Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kennford International Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Kennford International Caravan Park Reviews

Kennford International Caravan Park
Splatford Lane
Kennford
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 7YN
Tel: 01392 833046
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Llawnroc007 2 reviews from this member

The site is mainly residential statics and a few caravans which seemed permanently occupied. Very clean and tidy and the best clean showers & toilets we have ever seen. They are not for use of residents. There is no icepack freezer facilities nor a dog exercise area. Although dogs are welcome if kept on a lead. The site is near the very busy road but we did not really notice this once asleep. Went to Haldon forest several times which is so lovely with mostly level trails ideal for bikes & pushchairs. And a cafe & toilets. There is a village pub for good food and a small convenience store. A petrol station is nearby and Exeter is not to far away.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jemimac 8 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for two nights just passing through. It was mainly static vans but an area for touring vans and tents. Nice clean site. Shower block etc was excellent the best I have seen for a long time. Downside for me was the noise from the main road.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chezandzakk 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic stay and were made to feel so welcome by all the staff and all the people who were enjoying the site too! The facilities were fab, clean and everything you need. Ian and Lisa looked after us so well I feel we left as friends. I would recommend this site to anyone. Sometimes its hard to leave! :)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laydee70 3 reviews from this member

This is a basic site with more statics and caravans than tent area, the owners are friendly and welcoming and helpful with anything, plus it is easy to find right next to A38 but you do hear the traffic at night if you don't take ear plugs. The toilets/ showers are very kept clean and the camping area is well maintained with marked areas. There are two eating places nearby, we tried the pub which had great food and friendly staff/ locals. You can also order takeaway delivery which we didn't do. There is no on site shop but there is a fuel station nearby for any missed essentials. There are supermarkets within driving distance. They also don't do ice pack storage which was a big let down as we don't have a camping fridge, we were just lucky that the temp. Was cool at night for milk in the morning.

Even though it has a small play area it didn't feel that child friendly, more as an added after thought to encourage families as the whole place felt quiet and we did keep our noise lower than normal. There was also a large green area which we weren't sure what it actually was, so the kids did play on it and at night it is covered in rabbits which is a lovely sight to see.

It does say no dogs but people living on-site walk their dogs freely around the site, as a dog lover I didn't mind this but they should really have a dog area for fouling.

All in all this is a great base if you're a couple or older family but not really for a younger family who can make a bit of noise.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kenglos 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at kennford for 3 nights site was nice, quite centrally positioned so good if you plan on visiting different resorts as it is right next to a38, we were positioned on far side of site away from road and had no traffic noise issues at all there are quite a lot of seasonally sited vans on this site.

The toilet block was clean and water temp good there is a small club on site which was quite nice and all staff I came across were polite and very friendly.

There are two pubs across road the gissons and the exeter hotel we never used hotel but ate at the gissons nice pub, food was lovely and staff very helpful.

I would stay at kennford again as it was a nice site and cheap.

My only gripe was on leaving site with caravan on back is the road exiting the park is quite steep and has a large speed bump which caused me issue as slowing on a hill to go over speed bump is a struggle thankfully I didn't have to give way at junction as would have been a job to get going again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twisted-pixel 8 reviews from this member

Our second visit here in as many years. The site is chosen because of a) it's location to where we wanted to go and b) because we've stayed there before

There were lots of us booked to go but the weekend event was cancelled and so lots of people cancelled their camping too. The owners were very understanding of this and because they knew us all anyway, we hadn't paid any deposits so there was nothing to refund. This was very much appreciated by our club members an I suspect lots of others too. They also gave us a group discount despite that fact that only 3 of us turned up (out of about 10).

Since last year the site has seen a fair amount of work and the number of static caravans has increased, but there is still lots of trees and bushes that mean the site is still very 'green' and uncluttered. It's very peaceful

Because of the cancellations we were giving a serviced pitch instead of the camping field, and the owners were very helpful indeed.

Everything very neat and tidy as per our previous visit, toilets/showers were spotless, bar was welcoming and they put the football on a big projected screen for us.

Still an amount of road noise which seems to start very early in the morning, but to be fair it is the main road in/out of Exeter.

Looking forward to going back again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twisted-pixel 8 reviews from this member

A few of our friends had stayed at this site before (for the last few years actually) so we didn't hunt around for a site, we just took their recommendation.

Initially my thoughts were. It's very small. We don't do EHU and so were told we could camp anywhere on the camping 'field' which used to be the children's park. The 'field' is a square piece of sloping grass about 60 meters square. There are pitches all around it for EHU and a number of static and standard caravan pitches. We camped at the bottom which was the flattest part, but found ourselves rolling together in the night.

The barrier is operated by a security card for which a £10 deposit is required. No locks on the toilets though or combination locks that you can never remember the number for when you're desperate for the loo in the middle of the night.

The toilets themselves were clean, albeit with a slightly odd layout. Each shower cubicle has a sink cubicle directly opposite. Ok. Maybe not odd to anyone else. Just me. Plenty of hot water available though, and the pushbutton showers lasted longer than some I've been to.

The site is situated next to the very busy A38, and so expect a lot of road noise. For me, it's more like a white noise which I find quite relaxing, but for others it was too noisy to sleep properly.

There's an on site bar (and a good pub just 5 mins walk away). The nearest local shop is about a 15 minute walk and a petrol station just the other side of the A38.

There's 5 sinks for washing up, only three of which have taps though. I never saw more than two being used at any one time so don't think this is a problem.

We'll probably be back again next year because of it's location to where we needed to actually visit, but might have a look to see if there are any alternatives first.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

Check in was easy and warden friendly. The shower and toilet block were OK. The shower cubicles would have been better if there was a bench or stool so that you could keep your watch etc off the floor. There is a clubhouse on site which opens weekends. There is no shop on site. There are quite a number of static vans.

The nearest pub is around a 10 minute walk - The Gisson's. It is just across the road but as it is a highway you have to walk across the overpass. They serve nice meals and is a lovely atmosphere.

Kenn village is fairly close. Across the overpass and down a very steep lane. It is quite pretty with thatched cottages and pubs. The sign said 1/4 mile but we drove down and it seemed a lot further. Also it would be a very steep walk back up.

There is a bus into Exeter which runs every 90 minutes. There is also a Park and Ride around 5 minutes drive away. We drove in as it was raining and found no problem parking. It is around 15 minutes drive into town.

I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuel_t4nk 3 reviews from this member

We stayed an extra two nights what more can be said!

Every thing about this site was fantastic.

The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The permanent/semi permanent and day to day residents were very friendly and there wasn't a day went by without some one stopping to say 'morning', 'evening' etc. Or just to have a general chat.

The toilet/shower blocks were kept immaculately clean and were never any where near crowded even though the site was busy.

The rubbish bins were emptied every day.

Security was top notch

Whilst staying here we visited places in Devon, Dorset and Cornwall it's and ideal site to use as a base for visits to places like Monkey World etc.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stéphanie R. 1 review from this member

I have a really great time in this campsite. Everybody is friendly, with a warm welcome.

The campsite is quiet, the pitches are large, you'll feel in connection with the nature.

Sanitary are always very clean

The bus station is maximum at 100 meters and deserve very well Exeter and Torquay area.

DO not hesitate to go to the bar of the campsite in the evening, you'll have a great time with the team.

I recommend highly this campsite and I'll return there if I have the opportunity

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5389 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019