Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Giants Head Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Giants Head Caravan Park
Old Sherborne Road
Cerne Abbas
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 7TR
Tel: 01300 341242
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Russell12 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite.

Caroline could not be more helpful and the facilities were amazing - showers better than you'd find in a 5 star hotel, really are.

The whole site is incredibly clean, fantastic views, etc. Really useful information pack supplied as well as plenty of extra information given verbally by Caroline on arrival.

They have just arranged a hot-food van to start visiting the site both in the evenings and again at breakfast time but the highlight for me was the regular visits by Jen's ice-cream van. I'll admit to being a bit of an ice-cream addict but these were the biggest ice-creams I have ever had.

Fantastic couple of days, thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 16 reviews from this member

There's something about this campsite that just lacks the 'wow' factor and I can't quite put my finger on what it is.

It's in a beautiful location in the Dorset countryside, and if you find the right place to pitch there are great long distance views over the valley. It's reasonably close to Cerne Abbas which is a very pleasant little village. You can walk there across the countryside, although we didn't do it (it is downhill all the way and uphill on the way back!). Its also only 15 minutes drive from Dorchester. There are other footpaths straight out of the campsite so a good location for walkers.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, and provides a useful information pack including the map of the walk to the village. The facilities are basic, but kept clean. There are two washing up sinks with hot water and the ladies toilets are fine. Only one shower though which is 50p plus 20p for the hairdryer.

I may have been put off by the rows of permanent caravans round the edge which are not generally that well kept and are a bit of an eyesore. The middle of the site where tourers can pitch is quite sloping so its difficult to get a good spot, especially if you want to take advantage of the view. Also there are no marked pitches so it could be a bit of a free for all if busy.

There's nothing wrong with this site, but its not on our list to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foo_dub_dude 9 reviews from this member

Spent one night here while walking the Wessex Ridgeway. Very welcoming chap on reception. Has ran the site for 50 years and now it is run by his daughter. Great price, only £8 for one person on one tent for the night. Shower needs 50p pieces. I took a few and had a long shower but still only used the one 50p piece. Site is slightly sloping, but has some flat areas where I was able to pitch my tent. The campsite is open and you can campy anywhere, there are no designated pitches. Most of the perimeter is full with motorhomes and caravans, some of which seem to be here permanently. However there was plenty of space in the middle to camp. Plenty of bins and water nearby. Showers were basic and very welcome after a day of walking. Site is above Cerne Abbas and has wonderful views to the east. It is by a busy road so any light sleepers may struggle and this would be an issue for small children, you'd need to keep a close eye on them. Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aprenzi 3 reviews from this member

Not to sure what site the last two reviewers stayed at. We have stayed here in the past and always get a warm welcome from the owners who are always available any time of day or night to help, even saw the owners daughter helping put tents up for some camping newbies!

It was nice to see that the toilet and shower block has been completely refurbished, still only has one shower but the owner has said that there will be more showers next year. Toilets and shower block is always spotlessly clean.

No ball games, what a load of rubbish, although we do not have children it was nice to see all the children playing football and cricket together in the middle of the site. I understand that this area is kept free purposely for kids to play.

Will definitely be back here again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sallyscof 14 reviews from this member

This campsite is a small, well kept site in the most beautiful setting, right in the heart of the country. We received a friendly greeting on arrival and a welcome pack which contained information about the area, a nice touch I thought. The site is set on a hill side so we considered ourselves lucky to find a relatively level patch, its a pretty site with a variety of trees and hedges. I can only speak for the ladies 'facilities' there were sufficient toilets and sinks, which were kept stocked with loo rolls and liquid soap and were kept clean, not modern at all, the hand drier was inadequate a feeble barely warm flow of air, I got used to taking a towel with me so not really a problem. There was only one shower which was a problem as it was insufficient to cater for all visitors being a bank holiday.

There is no play area and ball games are not allowed, so its not really suitable for children, they would quickly get bored. I enjoyed my stay but probably wouldn't go again, I think it would benefit from setting up a small shop for basics as the nearest shop is a good drive away, I considered it rather overpriced and the road which runs parallel with the site had heavy farm traffic up and down all day (even on Sunday) but it is harvest time so I guess it can be expected.

The very best thing about the site was the stunning scenery.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misiutoo 1 review from this member

Beautiful views and lots of lovely walks nearby but right next to the very busy road hence noisy, even in a middle of the night so forget good night sleep.

Difficult to find flat pitch as the site is on a slope. One male and one female shower only so imagine the queues on bank holiday. Tiny, almost claustrophobic toilets. Ancient shower block in such a poor state of decor that puts you off using it. Sorry but will definitely not stay there again.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alandw 3 reviews from this member

This camp site is very basic. The toilet shower block is dreadful looks more like people are permanent here and I do not know why. Online and on the phone we were quoted £55 for 5 nights but on arrival we were charged £70. Not worth it, spend a bit extra and get a decent site. In the loo your legs were round your neck. Will not visit here again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simontolson 1 review from this member

Came back to this site after a few years and very pleased to see they have taken notice of all the comments and put in a new toilet block and showers. Much better now and I'll certainly be back again as the location is fantastic in the middle of rolling hills and countryside and of course the famous well endowed man is just down the road. There's some good local pubs and fishing lakes just down the road with the chance of a monster catfish.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ted24 1 review from this member

I agree with most of the things other people have said about this site, which I would guess hasnít changed much in years.

The washing facilities are rather basic and a bit tired but they work ok and the toilets were clean. However 20p gets you very little hot water in the shower and thereís still only 1 shower for men and 1 for women.

What hasnít been mentioned much in recent reviews is the traffic noise. The road running next to the site is quite busy. Maybe you donít hear it so much in a motorhome or caravan. Iíd suggest to campers, get as far away from the road as you can.

The grass is well kept and itís not expensive to stay there. It's on a hill which can be a bit windy but there are plenty of flat places to pitch a tent. The surrounding countryside is absolutely lovely. Cerne Abbas is nice but a bit far to walk.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aprenzi 3 reviews from this member

Another peaceful visit to Giants Head, we were here last 4 years ago or more and have just had another lovely break. This site is a real gem if you are looking for peace and quite amongst some of the most wonderful countryside in Dorset.

Popped into the village of Cerne Abbas and had some of the best cream teas we have ever tasted at Abbots Tearooms.

Basic but exceptionally clean wash and toilet area, the owner said the whole toilet block was going to be revamped this year.

This is one of the best camp sites we've been and certainly won't leave it for another 4 years before we return.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019