Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Boscrege Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Boscrege Caravan Park Reviews

Boscrege Caravan Park
Ashton
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR13 9TG
Tel: 01736 762231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jane1968 2 reviews from this member

 Extremely disappointed with this site, there website does not portray a true picture.

We stayed in a dog friendly static caravan for one week and the accommodation was very poor, cleanliness was an issue as was the level of equipment supplied.

Living area bunks were scagged and of poor quality, (the blankets in my dogs bed were of better standard), the veneer on the table was loose and caused scags to personel clothing.

The fire looked as if it should be condemned, extremely difficult to light and the enamel paint finish had come away.

I feel the price does not reflect the quality of the van.

We have since stayed in an alternate location, were the quality was exceptional for the same price.

The owners need to re-evaluate and look at what the customer expects and wants 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oscar13 1 review from this member

 Wonderful clean campsite, super friendly owners made us really welcome. Toilet's and showers clean and tidy, always plenty of loo roll!?! ☺️ Great play area in the middle of park which was perfect for children to play whilst we set up tent. Grass and surroundings well maintained. Would definitely use again. Thank you cx 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jackie poynter 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous week at Boscrege. I cannot praise Suzy and Chris enough for making us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Considering we are dog owners, our caravan was absolutely luxurious which is a pleasant surprise as in the past, pet owners are treated as 2nd class citizens when in actual fact, we are probably so paranoiod, our cleanliness is 100%. The position of the site is great for exploring the West and South of Cornwall and we even ventured over to the North side. A truly excellent, beautiful place to stay and I would highly recommend this to anyone. I cant wait to return! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bee Penfold 1 review from this member

 We have been holidaying here for many years and it was sad to say the last owner let the campsite slip. However since Chris and Susie have taken it over they have turned the site around. Showers are now hot they have made every effort to improve the site and we look forward to visiting again to see what else they have done. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Memerpus 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a very enjoyable week's holiday at this very nice caravan park in West Cornwall. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners.

The caravan site is in a very nice location surrounded by beautiful countryside and with horses, donkeys etc and interesting wildlife in every direction and stunning walks all around. We were allocated a very clean and well equipped caravan in a lovely quiet location with ample parking.

We were offered a very competitive price and there were a few beautiful and friendly cats wandering around the campsite that were no trouble at all. The campsite is very clean and beautifully kept with all facilities readily available.

I would have no hesitation in staying at this caravan site again and have already recommended to my friends.

The position in relation to places like St Ives, The Lizard, Helston, Gweek (seal sanctuary), Falmouth, Porthcurno, etc etc is ideal in its placement.

We intend to stay here again in the future, absolutely top marks and well done to all of you for making our holiday very enjoyable. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: VDean 1 review from this member

 This year will be my third stay with Chris & Suzie, I didn't even bother to look at any other sites. For me, Boscrege has everything I look for in a holiday, peace & relaxation.

Having three dogs I feel very lucky to have found somewhere I can stay in such a lovely static van & be made to feel so welcome.Gas & elactric are included in the very reasonable price.

The vans are all well spaced out with parking alongside.The site is always clean & tidy & as I stay each September it's never busy.If ever I've had any problems Chris has been to sort it out straight away.

There's ample room for exercising the dogs on the site or there are numerous places within a few minutes walk.

Chris & Suzie have done a lot of improvements to the site since they arrived & I know there are still projects to be done. Being in a static the facilities on the site are really irrelevant to me.

The location of Boscrege is wonderful being close to lots of great beaches & places of interest. Long Rock (by St Michaels Mount) provides a vast sandy beach with no summer dog ban & free parking. Perfect for dog owners.

All in all I look forward to seeing friendly faces again& winding down the minute I turn off the road by the garage! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kimmie 7 reviews from this member

 We've used this site for five years, camping and static caravan. There was a change of owner last year. The previous owner was friendly and looked after the site well but health and council constraints made it difficult. The new owners are trying to improve things but it will take time.

Its well positioned for getting around, peaceful, nicely laid out, lovely views, and a good place for kids - plenty of room for ball games, a dog walk, and EHU (book in high season) and wifi.

The facilities need improving but are perfectly adequate for camping. Camping is not meant to be home-from-home - its an adventure, a change of lifestyle for a couple of weeks. We will be returning there in the future 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Etherdwickgirl 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this site. The main field is very roomy with great views, we however were situated on a smaller area, which was very tight, in fact our guy lines over lapped the next tent to us. We could not park the car to the side of the tent and had to park it to the front. We were unable to open the side door due to the next tent been so close.

The toilets closed between 12 and 2pm - 8.30pm and 9.30pm for cleaning. On the back of each toilet door was an A4 sheet stating that should the toilet roll run out between cleans it would not be replaced, which on many occasions it did, so take your own.

The toilets had dispensers but these are not used, 2 rolls are placed in each toilet. The toilets are so small you feel you are sitting on the sanitary box which is pushed into the side of the toilet. The toilets and showers are not what I would call clean, on many occasions you thought twice about using them.

The showers have been tiled very nicely with new purple shower curtains. The flooring is smelly and on 4 occasions both morning and night we had no hot water, this was not because it had been used up.

The toilet block had two wash rooms, excellent we thought only to find these locked, apparently these have no running water to them

The laundry room - the washer did not rinse the clothes and you had no idea which heat or cycle it was on as no lights worked on the machine. The dryer smelt.

The washing up room was very tiny and one hot water tap not working. I would say this room was very cosy.

The games room has seen its days, very drab, no tips to the cues, pool table ripped cloth, very smelly, damp - not worth it.

The owners were never around if you need to see them then you go to the office.

This site could do with a good makeover and bringing up to date, family friendly and a really good deep clean.

Praa sands is brilliant, a really good day out. A clean beach, safe surroundings, shops and plenty to do. Ideal base for the South West Cornwall coast. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kar.en 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed in one of their vans but I had a good look round the facilities and would have been just as happy in the tent if I'd been able to fit it in the car along with the kids and all the necessary equipment for a week on the beaches!

Lovely big camping field in a stunning location (satnav was invaluable as this place really is in the middle of nowhere and all the lanes look identical!)

Previous reviews regarding the 'tired' state of the site are fair as there is definitely room for improvement but there were signs of things being done. Kid's play areas could do with some attention but they were still usable.

The (free) shower blocks were roomy (and everything was in working order), there were ample sinks for washing up and there's a small laundry room (2 per wash).

Site owners were very friendly and helpful and it was great value for money but the best thing by far was the location. Surrounded by fields and woods but only 2m from Praa Sands (lifeguards so safe for kids) and 5 miles from the nearest town (Helston).

We loved it and have already booked for next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allun 6 reviews from this member

 This was our 6th year at Boscrege, the past 5yrs under the care of Tony and Andy were impeccable, always happy to help, friendly and always available.

This year under new ownership a lot of small problems had soured our stay slightly.

Price's have increased even though no updates have been made to the site, no toilet paper for peak season is a surprising decision, and the state of the toilets and showers were unacceptable. The mens toilets were cleaned at 11am and 8pm (which was not enough during wet weather )and resulted in the toilet/shower block being closed off to campers for up to 1 hour, a tricky situation when you have children. Blocks were in poor condition with loose tiles in shower, and excrement on wall of toilet which was not removed during cleaning until I complained about it.

Waste water is tricky to dispose of having to lift onto a 18' platform to dispose of water into the chemical toilet because no other disposal is available, was told by the owner I could just dump it in the hedgerow if I preferred, which again seemed unacceptable.

The area is fab though and pretty central to many beaches and attraction.

Pricewise the original 'price fixed per pitch' that the original owner had set made the site a very attractive proposition, but now that it has reverted to the usual price per adult/child etc.It's now on a par pricewise with surrounding sites, but the other sites have better facilities. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Boscrege Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Boscrege Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Boscrege Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement