed that the river seemed out of view from the town. There was a riverside walk which we only did a bit of so maybe that was nice.

We only had 2 hours there as we didn't have enough money for the car park and the machine wouldn't take card. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daiharding 2 reviews from this member

 First time for us to stay at this site, and it will definitely won't be the last, all ready booked for two nights next month.

Excellent facilities great location, and a nice friendly welcome on arrival.

Town of Crickhowell is lovely and has some nice shops and pubs, and most are dog friendly which is a plus for us. 
via mobile


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crickhowell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement