Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newport Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Hemsby > Newport Caravan Park > Reviews

Newport Caravan Park
Newport Road
Hemsby
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 4NW
Tel: 01493 730405
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campermark71 17 reviews from this member

 We have visited here many times before covid and always had a good time. This was the first time we have visited the park in 4 years due to the park being shut when we wanted to visit when other parks were open fairly normally.

The park itself hasn't changed much since we have been going there and still offers very dry and level pitches. Even when there is heavy rain the pitches drain quickly apart from the ones near the hedge on some occasions but even those don't flood unless the rain is prolonged.

The ladies in reception are all friendly and helpful and there is an array of leaflets to give you ideas of places to visit during your stay.

The Club is not as big as it used to be as what used to be the kids room is now part of the main bar area with temporary looking dividers making this room slightly bigger than it was but most of what used to be the main club is blocked off and has been since covid. Also on the park is a laundrette and the usual toilets and showers which are kept clean and tidy.

Just outside of the main park there is an amusement arcade, chip shop, diner and shop selling the essentials.

Hemsby is just a short walk away and is basically a mini version of Great Yarmouth! It has the usual arcades, chip shops, takeaways and novelty shops. There is a co-op shop, takeaway and chemist on the main road opposite the end of Beach Road.

In all Newport Caravan Park is a nice park for families but is always quite quiet which is strange. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Aimee2 1 review from this member

 Great site if you’re travelling with kids, plenty to do nearby, only let down was the cold showers!

We did find that the showers were quite far from camping pitches though.

All facilities were very clean and tidy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Philli 1 review from this member

 Well enjoyed the site

Always very clean and tidy and the people are very friendly and helpful

Will always stay on holiday park when you are available to open again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campermark71 17 reviews from this member

 We have been coming to this site for the best part of 6 years and are always receive a warm welcome from the ladies in reception. This was my first visit this year as I have spent most of the year on Chemotherapy so was a welcome break.

As always the pitches were clean and tidy as was the rest of the site although occasionally I have had to clear up rubbish left by other campers but a call into reception gets bigger issues sorted but these are very rare.

The laundry room has modern washing and drying facilities and there is also a big sink which you can use for handwashing clothes or washing dirty dishes.

The showers and toilets are kept clean but unfortunately there always seems to be at least one party that breaks a toilet seat or spreads mud or grass all around the gents shower block (cant speak for the ladies obviously!) but a word to reception gets the problem sorted quickly.

There is a club at the front of the site which offers nightly entertainment during the main season and school half terms etc. Bingo is every night and weekend entertainment during the quieter periods.

There are also some other clubs at either end of the street which you can use as well plus arcades as well. The Bermuda club seems to be very much a 'get drunk as quickly as possible place' but the entertainment is lively! A bar and a club the other end of the street offer themed nights which seem popular but we have never used those ones.

Food wise there is a chip shop, diner and usually a late night burger van but this wasn't there this time. A small shop offers groceries.

A short walk away from Hemsby which has more shops and arcades and the very nice, if slightly expensive, Lacon Arms which has outdoor entertainment on hot sundays. Great Yarmouth is a short drive away or there are regular buses if you prefer not to drive.

To summarise a very nice and well run site that we will continue to visit year after year and is suitable for all the family or just for a quiet break. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HMackin47a 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for easter weekend. The campsite was not full for tourers, which surprised me. The staff at reception were really welcoming. Our spaces were extremely generous in size, we were able to fit our tourer awning and 2 cars in our space.

Toilet block was dated but clean, shower block a little walk from touring area clean again but doors could of done with being taller, I'm 5ft 7 but could see well over the top, wasn't keen in people potentially seeing my bits n bobs.

Never managed to go into club house as was a long line waiting to get in everynight and through the window you could see it was packed, entertainment provided every night. A good walk to get unto main hemsby and the beach.

Overall I would definitely go here again but suggestions would be to update facilities a little. Thank you 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cavalierman 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice site for all the family, easy to find and a very nice welcome from the staff on arrival.

There are nice clean toilets and showers on site plus a launderette with irons. There is also a nice kiddies play park which is situated next to the toilet blocks which keeps the noise away from the main field plus the kids are always in view.

