Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Tinney Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Otterham > St Tinney Farm > Reviews

St Tinney Farm
Country And Fishing Holidays
Otterham
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL32 9TA
Tel: 01840 298274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Petpip1467 1 review from this member

 We Visited this site for the first time this year, and was very impressed with it.

It is a very secluded family run, quiet and well maintained site.

The tent pitches are massive giving you plenty of room, so you are not on top of other people.

It also has a good clean shower block, a lovely heated swimming pool and a small pub which serves some fantastic food which is well worth the money. It also now has a brand new games room which has a pool table and a table tennis table, it also has a play area in the middle of one fields a which is great to keep the kids entertained.

It has its own nature walk, and there are other walks to the local church and mill. It also its own games field where the kids can play ball games safely, and five fishing lakes.

To sum it up it was everything we could have asked for in a camp site, so much so we have already booked for next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ron blizzard 1 review from this member

 We have been visiting St Tinneys for the past 16 years some times as many as 4 times a year, always having great holidays whether you want just to unwind or use the 5 fishing lakes it's a great place to spend a holiday. There are lots of wonder full places to vist in the area. The site has a great little pub with good food and a wide range of drinks at good prices. The family run business all ways make very welcome in fact I feel like that after all these years going there to be part of the family. Looking forward to meeting up with friends ageing this year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vtaylor 1 review from this member

 We have been visiting St Tinney Farm for 24 years, all our children have grown up with the beautiful family who own it. We have stayed in all different types of accommodation; lodge, bungalow, static caravan and camping. There is always a lovely welcome, the site is clean and well maintained there is plenty of room for children to explore, for dads to do a spot of fishing and for moms to go in the heated outdoor swimming pool and then family time in the pub with great food, beer and laughs while playing pool in the games room. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrkD 1 review from this member

 Our family have had the pleasure of over 25 visits to St Tinney’s, this equates to in excess a year in time spent there. The majority of our trips have been in our touring caravan of between 2-3 weeks but we have also stayed in the lodges at New Year. So feel we are well placed to give an honest and factual review.

Why do we return every year to the same site? Hopefully our review will explain just why we like this place so much.

St Tinney’s is very unlike many other sites, it has a rural atmosphere but manages to have many of the modern facility's guests require.

Our very first visit my eldest was 18 months, she is now 23, our youngest is 20. Over the years they made many friends who played together. They both used to love the climbing frame, which has been refurbished recently. During their younger years we could watch them play on the climbing frame from the comfort of our van. As they got older we moved to Meadow field, which is very tranquil. Our children have wonderful memories of their time spent here and often come down and spend a few days at St Tinney’s. When you have happy children you have very happy and relaxed parents!

The shower block has been professionally installed, it's very modern, clean and well cared for. The upgraded laundrette room has commercial standard washing machines and tumble driers, which are very quick.

There has been so many improvements over the years, no doubt there will be more this year when we visit. The whole site is well cared for and much loved by its friendly owners.

The camping fields offer perimeter camping so no stack and rack here. Pitch sizes puts other sites to shame and they should follow their lead. The water points, disposal points, refuse area are all modern and clean.

Being set back from the A39, there is no traffic noise. With no light pollution you can star gaze to your hearts content.

The bar on site offers a good selection of food and drinks at reasonable prices. Just watch those locals brews, they are stronger than you think! Here you can have a laugh and chat with fellow campers, locals, owners or drink alone should you wish. It is not a bar where you feel uncomfortable, everyone is made welcome. For us it feels like going into our local pub. The games room in the bar, has a pool table, juke box, vending machine, etc with prices set reasonably. There is also a good selection of board games for young and old. Families can keep their children amused without breaking the bank. The bar and games room have been renovated and though modern still retains it’s character. We have eaten in the restaurant many times over the years and always enjoyed our meals. You can order takeaways and purchase bottles of wine from the bar as well.

The fishing lakes offer plenty of choice for all anglers. Often I will go to one of the lakes and just enjoy the surroundings and not even bother to get my fishing rods out.

No need to say anything about the area its Cornwall, its wonderful. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BuckleyFamily4 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a great 10 day break at Tinney Farm. We booked late and were surprised they still had spaces left. I have 2 children that could not wait to get out of the car after our long journey when they saw the play park, which was well maintained. Having the heated pool on site is brilliant and we used it every day. The shower and toilet blocks are really nice, they are clean and the water is lovely and hot. The dish washing area is also clean and well maintained as well as the laundry room. The pub is a definite bonus, the prices are reasonable and the food is cooked to order and at £2. 50 a pint you can't go wrong. The staff are friendly and the waitress was lovely with the children.

The spacing between pitches is really good and the children had lots of room to play around the van. We will definitely be back. The site is central to Bude, Widemouth Bay, Boscastle and Titagel and not too far from Padstow as well. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Campycampers 1 review from this member

 We visited this lovely small park with two small children just before Easter in glorious sunshine. They have two camping fields, one is only open during the high season.

Having previously read some reviews about the state of the shower block we were a little nervous. However, the shower and toilet block have been completely refurbished over winter and were absolutely spotlessly clean with central heating which was most welcome in the cooler evenings.

We understand the on site bar has also been renovated over winter and was very good with simple games room and great food at good value.

A great site with friendly helpful staff, we hope to return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sugarbelle 3 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately this site has gone downhill from when we used it a year ago. We have been coming here for 4 years but have noticed the facilities have been looking a little more neglected each year.

The shower block, which has always been basic is now also not very clean. The shower tray, tiles and shower curtain were black with mould, you can even smell the mould when you go in.

The locks on half the showers and loos do not work. If you decide to brave the showers you will find that the temperature fluctuates between almost unbearably hot to stone cold, so really not suitable for children.

The owners who also run the farm, seem to have lost interest in the campsite, and you hardly ever see them about.

On the plus site it has fishing on site that my husband likes, and a wooden play structure (now also in need of repair) and a small outdoor swimming pool that my daughter likes.

Though the playground does tend to attract the older children in the evening who can be noisy, and also ball games are allowed on the camping field

We noticed also that even though it says your pitch will be available from 12 noon and you are to vacate by 10am, new campers were being allowed to drive to pitches as early as 9am, while people were still packing up

at £32 per night for a family on 4, with hook up in high season, you are paying top price for a site that is becoming rundown. We shall be looking elsewhere from now on. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola2010 1 review from this member

 After camping for over 10 years we have seen a few campsites and this ones rates in our favourites. We have just returned from a wonderful weekend camping at St Tinney's with our two children 5 & 2.

The campsite is an absolute gem. Lovely converted farm buildings make up reception and the St Tinney's arms. Food was reasonably priced £6.50 - £11.00 for a main meal which was good home cooked food along with a good children's menu. We decided to eat out both nights as it was so reasonably priced. The drink prices have not been bumped up just because your on a campsite. The outdoor pool was gorgeous we had it all to ourselves and the temperature was equivalent to a bath, perfect for our little ones who would normally get cold quickly.

You soon get to know the family owners who are all really friendly and take the time to check your enjoying yourself. Just be careful of Rattlers!

The showers/toilets are basic, however they looked as though they had just been re-painted so they looked and worked fine and were always clean when we used them.

There's lots of opportunity to fish - we don't but you can still take advantage of the land and walk the nature trail through the woods.

The pitches were perfect not too close and only around the outside of the field so children can play in the middle, just be careful of the playground with little ones, but if you are going to leave your younger children on there on their own you should expect an accident.

In conclusion if you are looking for a big site with modern shops, fast food outlets and terrible evening entertainment where you have to spend, spend, spend don't come here, if you are looking for a quiet tranquil place with the convenience of good home cooked food in the pub with wonderful walks and freedom for children to play this is the place to go. Lovely atmosphere and fantastic owners and staff.

Definitely going again, only next time for longer! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

 As stated by all other reviews. Good value and ideal for children. Play park on top field, swimming pool, good walks, shop, toilets clean, wash up area. Pub good but small so if its raining, then it will be packed.

Only downside is approach lanes which are narrow, could be a problem if you meet another caravan, but not if a car as they could back up!

Will go again.

Pity that caravan pitches are not open in winter. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ned45 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site in September with good weather after the so called summer! Our pitch was large and flat with plenty of space for our 6 and 8 year old's to run around. The swimming pool is great, being very warm and clean which our kid's loved, as well as the pony rides and play area.
We found the on-site pub to be very welcoming and comfortable, very reasonable price with beer at £1.80 a pint, the food is excellent quality, value, so much so that we were able to eat there more time's than we had planned to.

The shower/ toilet block was quite adequate, spotless and the showers were nice and warm. All in all a good site with the owners / staff were friendly and approachable unlike some of the larger 'pack-em and rack-em' sites we have been to before. This site has load's of space, lots to do on-site and in the area and good value for money would recommend to anyone. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Tinney Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does St Tinney Farm have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Tinney Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is St Tinney Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Otterham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3394 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement