Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Killigarth Manor Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Killigarth Manor Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays Reviews

Killigarth Manor Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays
Polperro
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JQ
Tel: 01271 866 766
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Ratty 198 reviews from this member

We booked a static from Monday to Friday and due to another commitment we could not arrive until Tuesday morning. We phoned and informed them and they said there was no problem. We arrived at 09:30 on the Tuesday and were met by a friendly lady at reception who gave us our welcome pack and explained where everything was on the park.

We went and found our caravan and we have booked their basic model and it was perfect for our needs. The kitchen was well equipped, and had two bedrooms and separate living room. The static also had gas central heating and this was ideal considering the weather wasn't the best. The shower also ran off the combi boiler and hot water was plentiful.

There is plenty to do on site too, including a well stocked bar, restaurant, takeaway, an indoor swimming pool, a gym, crazy golf, shop, playground, large dog walking and playing areas, full size snooker table, kids club and play areas.

We used the bar one night and the prices were reasonable and we also ate there and the food was great, well cooked and service was quick. You can take the food away or eat it at the restaurant.

The pool was a great size and warm and clean enough, and the gym had plenty of equipment to keep those that want to blast out a gym session. We didn't try any of the other facilities accept the shop, which had enough essentials to keep us going, but understand it is better stocked in the height of the season.

Dogs are welcome on site and walking is in abundance from here, you can walk the countryside, or hit the South West Coastal Path and head to Looe, via Talland Bay or the other way to Polperro and beyond onto Polruan. The path is steep in places and can be a bit risky, but it was very wet when we went, so would be better in the summer. If you walk to Polperro and beyond, you come to Lantic Bay, which is simply stunning and a great beach for a rest stop and picnic.

A short car journey away is the pretty town of Looe which has all the usual seaside shops and smaller shops for your food. We had a cream tea at Daisy's and this was awesome, it comes highly recommended.

Fowey, St Austall, Polruan, Liskeard and so many more places are close by in a car and worth a visit.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit this part of Cornwall.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Chilcotj 1 review from this member

Stayed in a Silver and housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Please note Linen only includes bedding. Towels are extra to hire and tea cloths/dish cloths are not provided. Also only one measley toilet roll!

The Caravan was very tired and the back end (including main bedroom and bathroom) were very damp with loads of mould everywhere. None of the windows had been cleaned either inside or out. The cooker was very old and the cooker hood was not connected to anything - just a hole in the unit. No extraction in the kitchen area so everything got steamed up when I cooked (even with all the windows open).

There was a used tissue under one of the single beds and the fire was full of dust. They could have provided a door gate to keep dogs and kids in and safe if you need to leave main door open. Shop poorly stocked - considering it is a dog friendly and family resort.

I could go on.

On the plus side the resort itself was beautifully sited with superb views and walks and very quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Tazzyf 1 review from this member

First time we have stayed at killigarth but have to say what an excellent park it is. Staff were very friendly. Location was excellent and the park was very quiet. Nice walks down to polperro and tall and bay. There is also a good bus service to looe. Which is good entertainment in itself. Also local taxi drivers are very good.

The clubhouse is good and caters for everyone.

The on site takeaway is good value only downside is it closes too early. If they stayed open to club closing time they would make a killing.

The shop is good with friendly staff the only downside is the prices are a bit steep and they don't stock too much. But we did find a premier down the road which has a butchers inside which was brilliant.

Overall I would recommend this park as we will be going next year

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Robo710 18 reviews from this member

Stayed in a Bronze static caravan on one of the voucher holidays from the Sun newspaper. We had read the reviews which were really good and stayed in the site called the Meadow. The views from the caravan couldn't be faulted with rolling countryside and you could just about see the sea. Always kept clean and quiet except for first thing in a morning seems to in a be a rookery. The caravan itself was very disappointing, in need of some updating ,the carpets looked grubby, with rust on the fridge and inside the microwave, the tv was dated and the bed very uncomfortable, you could feel every spring. I suppose you get what you pay, for but it makes a good base for touring and walking into Paulpero. Very picturesque and is well worth visiting. If you walk down or more importantly back, its not for the faint hearted, cardiac hill as we called it, is only for the physically fit although we found the coastal path less of a gradient it is still quite steep. But not to seem to negative we did have a good holiday but if I was to visit again Think I would upgrade the accommodation

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Coxy1976 1 review from this member

I never go back to a place on my Holiday, but this was the 2nd time in two years at this camp, 32 of us this time and we all loved it. When we got there we were greeted by Freddy the fox with a water gun, the kids loved him from day one. There is tons of stuff to do for kids like the Foxy Club, and the Stripey Coats make you feel very welcome.
The on-camp shop had all you needed, but the take away was a bit slow but who cares you're on Holiday. If your coming here thinking its a Blackpool then stay away, this camp is not a butlins, but for what you pay who cares. 9 out of 10

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mrsluigi 7 reviews from this member

We stayed in a gold static. Couldn't fault it - very clean. Staff were friendly. The entertainment was good although if you didn't have kids you could feel out of place as it was very family friendly and entertainment geared mostly towards children. We have 5 children who were then aged 10 - 6 months and they all loved it. The only criticism I would make is that the take away meals were not very nice.
The pool was great not too cold for our youngest. Easy reach of Looe and Polperro and the Eden project. (Although don't do what we did on the way to Polperro there was a sign pointing right as you came out of the park so we took it and found ourselves going downhill in a very narrow road with houses either side - in a toyota previa don't know what we would have done had we met anyone coming the other way - at one point we thought we were stuck and later discovered that you are not actually allowed to drive through the town but have to approach from the other direction and park in the car park on the other side!)

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lollyrose 2 reviews from this member

We satayed on this site for two weeks, its great for the kids they loved it. Its a great location and the staff were most helpful showers and toilets nice and clean and staff most helpful I would go again but have been told that they are closing the touring field a real shame I think.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper wet 2 reviews from this member

We love this site. We have been coming for eight years. The site is great, the area is lovely. Lovely pool, great shop, lovely grounds and helpful staff. I would strongly recommend this to everyone. Even the kids are entertained at night. Cannot find any fault with this.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Redflame100 23 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights whilst touring Cornwall in our campervan. As mentioned in an earlier review by somebody, we too felt a little out of place being childless and agree it is definitely a child friendly park! Although once we had a few drinks we chilled a bit and didn't notice it so much.

We found all the facilities to be clean, tidy and the staff were all very friendly. It was definitely service with a smile.

Our only problem with this site was that although we had a pitch number allocated to us, we were told to pitch anywhere, which we did. However, when we went out the next day, being a campervan, we returned to find our pitch taken by a tent and the only other pitch remaining was squashed between a tent and a caravan. Due to the lack of boundary marking for pitches, they had spilled over into this pitch so we felt a little 'squashed'.

The entertainment team was good and the late night entertainment was ok - what you would expect on this kind of park.

The toilet and shower blocks were clean. The showers were free but you annoyingly had to keep pressing a button to keep them working, but hey you cant have it all ways.

A 15-20 minute walk down a very quiet very steep road into Polperro makes it a great location. There is a little bus thing (Tinker) which seems to run regularly during peak times from the site into Polperro if you don't fancy the walk. 1.20 for adults 1 way.

20 a night for EHU and entertainment for 2 adults. Wouldn't personally go again, but would say its a good location/site for a family holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brianc 2 reviews from this member

We went for seven days over the May half term. Plenty of good points about the site, the excellent pool, children's play area and club. We were a little disappointed with the showers as they were too hot and on a very short timer.

Pitches are still a decent size but according to the staff we spoke to all camping and caravan pitches are being phased out for Lodges and Statics. Indeed one large field that was open to camping last year has already been replaced with Lodges.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019