Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Fowey > Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey Reviews

Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey
Penhale Farm
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1JU
Tel: 01726 833425
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Croseb 1 review from this member

 The caravan was spotless and comfortable with lovely views.

Unfortunately a lot of the places to visit had changed and not for the better.

Having to pay 50p to use filthy toilets where the doors didn't always lock was the finishing touch. So we left after a few days.

I cannot fault the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rod733 1 review from this member

 Just fab, nicely kept, level pitch and great view down to polkries, 360 degrees off sun shine,

Definitely returning to this site 2021/22

Didnít here any road noise at night only when sat out in the evening, very quiet road 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ben and honey 4 reviews from this member

 Great to be back at Penhale Caravan Park, we stored our caravan here many years ago and we are storing it again.

We had four nights this time, weather not perfect but who care, still so relaxing,

The views are out of this world, very peaceful and extremely dog friendly.

Highly recommended, go and you will see for yourself.

We will be back the end of June, canít wait. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sueboe 8 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location with amazing views.

Good facilities with covid precautions. Nice to have Wi-fi.

The only criticism which I appreciate is not the owners fault is that our neighbours decided to have a noisy alcohol fuelled party until 02. 00.

Not ideal when cycling LeJog 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rachel Knight 1 review from this member

 A fabulous campsite with incredible views. A good Covid secure check in, on arrival you text a number & they either text back your pitch number or come & greet you.

We didnít use the inside facilities but they looked clean & in good order.

The pitches are good sized, well spaced out & have water and electric hook ups very close to each pitch.

Thereís a short walk down to Pollkeris beach. And an up hill walk back!

The beach is NOT dog friendly but Par beach is just down the road and is great for dogs with plenty of parking and nice & quiet.

We had a great pitch at the back of the site which had the most incredible views as do most of the pitches.

The only downside we experienced, which I appreciate is totally out of the control of the site is that itís right on a busy road which was very noisy very early in the morning through until around 8/9pm.

We would happily return to this site.

Iíve given child friendliness a 10/10 as I couldnít submit without giving it a rating, we werenít travelling with kids and didnít actual see any during our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 118 reviews from this member

 I chose this site as it was one the few locally which wasn't full for a last minute booking in August. There are many terraced, designated pitched with EHU and a large free for all field.

Whilst the individual pitches are generally more level the main field does have quite a slope. Having said that, there are less sloping areas. The A3082 runs along the North perimeter of the site and this is busy during the day so there is the inevitable traffic noise if you pitch nearby.

Despite this, I chose a flatter pitch nearer to the road and had a fantastic view over the field and across the bay to Mevagissey.

On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner, Sam, who was very helpful and gave us some useful, local information. The campsite, although busy (as expected in August) had a pleasant, friendly atmosphere and there was plenty of space for kids to play out in the main field.

The wash rooms were absolutely fine, clean and functional with vases of fresh spider dahlias adding a pleasant touch. The push button showers were a bit of a pain and there was a distinct lack of hooks for wash bags etc around the gents wash basins. Road noise, sloping field, push button showers and lack of hooks aside, its a great campsite!

You can walk to Polkerris beach, about 30 mins, where the Rashleigh Inn does great food and beer. You can walk all around the Gribbin Head to Fowey (2. 5 hrs) and then back to the site from Fowey (about 2. 5 miles). Mostly along footpaths, mostly with steep hills typical of Cornwall.

I took the passenger ferry from Fowey to Polruan (£2. 30 single) and then walked the 7 miles to Polperro. Allow at least 3 hours for this each way but the coastal scenery is amazing and Polperro is beautiful, especially at high tide. No rush since the ferry runs until 23:00h but you will need all day for this expedition!

Fantastic location to explore this corner of Cornwall.

There is a small Co-Op 10 mins down the road and a Tesco in St Austell, about 20 mins away. Only local shops in Fowey. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nobby48 3 reviews from this member

 Originally booked a camping pitch, but, phoned ahead to change to a Service Pitch - the lady was very helpful. I was glad we did as both camping fields are steeply sloping & I donít think our wheel ramps would have been enough.

Chose this location to explore Fowey, Lost Gardens of Helligan, Eden Project etc.

Check-in was business-like, not very welcoming, our allocated pitch was close to the road. We asked to change & were told they were fully booked - I can only assume they donít wish to book all their pitches as some were empty for the duration of our stay.

Toilets/showers & washing-up area were clean enough but a bit tired. Our pitch was uneven & close to the busy road. The road noise was intrusive early in the morning - this influenced our decision to cut short our stay.

Would we return? Probably not. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ernie35 1 review from this member

 What a great site. We had a terraced pitch with EHU & own water tap. Site kept very clean. Showers & toilets kept clean everyday. Owners very helpful.

On site small shop for necessity's but only 2 mile to nearest spar. Pollkerris beach can be walked too from site but for those needing their car there a field to park in at £2 per day just at the other side of the site.

Great views, quite & would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marysme 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with terraced pitches both with ehu or without the facilities block was always fresh and clean with 5 showers and 6 toilets in the ladies so I assume the mens is the same both had fresh sweetpea flowers each day

The serviced pitches are grass with a water tap and ehu point on each the grass is kept near and tidy and are also spacious

Sadly we had to cut short our holiday due to a bereavement the owners were very concerned and offered us a refund for the nights we had to cancel which we thought was very kind considering its not site policy, there is also a small shop in reception

If we go down to Cornwall again we will book Penhale with its beautiful views 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judith1 1 review from this member

 What a lovely, clean quiet site! Beautiful views, large pitches and friendly people. It's not a huge site and didn't have club room, etc, but we knew this before we went.

There is a road, but not over noisy and we got used to it. Lovely to see this part of Cornwall. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Penhale Caravan & Camping Park Fowey dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fowey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement