Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Totnes > Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park
Blackawton
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 7DQ
Tel: 01803 712598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: 22/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews

Photos (26)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bigtentfamily 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. It is large with sufficient facilities (several blocks - all kept very clean despite the rain and wind while we were there).

The showers were lovely and warm and there are good dish washing facilities. There are several washing machines and tumble driers in one of the blocks. Lidl and Sainsbury are a short drive away and the campsite shop sold essentials. Lovely friendly staff. Our pitch was a good size.

The camp site has lots of tents and families there which was nice. It got a little noisy at weekends but at the quiet time of 1030 it was nice and quiet. The camp site it beautifully dark at night so you can see the night sky clearly.

We enjoyed the surrounding area - Dartmouth is beautiful. We went to Dartmouth swimming pool which was excellent. The theme park at the camp site is really great - we went to see the birds of prey several times and our girls loved the farm animals. We spent several of our days there.

We travelled to the aquarium at Plymouth, also Torquay and Paignton.

We would definitely go back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidwk 4 reviews from this member

 Very good!

The site is very well laid out, with enclosed hedged areas with hardstanding and hookup for about 8 units.

We had chosen the hardstanding because we were told over the phone that the grass pitches with hookup were "sloping". However when we looked at some of the grass areas they did not seem to have much of a slope, so I recommend those, as hammering rock pegs into the hardstanding was very hard work.

Toilet facilities are good, and never busy (in early June), and the site was very quiet when we were there.

Free entry to all the activities is a real bonus, as day visitors pay quite a lot, and there is plenty to see and take part in.

Even better, with an ACSI card you get the camping at a considerable discount!

The staff we encountered were all excellent and really friendly.

The food offering, though, looked pretty dire - we looked at what was on offer, but it was not for us.

The location is good, as there are bus stops for both directions just outside the entrance. Using these to go into Dartmouth (excellent for boat or train trips and fish restaurants), or to Totnes, rather than driving, makes a lot of sense. Also in the Dartmouth direction there is a handy stop near the supermarkets: Lidl and I think Sainsbury.

I have one other remark, and this is not the fault of the site: One day we took the steam train (excellent) from Dartmouth to visit Paignton, only because my parents had their honeymoon there in the 30s and like it. Don't go! It's a horror, and makes Blackpool look refined. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Fairbr 1 review from this member

 Even though we didnít stay this camp site has been amazing

We have been back year after year from when our son was 6 years old and is now 25

Itís just a shame because of COVID we couldnít attend but a must for any family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bbdawes 16 reviews from this member

 So many activities for the children in the park, you get free entry everyday to Woodlands when staying for a few nights.

It obviously gets busy in the school holidays (we were there at half term), but the toilets/showers are kept as clean as possible while dealing with large numbers of campers.

Well organised on arrival but you may have to wait a while for the wardens to show you to your pitch at peak times.

Pitches were a good size, level and all were within a reasonable distance of showers/toilets.

On site shop had a fairly poor selection but the food outlets on site were good, food priced as expected for this type of venue. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thebig 1 review from this member

 We liked the way the caravan pitches were set out in bays of 8. We were pitched with 3 other caravans/ motor home without children which meant we could have a quiet stay feeling very relaxed.

We also liked the separate shower rooms. We only used the general store once and unfortunately it only had one of the items we needed in stock. A swimming pool would be nice.

Overall though we thought the site was very clean and attractive and the wardens were very friendly. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marine 1 review from this member

 I liked the organisation with the people on the little cars, I was near the toilette, great, being alone with an active small child!

The rides and leisure park was great! disinfected and safe, well done!

Also good to have the play park in the evening,

The park near the camping is great!

There is NOT GOOD FOOOD to eat at all, just JUNK, CHIPS, AMERICAN PIZZA, ice creams!

It was difficult to RECYCLE, I could see in the metal bin, bag with many recycling things,

There should be Those container NEAR THE TOILET, necessary for the environment!

I do not like barbecue smell, BUT I can tolerate it!

I give 9 score 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clintw 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting but spoilt by chavs pumping out music till 3 in the morning

Not very good security either

Toilet and shower was dirty with only 4 shower for 4 fields 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Craigb 1 review from this member

 We loved that they looked after us with great social distancing & cleaning of the rides in the theme park.

Giving a great plot of land for our motor home.

Great facilities too! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Exlincolngirl 9 reviews from this member

 I'm not sure if many people know this, but every year, they do an amazing offer for up to July 19th (some exclusions over Easter, May Holidays etc), which is 5 nights, including your pitch, 2 people, a dog, awning, car, electric etc, for just £65 (2020 prices, last year we paid £58)- & considering this includes entry daily to the huge theme park, then it's a bargain.

We even had a go on a couple of scary rides (sat next to a 7 year old - it was me, (69) doing the screaming)! We pay £4 a night extra due to 2 dogs (small dog walking area, but as the top huge field is empty until the summer holidays - so much walking space!).

It is situated in a wonderful area, just a few miles from Dartmouth, and we enjoyed it so much last year, we rebooked for this year. Not many places are in such a great area, with so many facilities nearby for such a small fee.

Wardens are friendly, shop looks like it's come straight off the OK Corral set, loos & showers are very clean, if a little dated. Above the block near to us, were bandit style machines, games machines, pool table & a huge TV.

All in all, we loved it, and those we spoke to whilst there, also loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jenleejam 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in our own motorhome, we had a nice spot more or less next to the shower facilities which were spotless, we were also close enough to the park, which we got to use for free for the full 3 days we were there, we got to go into the park at night but obviously couldn't go on the mechanical rides but could use the rest of the facilities which the kids thought this was great as they were the only ones there at the time, the food areas were a bit expensive which these places usually are, overall all adults and kids had a great time and would highly recommended there was so much to do for all ages 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodlands Grove Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Totnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement