Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmouth > Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park
Blackawton
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 7DQ
Tel: 01803 712598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Fairbr 1 review from this member

 Even though we didnít stay this camp site has been amazing

We have been back year after year from when our son was 6 years old and is now 25

Itís just a shame because of COVID we couldnít attend but a must for any family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bbdawes 14 reviews from this member

 So many activities for the children in the park, you get free entry everyday to Woodlands when staying for a few nights.

It obviously gets busy in the school holidays (we were there at half term), but the toilets/showers are kept as clean as possible while dealing with large numbers of campers.

Well organised on arrival but you may have to wait a while for the wardens to show you to your pitch at peak times.

Pitches were a good size, level and all were within a reasonable distance of showers/toilets.

On site shop had a fairly poor selection but the food outlets on site were good, food priced as expected for this type of venue. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thebig 1 review from this member

 We liked the way the caravan pitches were set out in bays of 8. We were pitched with 3 other caravans/ motor home without children which meant we could have a quiet stay feeling very relaxed.

We also liked the separate shower rooms. We only used the general store once and unfortunately it only had one of the items we needed in stock. A swimming pool would be nice.

Overall though we thought the site was very clean and attractive and the wardens were very friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marine 1 review from this member

 I liked the organisation with the people on the little cars, I was near the toilette, great, being alone with an active small child!

The rides and leisure park was great! disinfected and safe, well done!

Also good to have the play park in the evening,

The park near the camping is great!

There is NOT GOOD FOOOD to eat at all, just JUNK, CHIPS, AMERICAN PIZZA, ice creams!

It was difficult to RECYCLE, I could see in the metal bin, bag with many recycling things,

There should be Those container NEAR THE TOILET, necessary for the environment!

I do not like barbecue smell, BUT I can tolerate it!

I give 9 score 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clintw 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting but spoilt by chavs pumping out music till 3 in the morning

Not very good security either

Toilet and shower was dirty with only 4 shower for 4 fields 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Craigb 1 review from this member

 We loved that they looked after us with great social distancing & cleaning of the rides in the theme park.

Giving a great plot of land for our motor home.

Great facilities too! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Exlincolngirl 8 reviews from this member

 I'm not sure if many people know this, but every year, they do an amazing offer for up to July 19th (some exclusions over Easter, May Holidays etc), which is 5 nights, including your pitch, 2 people, a dog, awning, car, electric etc, for just £65 (2020 prices, last year we paid £58)- & considering this includes entry daily to the huge theme park, then it's a bargain.

We even had a go on a couple of scary rides (sat next to a 7 year old - it was me, (69) doing the screaming)! We pay £4 a night extra due to 2 dogs (small dog walking area, but as the top huge field is empty until the summer holidays - so much walking space!).

It is situated in a wonderful area, just a few miles from Dartmouth, and we enjoyed it so much last year, we rebooked for this year. Not many places are in such a great area, with so many facilities nearby for such a small fee.

Wardens are friendly, shop looks like it's come straight off the OK Corral set, loos & showers are very clean, if a little dated. Above the block near to us, were bandit style machines, games machines, pool table & a huge TV.

All in all, we loved it, and those we spoke to whilst there, also loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jenleejam 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in our own motorhome, we had a nice spot more or less next to the shower facilities which were spotless, we were also close enough to the park, which we got to use for free for the full 3 days we were there, we got to go into the park at night but obviously couldn't go on the mechanical rides but could use the rest of the facilities which the kids thought this was great as they were the only ones there at the time, the food areas were a bit expensive which these places usually are, overall all adults and kids had a great time and would highly recommended there was so much to do for all ages 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Decto 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week in the late May bank holiday, booked after a few reviews and a look at the website but not really knowing what to expect.

As others have said, there is a choice between levelled pitches holding up to 8 units and open fields. Groups are supported and the site indicates there a kennels available if your pet needs somewhere to stay while you're off doing activities.

We were in the older tiered area on electric hookup which worked perfectly all week. The pitch was a level small field approx 100m square with three electric hookups though other tents did join later in the week. The middle area is kept free for children to play or to drift into with your chairs following the sun.

The toilet block and showers are a little dated but are clean with ample free hot water for showers or washing up. There is a nominal 20p charge for a bath full of hot water in the family room which is great for children but too much water and too slow for babies so we filled a bucket with hot water and used a 'Really Useful' 18Lt container as a makeshift baby bath.

Washing machines are a little expensive at £4 however drying is relatively cheap at £1 for 30 mins which will dry a reasonable load in the industrial driers and 40p is sufficient to dry a few damp ex-shower towels on those drizzly days which occur.

Customer service was great, friendly wardens, lots of people about but not intrusive.

As ever, with a child focused site, you have to expect some noise and as we were located near to a tarmac roadway there were constantly children there on scooters which were not in other areas. This didn't impact us significantly though as we're all easy sleepers.

The killer feature is the attached theme park which is a good size and caters for most ages. There is little for a baby to do other than watch, however once they reach 90cm and especially at 110cm a lot more rides become available.

Our baby was occupied mostly by the continuously changing scenery.

There are a number of key rides which are fun even for adults and all are well staffed. However there are also lots of climbing towers and slides, zip wires etc outdoors with a couple of big 'wacky warehouse' style indoors areas. While these are mostly probably suited to pre-teens, there seems to be lots to do everywhere on the site and it took us about 4 days before we had covered it all.

For balance there are a number of areas that could use some redecoration and the windows cleaning, especially in the animal areas which don't really seem to be loved with the exception of the super cute meerkats.

Having visited the 'World of Country Life' with it's ample petting opportunities it feels like Woodlands is really missing out on good interactive facilities no doubt due to over zealous risk assessment. I'd encourage them to visit WOCL and see just how much properly managed open access and interaction to animals can add. Either make it into a feature or remove it, currently it feels like it's in limbo not really knowing what it wants to be.

Also be aware that the theme park is in the base of a valley and the site is next to it, up a hill. There will be a lot of walking, an nearly all of that walking up or down a hill. I swear I climbed the equivalent of Everest 3 times in the week.

The site shop is a little skinny on supplies, plenty of camping gear but not much that doesn't need to be barbecued. Not an issue though as the nearest supermarket is 3 miles away down a good road with cash machines and petrol so supplies are plentiful.

That said we had a fantastic time and are already planning to revisit next year, although we really should investigate the surrounding areas a little more rather than indulging the little ones in the park. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tetters 1 review from this member

 Nice pitch location just below the wash facilities. Electric kept tripping out, when checked, 6 out of 6 pitches had electrical problems. Paid for an extra car and was told it couldn't stay on the pitch, it had to go in the main car park, when we checked the car the following day, it had been bumped. The reception staff were not helpful and were very quick to return the money we had paid for the cars stay. The theme park is looking very tired and dirty, many animal pens were empty. Toilet facilities whilst clean are very dated. The whole place could do with a major facelift. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dartmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement