Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bellingham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Bellingham Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bellingham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Brown Rigg
Bellingham
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 2JY
Tel: 01434 220175
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03 To 05/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diamond blade 3 reviews from this member

Great site, located just outside the village. The wardens are very helpful and we received a warm welcome on our arrival.

Its a 20 minute walk to the village where there are a couple of hotel/pubs serving meals, a supermarket and Chinese carryout place.

There seems to be regular events planned throughout the year here, and though it was our first visit, we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this campsite. And I am pleased to say, that it lives up to a fantastic club site. Location from the village is about a mile, where there are a few pubs and grocery shops.

The toilet block has three showers in each male/female area. And although the site was full neither of us ever queued for the showers. The hardstanding pitch I had was perfectly level, although the grass pitches levelling would be required.

There is a games room with ping pong and pool and a campers kitchen for when the weather closes in.

Keilder forest is close by and worthy of a visit.

A word of warning -( if towing) just watch as you exit the barrier. A bit tight or I wasn't paying attention!

I would definitely recommend this site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

Excellent CCC site.

Nice staff, excellent facilities. 10 minute walk to town.

Good base for Cheviots and Kielder.

Nice places to eat and drink In Bellingham.

Will certainly return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 49 reviews from this member

Stayed at Bellingham for 5 nights, me and Tess my lurcher. We had a lovely time and will definitely return another time.

We drove up to Northumberland during storm Ali for a Camplet meet, when we arrived on site it was very windy, though weather forecast it was due to die down in a couple of hours so we left the trailer tent on the pitch and went for a walk into town.

After a very nice meal of scampi and chips in the dog friendly fountains cafe we went back to site and waited in the car for the wind to die down. By late evening it was still very windy and I was contemplating how myself and the dog were going to sleep in the car with all the camping gear when the lovely David came over and told me not to worry, as it was impossible to put up my tent and they had one free, I could use one of the site camping pods, which was much appreciated. We spent a warm and dry night in there and pitched the trailer tent the next morning.

The site has a fantastic campers kitchen with 2 full size gas cookers, microwave, kettle, washing up sinks etc. There is also a huge living and dining room with a log burner, under floor heating, comfy chairs and dining tables. We made use of these facilities a couple of nights, cooking and eating as a group. These facilities were well used at weekend by families as well and it did get quite busy but is an excellent facility to have and is kept scrupulously clean.

The shower block is large, showers have plenty of room to change and radio 2 played in the background. There are plenty of alternative facilities to use during cleaning times.

There are lots of places to visit within an easy drive, we went to Hexham, Kielder Water, Chesters Roman fort and Corbridge Roman town.

All in all we had a lovely few days, the owners / wardens are really lovely, special thanks to David and Joanna for their help and for allowing our group to pitch together. Had a great time, one of the best sites I have visited in a long time.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hev65 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly wardens on arrival, very knowledgeable about local area, maps available to borrow from reception for local walks etc.

Washing and showering facilities are excellent, very clean and spacious and well looked after. There is a small shop with limited stock in reception.

The dog walk is a very short narrow straight path that runs along the back of site and was plagued with midges. The wardens told us that midges have become more of a problem recently so take plenty of repellent.

The campsite is on a fast road with a 10 min walk into the village, where there is a small recreation area where dogs can run off lead. The village has all the basics and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. I was disappointed that the campsite itself has no view and was smaller than it appears to be on the photos.

You are only allowed to use 'green' toilet waste disposal - small sachet is sold at reception.

The campsite is convenient for driving to places of interest such as Hadrians wall and Kielder.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 17 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept site with very friendly wardens and owner.

We were four adults with three dogs in two motorhomes and came for the walking which did not disappoint. We were booked in by David the owner who couldn’t have been more helpful with reference to the local facilities and the surrounding area. They even loan laminated copies of many of the local walks varying from about 3 miles up to about 12.

The site is compact and a good mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes. There were touring cyclists, bikers, families and plenty of dogs and the odd cat too, so a genuine ‘mixed’ site that was quiet at night. The single facility block is equipped to a good standard with 3 showers for each sex, toilets sinks etc all kept very clean. We were in the far corner but the maximum walk to the facilities is still less than 100 yards.

The site is mainly surrounded by trees but does have the road to Hexham along one side. It is a fast country lane but traffic volume is not great and it does die down at night. You walk along the road into Bellingham but there is a footpath/ marked walkway over the bridge, so it wouldn’t be a major issue if you had to do it in the dark. It takes about 10-15 minutes and dogs can be let off to exercise in the park just over the bridge.

Bellingham has the feel of a ‘working town’ rather than a tourist honeypot but still has 3 cafes, two pubs and a country house style hotel. We chose to eat and drink in the dog friendly Cheviot Hotel which was excellent with local ales on tap, good pub food and friendly locals and bar staff.

If you are in motorhome or don’t want to drive once you’ve got here, there is a Co-op, pharmacy, butchers, garage and hardware shop as well as the cafes and pubs.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our first New Year caravan trip and can highly recommend this site. The staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival with a clear explanation of where everything is.

There is a small dog walk area and so many lovely off lead walks nearby.

Handy shop on site and a Co-op a few minutes drive away in Bellingham.

Small playpark on site.

Washing and drying facilities.

Shower block kept warm and very clean.

Communal room on site with kitchen area and log burner to keep warm. During our 5night visit the owners put on entertainment on 3 occasions in the communal room.

Owners were very informative of local area and attractions.

We walked to harefield linn waterfall, visited Keilder Forest and Water and also Bamburgh beach.

There are several dog friendly pubs in Bellingham which is approx 15-20mins walk away.

We will definitely visit again as it is such a nice site and lots to do in the area.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

This CCC site is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the lovely village of Bellingham. Site facilities are excellent and site staff very helpful.

Great walking in the local area: a good base for the Cheviots and Kielder.

Cracking pubs in the village.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boedica 1 review from this member

This is the second time I've visited the site. I liked it so much the first time that I told my friends about it and they came with us. We stayed here for a week in August, 2 families including children.

It's a lovely site, toilets and showers are very clean and checked regularly. The staff are lovely and are a visible presence on the site walking around and checking that everything is ok.

There are all the facilities you could want, a play park, a games room, kitchen area and an indoor sitting area for those days when it's just chucking it down. If we come back to this area for a holiday we would more than likely choose this campsite again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a few nights hoping to get some star gazing in for the children.

Nice pitches and pretty level.

Amazing showers and bathroom facilities.

There's a nice little shop and a great games room and park for the children.

The site is very busy and therefore not so restful to stay at for more than a couple of days, we mainly thought its used for overnight or two night stays.

Staff are all lovely and will help all they can.

All in all a great site if you need a break for a night or two.

Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3086 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019