Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairlochy Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Spean Bridge > Gairlochy Holiday Park > Reviews

Gairlochy Holiday Park
Gairlochy Road
Spean Bridge
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH34 4EQ
Tel: 01397 712711
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 6 Reviews
                6/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this campsite has decided not to open for the entire 2022 season and is no accepting any bookings.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jdoc71 1 review from this member

 No access to toilet block, but seasonal pitches had access

Not very friendly on arrival

Would not recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping-paynes 4 reviews from this member

 This was the first campsite we ever pitched up a tent at. We had a lovely warm welcome from the guy in the office, he happily booked us on, explained the facilities and invited us to choose our own pitch, even though we turned up later in the day without a prior booking.

The site was small and due to the rain we didn't explore it fully. There wasn't much of a view as the site is secluded by hills, but the site itself was nicely maintained.

The facilities were fantastic, the toilets and showers were clean, had plugs for hair dryers and an area with a shelf and mirrors to get ready.

The dish washing area was ideal, and the laundry was so reasonable at only 20p for 8 minutes of the tumble dryer which was so handy in the rain. There was also a kettle, tea bags and other comforts available for campers, which at the time I didn't know that wasn't the norm, but now I know this is a lovely touch.

We enjoy camping but I'll be honest, we like nice camping with mod cons. Here are some things that maybe not everyone will find useful but the odd few people might. I didn't have a phone signal (I'm with o2) and definitely no 3G. Wi Fi is available at a cost. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osterode 2 reviews from this member

 It“s a wonderful place, quite, natural and with breathtaking views.

There is internet (15 minutes free and then around 2 Pounds/day), a public phone,

Good hot water for a nice shower after a day climbing Ben Nevis or walking around there.

There is also a laundry room (2. 20 Pounds for washing and drying),

A little football area, a nice children playground and loads of leaflets and information.

It“s a few miles from Spean Bridge and Fort William.

Carol and Jackson are a lovely couple, helping you and sorting out all your questions.

They“ve got some bungalows there to rent that, although we were not inside, they look fantastic! With a balcony facing to Ben Nevis.

In few words. We will come back 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Bimblers 8 reviews from this member

 This site is right in the middle of The Scottish Highlands - Fort Willliam, Fort Augustus et al are all within easy distance.

I felt that the site was slightly over-priced - a small (back-packing) two man tent for one night was best part of 20 quid - which was a shame because, in a lot of respects, the site itself is charming bordering on quirky - but none the worse for that. The facilities are clean and there is plenty of hot water. Showers, while hot, are one the ubiquitous 'spring button' things however and, if you get the wrong one, you may find yourself showering with one hand while using the other to hold the button in! Oh, and the showers are uni-sex so if that bothers you, stay away.

So, overall, quite nice - but - and it might potentially be a big but, there are three problems. The first is that Gairlochy is not what you might call a thriving metropolis, so if you think you'll just pop out for a pint of milk - think again. You really, and I mean really, need to be fully self-contained.

Second is that, for tents, the area is not very big, so if you have a big set-up it might be better to ring ahead with some dimensions first!

Third. If you are in a tent - TAKE ROCK PEGS! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hmartin 1 review from this member

 Small friendly site with high standards & clean facilities. Electric kettle to use. Laundry facilities inexpensive. Very cute cuddly cat on site!
Perfect central location for Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, Fort William & access to the islands & Highlands.
Access to The Caledonian Canal.
A smaller, cheaper & friendlier alternative to the nearby Glen Nevis campsite. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gairlochy Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairlochy Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gairlochy Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Spean Bridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement