Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Atlantic Coast Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Hayle > Atlantic Coast Holiday Park Reviews

Atlantic Coast Holiday Park
53 Upton Towans
Gwithian
Hayle
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BL
Tel: 01736 752071
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for a couple of nights when visiting the area in March. From the campsite's website we got a good discounted price with about 40% off; without the discount we probably wouldnít have stayed, but this made it better value.

I got a friendly and efficient welcome at reception. The camping/touring part of the site is fairly small, but itís functional and is well kept. The facilities were kept clean and tidy; the wash-up area was perhaps the exception to this as it was a little dated. We had a gravel pitch which was easy enough to get level with the chocks. There was some pretty heavy rain during our stay, but given the sandy nature of the surrounding ground, the grass drained very well.

Thereís direct access to the dunes, south west coast path and the beach (across the dunes) from the site. Itís also very easy to get to, with no narrow roads.

Iíd definitely use this site again out of season if they continue to offer reduced prices. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cressy69 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weeks stay on site and to be honest 1st impressions were good nice friendly&helpful staff in reception got down to our pitch which was a good size fully serviced so far so good. There was around 10 pitches all every well kept and then we went to the shower and toilet blocks! 2 showers in each block very old shower, very dirty not cleaned regularly, sinks dirty, 3 times I went for a shower and there was a inch of dirty water standing in the shower cubicle and across the block floor. I emailed the site head office twice why we were on site about the state of the shower blocks and as if by magic the next day they were clean but to a very low standard. This is a real shame as has a touring/camper it was almost like we were treated like a second through as the site also has a lot of high end statics that are obviously there main priority this is a real shame has the area around the site is beautiful and has possibly one to the best surfing beaches in the area. We will return to hayle but just not to this site unless they update there facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ray Baines 9 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights here and really enjoyed it. Staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Knew all the answers to all the questions. Small shop sells various items and the freshly baked items were to die for. Shower block perfectly adequate. Good sized pitch next to the dunes. Got the dog ready and started off for the beach. Climbed up the first dune only to find another one, then another one, then another one and so on. Be very careful when up there as it would be easy to get lost. It took us 3 hours to walk to the beach and back. Ask the staff for directions before you start to walk as it could save you many painful hours of walking. The dog, by the way, enjoyed all of it. Overall a good site for peace and tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mitchnmaddi 2 reviews from this member

 A beautifully quiet site right on the sand dunes excellent for us with a dog

Really large pitches enough for home awning and still room to sit in the sun

Bathrooms were very clean with good waste and washing up facilities + it has a laundry

We enjoy walking and cycling so getting to the supermarket and town from pubs etc was not a problem and if we had wanted there is a bus service outside site

Has wifi and small shop for essentials

Will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

 For our first time holidaying in our Motorhome we choose Cornwall.

Our first week was spent at Atlantic coast. The site is very clean and pitches are generous. We pitched right up against the sand dunes.

The weather was glorious. For dog owners this site is fantastic, access to the dunes from the site. Then onto Gwithian beach which has long stretches of dog friendly beach, Hayle is having some major work done to provide a harbour. We spent hours walking both on the dunes and beach, never returning the same way as the dunes are a natural maze. Take a torch, it came in useful we got lost in the dunes as the sun came down!.

The site is worthy of it's 4* status.

Would we come again? Far too many places we have not yet seen within the British Isles to return to the same place. I would be happy to recommend this site to families with dogs. The dunes may pose a problem for those wishing to carry heavy beach chairs/wind breaks etc. Some comments almost put me off. Hard walk to the beach! Not at all its enjoyable a little effort to climb some of the dunes ( I have arthritis) but the views and wildlife are well worth it.  

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cathy261 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say? Brilliant campsite! Immaculate grounds. Nice size pitch. Hook up, water and drainage. Friendly helpful staff.

We were so lucky we got that week of hot hot weather end of May, so this made it a perfect holiday.

It wasn't that busy so we had the toilets/shower block to ourselves. The toilets were immaculate, warm and very clean. Even had music playing in there. Ace.

Freshly baked bread and yummy homemade cakes avail.

Library full of good books, you can trade or swap or just borrow.

Good ironing/washing facilities, all immaculate.

Only annoying thing was the wifi as had to log in almost everytime you close the net, but will get you out of trouble if you had to check emails etc.

Sand dunes were great though quite hard work in the heat. You could get lost in there, its like a maze! Totally worth it though. The beach was fantastic, empty, bonus!

Took a taxi to St Ives thinking it was just around the corner but you have to go around the estuary so it was £20, we took the bus back for about £3 each.

St Ives is beautiful, we unhooked the awning and drove in most days, Tate is worth a visit as is a drive to Lands End. All within easy driving distance. Kids will love the 4D experience at Lands End.

Great campsite, one of the best I've stayed in

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anon64 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, my husband and our 10 year old Son stayed here for 14 nights. It was one of the best sites we have ever stayed on.

There was a coded lock on the showers and toilets, which meant no-one else could use them except campers, and they were kept very clean. There was a fridge and freezer for campers to use, which was great as we were lucky to have good weather.

I was a little concerned that there was no playground for our Son to play on, but there was no need, he spent hours playing in the sand dunes and had a great time, I would however recommend taking toys if you have children.

It was a fair trek over the sand dunes to the beach, and impossible to carry anything other than a drink, it was also quite a walk from the car parks to the beach if you're carrying a lot, but well worth it.

The site was very close to the Town and a Lidl store. It also had a bus that took you into St Ives, we didn't use this as our Son likes the train journey, which is very cheap and only takes 12 minutes.

This was one of the best Holidays we have ever had, and will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MelHodge 1 review from this member

 A lovely, quiet, family site. The camping area is squeezed in between the sand dunes and the static caravans / cabins but you aren't really aware of them. There's only about 12 pitches, I think.
Clean, well kept toilets and showers (only 2), so had to queue occasionally, when the water was usually cold too, but if you go outside of rush hour, water is hot.
Shop had everything you could need, but Lidl is 5 mins drive away and M&S is on the A30 Hayle roundabout. There's a little take away, doing fish & chips, burgers etc. It's ok in an emergency! Otherwise drive into Hayle and find Philips Bakery - best ever pasties.

The pitches are a little small, there is no play area and the site can be a bit windy, but it is possible to walk thru the dunes to the coast. This is a longish walk, steep and very rough, with two small children in tow, it took us at least an hour, but it is beautiful and the children loved playing in the dunes. To get to the beach, it is better to drive to Godrevy (best for surfing) and park in the NT car park. For gentler waves, head down towards Upton Towans.

The only real downside is the rule regarding no sleeping in awnings - this is a bit strange as the site allows tents, but you have to sign a copy of the rules that state 'Customers are forbidden from sleeping in awnings, anyone found to be breaking the rules will be asked to leave the site'. They also told us, when booking, that we wouldn't be able to park our Tourneo (minibus) on our pitch but they only seemed to enforce this rule for panel vans or signwritten ones.

All in all, we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshbhoy 1 review from this member

 This is our second visit to the site and again a visit we enjoyed. We've booked again for next year.

It's a lovely friendly clean site. The kids had hours of fun on the sand dunes which go for miles. The pitch area has room for 12 tents only,all with water and EHU. The site is then made up of static caravans and lovely cabins. The Bar is quite small with entertainment a few nights a week. The shop seemed well stocked, everything we asked for they had. The takeaway is suitable with a decent menu with specials which change daily, reasonably priced too. The toilet block is pretty clean with the gents and ladies having two shower rooms. There is also a laundry with washing machines and tumble dryers at a modest price. A clean tidy washing up room with a microwave and freezers. The staff are really friendly and helpful and answered any questions we had.

The wildlife is great, rabbits, hedgehogs, butterfly bushes, even gloworms. We took a few nights up on the sand dunes with the kids looking for wildlife. The gloworms are spectacular. Our first night we had a rabbit visit us and for a few nights we had hedgehogs visiting. The kids thought it was great.

Some kind of park or other form of entertainment for the kids would top this place off.

A big Lidls a few minutes away, McDonalds, Boots, M&S and a few other stores on a retail park about 4-5 minutes away. A great place as a base for exploring Cornwall. We had some great days out.

All in all a great site, looking forward to our third visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babz 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Atlantic coast camp site and we have to say we had a fantastic time the site was just what we needed. The toilets and shower blocks was exceptionally clean, washing up area was the same, with the use of microwave and freezer. The shop was very well stocked with fresh baked bread mmmm. Very central for touring around Cornwall. We have to say we found a pub called The Bucket of Blood, food to die for. Thanks for everything 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Atlantic Coast Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Atlantic Coast Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Atlantic Coast Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hayle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5728 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements