Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Anwoth Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse Of Fleet > Anwoth Holiday Park Reviews

Anwoth Holiday Park
Garden Street
Gatehouse Of Fleet
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 2JU
Tel: 01557 814333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 28
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Minoltaman 7 reviews from this member

 Spent two days here visiting friends. Brilliant site hard standing pitch was level everything to hand ie: water, electric hookup and tv point if needed.

Toilet block is very good with everything you need in separate cubicle’s ie: toilet, sink, shower and a bath if you prefer (cost a £1), warm in there as well.

Very handy for visiting Gatehouse town with it’s eating places, plenty of walks in Cally Woods or you could do a six mile walk around the water, that is go out of the town on one road until you get to a bridge across the river, then come down the other road back into Gatehouse.

Handy for visiting local towns like Kirkcudbright and Newton Stewart. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lowtherlouise 1 review from this member

 Another great week spent at Anwoth Caravan Park. Wardens delightful, site well kept, great addition of individual drainage and electric plus aerial points, pity pitches don't all have all 3 but logistics don't allow. Only criticism and this is NOT unique to this site is the raised area around the waste water drain. Placing your waste container for emptying is difficult if you re not a weight lifter. A recessed drain would be much easier. Also Anwoth used to have a separate 3 cubicle toilet building. Very handy in the morning when toilets are inaccessible due to families showering and bathing. These are just observations for owners and most certainly not complaints. I had a fabulous holiday, very relaxing in lovely surroundings and will most certainly be back. I have used this site for 25 years and my now adult children cant wait to come and join me. Highly recommended for holiday makers of all ages and all needs, cant praise it enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sniffhound 3 reviews from this member

 A very nice location. The booking staff were very helpful as made a mistake with my booking. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The site was undergoing some re-surfacing work but was still tidy and did not hinder us in anyway. The toilets and showers were very clean and tidy. The shower/toilet block has separate rooms each with toilet, sink, shower, bath, (£1) and hand drier. It is 5 mins walk into Gatehouse of fleet. A couple of shops mini market etc. 3 Nice pubs with a good choice of food. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J.bolt 2 reviews from this member

 Found this small pleasant site while touring. Situated in the middle of the village of Gatehouse of Fleet.

Very clean and tidy, Friendly staff. Quiet. Bathrooms with free showers, £1 fee for use of bath. Village has a shop and hotels within a 5 minute walk. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jamie and Lisa 5 reviews from this member

 The Gatehouse of fleet is one of my favourite places in the world.

The scenery is beautiful and I love the peace and quiet.

I hadn't been for a few years but had a few days there in April with my wife, it was her first time there and she also fell in love with the place too.

The wardens were new and were very friendly and enthusiastic.

Very clean facilities. There's a Spar shop and three small friendly pubs just a short walk from the camp site.

We can't wait to go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liza+Gav 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend at the end of April, and were surprised just how small it was!

There is a nice atmosphere in the park though, very clean showers with bath in each shower room, and very clean toilets, great facilities we didn't use like laundry room and pay phone.

The showers are free, so they must have changed the rule on charging for these - we were overall really happy with our stay, though there are much more statics and caravans here, and only 3 campers on our visit.

Gatehouse of Fleet is a pretty, sleepy little village, with a really nice pub in the Masonic Arms (the furthest walk, but well worth it), and some lovely drives - don't miss a full English breakfast at The Teapot, a 5-10 minute drive away, with access to the most beautiful, practically deserted beach.

If you're touring the area, we recommend a visit to the Isle of Whithorn, which is simply stunning, with a great little pub, and St Ninian's Chapel and the Cairn there are charming. Also, Kippford is a great little village, with a great little pub in the Anchor Hotel, the food was amazing!

Enjoyed Anwoth, though not great for dogs, as they have to be kept on leads and not exercised in the park, though there are some great walks around Gatehouse of Fleet for them. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

 This is a very peaceful site, everybody on site was very friendly, and the whole feel of the place is laid back and relaxed. Well sheltered and when we were there we had the choice of where to pitch.

Toilets are clean, 50p is a bit steep for a shower but as someone else has said, one of the baths ran hot water freely and one of the showers also worked without a token. The water is very very hot here, I scalded myself in the shower due to the ever changing hot/cold/hot/cold temperature and I would be very wary about having kids in the showers but for such a peaceful site, its a small price to pay. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AnneG 2 reviews from this member

 We pitched our tent this year at Anwoth together with three other tents with our friends, for two nights. We had plenty of space around us for a general gathering/seating area and our vehicles. We did not use electric hookups.

The staff were very friendly. There was nothing for our kids onsite but they happily played with other children on bikes and with toys - it was amazingly quiet.

We were disappointed with the token aspect of the showers but we found that you didn't need the tokens for a bath which suited some of us better! The hot water in the bathrooms was a bit hit or miss though, sporadic, sometimes tepid. Only occasionally consistently hot. The toilet, laundry and washing areas were clean and fine to use.

The site is in the middle of Gatehouse of Fleet which has a large shop within a short walking distance with everything you would really need. There are also plenty of places to visit nearby for eating, walking, birdwatching, beaches and so on. We visited Threave Castle, Brighouse Bay, Ross Bay and Castle Douglas.

We would use Anwoth again although only for a short stay. It was a bit pricey for what it was with having to buy 50p tokens for a short while under the shower. (Tent pitches were £16/night in May) 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ladyfidi 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed 3 nights at this lovely little site. It is mostly statics but the tourers have fairly generous pitches ( not all level). Whole site is immaculate and the toilets, family and disabled bathrooms are great. Only grip is the 50p token for bath or showers. Bit steep when the pitch is £23 per night. The utility area was spacious and had laundry facilities too. £1.50 a wash and 50p tokens for the drier.

The wardens were very friendly and only too pleased to help. Our door lock jammed and they came to our rescue with a tin of WD40. Short walk into Gate House from the site maybe 5mins and there is a spar and a premier shop to get all your shopping.

The kids aren't catered for on site but the site wasn't too busy when we were there and they were allowed on their bikes and they played Frisbee too without being a nuisance. We took a trip to visit their sister site Auchenlarie which is huge. We were so pleased to have chosen Anwoth.

Definitely returning here! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Anwoth Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Anwoth Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Anwoth Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gatehouse Of Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement