Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashby Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Ashby Park
West Ashby
Horncastle
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN9 5PP
Tel: 01507 527966
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 116
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gibbydrum 1 review from this member

Very welcoming park great facilities for relaxation wildlife galore close to horncastle, well maintained enjoyed 9 nights stay. Variety of good fishing on site. Found the residents on the site very friendly. Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby not far to coast. Looking forward to going back in 2019.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulwarning 4 reviews from this member

Brommo review is spot on, a good site but with limited facilities for the price, can't comment on the fishing though, that may make it good value if it's in with the price I play in a band that plays old nicks tavern and stop here once a year, can't argue with anything he says

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brommo 12 reviews from this member

Bad points first.

Its expensive - 21. 60 per night for one person in a 2 man tent

No shop - reception sells a few bits and pieces and bait for fishing but it could do with a small shop

Now onto the good points.

Immaculate cut grass

Big clear Pitches

Lovely fishing lakes (6 I think). Wish I`d have bought my fishing tackle

Showers/toilet block are superb. Always very clean and the showers were like mini wet rooms. Plenty of space and only 20p which last for ages. The temperature control was excellent.

Pot washing room was also very good. Free washing up liquid and cloths but 20p for hot water.

As has been previously mentioned it is mainly a site for static caravans and touring caravans but don`t let that put you off.

Got a very warn welcome from the chap on reception who showed me to my pitch and explained where everything was. A very nice man !

10 for a barrier pass which is lowered at 9 pm. This is refundable when you leave.

Well placed for Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre in East Kirkby - I saw an airshow where they had a Lancaster bomber taxiing (Just Jane). A very well run show.

Also near to Cadwell Park so if you like motor racing this is a good base.

The local town (Horncastle) is a good 30 minute walk away and not all of it is on paths so you have to walk on the road. It gets very dark as not lit so take a torch.

If you like live music/real ale check out Old Nicks Tavern which has regular live music and has recently opened a micro brewery. Highly recommended.

The site isn`t really children friendly so wouldn`t take my daughter here.

Would I go back ? Yes, but think their prices need adjusting (downwards)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

This site is big and well kept. If you like peace and quiet and want some good fishing it will suit you. There are no facilities for families though. We found it a bit on the expensive side. 26 per day for two adults, plus dog, plus car, caravan and awning got us a grass pitch with electric - hard standing and serviced pitches were available for extra cost. All the expected facilities, water, waste, rubbish disposal etc, were nearby. Toilet block was immaculate but only had two showers and two toilets in the Gents (same in the Ladies). There were other toilet blocks but they were a bit of a hike to get to. Showers cost 20p and that gets you about three minutes of water. There are quite a few statics on site and, it seemed to us, most of the tourers there were seasonally pitched as they had long grass growing beneath them. There were plenty of empty pitches which was surprising given that it was the middle of July. The staff were friendly. You'll get a barrier card (10 refundable deposit required) to use if you want to go out in your vehicle at night. The local town, Horncastle, is about a ten minute drive away and is an interesting little place. I would use this site again but, as they charged 4 per day for our porch awning which I though was unreasonable, it would not be my first choice.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpydog 4 reviews from this member

Great site, friendly staff, showers and toilets were immaculate, fishing was really good, (fished specimen lake), saying all of that we wont be going again, too expensive, 21 a night plus 4-50 a night for porch awning, with 5-50 a day for fishing that's 93 for three nights mid week, maybe that's why we were the only non residents on the site,

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheila and Roy 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a fantastic week at Ashby Park, really relaxing, great for the dog, friendly staff and very good facilities. Cannot wait to make a return visit. Staying with friends, central for both visiting the sea and Lincoln itself. Wild life in abundance, spacious site, very good eating places close by.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sharon34 5 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet touring park. Stayed here for two nights and loved it. Very well run site, wardens are fab! very welcoming and polite. Showers and toilets facilities are very clean. Site is well set out, spacious, with beautiful lakes, beautifully kept grass. Really can't fault it and will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy Cook 2 reviews from this member

I visited Ashby Park for one week with my Wife and Grandson. We wanted to do a bit of fishing and put our feet up for a bit. The site is very clean (very clean and modern). The toilet/shower blocks are immaculate. Pathways, hedges and grassed areas are all perfect. The owner and staff are very approachable and very friendly. My Grandson (7) caught several fish (on bread) and I needed to hang onto him as well as help reel the fish in. The fishing is picturesque and clean. Regular patrols of the site by staff day and night.

There are strict rules about dogs and children around the lakes which makes for a very safe environment for everyone. 20 pence for a shower which I imaging some folk would complain about but I've queued for ages outside showers at other camp sites in the past waiting for teenagers to get out. 20 pence was easily enough time for me and Grandson to shower before the hot water went off. Also 20 pence for dish-washing-water which also stops anyone messing about. Take those 20 pence additions into consideration before you book and jobs-a-good-un. I'm going again. The site has no children's play areas but there are 7 lakes so supervision and their protection is very important so a play area where Parents abandon their children might not be a good idea. My seven year old just wanted to go fishing with me so he was happy. There's plenty to do in the area and the tent field has lots of space to play. The wildlife is amazing. Fish, ducks etc, deer, geese, birds, bats and those lovable little ants (ant powder did the trick). Also the local takeaway deliver in very quick time.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JHJMAN 1 review from this member

We stayed here last week for our first experience in towing a caravan. We loved the site and the staff were very attentive - how they knew which pitch were on I do not know - there must be a 100 - but somehow they remember.

The chaps take you to your pitch and marshall you in (ideal for me a first timer). The grass and water facilities were great and always kept clean. As were the toilet blocks, very clean and always maintained.

Only drama for us was that the concrete slabs next to our van were 4 deep, not 3, (+2. 8m) meaning our awning could not be put up/pegged out properly. The staff bodged some timber in the slabs to hook up to, which helped a little bit for us to peg out. However, it must have done the job as we had thunder and lightning on the 2nd day and the awning stayed up.

Our view was right next to the lake which was stunning. We were very grateful for mossie nets in the van and the awning, there were plenty of them!

The pub is a hike out of site, but town is lovely and a short drive away.

Would we go back. ? Yes.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 29 reviews from this member

This is the best site we have ever been to!

Everything is spot on, the grass is cut like a well kept lawn, the whole site is very clean & tidy, the showers & toilets are spotless & the pot wash area even has fairy liquid & dish-cloths for you to use!

If I was going to design a site this would be how I would do it! & the site is so well managed its almost perfect! just lots of duck poo near the 7 lakes!

Showers do cost 20p for 7 mins, but that's more than enough time for most.

I would recommend this site to anyone with a tent or a caravan & will be returning. Would buy a lodge & live on here full time if possible!

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1958 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019