There is a nice friendly club house which has nightly bingo and entertainment during the season and the bar prices are reasonable! Just outside the site there is a shop stocking most essential items plus some camping bits, they also stock gifts and nick naks to help you remember your stay.

Also at the front of the site is a chip shop, diner and an arcade. Just along the street there is the Bermuda holiday park which allows non residents into its club which is quite a lively night out! The other way along the street there are a couple more Holiday parks with club houses that you can use plus another arcade.

Hembsby is just a short walk away and Great yarmouth is a short car journey away plus there are buses during the summer season.

All in all a very nice park which is well drained so even when the heavens open the ground water is soon a distant memory. This is a site that I will visit year after year. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Zafiraman 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be very clean, tidy and well organised and the staff seemed to be very helpful. The pitches drain well so if there is rain its not really an issue. This was our second visit and will definitely not be our last.

The toilets and showers are very clean and well maintained which is a big plus.

There is a small shop just outside the campsite which sells the basics but if you want a bit more choice there is a Spar and a Londis in nearby Hemsby plus there are Tesco and Asda supermarkets in nearby Gt Yarmouth.

The entertainment in the clubhouse is very good and the bar prices are reasonable, there are other club houses at other holiday parks in Newport which will also welcome you if you want an alternative.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area with Hemsby a short walk away and Gt Yarmouth, Lowestoft, Caister and Gorleston a short drive away. If you fancy a nostalgic ride in to Yarmouth there is a routemaster bus that stops just outside the campsite.

All in all a very good campsite that we will visit time and time again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kavywavy 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for our third time for a summer holiday. This site is not a all singing all dancing site but it catered for all our needs.

The staff are very friendly and and the site is very helpful. We need to arrive on a Sunday and like to go for 10 days in the main summer school holidays(this seems to be a impossibility with most sites I'd found)we also go with friends so like to book two pitches together and that is not a problem here.

There is a little bit of a play area on the campsite which our young children enjoyed and a shop and arcade which the older children enjoyed and a chip shop next to site which we all enjoyed!

The club on the site offers basic entertainment but our children enjoyed it so when they're happy so are we.

It is a bit of a trek to the beach which is ok when dry but if you have any wet weather it turns into a muddy trek very quickly.

We will definitely be back maybe not 2013 though. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alnfshpl 2 reviews from this member

 We got held up in traffic and when we phoned to let them know they said they would leave everything in the club for us. Duly arrived picked up papers and got onto site, very well laid out, big pitches which meant that even our Colorado 600 had plenty of room.

Toilets and showers very clean although showers were about 50 mtrs away from the camping field. There were statics on the site but were not all around campsite. Staff very friendly.

We didn't use the club as we tend to sit by tent talking or occasionally watch a film or read. There was a small play area for youngsters as well. Yes there are Arcades etc close by but there are also some good food outlets and shop stocks a good range of items.

The beach is a bit of a trek but can be reached by road although parking is a bit expensive if you plan to stay all day. We went into Gt Yarmouth a few times just for a cone of chips from the chip saloons which have not really changed since our first visit some 12 years ago.

We enjoyed our stay was reasonably priced at £20 per night with electric hook-up. Will definitely go again, had some rain but that is part and parcel of being under canvas and did not spoil our holiday. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tracy McCormack 9 reviews from this member

 The camping field at this site was immaculate, as were the toilets, but unfortunately it was completely surrounded by static caravans and holiday chalets. If you enjoy camping in this kind of environment, great, but it really wasn't our idea of camping so despite having paid for 3 nights we only stayed for one night.

We went into the club for a drink where everyone was playing bingo which was followed by some rather basic entertainment, again, not our cup of tea.

The immediate area outside the campsite was full of amusement arcades and a few shops so it was really more of a holiday camp atmosphere than somewhere to go on a camping holiday.

Whilst the site may be 500 yds from the beach as the crow flies, the walk to the beach seemed to be considerably longer.

All in all, not a good stay for us and we will definitely not be visiting again. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Newport Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newport Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newport Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hemsby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59366 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement