Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lighthouse Leisure

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Lighthouse Leisure Reviews

Lighthouse Leisure
Southerness
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 8AZ
Tel: 01387 880277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Claireapril26 12 reviews from this member

Great location for a site although it's not one for campers as it's geared toward mobile homes, and thank goodness we stayed in one. Pitches look very small and surrounded by mobile homes.

The park is fine. Standard play area, small bar area that does not allow children in when the bingo is in. The pool is nothing more than an extra large bath. We used it once and got out after 5 minutes as we couldn't move in it with more than two families in it, including our family of 4. Out of season this place feels like a ghost town although you can't fault the surrounding scenery. Very, very unlikely we would bring our camper van here.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper78 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights on this site in a motorhome. It's not the prettiest of sites, with the static caravans all pitched very close together. Our kids loved the flashing lights of all the slot machines and rides, but we didn't! It is all a bit dated, but the toilets were clean, showers etc working fine (most people have their own facilities in mobile homes etc so no queues at all). Didn't fancy the evening entertainment, the bar is the hub of the site, seemed to be busy all day and night. It was a bit noisy at closing time when people returned to their caravans.

Had a fantastic day out at Drumlandrigg Castle, plenty to do and see without even going inside. Best adventure playground we've been to. Perfect for bike riding, various trails around the castle and grounds for all abilities. Good site for exploring the area, but not for us.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yandrews 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 days at lighthouse with my husband and 3 young kids although the site was clean and tidy, it is rather noisy. There were only 3 tents on site and that included ours. Our tent is really big but the pitch was big enough to cater it.

The toilet/shower facilities are clean but small only 1 shower 1 toilet for men and 2 of each for ladies. Only 1 dish washing sink as well.

1st night our tent got jumped on by a family of drunk adults with their kids at 12.45am. 2nd night there was a fight due to young teenagers hanging around. 3rd night was more quieter. The pitches were right beside the club which was rather noisy. Dogs were roaming free, at one point a big black lab came and sat in our tent and a jack russell was growling at our kids. There should be a security or warden going around the site at night and during the day, but the site is open to anyone.

The location was great. A lovely chip shop and craft shop. People were really friendly but those two family fights put a damper on our break.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Joe mulholland 1 review from this member

My family and I just got back from a 2 week holiday at the Lighthouse Leisure park, Southerness and we cant wait to go back. The staff are so helpful, from Sylvia and Audrey in the main office to wee Sandra, the cleaning lady. The people there who owned caravans where also very friendly. I have been going on holiday to caravan sites for nearly 30 years but never have I met friendlier people, who would do anything in there means to help. The caravan site is well maintained and very clean with the bins being emptied every day.

Entertainment was great at the Mermaid bar with Rosemarie and her husband doing a super job. We asked them for karaoke one night and it was no trouble for them. They also ran the swimming pool which was small but clean. Me and my kids where there every day and loved it. The beach was great as well. The caravan we rented was also excellent it was one of the new models, clean tidy and very spacious. We visited Mabie Farm twice, which is great fun for the whole family and there is a golf course just a mile away it costs £12 to play including clubs balls and tees.

ll in all, a super holiday and great value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

This site is noisy, at night with noise from the club on till after midnight, and also people drinking till after 2am. I suppose its alright if you like that sort of thing. The toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ste7510 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for 4 nights. Good facilities which were clean and tidy. The touring pitches were in middle of the park around the club and showers. Noise was not a problem, the swimming pool is small and there is a charge. The pool was not busy this week.
The club had entertainment Friday and Saturday, great singer on called John Ross and he is back again at the end of May.
Everyone was very friendly and we had a great time and are planning to return soon.
Touring pitch cost just £13.00 with electric, awning and 2 dogs, good walk along the beach for dogs.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pault 6 reviews from this member

We currently have a seasonal touring pitch on this site.  It has a lovely two minute walk down to the beach where the lighthouse is,  this is excellent for walking our little dog. As we like a site with some action, there is a Mermaid bar on the site which has evening entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights.  Also outside of the site there is a Paul Jones Hotel and the 19th Hole which both have karaoke on bank holiday weekends.   There is a chip shop and a small shop on the site.    The views out to sea and lovely.  

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Littleowl 4 reviews from this member

Just had a week at Lighthouse Leisure we hired a static, was not the type of site we would usually choose, we won't be going back, it was quite a noisy site, with no views.
it has a small indoor swimming pool, which costs extra! £1.50 per adult and £1.25 per child,  ( no mention of this charge on their web site) the changing rooms were good though with lockers and cubicles.
the touring area was not a separate area and it was right next to the bar, so would have been very noisy, plus the pitches were tiny.
the only plus side was that the site itself was kept clean and the bins emptied twice daily.
 


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019