Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Beach Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Elgin > West Beach Caravan Park Reviews

West Beach Caravan Park
(was Station Caravan Park)
Hopeman
Elgin
Moray   (Browse area)
IV30 5RU
Tel: 01343 830880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caraid68 9 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, really peaceful, great for dogs as on beach.

Facilities great, love the toilet, shower and sink all in one cubicle, also campers kitchen well fitted out.

Will be back 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nightowl06 10 reviews from this member

 Great site, sea views, very clean well looked after. Toilet/shower huts are brilliant and spotless.

Good TV reception.

Nice bistro with good food and prices.

Would recommend.

Also wifi. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daisy85 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the far end of the site in a bit called the Shore. On arrival, you may think that this is a static only site but its not true.

At the Shore there is not a static in sight, there are a number of different types of pitches, the ones at the front are premium with loads if space. We were in the pitches just behind. We had our own water supply, drain, and electric.

The facilities were just lovely. Kept clean and well maintained. You can tell there has been a lot of investment in this part of the park. Did not use the camper kitchen but it looked good. Lovely walks to the harbour and beyond. The weather was a bit wild when we were up so did not venture far on foot.

There are statues of Laurel and Hardey peering over a hedge at you, scared the bejesus out of me when I first saw them.

If there was one tiny fault it would be that the pitch was on the small side. Other than that the site is great. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AliWooWoo 1 review from this member

 I am not normally one to leave reviews, but we had such amazing service from the staff at West Beach last week that we felt we should.

We pitched up in the sheltered coal yard, a stones throw from the beach and beautifully sheltered by the walls. Close to the free hot showers and lovely and flat for the tent.

The site was as described by others, lots of statics, but we were very happy, the pitch was big enough for our tent and windbreak with no dramas.

After our first night lots of others departed, leaving us almost alone, and when we returned from a blustery day out up the coast out tent had taken a bit of a battering! However, the staff had tied extra guy ropes on for us, rolled up the wind break and even moved their van to shelter us from the worst of the wind! Absolutely above and beyond, and could not have asked for more.

We were unfortunately too late in the season to see dolphins, but would return for definite. The site was everything you needed it to be, reasonably priced and the walks from the site were lovely.

Well done - and thank you West Beach! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 101 reviews from this member

 On arrival, all you will see is rows of static caravans. The tent area feels rather squeezed in at the back as an after thought. Pitch space is limited and it would be cramped if busy.

The pricing structure seemed fluid and increased during our stay, depending on who was manning the office. The facilities are clean and showers free, despite coin boxes fitted? Since, during our stay, we were buffetted by 40mph southerly winds, the sheltered position proved to be a bonus!

Hopeman is a fantastic little village with a shop, chemist, butcher, take-away and several pubs. There is a good, level footpath to Burghead along the old railway line.

The walk East to Lossiemouth is more challenging. Lovely views across the Moray Firth, with dolphin fins regularly breaking the surface. A fantastic location for exploring the area. We recommend the Cullin Bay Hotel for their 2015 award winning Skink.

This campsite grew on us over the 4 nights we stayed so don't be put off by initial impressions. The location is worth it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Triciauk1970 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant experience from start to finish.

Camp staff did everything possible to fit us into site as they had limited spaces

We had beach on our doorstep

Amenities weRe spotless cleaned and checked continuously

Park was spotless and staff bent over backwards to be friendly and helpful

Could not recommend this highly enough 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wateroff 1 review from this member

 Hopeman is a cracking little place and we've been going there since the 1970's and have stayed at this site several times over the years as the site has gone through different owners.

I have to agree with previous posters about the spacing between touring units, they're far too close and I wouldn't stay when the site was busy but I guess many put up with it because of the location and not the site.

My other gripes are the way tourers are sited among the static caravans which have swelled greatly in numbers over the years and again as has been said the 40p charge for a shower, this is just so out of touch.

On the plus side, the site is very well maintained and the facilities are very clean so when the site is extended as I was told it was to be, I hope the owner will consider giving us tourers a separate area with proper pitch spaces and drop the silly coin meters for a shower. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FionaandBobby 1 review from this member

 We loved this site. The owners have spent a lot of time and effort making it a very well thought out, slightly quirky, site, with a great sea-side brand. Every thing was perfectly clean at all times.

Site is mostly statics but with plenty of space for vans and tents with electric hook-up and have a few shepherds huts for galamping! Not too far a walk to the toilet and shower blocks. All the usual facilities for a site accepting multiple types of units.

The owners and staff couldn't be more helpful - we needed to move pitch as we wished to stay longer and they went out-of-their-way to make it as easy as possible, even carrying our awning down to the new pitch.

Has the most lovely beach, soft sand and amazing views and with the long days in summer, walking along at nearly 11pm in daylight was fab.

Hopeman is a short stroll with a general store/post office and a CostCutter, 2 friendly pubs and a fish & chip shop. And a little harbour.

Burghead is a 30 minute walk along the old railway and has a cafe The Bothy also owned by the camp.

We are already thinking about when we can return. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shuttersister 4 reviews from this member

 This was my first stay at this site but my daughter's second when we arrived my daughter was welcomed by her first name which I felt was very welcoming the staff were attentive and helpful.

Our pitch was on The Platform which had smashing open views to the sea they pitches were roomy and we had ample room around the van to sit and relax we hooked up to the electric switched on the television got the kettle on and made plans for the evening.

The site is close to the town with a choice of eateries.

Ladies and Gents washrooms with coin operated shower cubicles, wash hand basins, wcs, hairdryers, electric shaver points and all spotless. The site has it's own sandy beach and there are super walks along the paths next to the beach to the nearest villages.

We had a great time the weather was on our side and the sun shone all weekend we look forward to returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely surprise be warned very narrow roads to site but we had no problem some pitches have a lovely sea view.

Toilet block clean there are two blocks one with laundry and a good area with lines for drying.

No shop but a short walk into the village with a couple of shops, coffee shop, fish shop and a couple of pubs. There is a lovely harbour (when we arrived it was fun day so very busy) a nice walk to some quaint beach huts.

A large play field used by local football team but great for the camp site children with a skate board bicycle park and a small play area with slides etc.

The staff helpful but did not see a lot of them once we were shown to our pitch. Would go again a pretty area. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Beach Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Beach Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is West Beach Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Elgin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6108 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement