Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashby Park Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Horncastle > Ashby Park Touring Site Reviews

Ashby Park Touring Site
West Ashby
Horncastle
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN9 5PP
Tel: 01507 527966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 116
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rachstevelong 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely 2 nights at this site,

Was a last minute stay as was let down by a different site and was greeted by the lovely owner who was very welcoming and we were very grateful,

We will definitely go back there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyph 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, peaceful site. We were in an area with 4 others so it doesn’t feel a large site but there are some lovely walks round all the lakes.

Staff too are very friendly and helpful and everywhere was really clean.

My only negative is, that after paying £32. 50 per night I wouldn’t expect to have to pay 20p per shower.

I’ve stayed all over and sites charging less per night have free hot water. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TIN-SNAIL 1 review from this member

 This park was a real gem for us the pitches are large we had a premier pitch loads of room fully serviced including an Elsan point very handy especially in this Covid year,

The staff were very friendly and welcoming' No shop on site but all the shops you could need in Horncastle a couple of miles down the road If you wanted a night out in the town you could order a taxi,

My wife loved the dog walk and also being able to walk all around the park and its 7 lakes, I loved the fishing plenty of well stocked lakes to chose from an anglers paradise.

Security is good with barrier access via a key card all in we would highly recommend Ashby park we will be returning soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gibbydrum 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming park great facilities for relaxation wildlife galore close to horncastle, well maintained enjoyed 9 nights stay.

Variety of good fishing on site. Found the residents on the site very friendly. Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby not far to coast. Looking forward to going back in 2019. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulwarning 4 reviews from this member

 Brommo review is spot on, a good site but with limited facilities for the price, can't comment on the fishing though, that may make it good value if it's in with the price I play in a band that plays old nicks tavern and stop here once a year, can't argue with anything he says 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brommo 12 reviews from this member

 Bad points first.

Its expensive - £21. 60 per night for one person in a 2 man tent

No shop - reception sells a few bits and pieces and bait for fishing but it could do with a small shop

Now onto the good points.

Immaculate cut grass

Big clear Pitches

Lovely fishing lakes (6 I think). Wish I`d have bought my fishing tackle

Showers/toilet block are superb. Always very clean and the showers were like mini wet rooms. Plenty of space and only 20p which last for ages. The temperature control was excellent.

Pot washing room was also very good. Free washing up liquid and cloths but 20p for hot water.

As has been previously mentioned it is mainly a site for static caravans and touring caravans but don`t let that put you off.

Got a very warn welcome from the chap on reception who showed me to my pitch and explained where everything was. A very nice man !

£10 for a barrier pass which is lowered at 9 pm. This is refundable when you leave.

Well placed for Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre in East Kirkby - I saw an airshow where they had a Lancaster bomber taxiing (Just Jane). A very well run show.

Also near to Cadwell Park so if you like motor racing this is a good base.

The local town (Horncastle) is a good 30 minute walk away and not all of it is on paths so you have to walk on the road. It gets very dark as not lit so take a torch.

If you like live music/real ale check out Old Nicks Tavern which has regular live music and has recently opened a micro brewery. Highly recommended.

The site isn`t really children friendly so wouldn`t take my daughter here.

Would I go back ? Yes, but think their prices need adjusting (downwards) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 This site is big and well kept. If you like peace and quiet and want some good fishing it will suit you. There are no facilities for families though. We found it a bit on the expensive side. £26 per day for two adults, plus dog, plus car, caravan and awning got us a grass pitch with electric - hard standing and serviced pitches were available for extra cost.

All the expected facilities, water, waste, rubbish disposal etc, were nearby.

Toilet block was immaculate but only had two showers and two toilets in the Gents (same in the Ladies). There were other toilet blocks but they were a bit of a hike to get to. Showers cost 20p and that gets you about three minutes of water.

There are quite a few statics on site and, it seemed to us, most of the tourers there were seasonally pitched as they had long grass growing beneath them. There were plenty of empty pitches which was surprising given that it was the middle of July. The staff were friendly.

You'll get a barrier card (£10 refundable deposit required) to use if you want to go out in your vehicle at night. The local town, Horncastle, is about a ten minute drive away and is an interesting little place.

I would use this site again but, as they charged £4 per day for our porch awning which I though was unreasonable, it would not be my first choice. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpydog 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, friendly staff, showers and toilets were immaculate, fishing was really good, (fished specimen lake), saying all of that we wont be going again, too expensive, £21 a night plus £4-50 a night for porch awning, with £5-50 a day for fishing that's £93 for three nights mid week, maybe that's why we were the only non residents on the site, 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheila and Roy 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic week at Ashby Park, really relaxing, great for the dog, friendly staff and very good facilities. Cannot wait to make a return visit. Staying with friends, central for both visiting the sea and Lincoln itself. Wild life in abundance, spacious site, very good eating places close by. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharon34 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet touring park. Stayed here for two nights and loved it. Very well run site, wardens are fab! very welcoming and polite. Showers and toilets facilities are very clean. Site is well set out, spacious, with beautiful lakes, beautifully kept grass. Really can't fault it and will be returning. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashby Park Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashby Park Touring Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ashby Park Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Horncastle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement