Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stroma View Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > John O Groats > Stroma View Campsite Reviews

Stroma View Campsite
Huna
John O Groats
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW1 4YL
Tel: 01955 611313
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueli5 1 review from this member

 As newcomers to campsites and motorhome travel, we hadn't appreciated the importance of booking well in advance of travel so were thankful, we were able to book a pitch at Stroma View.

No electric hook-up was available, so we went 'solo' for the first time! Having stayed at much smaller sites along our route, the size of Stroma View came as a surprise.

It is a huge site, but if well catered form with several washroom blocks available to campers.

Sadly, the weather meant we couldn't take advantage of the nearby glorious beaches and other attractions, although Smoo Cave was quite a spectacle given the rainfall the area had experienced.

Facilities were spotless and plentiful. As for the Breakfast Bar - what a treat! Don't be deceived by it's rather shed-like appearance, the smell of freshly cooked bacon in the morning was too much to resist!

Plenty to do and see nearby and a good stop-off point on the Route 500. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornamd 15 reviews from this member

 1 night stay after ticking off John OíGroats.

The site is an open area through a wide gateway just off the coast road in front of the ownerís house. No frills and no fuss but also fine for £12!

It is a flattish area with a couple of EHU points, a pot wash and toilets.

When we booked we were told showers were extra, which was fine, but when we arrived the showers were not available.

The site lives up to its name - you can see Stroma and we sat and watched the waves crash - and thereís plenty of space available to set up.

We walked our dogs along the lane that runs along the side of the site and round the back of the barns and loo block - all good.

The owner is a good guy - he has some tales to tell of you get him chatting - but he is also no nonsense and no frills.

The site is a no frills stopping point and meets your basic needs. If you have your own shower, then it could be fine for a few nights too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sherwo 1 review from this member

 The best site that we'd stayed at on our NC500 trip, shame we only booked 1 night.

Very reasonably priced, beautiful views, ladies on reception were so helpful and very pleasant. Lovely walks. Quaint harbour.

Definitely worth a stay.

10 /10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Malcol 1 review from this member

 Excellent spot for a 1 night stop

Good views

John was very helpful,

Close to John O'Groats

We stopped overnight and went early to visit the following morning. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mease1 1 review from this member

 This is a basic site but has toilets, showers, water and waste disposal.

You do not have to book but we did.

Showers were closed due to covid 19.

Be warned to take your our toilet roll to the loo, not sure if they were not supplying due to covid or this is normal. Toilets were clean.

The owner John was very quick at replying to emails, and overall he was nice enough. It was cheap at £14 per couple with electric so cannot complain. Views over the sea were nice but as its so far north it was very windy. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 623 reviews from this member

 Reading the very mixed reviews we were unsure on this one. Rang and made a booking that afternoon. Arrived and pitched up with plenty of space on site.

The site is right on the main road, after 7pm we didn't hear any road noise, the road goes very quiet. Pitching is on a large gravel area edged with a large well cut grass area. Electric hook up available and included in the price.

Loos - ladies were immaculate, freshly painted, plenty of hot water, very clean, loo roll etc. Apparently mens could do with a paint but very clean etc.

We didn't ask to use showers, you pay and he unlocks - fine with us as why pay if not using.

This site is perfect for NC500 £10 per night including electric and loos is an amazing bargain (the bigger sites are £22+). There are glorious views over Stroma, its easy to find and easy to pitch.

Possibly customer service isn't something the owner has an abundance of, we did find him a bit off-hand and not the most welcoming. That said we thought his site was great for a night stopover and would recommend it if you want somewhere for an overnight. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Caraid68 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from Stroma View where we spent 3 nights over Hogmany. Facilities are clean and the price is very cheap. £10 per night for 2 with electric. Showers are extra, but worth it. Last stayed here in 1996 and it was a bit dire. So a big improvement. It is very unique and is a place not to be missed! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: J crackoe 1 review from this member

 Stroma View Campsite - this one does not advertise at all! Least of all as being on the NC500 route - although it is on it! I think (though I may be wrong) that the is no mention of the NC500 on their webpage. It's true that the showers are available 0nly on request, they are £2. 00 per use, as it says on their information page. I asked to use a shower and it was the best shower I've used in a long time - it has a wall heater. I was happy to pay the £2. 00 asked for. This will not 'disturb' the owners (why would it if that's what they want?). They were helpful and pleased to provide it - If anything is 'unique' at all it's having an attended shower! It's an excellent campsite for the price (£10 not including the showers - but with them it's still cheap (£7. 00 p. P. P. N. )) - if you want somewhere to park with good facilities. By the way, if you want to know anything about this place look at their website (they like to call it an 'information page') all you need to know is there - and apparently nowhere else. PS: If you want to fill a water tank just ask where the fill-up point is - I did and it's free (in the price). The campsite lacks a laundry - I suppose in that way it's basic - but what do we expect for £10? 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Awiseman 1 review from this member

 I stayed at this site in June 2018 and I found it very good. Epecially in the shower department, which was roomy and heated. The whole place was clean and tidy and although not particularly large (in fact it's small and basic) and although it's built of cheap (or should that be 'economical') materials it was large enough for me and I presume for the five other campervans that were there - after all, you don't pay til you get there and you can have a look round before that - so if you don't like it why stay?

I liked it and stayed. It's not weighed down by a load of regulations likes some of the sites I've been to, and according to the campsite owner - 'We do things differently here - it's not everyone' 'cup of tea', but it's the way things are. '

I enjoyed my short stay there. I think for the price (which was £22.50 for one person for 3 nights in a campervan)

It's one of the best sites I've been to.

I'm not sure what is meant by 'EHU not great' (a review Dated -/03/2018) - I assume it means Elec. hook-up, you just plug into it don't you? It can deliver 15A @ 240v (=3. 75Kw) for as long as you like - so what's Not great? I also had no problem with grey water waste (if it's in a cassette), and the chemical disposal also worked ok! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorfal 27 reviews from this member

 It is what it is. Itís cheap, perfectly suited for gills bay ferry.

We stayed overnight for early am ferry next day. Itís a great situation with wonderful views.

Itís cheap and fine to park overnight with EHU Facilities not so great. Toilet area was clean enough and there has been an attempt to make it bright with paint. You are limited to 10 min shower time. Dull, dark and not appealing at all so we didnít use them. No grey waste disposal point at all (told just to let water out up a track). Chemical disposal point disgusting Iím afraid.

Site is slightly sloping, all hardstanding, very car park like.

Itís not somewhere Iíd chose to spend time for anything other than an overnight park, but the price does reflect that which is fair enough. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stroma View Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stroma View Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stroma View Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near John O Groats      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement