Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Smith Terrace
Scrabster Road
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 7JY
Tel: 01847 892244
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 66 touring (36 hard-standing); 30 tent
Open: 01/04/2024 to 09/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steven m 7 reviews from this member

 2nd best site on our tour.

Site is on the clifftop some pitches need big level blocks.

Toilets are dated but clean.

2 min walk to the beach along the coastal path probably not handy for young children as there's steps.

Easy walk into town.

Site has a cafe didn't visit. Lidl is across the main road.

Would stay here if I was up that way. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Lovely views from the site, very peaceful.

Site and showers/toilets very clean.

Lidl across the road and benefit of a diner on site.

Would definitely stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisavh 2 reviews from this member

 Would highly recommend this site

The people are friendly and very helpful, we received a lovely welcome,

The site has an amazing view

The toilets and showers are not amazing just a little tired but they are clean and have plentiful hot water.

Great site would definitely come back x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judyhu 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, nice pitches. Cafe on site.

Lidl straight over the road and a little walk into town centre.

Good facilities for washing up, clothes washing and shower block.

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janet5 1 review from this member

 We found the site very nice and owners very helpful especially Abby.

They help us out by giving us a electric pitch, we had a fault with our caravan and they were very helpful.

We will be back. Mike and Myra Tough 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimpau 1 review from this member

 The site was in a good location, but looked tired and a little worse for wear.

The facilities were adequate but not exceptional.

The weather didn't help, but the site had no control there! 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: AJ-K 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful view, and nice flat grassy pitches to tent on. The staff were incredibly friendly and kind, cannot fault them, all amazing people.

The biggest downside for us was the walking trail right along the edge of the campsite, there is small stone wall, but it is a popular well traveled sidewalk, so people are constantly walking by. The paved walk was maybe 3 feet from our pitch.

This meant lots of people walking their dogs, constantly, and not all of these were on leads. We had a few dogs come right into our pitching area and because we were camping with our dog, that really didn't work for us.

It was really hard for our dog to settle when other dogs were constantly coming by and a few of them right into our space and two even right into his bowl! This might not bother some people, but we were planning on staying multiple nights and we barely lasted the 1.

Facilities were good, and a nice easy walk down to the beach. Nice beach, saw many sea birds and a seal too.

Just such a shame about that walkway, or else this could have been perfect. Not the fault of the campsite at all mind you - it's next to a public walk which was just unfortunate for us with our dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melmot 1 review from this member

 Great location. Ideal for the town and the ferry.

Pitches firm and flat with hook up.

Showers etc clean and well equipped.

A great spot for a jump off to Orkney and Shetland 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 This Site seems to live mainly on its location on the NC500 and proximity to the Scrabster Ferry.

These, the excellent views and the short walk into Thurso are the positives.

The negatives are the condition of the toilets and other facilities and the way tents and vans are packed in.

We found ourselves next to a pitch with motorhome, two cars, dogs and a tent, followed by inflation of a kayak at about 10. 30pm all on the same space.

On top of all that, the power had failed and we were without electricity until a generator was connected up.

Price is quite high too. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjmacl 1 review from this member

 Lovely view of the beach.

Toilets and showers were dirty even although the cleaners had just been in they were also old and worn. The key code doors on toilets were not great either as every time someone went in the doors slammed and disturbed our sleep as we were right at the toilet blocks.

The cafe area wasn’t open but where you checked in and it had a really bad smell.

No problem with the pitch and no noise after ten. It was fine for one night but wouldn’t stay here again 
via mobile


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thurso Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement