Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Orchard Farm Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Orchard Farm Holiday Village
Stonegate
Hunmanby
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 0PU
Tel: 01723 891582
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 105
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 7 day stay at this site and overall impression is of a site that is good but could be so much better.

The site is well located for day trips to Scarborough, Filey, and Bridlington and is only a few minutes away from the A165 and, whilst not a criticism of the site, be aware that this road can be very congested at times and the 15 minute drive into Scarborough can often take up to 45 minutes.

There is a small shop/reception area and the staff are all very helpful but like most campsite shops the range is limited but you can get your essentials, however there is Tesco's just a short drive away in Filey.

The clubhouse offered some excellent entertainment for kids and adults alike and 'Crazy Colin' was a favourite with young and old.

The bar area is separate from the kids area and this provides a very welcome quiet zone for anybody travelling without kids. There is a decent sized pool and both the pool and the changing areas are warm and the activity in the pool is CCTV monitored with some seating around the pool for those not wishing to swim.

There is a great little train that runs around the lake, fishing allowed but you must purchase a fishing licence from the post office, which the kids enjoyed but this only runs every hour. This was disappointing as the seating capacity is limited so maybe this could/should be increased to every 20 mins during peak season.

The play park area is well appointed although could maybe benefit from swings and there are a few picnic tables for families who want to watch their little ones.

The touring area does seem a little congested and there is a feeling that no real thought has been given to the layout with statics, tourers, motor homes, tents all within very close proximity to each other. Perhaps this gives a more communal feel to the site but my personal view was that it seemed/felt a bit chaotic.

The 'superior' toilet/shower block was disappointing. There are 4 showers in the gents and only one had a bar for the shower head to slide up and down. The others were missing looking like they had been broken for some time and not repaired/replaced. The showers are warm at best but the water at the sinks is very hot and there are shaver points available too. The whole block is just tired and shabby looking.

The Elsan point is located to the rear of the toilet block and whilst adequate could benefit from a few small changes, be very careful when flushing the area as the water gushes out and can splash back over the edge. It also doesn't flush right around the rim only down the centre so some waste matter gets left behind on the sides. The hand gel dispenser is mounted inside the flushing area so you have to lean in across the left over waste matter to use it!

The fresh/waste water, rubbish areas are conveniently located but the tap on the one I was using was hanging free and only required two screws but was like this all week. Strangely the rubbish bins are small domestic bins and don't hold much but they are emptied everyday.

The grass pitches are fairly level but avoid those pitches close to reception as 3 or 4 of these are on a pretty steep slope and I witnessed at least 2 people struggling to get their awnings pitched correctly

Electric hook up points are plenty but ours and the pitch next to us had problems with the power tripping out and this was even when there was no load on the van. We did have a couple of nights of heavy rain and staff said most likely due to water ingress but did not send anyone to check this was the cause.

Overall a good site that with a few small changes could be a great site.

Would I visit again. Yes

Would I recommend to others. Hmm yes but don't expect too much.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 14 reviews from this member

The staff were friendly.

No fault of the site the place was like a bog. Our pitch was deeply rutted and by the time I put the awning up it was like a mudbath. Had to change footwear before I got in our car and the flooring and awning was a real mess. Really, definitely not fit for purpose and we should of been informed before we arrived and given the choice not to come.

The pool does not look like it does on the website and it was cold. My girls only used it twice for that reason.

Pub advertised on site, but shut at 7pm. Train advertised on site but not running.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trueblue248578 1 review from this member

Excellent small family site

We'll run and maintained Thensite has a small fishing lake with its own miniature railway

Free wifi

Big play area for children of all ages

Clean shower block with launderette

The clubhouse has entertainment for all ages during the summer months only open weekend out of school holidays

10 minutes from either Scarborough or Bridlington and 5 miles from Filey

The owners and percent campers are all helpful and will cater for most needs

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DavidW50 6 reviews from this member

We chose Orchard Farm as it enabled us to stay with our caravan while our daughter and her family had a cottage on the site, and this worked out very well. The site entrance is attractive and well maintained, and we were able to pitch the caravan on the grass area by the entrance rather than on the hardstanding rows further in. This was very convenient for the cottage, and is reserved for touring caravans only, not seasonals, so we had the area almost to ourselves during the week (quiet apart from the loud radio of the people carrying out work on the railway next to us). Inevitably the grass area became full of family outfits from Friday afternoon until Sunday morning. The nearest toilet and shower block for us was next to reception, and this was a disappointment. It had been cleaned when we arrived on Monday, but did not appear to have been given any attention until the weekend - the same scattering of grass on the floor stayed all week. It was also surprising to find no recycling bins anywhere. I was told that the refuse is sorted out later, but I felt this was rather crude as we are all familiar with separating recyclable materials at home and indeed on nearly all sites. Our small grandson enjoyed the playground (though there are no swings) and his ride on the miniature railway. The location of Orchard Farm is very good. Hunmanby proved to be a lovely village with excellent shops, particularly Hunmanby Pantry and a well stocked Coop, while the local beach - the Gap - is only 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk. Filey is easy to get to, with ample parking at the Country Park, while the A165 gives good access to both Scarborough and Bridlington.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greasychipbutty 9 reviews from this member

On arrival we were greeted by one of the staff who gave us a map to pinpoint our pitch which was very easy and accurate. The guy was very friendly and later gave us a walk round the club pool and facilities.

The grounds were lovely with flowers and shrubs well kept and spotlessly clean and tidy as were the toilets and showers.

There is a kids play area a small fishing lake and a little train which runs round the park area every hour on the half hour from 10 am at peak times. At a pound a go

The site is situated about a mile off the main Brid to Scarborough road and a short walk away from the village of Hummanby. A nice little village with a few pubs and shops.

The pitches were in lanes with a small fence border and all pretty flat.

The only down side I could see is when the site is pretty full you may have a problem parking a large van in the pitch without a motor mover, though that did not affect us as there was loads of room that time of the season.

All in all I thought it was a smashing site and will be back again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allyson43 1 review from this member

Just got back from another great week, from orchard farm, I don't think you can ask for much more from a this site. There's a playarea for little ones games room for older kids indoor pool, toilets spotless, right in the middle of filey and bridlington for days out, lovely staff and owners very nice people, site lovely and clean, , , well I'am already booked for next year, , thanks orchard farm for another great year x

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alli1971 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here over bank holiday but was disappointed that we had to pay for 5 nights despite only being able to stay for 4.

Staff really helpful and we were able to hire (20 deposit) electric hookup extension. Pitches a bit cramped and at times difficult to work out how to get cars on and off as boundaries not clearly defined.

I would not describe the toilet block as superior and it could do with a good steam clean. On the plus side the showers were free and there was space to put clothes and towels were they didn't get wet. Block oddly located in centre of static caravans.

Kids loved the 2p arcade and play area.

Site conveniently located for visiting Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: B4rlow 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Monday to Saturday Stay at the site.

There were 3 large tents in our group. We had asked for larger pitches and to be located next to each other when booking.

Upon arrival we booked in at the reception.

The staff we really helpful and advised where we were to be pitched. We were advised there was a main toilet / shower block further across the site (Required a 2 deposit for the key) but there was also a smaller toilet shower facility (no key Required) at the side of the reception which was fine for us.

The area for us to pitch was located close to the reception and bar (there was no extra noise from the bar) the area was relatively flat and all grassed. It looked as if the area was normally used for caravans but was fine for larger tent use. The pitches were located at the side of the road (trees and a fence separated us) and there was also a train line at the other side of the road. The road was fairly quite and after a wile you dint notice the trains (which were every 30 mins or so).

The toilet / shower blocked was always clean and tidy and the showers were free. We had a quick look in the main shower block and this seemed clean too.

The site has its own bar located behind the reception. We did not use it but had a look in and seemed nice and was open from 7PM everyday.

Within the bar area there is also 2 small arcades with a few fruit machines, 2 penny pushes, pool table and few other things.

There is also an on site swimming pool which we used on a couple of occasions. There is a charge of 2 per person which was reasonable. The pool was located in the same building as the reception and bar. There are also changing rooms and 1 shower. The pool was of a fair size and was clean and tidy and quite warm.

The on site playground was great too. Kept the kids entertained for hours.

There is also a fishing pond (extra Charge) and a miniature railway (extra Charge) on the site which was closed but looks pretty good.

The site also has FREE Wifi which is always good.

We had a walk round the site and there are a few static caravans, plenty of pitches for touring Caravans / Campers and the smaller tent pitches looked excellent too.

The site is ideally located for access to Filey, Scarborough and Bridlington.

The local village (1 min in car or 5 min walk) Has a Coop, 3 / 4 pubs and plenty of takeaways ( The Chinese takeaway was excellent)

I cannot think of anything that let the site down.

I would highly recommend this to anyone. Its ideally located has lots of facilities and the local amenities are excellent.

All of our group enjoyed our stay and we will be returning to the site in future.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a lovely weeks stay at Orchard Farm. A nice warm welcome from reception who gave us a detailed map that showed us where our pitch was which was hard standing and spacious. The site is beautiful the grass kept on top of, lots for the kids to do, lovely adventure park for those under 14, there is a mini train but this is only in operation in high season, there is a nice little lake. Also inside there is a little amusement arcade and in evenings there is sometimes entertainment we had a great laugh on our first night. There is also a small pool that is 2 a person, personally I felt this was a bit steep for what it is there is no supervision and the pool is quiet small but my lad liked it and we did go in a couple of times.

The only other thing I say was a disadvantage on the site is the toilets both men and womens the doors are very low down in the mens and the seats on the toilets are old so never look clean also we never once got a warm shower sooooo cold which is a shame as this is the only thing that lets the site down for us. But if we were up this end again I wouldn't rule out staying here again. Central for most tourist attractions lovely little village in Hunmandy with some lovely pubs that do lunches like the horse shoe and the cottage inn, there's also a nice chippy there too. Its in walking distance as well.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheryl12 1 review from this member

Went from the 19th to the 25th and Had a brilliant time here and everyone was friendly and staff couldn't have helped more, Site is very clean and well catered for families with many things to do including a miniature train ride which the kids loved, would recommend this site to anyone with family's,

Shower blocks were clean and tidy and and site was also kept very clean and very well presented.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3369 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019