Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar > Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside) Reviews

Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside)
Dollarfield
Dollar
Clackmannanshire   (Browse area)
FK14 7LX
Tel: 01259 742896
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site was previously known as Riverside Caravan Park - it is now called Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park and no longer offers any touring caravan or motorhome facilities. The site now has lodges for sale only. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scotchie 2 reviews from this member

 Not overly keen on this site for a couple of reasons. The site is just off a reasonably busy road. There are pitches near the entrance mainly for tent although I wouldn't like to pitch there as too near the road with small children. First impressions are the site is a bit run down with small pitches on hard standing. There are also grass pitches where we were and as it wasn't busy we had plenty room the grass pitches aren't marked out so there's potential for overcrowding.

At 22. 50 per night I'd be expecting a free shower and not needing to put 20 pence in the meter! The toilets were always clean however there was mop for the shower (yes only one shower!) and it really could be doing with one.

We had a great weekend due to good company and fabulous weather however we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beilby 7 reviews from this member

 We decided on this campsite as a result of good reviews and the site location. We were very disappointed. The positives were that the pitches were level, the welcome friendly and the location was perfect being 15 minutes drive from Knockhill racing circuit. The toilet blocks were fairly clean. Unfortunately there were more negatives. We were surprised how small our pitch size was, we were less than a yard from the units on either side. We have an awning (for which we paid an additional 3. 50 a night) but we were unable to use the guy ropes as they would have been pegged under the motorhome next door. There was no way for us to fill up with water or dispose of grey waste on site. The washing up sink was supplied by cold water only and was out in the open. On arrival we were told that someone would be available '24/7' but there was never anyone around on the times I went to the office to report the lack of hand soap in the ladies. It was certainly not worth the money and we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ironjock 1 review from this member

 We went to this caravan site as part of the sun 9. 50 deal. We had a really nice time whilst we were there. Unit was clean and tidy in a nice location. The owners had preheated for us due to the cold weather. Added extras like this really make a holiday!

Easy accessible to the town and nearby attractions.

The new owners were very friendly We had plenty of room and the facilities were all clean with evidence of being cleaned regularly.

The site is well situated for touring Dollar and the wider Stirling / Clackmannan fife area, the walk up dollar glen is a must!

The owners have not be in situ for long and are clearly working hard to upgrade the site. I would suggested installing a small playarea for children - even a small swingset, or sand pit or area where it is acceptable to kick a ball would give younger children an area where they can hang out and make friends. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kirsty-me 1 review from this member

 We went to this caravan site as part of the sun 9.50 deal. We had a really nice time whilst we were there. Unit was clean and tidy in a nice location. The owners had put a heater in the bedroom for us due to the cold weather. Added extras like this really make a holiday!

Easy accessible to the town and nearby attractions.

Owners were very helpful and friendly. They recommended some goods places to eat. Bibi's, The Devonpark Inn and The Ochil View.

Highly recommend this site 10 / 10. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Katglasgow 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed in this site for 1 night at very short notice to try out our new trailer tent. The weather had been truly awful for the past couple of months, many other local sites had pitches shut due to waterlogging. The owners on this site have put a lot of effort into keeping their site up and running and it was coping very well with the weather which is a credit to all their hard work. The best pitches on the site were on the tent field, complete with its own highland cow in the neighbouring field! Cars are not able to drive onto the tent field but as the car park is right beside the tent field this is not a problem.

The new owners were very friendly and suggested a choice of pitches to us, that were all flat. We had plenty of room and the facilities were all clean with evidence of being cleaned regularly.

The site is well situated for touring Dollar and the wider Stirling / Clackmannan area, the walk up dollar glen is a must!

The owners have not be in situ for long and are clearly working hard to upgrade the site. I would suggested installing a small playarea for children - even a small swingset, or sand pit or area where it is acceptable to kick a ball would give younger children an area where they can hang out and make friends. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danny teresa 1 review from this member

 Arrived here in the dark and rain. The warden came straight away. They found us a level pitch straight away. We stayed for three nights. We had some visitors one afternoon and the warden was delighted to let them park next to our van. We wish the new folk all the best in their new venture. We will be back as love dollar and the area. Close enough to the village pubs too, with excellent food and friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gigglegabble 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a few days at Riverside and absolutely loved the site. Both the managers and the other campers were very friendly and helpful and the park itself is very relaxing and all the better for being so natural. It was a joy to wake up to have the choice of watching the highland cattle graze out of one window or the fish leaping in the river out of the rear window.

There was everything we needed supplied in the caravan and even an extra heater and spare quilts when the temp dropped. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tailguncharlie 4 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site since the new owners took over management. What a difference they have made to this site. Toilets immaculate, overall tidiness of the site is the best I have stayed on and I have been camping all over Britain for some 54 years now.

You really must try out this site, I promise you will be delighted with your stay. You will not get a more friendly service from these truly wonderful managers, what an amazing impact they have made to this location. Cant wait to visit again and taste some more of Tracey's amazing carrot cake.

This site may not have a heated swimming pool, amusement enclosure for the kids to waste their money on, or a noisy bar etc, but what you do get is the most hospitable welcome from Dean and Tracey and a most pleasurable stay in this beautiful location, with fishing within a few metres of the pitches.

Thanks again guys, See you again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: MONTFORD 7 reviews from this member

 Rented one of the units. It isnt new, but clean and tidy.

The site managers are a great couple, couldn't be any more helpful, with where to eat, what to do etc, and very attentive to our requirements.

The site would be 'old', mainly statics and a camping field, with no play area for children, but then if it did, it would be overrun! The children had to invent their own fun on the camping field!

However, the managers keep the toilets very clean, and the grass etc well trimed, no litter etc, spotless, for an old site. I know its not their fault, but the old static left at the entrance is a sight!

Very reasonable priced. Would def return. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dollar Lodge And Holiday Home Park (was Riverside) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dollar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Clackmannanshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020