Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barrhill Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Girvan > Barrhill Holiday Park Reviews

Barrhill Holiday Park
Barrhill
Girvan
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA26 0PZ
Tel: 01465 821355
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Pamster09 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here in one of the pods with a hot tub. Fantastic facilities. The pod was spotlessly clean and spacious. A wee fridge and microwave which was really handy. The hot tub was awesome and the fire pit too. Toasting our marshmallows after a dip in the hot tub was great. The shower block and cook house were also spotlessly clean. My only gripe is the hair dryer in the ladies shower room is not easy to use and takes ages to dry your hair. Phillip the site owner is a cracking guy and nothing is any trouble for him. We loved our visit here and weather was great too which was a bonus. We will defo be back.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ilene7866 1 review from this member

We've just returned home from our first camping trip of the year spent at Barrhill Holiday Park. What can I say about this wee hidden gem! We arrived on Friday about 4pm and our four tent pitches with EHU were all together. There was a fire pit for us to use, bench sets and our event shelter was also pitched up so that we could celebrate our brother-in-law’s 50th birthday. The site owners are available at the drop of a hat, very friendly and very happy to help you with what you are needing. There is a fantastic cook house which we used for Sunday dinner. There are two hobs to use and it is nice and warm. It was exceptionally clean as was the toilet block. The showers are fantastic, powerful and nice and warm. There is a play park for the kids and there was an Easter egg hunt organised for them too. There are no shops nearby so you need to take supplies with you but we had a great weekend and will definitely be back here for another visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 10 reviews from this member

We have just stayed at Barhill for 4 nights. The manager was very helpful and popped in for a chat on his rounds. There is a small climbing frame/slide and swings for the kids. The toilet block is lovely and clean, I never found it messy. The showers are free and there is always plenty of hot water. We were concerned about our dog who is anxious around other dogs and will bark, upsetting other site users but she was fine even though there were a few dogs on site. The surrounding area is very rural, we went for a walk in the Galloway forest which also cater for mountain bikers. The Trout Inn at Barrhill is about a mile away and does food, they also have a small beer garden. Not sure where the nearest shop is as we picked up provisions whilst out and about. There is plenty of wildlife on the site, lots of rabbits, stoats and we watched tree creepers from our awning.

One last thing, on our last night we had the ubiquitous midges arrgh!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: John McC 1 review from this member

I delivered a 5th wheel trailer to the site, as I drove in The managers waved to me to get my attention. My customer was not there, so the owner asked if we wanted a cup of tea. When the customer arrived the owners both helped to site the trailer To put it as the customer wanted meant driving on very soft ground, so the owner got some rubber mats for me to drive on. The owner then made another tea and bacon sandwiches, and said we could use the showers. Looking around the site you could see it was a well run and very tide site. In the course of our work and also with our own 5th wheel we see quite a few sites but I can say this was the best managed I have come across. The site is suitable for large RV's & 5th wheels, and they are welcome. Getting to and finding the site was easy. But the owner did say if I had come in the other way there were two bridges which might have been a problem, so might be worth checking out before going. The only thing wrong with the site is, it is too far from Sussex for us to go for a weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ochilfun 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights' at this site (2adults/ 2teenagers) Site chosen as a last minute camping trip as weather looked good in this area.

This is a very nice site and worth a visit. Thanks to Steve for his warm helpful hospitality.

A nice quiet site. For camping, tents can be pitched in just 2 small areas, the site is more set up for statics or touring caravans.

However as the camping area is not too large wouldn't ever be too busy with campers, which means the facilities of 2 W/C's and 2 showers for both males and females, and a wash area with curtain and also further 2 sinks, seems sufficient.

The facilities are kept clean and showers were very good and water hot.

There is a separate small room for washing up dishes with plenty of hot water.

Really enjoyed our visit here, would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Diane jackson 1 review from this member

Had a great week at this site. Owner was very welcoming and nothing was a bother. Had 2 tourers and hired a static which was right behind us. Site very clean has everything a family with 2sm children need. Family room with shower and baby bath, washer, dryer and most off all free. Very clean hot powerful showers. Shop on site with few amenities. But 1 2 miles up rd for paper rolls etc, also pub. Its 11 miles from girvan. Plenty to see and do. Would definitely recommend this for a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blair1966 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I plus our five year old daughter spent two nights at Barrhill. We found it to be a friendly well-run site. Toilets showers, laundry, dish washing facilities were excellent. As first time campers Steve kindly allowed us to borrow an electric cable for the hook up. For fifteen pounds per night which included site fees hook up showers hairdryers this was great value we will revisit this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian A Lister 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent a 'one nighter' at this small camp site with my wife and another couple as an 'introduction to camping' for the other couple. We chose this site for its proximity to the coast but discovered its actually a few miles inland. Not withstanding, this is a really nice site. The camping area is split into two areas with one near the toilet/shower blocks and the other at the end of the camp site. Neither is very large so I wouldn't Imagine that it would ever be too busy with campers, which is probably just as well as there are only two W/C's and two showers for both males and females, but presumably the static caravanners have their own facilities so its just the campers and 'mobile' users who would need the facilities. Having said that, the facilities are immaculate. There is a small area for washing up with plenty of hot water.

To re-iterate a previous reviewer, rock pegs are essential for this site. Thankfully the owner/manager was able to lend us some immediately we arrived but if you are planning a visit here, I would recommend that you come prepared with your own.

This is a very nice site and worth a visit. Thanks to Steve for his warm welcome and for his help with the pegs.

Pleased to say that our companions enjoyed it so much, that they are planning their own trips now.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizbif 1 review from this member

With two kids and a dog, I found this site exceptionally welcoming and friendly. They have developed a relaxed, informal and beautifully clean and tidy site that makes you feel welcome from arrival.

The children's playground is for younger children but that suited my two as did the children's garden. The herb garden was useful for making that nights tea a bit more special.

The toilet block has lovely showers and the selection of sprays, creams and lotions were a lovely added treat. It was always clean whenever I was there.

A short drive takes you back into Girvan or 5 minutes takes you to the local shop, though they sells lots of odds and ends from the site shop - he always has time for the kids when the want a sweetie!

Well worth visit.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluenosegriff 2 reviews from this member

What a great site. Visited last year and enjoyed it so much we went again this year and stayed in their rental static van.

It is a small quiet site with great managers who always make you feel welcome. The toilets and showers are always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and there is also a laundry with everything you need.

The site is well looked after and a great friendly place to visit. There is a small play area for the kids and they are also made to feel welcome.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area and would recommend a visit to Culzean castle as well as the beaches in the area. Stranraer has a good leisure pool and Ayr has a great indoor play area for the kids (Pirate Pete's).

I would highly recommend a visit to this site you will not be disappointed, As I said we have already been back and are already planning next years visit.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019