Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scoutscroft Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Berwickshire > Coldingham > Scoutscroft Leisure Park Reviews

Scoutscroft Leisure Park
St Abbs Road
Coldingham
Berwickshire   (Browse area)
TD14 5NB
Tel: 01890 771338
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2020 to 15/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 15/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Joanr 1 review from this member

 We have visited scouts croft before and were looking forward to returning

Unfortunately, as seems to be the case in this part of south East Scotland, it has been turned into a sea of static caravans.

The touring area-STRICTLY NO TENTS allowed, has been crammed into a small area, hemmed in by tin boxes and a fair Trek from the only toilet block. Such a shame that it has no soul now.

The staff were lovely however, and couldn't have been more helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AD90 4 reviews from this member

 A good site that could be a great site.

The pitch was 'ok' but the awning area was 3-4' higher than the (gravel) van area, so the awning was a bit loose.

The toilet block was clean, but poor flushing toilets and poor draining shower trays let them down.

The grey water drains are poorly designed (you need to lift the waste master up on to a kerb) and the 3 I tried all drained slooooowly!

The recycling bins are hideously complicated - can't imagine how non-English speakers get on??

The kids play area was a joke - really? Why list it?

On the plus side; it's in a GREAT location, the on-site restaurant is spot on, as is the on-site chippy (They are both VERY good) 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katty72 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site, friendly staff who were more than eager to help our holiday be more enjoyable. Bar was very friendly and accommodating as we have a 3 year old, we were offered games and puzzles to play with our child. Unfortunately the restaurant had shut due to chef leaving the day previous, but was only a temporary measure and would RE open as soon as possible. On site chip shop was more than enough to keep us happy!

Toilet/shower facilities were very clean and in good working order, also very accessible, family room available for those with young children.

Site was well kept even if there were some areas which were currently under maintenance.

Also found site to be very considerate of children, appeared safe for them to explore under supervision. Play are was clean and all in working order. However a stream runs through site and do feel it could be fenced off from children.

Site composed of static vans and touring caravans, all with electric hook ups and seasonal pitches if desired. Pitches are a good size and not too imposing on neighbours.

Site set in a quiet village with access to a convenience store and two public houses with eating facilities. Also within walking distance of a beautiful beach and coastal walks. Ideal for walkers and dog owners alike, or even just to enjoy the spectacular views!

All in all an enjoyable holiday and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 563 reviews from this member

 Large site, a short walk from the village of Coldingham. The village has a Spar and a couple of pubs which serve food.

The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes on a good path - the bay is a lovely spot with rock pools, beach huts and a cafe. A great spot. St Abbs is another mile along the coastal path from the bay.

Site facilities are good with clean shower block. There's a bar, chippy, restaurant and arcade on site.

One thing that could be improved is the tourer field which was a little run down with wires hanging from EHU bollards anf pitches a bit untidy. However, it looked like work was in progress while we were there.

Site staff very accommodating. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hitch Up and Go 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely week at Scoutscroft. The staff very friendly and helpful and they were quick to rectify any problem reported to them. Toilet block and site were well maintained. They have a super family bathroom with small bath/shower baby changing etc.

Loved the walks along the burn up to the the village and from the Priory and also down to the coast either to the rocky shore or the lovely sandy beach. My Grandchildren 7 + 11 had a super time on the beach and exploring rock pools.

They thought the games room was good value and spent a happy couple of hours playing air hockey and table football. The local shop is well stocked with long opening hours. There is a butcher shop in the village and a fish van.

We visited Eyemouth and Berwick and may have gone to the cinema or indoor swimming pool or fitness centre if the weather had been wet. We stayed at Scoutscroft earlier in the year and look forward to going back again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marcleigh1 2 reviews from this member

 My husband I arrived on Friday and are staying until Monday. We have found the park wonderful. Nice toilet and shower block, with lovely large cubicles and kept to high standards, albeit the light must be on a timer and goes out after a short period.

Scotties, Crails and Crofters Bar are all clean and tidy and excellent service. Mallard touring park, where our caravan is parked is lovely and tidy and the pitch we are in, number 23, is ideal for a walk to Coldingham Bay.

We will definitely return to this delightful park and it's well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wildvoice 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 2 nights (Friday Saturday) the site was very quiet and we could select our own pitch.

The site is located just outside a small village which has 2 pubs a spar and an antique shop, the beach is also close to the site about a ten minute walk and have to say is very clean.

The site is well kept and the locals who we met in the bar were very friendly. The only down side was that the shower room was cold so it was a case of in and out within a flash other wise overall a pleasant trip. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 This site was on the edge of a lovely village with 2 pubs, one did very good food, we could not eat there was booked solid for the two evenings we were there, but it looked lovely and a mini market.

We caught the bus into Eyemouth from the village and watched the seals in the harbour.

The site has a bar that did bar food and a restaurant (we did not use has was closed for a wedding)

There was also a fish and chip shop, but no general shop so a walk into village for papers and morning rolls.

The toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water the first day but had a cold shower the second day not sure what happened.

We walked to the sea from the site took us a good half hour legs not what they were but it was worth it and the walk was on a lovely footpath.

Cafe on the beach for a coffee (witnessed a wedding on the beach with piper very romantic) There is also a pub over looking the sea not sure if they did food.

Loved the site and its locality to some nice walks. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Splodger 9 reviews from this member

 You will see that I previously submitted a review of Scoutscroft in 2010. Albeit I gave the site an average assessment, the locality drew me back and I pitched my caravan there all season 2011. My overall opinion of the site has not changed dramatically but I did enjoy staying there and will be doing so again this season.

However, I can now give some more opinion of other aspects of the site and area.

The pitches are big, mostly level but desperately lack a mains water supply. I believe there is no intention to change this in the foreseeable future.

Creels Restaurant on the site offers good value, tasty meals in pleasant surroundings. The on-site chippy was excellent early in the season but declined by the end. Two fish in your supper reduced to only one and the taste and quality became poor too. Do not be tempted to try Mackays in Eyemouth for a fish supper. Awful!

Scoutscroft staff continue to be helpful and courteous.

Locally, there is now a nice gallery in Coldingham and the New Inn is highly recommended for dinner, although does not match Creels for value.

The Indian restaurant in Eyemouth serves some interesting and unique dishes.

If you are a golfer, you must play a round at Eyemouth. A stunningly located links course with an amazing 6th hole played over the ocean!

Berwick Upon Tweed is a nice town with all the shops you could hope for (Marks & Spencer Food, Tesco, Morrisons, Asda, Co-op, WH Smith, B&Q, Halfords, etc). As I said in my last review, the Cannon chippy is the best.

The winner in this area is Coldingham Bay. Lovely sands, a surfers paradise and a reasonable little cafe (when it can be bothered to open!).

To conclude, Scoutscroft has retained my business for another season but only due to its locality. I still believe it could do so much better but, as I thoroughly enjoyed last season, I have given it an additional star in this review. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MILLIE11 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Scoutscoft. We were not supposed to be there but a hitch in our holiday plans meant that we spent time here and I am very glad we did.

All staff on site are very friendly and very helpful. Touring pitches are electric hook up only, but that did not deter us. Our pitch was huge and the kids had plenty of room to play.

An aerial is provided for the TV and you have to pay a 10 deposit.

Toilet block was accessed via a key which you pay a 10 deposit for. Showers were clean and plenty of hot water.

Coldingham Bay Beach was about 10 minutes walk down a lovely lane, scenic from the start to the end, where the dogs are also welcome. Beach was beautiful!

On site there is a chip shop, (fab place to eat), Scooties Bar, an arcade and soft play area for the kids and a bar/lounge for adults/kids. There is also Creels Restaurant. Can't comment on any of the food apart from the chip shop, but spoke to others who said it was lovely.

The kids loved the entertainment at night, quizzes, kids Bingo, and for the adults, Bingo, quizzes, karaoke, race nights, etc, but the children are all welcome as it is a family lounge area.

We had a brilliant time, kids loved it to. Would recommend it to anyone. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Scoutscroft Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Scoutscroft Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Scoutscroft Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coldingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement