Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pitgrudy Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Dornoch > Pitgrudy Holiday Park Reviews

Pitgrudy Holiday Park
Poles Road
Dornoch
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV25 3HY
Tel: 01862 810111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: All Year (12 Months)

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: William Scott24 1 review from this member

I stayed for one night in a motor home and since staying have read the reviews that really don't show it in a good light, so would like to share what I thought. This place is an absolute gem of a find - its set within beautiful country side with breathtaking views and so peaceful. Yes the toilet block is an older building but it was super clean and didn't have that horrible smell of urine most gents toilets have, in fact it smelt of lemon disinfectant and there were flowers and lovely soaps and air freshener. There was a huge bin area with lots of bins and some blue bins for recycling which is great. The pitch I managed to get without booking was a hard standing with electric and water but looking around all the pitches including the grass ones had electric and water available. We were very lucky with the weather and managed to eat lunch out on a picnic table and there were lots of people on the decks of the statics also doing the same. A great atmosphere and lovely people!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa Smith1 1 review from this member

Booked through website to stay in one of the holiday let accommodation and was not disappointed! The pictures were exactly as they looked - clean and modern. It was also very cosy at this time of year with the central heating. The park was very peaceful and clean - I think its main benefit is not having noisy pubs/restaurants on site as there was nobody wandering about at night time talking loudly or being rowdy. Just blissful peace and tranquillity. Just a mile out of Dornoch meant you get all the scenery and views but only a 20 minute stroll into the town for food. Lots of lovely little cafes and pubs - the best we found was the patisserie. Have already booked again to come back in the summer and would recommend highly.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

Stayed one night on the way north. It served a purpose and was not as big as the others in Dornoch!

Mainly statics so not much activity on a cold evening. Facilities OK. It has all we needed, but I wouldn't choose to stay again. The touring sites are at the front of the site, although most seemed to have seasonal vans on them - there was only one available hardstanding when we arrived, but I think there was only one other with people in it!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 17 reviews from this member

Stayed at this campsite for 2 nights as part of our tour around scotland, first impressions was that it looked nothing like the site we had thought we had booked the site was not near the beach nor did the photos we had looked at on line matched the site. When we asked about this the receptionist told us that all the sites use the same group of pictures, I suppose this is to make the site more glamorous. We then actually went to the caravan site down next to the beach was is in Dornoch itself but that site looked worse and had some localised flooding so returned to pitgrudy. Have to say that the site facilities were not of a high standard the toilet/shower block was a brick building with a wooden roof broken window boarded up and old wooden dividing doors damp and would of been better off pulled down. The pitch we had booked was ( over the phone ) hard standing but when we arrived, grass, not the best when we have a 3. 5 tonne motorhome as well as being sloped, we did manage to gain a hard standing pitch when another tourer left the day after we arrived I think it's on a first come basis, overall we thought this was a poor site with poor facilities and will not visit here again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MickeysMum 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site in a beautiful setting with great views and is within walking distance of Dornoch. Friendly welcome on arrival. However the facilities let it down. The toilet block is very basic, the paint was peeling off the concrete floor in the shower cubicle I planned to use and there was a puddle of water with no mop or any other means of cleaning it up so I decided against showering there. Prior to leaving the site I took the rubbish and recycling to the bins at the gate to find that not only were there no recycling facilities but the skips were overflowing with about 30-40 bags lying on the ground. Most people are committed to recycling and this is the first site I have come across with no recycling facilities. With a little effort this could be a wonderful site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrshlowe 3 reviews from this member

Really disappointed. Lovely situation, nice site, but too many issues. Toilet ballcock was broken- constantly running and splashing. Attempts to modernise were a bit lacking. Chemical waste disposal was blocked and disgusting and obviously had been for some time. Gents showers- only one working- drain blocked and stinky. When I commented to the owner- I was virtually ignored. Only 1 of 3 washing machines working. What a shame. Could be fab but needs a bit more effort

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ecogreentraveller 1 review from this member

Wow! What an absolutely lovely site from beautifully green and leafy well kept grounds to the standard of the chalets for rent to the friendly people both working and also staying on the park - just an amazing holiday. We stayed in a rented chalet and this was brand new with everything you could wish for it in and wonderfully furnished. All the chalets on site are spaced out perfectly and all have a huge decking area which we had many bbqs. The staff could not have been friendlier if they had tried. Our 4 children were safe playing in the grounds and had plenty space to do so. Dornoch beaches are beautiful and not far to walk at all. Thumbs up!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Busyweecamper 1 review from this member

An absolutely stunning park with views to die for of the countryside and dornoch firth. The grass and grounds are kept so beautifully that it made our trip. The toilet block and showers are all brand new and looked after so well - we stayed for 2 weeks and were spotless every single day - they had nice touches with flowers and fancy soap dispensers. The staff were so friendly and happy to help with anything. Dornoch is a lovely historical town and only 10 min walk away. Will definitely return to Pitgrudy.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lochlochy 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Quiet and peaceful. Number 32 was equipped with everything and more. Games DVD's music. Everything for cooking, condiments and sauces, seasoning and spices. Fantastic. Can not find a fault. Amy's staff, from painters to grass cutters were friendly and chatty. Staff were lovely and friendly and very welcoming and very helpful. Can't say enough. Fantastic place Will definitely recommend and hopefully visit again. X

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colstu 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night on this lovely site on route to John O Groats and we were not disappointed. Close to the A9 and a stones throw from Dornoch it was an ideal stop off for the next stage of our adventure to the Highlands and Islands. The site was quiet with excellent facilities and I got a good reception from their free WiFi. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the site was so very clean and tidy. Recommended.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dornoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2286 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019