Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Cowes > Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Thorness
Cowes
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO31 8NJ
Tel: 0330 123 4895
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 304
Open: 17/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 29 Reviews
                6/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Teddybear12 1 review from this member

 Got put in a chalet that had the most awful smell and wet patches of what we were sure was urine from the smell of it. Then had to spend the rest of the holiday in one of their smallest caravans.

Customer service is terrible, took 2 months to get a phone call back from a manager regarding the issues we had.

The location isn't great, it's not really near much so you end up driving a lot. You do have their own beach that you can walk down to but it is a fair walk.

We had a meal in their restaurant which was definitely re-heated/microwaved and didn't taste very nice.

We have stayed at other Parkdean Resorts parks and always been happy but we will never return to Thorness Bay. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Baz-the-Crab 2 reviews from this member

 Very well presented and clean, Reception Staff extremely helpful.

Site is well positioned for travelling around the island.

Toilet, Showers and washing up facilities again very clean and well maintained.

All in all a most enjoyable stay ! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bmr79 1 review from this member

 Nice dog friendly site with great views right by the beach.

Straightforward check-in. Allowed us to change pitch closer to friends.

Outdoor entertainment due to covid which was good.

Would stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Evocraig 1 review from this member

 CARAVANERS BEWARE!. Some things you should know.

To summarize our stay; we booked a 10 night stay and stuck it out for 7 before getting an early ferry and returning home.

The toilet / shower block was appalling. My daughter refused to shower in them at the end of our first day and showered in the van. It wasn't cleaned for the 1st 2 days of our stay. My wife took before and after pictures and presented them to a manager who then accompanied her to the block and conceded that they were not acceptable. The manager then rolled up her sleeves and cleaned herself.

From then onwards there was a slight improvement but still way off he mark.

With the exception of the hard standing all the other pitches are on a SIGNIFICANT SLOPE. I had to remove our jockey wheel and drop the front on the ground to get level. This left he rear of the van so high of the ground I had to use numerous blocks under fully extended corner steadies. The gradient meant we couldn't pitch out awning properly which was a headache all week.

The play area is away from the touring field. You wouldn't let kids below 10 walk there alone unless you're not very bothered.

Thorness Bay is not within walking distance of anywhere and is not on any bus route so you'll have to travel out frequently.

The beach is a pleasant view from the club complex but is all mud when the sea receeds. OK for a short stroll but you couldn't swim here.

The club complex did seem fairly modern but we didn't eat or drink there so can't comment further.

The pool seems OK on first view but when you look closer you see loose steps, flaking paint, rusty barriers and missing locks on cubicles although they were always over staffed with lifeguards.

We requested and refund for our unused nights when we left early but were refused. After a lengthy complaint email to park resorts we received a phone call apologising and were refunded for the 3 nights we didn't use. During this call we were told that they were taking steps to improve the cleanliness of the shower block but this should've been done before the season started and not after we'd cut our main summer break short. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pittster 2 reviews from this member

 The worst camping site we have ever stayed on, I can only describe it as camping on benefit street or camping on the worst council estate on the planet

It is full of “campers” who think its ok to let the kids run around throwing rocks, releasing caravan handbrakes, sitting in your chairs and on caravan hitches that don’t belong to them, riding bikes/scooters next to vans at all hours (our car and van now has big scratches down the side) dogs off the lead and free to do whatever they want where they want (dog muck everywhere). Most nights had loud party’s or fights going on until 2 am (security does nothing)

Shower blocks are disgusting and bins are over flowing … In short its very badly maintained in all areas and very dirty

We stayed on a premium (it wasn’t) camping pitch with all the services (Touring caravan) the pitch wasn’t maintained and we needed concrete blocks under one side of the van to make it level

A few pitches have long-term residents and look like scrapyard pitches with lots of cars/boats and car parts

We moved to the outer edge on week 2 and that was a bit better but if we could have got a refund we would have moved

On the first day we took the kids to the play area but found it had a number of broken glass bottles under the play equipment – It took 3 hours for them to clear it up and they didn’t close the area off

The food is very poor and if you can find a clean table you will be lucky

In sorry but I can’t think of a good thing to say about the camping at thorness bay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Lone Ranger 2 reviews from this member

 If you like dirty toilets, expensive drinks in a tatty and dated club, sloping non draining touring pitches, more admin staff than cleaners, then visit this site. I have been camping on and off since the mid sixties and this site is by far the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to visit. In a nutshell, tourers are not welcome. They only want to sell you overpriced mobile homes and park lodges. But the main problem is that the touring pitches are right next to the main site access road. There is no 'quiet time of 2330-0700', it does not exist. We have been woken repeatedly many times overnight by speeding traffic. At literally about eight feet from our tents. Having a touring site and a residential site in the same place, simply does not work. And having the touring pitches by the road is simply, complete and utter madness. There are people who live here, driving by at all hours of the day and night, in cars and on motorbikes, also delivery trucks from about half five daily. We haven't slept properly for days. And guess what? The management do not see this as a problem. Some of our party are now leaving early as they've had enough. We have been offered slight reimbursement (better than nothing), but honestly, if you are a camper, please do yourself a favour and keep well away from the place. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kennyboy14 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the Friday 30th of September and as usual the booking in process was as friendly and efficient as always ( this is a site we have visited many times as we are local only 6 miles away from our home ). One of the reasons we like this site is because of our handicapped son who has down syndrome enjoys the sites entertainment which is absolutely brilliant on all the previous occasions we have stayed here over a number of years, however this years team of entertainers put together by an excellent young manageress Becs which consists of Danny (brilliant Host and DJ ) Holly (brilliant dancer )Ellie (brilliant singer ) Tia and Leanne ( talented team stars )are very special their two main performances The Great Gatsby and Candyland are top class acts and we thank them all for how they include our son in the activities.

The other reason we visit here is because of the excellent location with its countryside and coastal position with many wild birds of which my wife is keen to photograph.

The playground is adequate for a park of this size and the whole place is kept clean.

As we have visited this park over many years we have stayed in all levels of accommodation from Bronze up too the Platinum lodges that we tend to stay in now and no complaints about any of them, cant comment on local eateries as we always self cater. Ps the Saturday night entertainment was also superb ( the not the Blues Brothers )all in all we love this park and will look forward to many more future visits. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nat22 1 review from this member

 The tent field of the campsite doesn't have any shade or trees which made it very hot for sitting outside as for a change the weather was very good. The pitches are not bad size but as there are no hedges between tents, there is no privacy. The restaurant on the site is a complete rip off, bottle of water £1.85! Toilet facilities are ok, shower rooms are quite spacious but in the need of cleaning a bit more often.

The area itself is beautiful and there are not far to go on the island.

I would recommend this site but only for short break. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules1969 3 reviews from this member

 Our family have just returned from Thorness bay. Very easy to check in. We requested two pitches together with my daughter and son in law and was told to go and have a look and report back with pitch numbers, which we appreciated. Electric pitches slightly sloping but don't let that put you off. Toilet and shower blocks were always clean, there was even a bath !Great views over the hills and the walk down to the bay was lovely. There were some noisy ignorant neighbours next to us that played music and loved the sound of their own voices til gone midnight but a call to security soon stopped that. They responded very quickly. The on-site Shop was very well stocked and was very reasonably priced. We want to clubhouse just the once to see Bobby Davro ! Was very funny. Lots of seating and bar service was good. Only went there once because the weather was so good that we were still swimming in the sea in Sandown at 8pm ! And didn't use the indoor swimming pool again due to the same reason but we went in to look anyway and looked good. Would definitely return there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed for our two week holiday on this site in our tent without EHU.

The site was a nice modern site with clean showers and toilet blocks. The games area for the kids was large and well used. The indoor swimming pool got busy but was a nice little pool.

The site had a pub and small amusements and a large main room for events (not for us but we saw plenty of people using it).

The views from the site was nice and we even got to see the red arrows as the displayed at the nearby Cowes regatta.

Being on the top side of the IOW it made for a good location for visiting the island.

Being on the non EHU field we had plenty of space but the marked pitches did seem tight.

Our only real grip was poor management after an incident one night which took far too much time to resolve and with poor attitudes from managers of the site, but we got there in the end.

Worth considering if you visit the IOW and you want a site that offers both the camp holiday but away from it all at the same time. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorness Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cowes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3384 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement